Teach Me

Teach Me

Psalm 143:10-11 (NKJV) Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; Your Spirit is good. Lead me in the land of uprightness. Revive me, O Lord, for Your name’s sake!

“True humility is staying teachable regardless of how much you already know.” Author Unknown

A humble heart is a teachable heart. The importance of knowledge and understanding is clearly evident throughout the Word of God. Teach me to do Your Will. This should be the cry of a believer every single day. Why? Simply put – You are My God and Your Spirit is good. To believe these two statements is the mandate of remaining changeable in the Presence of God. God does not lie. He doesn’t change His Mind. His Word cannot and will not return to Him void. If it hasn’t happened, you just haven’t waited long enough. If He said it, God meant it. His Sovereignty is complete and unshakeable. He will not move so it is up to us to be moved. The Lord does not change so the process is all on us to be changed into His Image.

Isaiah 48:17 (NKJV) Thus says the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:
“I am the Lord your God, Who teaches you to profit, Who leads you by the way you should go.”

Life is full of choices. I made the decision to turn off my alarm and get out of bed this morning. It begins the moment our eyes open continuing throughout the day. Each one has a ripple effect in our life. The current of our life is experience as our choices become consequences – good or bad. The ebb and flow of society is fate. I do not swim in the same stream. I believe that God has a prescribed plan for my life (Jeremiah 29:11) with a future and hope. I believe that all my days were recorded before I was born. (Psalm 139:16) I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God who died for my sins and was resurrected on the third day. I also believe that He ascended to sit at the Right Hand of God and will return one day. Until then, I believe that He released His Spirit to live in me as my helper and teacher in life. This is what I believe…how about you? If you answered affirmatively, then the next question is – am I teachable? That’s right. If my life is not my own and contrary to the societal portrayal of normalcy, then I must consider the source of my knowledge, understanding and wisdom. It must be from the Lord. I must humble my life to remain teachable day by day, moment by moment and breath by breath if my desired destination is to live a prospering life in the Presence of God.

Psalm 25:4-5 (NKJV) Show me Your ways, O Lord; teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; on You I wait all the day.

Lately, I have felt pressure to move. It is not of the Lord because wherever He sends me – I go fully equipped even into unknown areas and uncharted territory. I have felt the need to wait, watch and pray. However, people are impatient. The enemy antagonizes the waiting believer goading them to move, jump or escape the “horrendous” state of immobility and powerlessness while God does exactly what He promised to do. Seeking the Lord today, I questioned my current state of waiting. I asked the Lord to show me if I missed Him. Did I turn off course? Did I not hear Him correctly? He offered me these verses and thoughts. I desire God’s Way above my own. I want Him to show me His Ways, teach me His Paths, and lead my life in all Truth. It is the desire of my heart and the promise of the God of our salvation. He will lead everyone who is willing to follow.

Lead me in Your Truth and teach me. Since accepting Jesus Christ as Savior and later giving Him my life as Lord, I have had many experiences in trusting and believing Him to fruition. I have waiting through some mighty storms and crawled through the remains of a heart broken into a million pieces. His Faithfulness has never failed me. His Love and Kindness pursues me. His Favor shines on my life. This is my experience. But wait there is more… there is always more with the Lord. He promises to do greater than we can ask, think or even imagine if we would only trust Him with our life. (Ephesians 3:20) A commitment to Christ including living life as a follower and disciple means becoming a life-long learner. To be teachable. To desire to know His Truth by which we are all set free. Sometimes pride will get in the way of our teachability. Enough is enough is usually the cry of the hardened heart. Overburdened by waiting on a God it does not trust and Savior who is clearly never coming on their behalf. Lord, I ask you today to break off every hard part in my heart today. To give me clean hands (external) and a pure heart (internal) to receive your Word by faith and wait until it comes to pass. Give me expedient and willingness obedience to live by faith not by sight. Teach me, Lord. Keep me soft and pliant as clay in the potter’s hand. Mold me. Shape me. Create in me a clean heart and steadfast spirit willing to wait on You in all things. You are my God. Your Spirit is Good.

To have God’s Way requires God’s Word. It is not enough to read it passively but to plant it productively in our life. The seed is the Word of God sown in a soft and fertile heart ready to cultivate all the desirable first fruits produced by the Holy Spirit. This is the way of revival in the human heart that will overflow into our communities. Humble people who love and trust the Lord enough to learn His Ways and walk in them. The kind of people willing to wait for Him and watch for Him confidently until He comes. These are the same people who will shine brightly as the Light of His Love in the darkness of the world. Those who quietly and confidently seek the Lord in all things and love everyone until He comes.

“The engine of change is a teachable spirit.” Author Unknown

“In His Hands, we find solace. In His Heart, we find rest. In His Time, we find meaning. In His Eyes, we are blessed.” Beth Moore

Psalm 1:1-3 (NKJV) Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the path of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night. He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that brings forth its fruit in its season, whose leaf also shall not wither; and whatever he does shall prosper.

