Until Me Becomes We

Until Me Becomes We

Romans 15:4-6 (NKJV) For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that we through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures might have hope. Now may the God of patience and comfort grant you to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus, that you may with one mind and one mouth glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Taking my usual Sunday morning journey into the dark corridors of our girl’s side of the house, I began taking inventory of the usual chaos created by teenage girls. Blessed with closets full of nothing to wear, and the smell of hot flat and curling irons with lights blazing and music blaring, I pride myself in such trips as my husband is not brave enough to make such bold adventures. Sifting through our youngest daughter’s tangled necklaces, while formulating my request to clean her room for the umpteenth time in a way that she just might hear me, I hear the word’s to the music playing from her abandoned phone. “All I want is for you…for you to be glorified…for you to be lifted high… (Let Praises Rise). Continuing on my mission to make it out of the house on time, I didn’t even realize that I was still singing it under my breath.

Gathering in our church with all the people, it occurs to me that we want the glory of God to meet us in this place. We call out and cry out for revival from the chaos and craziness of life. Yet it doesn’t seem to come. The kind of glory that is talked about long after the service is over. The report of miracles, signs and wonders that happen as His Spirit sweeps through the receptive and resting on their body, mind and spirit.  A collective gathering of people who relinquish their burdens rather than basking in them. Trusting God with trouble who live triumphantly even in uncertainty. Full confidence in the hope we have that never leads to disappointment enough to surrender their complaints to the Lord and sing His Praise instead. We look like the church. But are we really the church who Christ is coming back for? I hear the words of the song playing in my head, “All I want if for you to be glorified for you to be lifted high. I ask myself this morning, “Do I really?”

John 17:1-5 (NKJV) Jesus spoke these words, lifted up His eyes to heaven, and said: “Father, the hour has come. Glorify Your Son, that Your Son also may glorify You, as You have given Him authority over all flesh, that He should give eternal life to as many as You have given Him. And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. I have glorified You on the earth. I have finished the work which You have given Me to do. And now, O Father, glorify Me together with Yourself, with the glory which I had with You before the world was.

It was time. The hour had come. Jesus would glorify His Father on the Cross. God had given His Son His Power so if Jesus decided not to go to the Cross – He had the power to do so! (John 3:35) Jesus was willing to go to the Cross to do the Will of His Father. This truth alone is enough to dig open, tear apart, and continue to rifle through but maybe another day. What does it mean to glorify? To treat as being more splendid, excellent than would normally be considered. It is an act of worship and a way to praise. To make glorious or invest with glory. To glorify God was Jesus’ express purpose. To point all people to the Father and reflect His Love for them in a tangible means. To show them God’s Love and make a way for them to return to Him. The Father and Son share the same purpose, plan and power. They are a unit of one. It is through Jesus who is the Way, the Truth and the Life that we are able to access that love again and become one with His Glory.

Unity is the miracle of oneness offered through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. To share God’s Purpose, His Plan and His Power in this life all the way to eternity. Is your life miraculous? Are you experiencing supernatural favor? Is the impossible becoming possible in your life? God will turn ordinary to extraordinary for His Glory. God will not share His Glory but it is through Christ we are able to experience it with Him. Our unity as the Body of Christ and His Church comes from and is completely dependent upon sharing the priority of seeking and doing the Lord’s Will. The equation of oneness is profound yet simple. 1 + 1 = 1. There is the secret to God’s Glory manifesting in our life, church, community and even around the world. How is that possible? Unity is completely possible but it comes at the most high price. The Lord must become our sole priority. To seek Him, know Him and choose to do His Will. It is a matter of total trust and complete commitment. The miracle of unity is only possible by the indwelling of Christ. To prepare and live for revival is to explore and execute God’s Unity among us until He is glorified by our attitude and actions to all people in the name of oneness.

Matthew 5:14-16 (NKJV) “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Is my life a light post for Christ? Who sits on the Throne of my life? Is it Jesus? My family? My job? My worries and cares? My own selfish desires? Is it me? For my life to glorify the Lord, I must examine my heart and remove all other gods who threaten His Lordship in my life. I choose who I serve each day. I decide who has complete authority and power in my life. Is it the person who hurt my feelings? Is it the promotion or raise that I didn’t get? Is it the disappointment of yesterday that has become regret? What is that thing that takes priority over my pursuit of Christ today?

I have a desk lamp that burns when I study and write. I ordered it a few months ago because these aging eyes were struggling. It does the job. Lights up the darkness in the room so I can see the Word of God before me. But that’s really all it does… It doesn’t make me feel loved, accepted, confident and secure. In another hour the sun will rise in all its brilliance. It will not only chase the darkness away but it will bring heat. I can feel it radiating on my skin. It produces vitamin D which my body needs to absorb calcium and promote bone growth. It also has been linked to treating depression. Jesus was the Light of the world. He calls us the Light of the world as He gives us His Spirit with all power and authority. The Light invested in us is not small but likened to a city illuminating the side of a hill for all to see. Like the sun, we are to let our light shine so people will see our good works AND glorify the Father in heaven. I quietly must say, “It’s not about me…it’s all about we!”

God receives glory not in our rightness or religious activity but when our relationship with Jesus Christ if full-consummated in a loving, trusting and committed relationship that creates oneness within His Body. I cannot experience the Glory of God in my life if my life is all about me, my family or my adventures. It must be invested fully in the pursuit of oneness with Christ that produces unity in the Body. Christ died for everyone. He didn’t come for one but all. Whosoever will let them come is the call. I wonder if they hear the Lord, feel the Spirit tugging but cannot find the Light because it has grown dim within us and cannot make its way out of us.

John 17:20-23 (NKJV)  “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word; that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me. And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one: I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me.

It absolutely melts my heart that Jesus prayed for me. I am one of “those who will believe in Me.” His prayer was simple and straightforward. “That they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You…that they also may be one in Us. Unity. Complete oneness. The prayer of Jesus Christ for His People. What will happen as a result? “That the world may believe that You sent Me. Jesus goes on to say that the glory God gave Him has been given to us. It is the Light of His Love. We can share this not in our words, messages and teachings from the pulpit but reflect it in every area of our life. Christ wants us to be perfectly one. This leaves no room for insecurity, jealously or pride because there is a place for everyone in His Body and His Church. The world will not see Jesus until we experience the Oneness promised in this prayer. Jesus did His Part and the Father was glorified. It is up to us to reflect this by our unity in Christ and love for others.

“All I want is for you…for you to be glorified…for you to be lifted high…” I have come to the conclusion today that revival will not come until God is glorified by our unity and oneness in Christ on an individual and then corporate basis. Until I put aside the “me” and accept the “we” that is the purpose and plan of God for His People. We must live as a light in the darkness but not a light that can be turned on and off but one that is consistent in its brightness for all the world to see. When God’s Glory becomes our priority, revival will come. Miracles will happen. Signs and wonders will appear but more importantly God the Father and Jesus the Son will be glorified through us. Amen and amen.

Acts 2:44-47 (NKJV) Now all who believed were together, and had all things in common, and sold their possessions and goods, and divided them among all, as anyone had need. So continuing daily with one accord in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, they ate their food with gladness and simplicity of heart, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord added to the church daily those who were being saved.

