Home Improvement

Home Improvement

I Corinthians 6:19-20 (NLT) Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.

A favorite date night is a nice casual dinner together followed by a long, leisurely trip to the local home improvement store. Mindlessly wandering around dreaming of home renovation. Our list of projects for this house is exhaustive and grows with each visit. Our last home was built for us. Signing the agreement, all the facades, fixtures and details chosen. We just waited for the building to be complete. It was brand new. Definitely a blessing! Our new home of almost a year is the same floorplan. The similarities end at that point. The front porch is different. It is large and inviting. A place for people to gather sitting in the new rocking chairs. I envision watching our grandchildren one day run up the walk to climb in our laps and rock with us. With two previous owners, it appears that some things were neglected while others stopped and started projects along the way. This place needs some love and attention.

This week’s big purchases included an American flag, solar lights for the walkway, some spotlights and stain for our new front door along with a handle set. My purse was filled with paint chips to decide a new exterior color scheme and options to redo the master bathroom cabinets for future projects. I know that I do not want a washer and dryer made by the same company who specializes in cellphones, no offense. And finally, I am pretty sure that wood tile planks will suit us more than new wood laminate thanks to the growing lab puppy with massive paws and a propensity to sling more water than she swallows. I hope that there are always projects left because I love spending time with my best friend dreaming and doing new things together.

While some may call it remodeling, I believe it to be rebuilding. As I consider my life right now, at this point in time, looking back – God has done some amazing and miraculous things in my life. I have seen miracles. I have experienced His Favor more times than I can recount. His Hand of Provision and Protection always shadowing over us. God is good. He is good all the time. Even on those days thought to be the worst of times, He somehow makes the Light of His Love overshadow the power of darkness of this world. It also my experience that we are victorious overcomers. There have been days when it came down to the final seconds but somehow God in His Sovereignty always pulls out the win. Knowing all of these things about my Lord and Savior and Father God, there is still massive renovation going on in my life. My heart and mind are in a constant state of demo as God rebuilds me. In my complete undoing, the Lord is faithfully making me into a masterpiece. It is painful. It is a process. It is according to His Plan. It will be beautiful in God’s Timing just like He said.

Life is lived in seasons. One building on the next. There are things in our life that must be removed so the Lord can continue to build a firm foundation of faith so our hope in Him is confident until the end. The renewing of our mind including every thought is essential. (Romans 12:2) It is easy sometimes to see what God is doing around us or engage in His Service with our hands and neglect what the Lord is attempting to do in our heart. To be completely honest, six years ago my heart was shattered to the point that I cannot put the pieces back together. God is good. He is faithful to His Word. The outcome yet another victory thanks to Jesus. However, what about me? The soul living inside the body of a human. How do I submit these pieces to His Renewal, Restoration and Rebuilding? Does the process ever end? Will the next phase in this process be too much for me? I am asking all these questions today as God rebuilds me.

I Peter 2:4-5 (NLT) You are coming to Christ, who is the living cornerstone of God’s temple. He was rejected by people, but he was chosen by God for great honor. And you are living stones that God is building into his spiritual temple. What’s more, you are his holy priests. Through the mediation of Jesus Christ, you offer spiritual sacrifices that please God. 

I am a living stone that is being reconstructed into the spiritual temple of the Living God. He lives in me. Jesus lives in you if you have invited Him to do so and welcomed Him in. When we moved into this house, it needed some work. The process of painting is the fastest and most gratifying. Call me crazy but I love the smell of a freshly painted room. Our daughter’s rooms have fresh paint and new décor along with their bathroom. Each a vivid representation of their unique personalities. The guest room and bathroom completed as well. Making a place for our adult children to come and visit of extreme importance as well. I am contemplating the next redo our bathroom and replacing all the door knobs and fixtures in the house. I am making this house our home. God is making me His Home.

Day by day and surface by surface scrubbing away my past thoughts, ideas and notions about life, changing my expectation, building a foundation of faith and somehow working confident hope through every part of my being. He doesn’t cut corners. God only does His Best. Not based on my faithfulness, but completely structured on His Faithfulness according to His Plan with a future and hope far exceeding my expectation. I just have to surrender to His Will to let Him work out His Plans for me. I do this by surrender. I give up myself in surrender to allow God to have it all. This is a sacrifice. I am free to choose whether I allow Him to finish the work that He has begun or decide my own path. One leads to eternity the other not even close.

How do I know this is what He is doing? Well, in John 2:19-21, Jesus had just cleared the Temple of all the vendors and money changers. In the South, we might say that our Lord “lost it” on them. The Jewish leaders benefiting from those selling sacrifices asked Jesus who gave Him the authority to do such a thing. Jesus told them that if they “destroyed the Temple, in three days He would raise it back up.” They were appalled reminding Jesus that it took 46 years to build that building. Jesus was not talking about a building but His Body. Fast forward to the His Trial when false witnesses would account the events of that day. The high priest inquired a response of Jesus. He remained silent. He asked the Lord, “Are you the Messiah?” Jesus told him, “You have said it.” On the Cross, the people mocked his declaration. Even the two thieves on either side as the Pharisees and other religious leaders stood beneath Jesus hurling insults at Him as He died for them. (Matthew 27:39-44) But then it happened…

Matthew 27:50-52 (NLT) Then Jesus shouted out again, and he released his spirit. At that moment the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. The earth shook, rocks split apart, and tombs opened. The bodies of many godly men and women who had died were raised from the dead.

HGTV lovers and DIY enthusiasts might call it “demo” day. The day that the manmade temple was destroyed. The Presence of God now released in the form of His Spirit began destroying all barriers between mankind and the God who loves them. He ripped the veil from top to bottom opening a door that no one can shut. Death and the grave were robbed on that day. The power of sin stripped in one complete sacrifice. Three days later, Jesus would be raised and the New Temple revealed. The manmade temple in ruins allowed rebuilding to begin on God’s New Temple. He would now live in His People. The Spirit of the Living God chose you and me to dwell in to live in and become one with. He chose us knowing every fault and failure including every act of sin and rebellion. He paid it all that day and still once released began His Passionate Pursuit of us.

Haggai 1:3-8 (NLT) Then the Lord sent this message through the prophet Haggai: “Why are you living in luxurious houses while my house lies in ruins? This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says: Look at what’s happening to you! You have planted much but harvest little. You eat but are not satisfied. You drink but are still thirsty. You put on clothes but cannot keep warm. Your wages disappear as though you were putting them in pockets filled with holes! “This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says: Look at what’s happening to you! Now go up into the hills, bring down timber, and rebuild my house. Then I will take pleasure in it and be honored, says the Lord.

2 Corinthians 4:18 (NLT) So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.

Leave a Reply

