Get It Together

Get It Together

2 Corinthians 5:17-20 (ESV) Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.  The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

I used to think it was my job in life to defend Jesus Christ. Many times it ended in disputes. I have noticed that when some people find out I am a “believer” that they want to somehow change my mind or debate the issue. There was a time in my life when I would engage them. I took offense to their attack on my religious faith. However, I have changed my mind. I don’t feel the need to defend my Jesus any longer. I am confident that He is the Christ, died for my sins, offers my life and has enough grace to back it all up. I believe that God is good. He is always good even during those times I do not understand. I know that I have a future and hope and that each step of my life is triumph unfolding. It took away my need to explain. I no longer feel threatened by someone else’s questions. I know that God is faithful and that Christ is my freedom. I am called to love people. Not to argue with them, be offended by them or make enemies along the way. I am supposed to love everyone just like Jesus loves me. I can’t do that all by myself. I must reconcile my life to Jesus Christ.

If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.  The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. All this is from God…” God did it. Jesus paid it all. His Spirit lives in us. If someone came to me and said that I am not who I say that I am, I have proof. I have a birth certificate, driver’s license, social security card, and numerous other forms of identification. The DNA in my body is exclusive to me. If I was introduced to a stranger, and they denied who I was, I wouldn’t argue with them and keep fighting with them. I would prove it to them. If they still didn’t believe me, it would be foolish to continue to try to prove myself to them because they have decided for themselves. We are one with Christ. Jesus lives in us. I am confident that my old life has passed away and the new has come. It is from God. Change in us and through us is from God alone as Christ makes His Way into every facet of our being. We don’t have to argue the point but rather become living proof.

I was setting up for an event one day when I noticed someone I used to work with. She was my supervisor. At that point in time, my life was a wreck. I don’t know any other way to put it. I was a broken women, far from the Lord, struggling single mom of three, and a terrible employee. I didn’t want her to recognize me. I spent the whole day avoiding her and making sure we didn’t end up in the same place at the same time. I was a different person now. I had found my way back to the Lord. I had given my life to Him. I wasn’t that person she knew any more. Completely packed up and ready to leave, I made a quick stop to the restroom. You guessed it – she was coming in as I was leaving. She said, “Lori?” I acknowledged her and she quickly engaged in conversation despite my reluctance. I didn’t want her to judge me for who I was back then and I certainly did not want to apologize for being the worst worker ever. How could I explain my transformation in a 5-minute testimony to someone who knew me at my absolute worst? I didn’t have to. She told me that she had been watching me the whole time. She knew it was me but hardly recognized me by my attitude, actions and appearance. She finally asked, “What happened?” I think I was so shocked all I could say was Jesus. I was ashamed of who I was but she was enthralled with who I had become. It was a lesson learned. Sometimes the greatest testimony to be shared is the one of just living life in Christ.

Convincing people of God’s Love is impossible. They must experience it firsthand. Telling them about it will never do it justice and to argue the point is contradictory to what the Lord told us to do anyway. Our confidence in Christ allows us to trust Him. In the place called trust, our lives become transformed. The Light of His Love shines in us and through us. If every person who claims to be a believer, truly believed the Word of God and place of Christ in our life – it would not be necessary to make everybody believe what we do. We only see in part. Remember that when you encounter someone who worships differently than you do. The Lord allows us to express our worship religiously but if that religion begins to negatively influence our relationship with Christ – it is not okay.

“We are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.” As ambassadors of Christ, God should be appealing to others through us. My life should make others want to know my God. I am an ambassador of Christ who should implore or beg with urgency on behalf of others to receive the same mercy that we found in Jesus. Ambassadors are high ranking dignitaries who go to other countries and nations to negotiate treaties. They do not go to make war or create conflict but to find the way of peace between two parties. Christ calls us to be His Ambassadors. Are we ready to make peace, give grace, pour out mercy, and do everything in our power to bring others to Christ? To expose them to the Love that has made our life new and changed our person by simply encountering it. I love the woman at the well. After meeting Jesus that day, she didn’t care what people thought of her or how they had hurt her, betrayed her or even shunned her. She met the Savior. She encountered unconditional love. This was definitely worth sharing and she knocked over the walls of hurt, fear and insecurity to tell those who perpetuated these tragedies about Jesus.

Colossians 1:15-20 (ESV) He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together. And he is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in everything he might be preeminent. For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross.

Just a glimpse into the strangeness of my thoughts, on the days I blow it. Those times when I don’t behave like someone who knows the Lord or am overtaken by worry and fear. I will envision myself pushing Jesus back to the throne of my life. Like really striving to get Him back up there. He is in His White Robe and I am sweating and huffing hauling Him back to where He belongs in my heart and mine. Jesus reigns supreme. He is the image of the Invisible God. You can see God because Christ painted a clear picture. In Christ all things were created. All things were created through Him and FOR Him. This is important. Every single human being has the same eternity in their heart and measure of faith that can grow. Love is the perpetuator. Rather than changing people, maybe just maybe if we shared the commonality of our need, want and desire to love and be loved it would get us a little further in our ambassadorship. I don’t need anyone to tell me what’s wrong with my life – I can tell you in vivid detail including the things you don’t know about. We need the One who can make our life new. Every single breathing body was created for His Pleasure with a place in His Kingdom. This is the common thread offered by Christ to live in God’s Love forever.

He is before all things and in Him all things hold together. People can interpret the Word of God a million different ways and build doctrine on their perception of the Bible. God is love. Jesus is His Son. I am loved by Him and called to share His Love not my religion with the rest of humanity. Sometimes it gets a little confusing, in our efforts to change the mind, hearts and lives of others our good intentions overshadow the Grace of God that accepts people just as they are not as they may one day be. When our son was diagnosed with cancer, the enemy used the opportunity to send people to me with the common question, “How can you serve a God that would allow such a thing?” I don’t. God didn’t give our son cancer. He will heal and restore His Body. I don’t believe the enemy gave it to him either. Cancer is a disease. Our bodies were created to be eternal. Sin made that a problem because it corrupted our flesh. The Garden of Eden was shut off to us so that the Tree of Life would not give us eternal life in our sinful condition. Jesus paid the price for our sin so now we have the opportunity to enter eternity and be rid of the dying, rotting and corrupt flesh that is our human body. Now, if I tried to share all that with someone who doesn’t know my Jesus it comes out like blah, blah, and blah. My answer was simple. Just watch what God will do. Our son battled cancer multiple times in three short years. His body has many side effects from treatment but he has been in remission for almost three years now. He only had a 2% chance of survival. Most people can only sustain chemotherapy treatment two or three times, He has had five rounds. Our son has graduated from college and is alive today because God did as He promised when He told me that “he would live and not die for My Glory.” That is exactly what happened. True story.

Reconciliation is the process of making consistent and compatible. We get our life together and experience the Glory of God – not by forcing someone to believe like we do but when we effectively reconcile our life to Christ becoming consistent in our faith and confident in our belief. When the evidence of my life is compatible with the Cross where Christ died for me. It is not my ability to teach you the Word of God but demonstrate His Love that makes all the difference as His Ambassador. You don’t need someone else to point your flaws and failures. You need the Grace and Goodness of God that says, “I love you anyway. I will make something good of all that!”

Hebrews 3:12-14 (ESV) Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we have come to share in Christ, if indeed we hold our original confidence firm to the end.

The Lord did not commission us to divide and conquer but to unite His Body and build His Church on the foundation of His Love and Faithfulness. Sin will always be something every human being struggles with so don’t let anyone fool you. We all need each other to continuing building confident and steadfast relationships in Christ. Church is not a bad place and its uniformity called religion adds order to it. However, each day my life is evaluated by God on the basis of true love. Abiding love established in the preeminence of Christ. It is the very thing that makes the Lord prominent in my life. I am confident in Christ and His Love for me today. Are you? I believe that He is working on my behalf and has complete control over every authority and power in my life. Do you? I am striving to become the new creation who I am called to be in Christ but that means I must full invest my life and love in this covenant relationship. I don’t fight for Jesus. He won the victory for me. I don’t have to overcome every false religion or lie the enemy has told people just live the loving truth. Sometimes to get it all together means entering His Presence to find ourselves again. It means grabbing Jesus with both hands to hoist it back on top of the throne of our life and make sure to keep Him there. His Lordship is not compromised by my lack of faith. His Purpose is not overshadowed by my doubt and fear. My insecurity will never push Him out so far I cannot reach Him. We have come to share Christ. We must hold our original confidence until the end. The First Love feeling when we met the One who knew every detail of our past and choices in the present yet loved us anyway. Can we do the same? The First Love feeling that you would do anything, go anywhere and give up everything for Christ. Do we feel that way today?

Revelation 2:2-4 (ESV) “‘I know your works, your toil and your patient endurance, and how you cannot bear with those who are evil, but have tested those who call themselves apostles and are not, and found them to be false. I know you are enduring patiently and bearing up for my name’s sake, and you have not grown weary. But I have this against you that you have abandoned the love you had at first.””

Leave a Reply

