Live Chosen

Live Chosen

Matthew 22:14 (NLT) “For many are called, but few are chosen.”

I am chosen. God chose to give the life of His Son for me. Jesus chose to die for me. I am called to the Light of His Love. Do I live the life of the chosen? I am soul searching today. To move from mediocrity that seems to find its way into my heart. To remove all settlements and substitutions for lesser things and assume my position as chosen child of the living God. It is contrary to our nature. Fear, doubt, and insecurity threaten such a position. Delays turn into disappointment eroding our hope as a lack of confidence eats away at our faith. Who I am is not determined by how I feel at any given moment on any given day? My call is secure. I am chosen. It is up to me whether or not I choose to live as the chosen…

I am chosen by God to receive His Grace and Favor. (Period) This is difficult to understand and even harder to believe in a society with no grace or favor. Grace is received according to weakness. Ain’t nobody got time for that…for surely any sign of weakness will result in becoming fully consumed by that which is pursuing you. Exactly. No this is completely true. If only Children of the Living God could see what is pursuing us and chasing us down…maybe then we would give in more quickly and learn to submit to the overwhelming love of a perfect God rather than giving our life away for lesser things.

“Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23:6) God’s Favor, His Goodness and Unfailing Love, pursue us all the days of our life. His Plan is for us to live in the House of the Lord forever. It begins now. Answering the call of whosoever will come. Rather than running and rebelling from the new way of life offered, giving up our way to fully embrace God’s Way of Living. I believe if people could somehow comprehend the Love of God for them and the limitlessness of His Grace than it would be much easier to surrender and submit our life as chosen people forsaking the life of the casual Christian.

I Peter 2:9-10 (NLT) But you are not like that, for you are a chosen people. You are royal priests, a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light. Once you had no identity as a people; now you are God’s people. Once you received no mercy; now you have received God’s mercy.”

When I was a kid, I was not athletic at all. I was not raised in extracurricular activities. My brother and I were just trying to survive in those early years. I remember coaches lining all the kids up in P.E class for the daunting task of picking teams. I loved being the captain of a team. It meant not having to wait for your fate to be decided. You were automatically on a team. I would always pick the kids no one wanted first because I felt the sting of being the last one picked most of the time. I wanted them to feel “chosen” rather than settled for. There was nothing worse than being one of the final two or three. Watching the face of the team captain trying to pick between clearly unwanted players. A simple game of kickball would leave some feeling worthless and undesirable.

“But you are not like that…for you are chosen people.” I am in my fifties now and can still remember feeling rejected, unwanted, and undesirable. The need for affirmation is part of the human design. By the time we reach adulthood, it becomes clearly evident who has received unconditional love and acceptance and who has not. It is hard enough to walk by faith and not by sight. I believe it is even harder to accept unconditional love and grace that cannot be earned. It implies that it may not be real or can somehow be taken away. You are chosen by God. He handpicked you and desires you. Nothing you have done, can do or will do has any impact on the Father’s Love for you. It is truly unconditional and limitless. He challenges us daily to step out of the life of ordinary to embrace the extraordinary. He calls us from the natural to live supernaturally. He is offering more than enough even though we exist on just enough. His Favor is for us even when the whole world is against us. Faith and hope are the security of the elect in God. We must live as chosen people rather than ordinary people.

“As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light. Once you had no identity as a people; now you are God’s people. Once you received no mercy; now you have received God’s mercy.”

To live as God’s Chosen People will never be an act of religion or rightness – it is only possible because of God’s Righteousness and the Gift of Grace offered by His Son Jesus. Jesus was the Chosen One. He demonstrates the life of the chosen. Laying His Life down for others. (Matthew 12:18-21) Jesus didn’t go around boasting about who He was, demanding people do what He say and live like He did. Jesus shared the Father’s Love and Compassion. He not only taught the people but healed them. Jesus could have demanded full submission to His Authority but instead He offered His Love. Over and over again, even when people let Him down, betrayed Him, denied Him, and mocked Him on the Cross. His Grace continued to flow from Him. When He died, Jesus released His Spirit to live in us. To be our confidence that His Grace is enough. To be the cultivator of faith so it can grow, develop and mature into hope. To establish a relationship between God the Father and all of His Chosen Ones.

Ephesians 1:3-4 (NLT) All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ. Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes.

God made you with a purpose. He calls you chosen. Do you live as a chosen one? To be His Special Treasure. He created you with a purpose and plan that comes with a future and hope. (Jeremiah 29:11) You must only seek Him wholeheartedly to find it. To believe that He hand wrote a comprehensive plan for your life before you were born seems impossible given some of your life experiences. (Psalm 139:16) But God didn’t stop there, He promised to work every detail of our life for our good and His Glory so when we mess up or fall short – nothing is lost or wasted. (Romans 8:28) He calls us from the womb and equips us from birth with destiny and purpose. Why? Why me? Why you? Simply because He loves us. (Deuteronomy 7:5-7) The Lord calls us His Special Treasure.

Psalm 106:5 (NLT) Let me share in the prosperity of your chosen ones. Let me rejoice in the joy of your people; let me praise you with those who are your heritage.

“So the last will be first, and the first last. For many are called, but few chosen.” (Matthew 20:16 NKJV) I am called by God to become a new creation in Jesus Christ. He has a plan for my life that will lead to prosperity. To have this new life and become this new person means living as God’s Chosen People. To humble my life to His Love and Grace accepting the Lord’s Favor in my life. My value and worth as a person is made complete in Jesus Christ. I must believe it to receive it. I must believe that I am chosen. I must choose His Word and Way over my own in order to reach my destination and fulfill my destiny. I wonder today how many of you feel bound by rejection and live in walls of insecurity built to protect your fragmented heart that is battered and bruised by human love? Life is hard. People are not perfect. Love is cold. Sin is rampant. Yet God is still whispering the names of His Chosen Ones inviting them to a closer, deeper and more intimate relationship with Him. Will you answer His Call? Will you accept His Love and Grace fully so His Goodness and Favor will overtake you? The life of the chosen is not for everyone. Many church folks will forgo surrendering their life to live life securely in manmade religion rather than abandoning themselves to full submission and complete surrender to Christ. I choose to live the life of God’s Chosen. To fully accept His Love, Grace and Mercy for me. He is calling your name today. How will you respond chosen one of God? What if God hasn’t picked me? What if I am wrong? Oh friend, but what if you are right and He has called you chosen?

 

 

