Ready for Overflow

Ready for Overflow

Colossians 2:6-7 (Message) My counsel for you is simple and straightforward: Just go ahead with what you’ve been given. You received Christ Jesus, the Master; now live him. You’re deeply rooted in him. You’re well-constructed upon him. You know your way around the faith. Now do what you’ve been taught. School’s out; quit studying the subject and start living it! And let your living spill over into thanksgiving.

I had this thought today. It was really a revelation. Am I ready for rain? I am I truly in the right place for abundance to overflow in my life – from the inside to the outside. Many times I have shared the story of car shopping with my grandpa. My grandfather loved me. I never had a doubt that he would do anything for me. He cared for my brother and I during some pretty tough times. Always full of love and generosity towards us. After eating his favorite barbeque one night, we walked to the dealership next door “window shopping” as I was fourteen almost fifteen years old. Now understanding that I am in my fifties now, I discovered a Trans Am just like the one Burt Reynolds drove in the movie, “Smokey and the Bandit”. Black with the gold firebird on the hood. It was my dream car. I walked all around it. Clearly overtaken at the thought of potentially driving it, I could tell by my granddad’s face that he was perplexed. As any well-meaning teenager might I jumped at the opportunity to play the heartstrings. “I love this car, grandpa!” He said, “I know you do, but if I bought this car for you it would ruin you.” I didn’t understand what he meant all those years ago. I knew that he loved me. I also knew whatever he meant was for my own good. I was still heartbroken as I walked away from my dream car.

Now that I have been a parent for more than twenty years, I fully understand what my grandfather was telling me all those years ago. To give me that car would definitely have ruined me. There are times when I have wanted to give my kids the desires of their heart but have not because of the very same reason. I want what is best for them even if that means withholding certain things from them. They would rather eat junk food then healthy choices. However, I provide for them good nutritional choices for meals. I would love for them to have every “thing” that they want but how will they ever develop a work ethic if I hand them everything. I wish I could hold their hearts in my hands and keep it safe from all of life’s emotional and relational hazards until they are fully mature but how would they ever develop wisdom so when they are on their own they can guard their own heart. I have stood by the bedside of a child wishing and praying that I could take their pain and suffering away along with the deadly disease in their body but all I could do was offer comfort and companionship through the journey. Parenting is by far the toughest job to balance our love and commitment to our children with wisdom that will benefit their life. Imagine how difficult it must be for the Lord…

It all belongs to God. He loves us too much to just flood our life with an outpouring that might disconnect us from Christ. We must remain deeply rooted in Christ to have a rich and satisfying life. This is not found in the world but the connection we have to the Kingdom of God. It is within our future and hope. What if the abundance that God ordained in our life is just waiting for us to be rooted and grounded in the foundation of Christ so there is no risk of being swept away by its magnitude. Spiritual maturity is not doctrinal or theological. It is sustained by love, confidence, trust and endurance. It is persistence in pursuing Jesus and building our home in His Presence. There are things I used to think were important that now pale in comparison to my new life in Christ. The new thing that God is doing is not new to Him. The new creation that I am becoming is no secret to the Creator who designed this masterpiece life I am being built for. It is all new to me though. The only way that I can have the life God has called me to live is to raise my standards to that of Jesus Christ. Or maybe it is lowering my worldly standard to inherit a heavenly reward.

John 15:5-8 (Message) “I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire. But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon. This is how my Father shows who he is—when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples.”

I have never sought the Lord more than in difficulty, disappointment and in desperation. If you were honest, you might agree. Those times when the “new” thing, life or creation was just not happening according to my expectation so I retraced my steps back to Christ. I find that when my life lacks the simple fruits such as love, joy and peace – it is because I have let go – never the other way around. Jesus is the Vine. Every good and perfect gift comes from Him. My soul satisfaction is found in the Lord. The lie of the enemy in the life of the believer is that God cannot or will not meet and exceed our expectation and it lures people from following the Lord to the rich and satisfying life that He promised. Joseph ended up in a pit when he began to share what God was revealing to him. His brothers were not his enemy’s just part of a bigger plan. God sent Joseph to Potiphar’s house on his way to the palace. Joseph served his master faithfully and diligently along with God. His service as to the Lord and not man. He learned a great deal in that house. He faced temptation and accusations. He ended up in prison…still serving God wrongly accused and an innocent man. He helped some fellow prisoners. Please don’t forget me, he said to them. Isn’t it human nature to look for help from people? They forgot about him. God never forgot His Plan or the dream that He placed in Joseph’s heart when he created him. Sometimes it is in the discovery of true humility that our surrender is complete. In every season from the pit, to Potiphar’s House, to the prison and finally to the palace – God was with Joseph. Could it be that all of it was necessary so that when the overflow of abundance finally came – the man of God knew what to do with it? God’s Abundance is not compromised by our lack of faith and dedication. It is withheld until there is nothing that can separate us from the Love of God not even prosperity. He will wait until our preparation is complete so when the outpouring begins it will run through our life and not run us over.

I Thessalonians 5:17-22 (Message) Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live. Don’t suppress the Spirit, and don’t stifle those who have a word from the Master. On the other hand, don’t be gullible. Check out everything, and keep only what’s good. Throw out anything tainted with evil.

Today – right now – I have so much to be truly thankful for. I have love, joy and peace that prevails in my life. There are days when I feel things rising up inside me contradictory to the life I am promised. Times when I allow what I see to influence the hope that I have. Days when the hardships in life and the lengthy waits that cause my flesh to squirm under the direction of God and His Plan which always includes His Timing. The Lord has promised to do exceedingly abundantly more than I can even think or imagine. I believe that. I hear the words of my grandfather today. God is not going to release an overflow in my life until I am ready to sustain it. He is preparing me. He is positioning me in the foundation of Jesus Christ so strongly that when He releases all that He has prepared and promised to me – I will not be moved from my faith and hope in the Lord.

My challenge today is dig a little deeper into the rock solid foundation of Jesus Christ. He is where my strength comes from. To climb back into the watchtower marked waiting keeping my eyes fixed on Jesus until the vision comes to pass. To find refuge in the Strong Tower of His Presence until the rain finally comes and the harvest rises before me. I am well loved. I am well provided for. I have all that I need. I have more than enough. I am more than enough because Christ lives in me to be who I need to be for His Abundance, Increase and Prosperity to rise from within me and overflow all around me. I comes when my faith is ready and hope is confident.

My goal for today – be cheerful no matter what. Pray all the time. Thank God no matter what happens. Hang on! Let me repeat that one for me… I will thank God no matter what happens leaving no room for complaints. I will not be gullible and fall for the enemy’s lies today. This is just a season. This too shall pass. The rain is coming. I must be ready. I will examine my heart, mind and life. I will keep only the good things that God is doing and leave the past behind. Lord, make me ready for rain today. I know the harvest is coming! Prepare me for the overflow that I will never be removed from You Jesus – let me remain in Your Presence no matter how blessed I am. No matter how good things get. No matter how supernatural the overflow headed my way!

Psalm 27:13-14 (Message) I’m sure now I’ll see God’s goodness in the exuberant earth.
Stay with God! Take heart. Don’t quit. I’ll say it again:
 Stay with God.

Leave a Reply

