Time To Prophesy

Time To Prophesy

Romans 4:16-17 (NLT) So the promise is received by faith. It is given as a free gift. And we are all certain to receive it, whether or not we live according to the law of Moses, if we have faith like Abraham’s. For Abraham is the father of all who believe. That is what the Scriptures mean when God told him, “I have made you the father of many nations.” This happened because Abraham believed in the God who brings the dead back to life and who creates new things out of nothing.

“Prophesy over your life.” I could hear the soft whisper and feel the gentle stirring as the Lord is nudging me a little. It is not a weird sensation or awkward urge just a tender bit of encouragement from an enormous God who has extravagant plans for my life…and yours, too. In the overt move across the nation to neutralize God and disembody Christ’s Church, I wonder if the effectiveness of such an overture is because we do not hear and respond to the Lord on a personal basis or in an intimate setting. Is our striving for a relationship or to maintain a religious agenda limiting our effectiveness? Oh don’t get me wrong. I love church. It is one of my favorite places to be. I love to praise. Worship. Fellowship. Learn. Encourage and be encouraged. However, I must be honest. I have been to many churches over my lifetime which means I guess I haven’t found the right one or the One lives in me keeps moving me. I have discovered in times of perplexity if I call out to the Lord for help He rushes in to offer it but it is usually not with a way to help or change others but an inward push to change me.

May I be honest and a bit transparent today? Ok, thanks! I have struggled with discouragement over the last couple of weeks. You know the times and seasons when you wonder if you made a wrong turn, got ahead of the Lord or maybe have fallen out of step. Looking around, life does not look like you expected. You are provided for but not necessarily prospering the way God’s Word says you will. The Word of God and His Promises have not yet come to pass. The blessings in your life are obvious but not exceedingly and abundantly more than you can think or ask. Like a long trip to a new destination, when it takes a little too long, or maybe you begin to question the directions given so you begin to look back and see if maybe you missed a turn along the way. Usually, it happens right before the next turn comes or you arrive. I know God’s Word. I believe it is true. I know the Lord is good. He is faithful. He is true. Now what? God is telling me to prophesy.

Such a churchy word, prophesy. Surely you have to have a master’s degree in theology and some kind of super anointing to be that guy or girl who prophesies, right? Nope. Not at all. In Joel 2:28, it says, “I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy.” Across all translations it is consistent in translation that God will pour out His Spirit and ALL PEOPLE will prophesy. In Acts 2:17-18, on the Day of Pentecost, it happened for the first time in a group setting. Peter reminded everyone of the prophet’s words. I remember sitting in my first “full gospel” church. I quiet woman who was very shy was two rows ahead of us. At the end of the service, everyone had their heads bowed and eyes closed in prayer and she started shouting and speaking in tongues. My head shot up and my eyes opened. She was giving a prophetic word to the church. The pastor gave an interpretation and I whispered to the Lord, “Please don’t ever do that to me.” Well, I have recanted on those words and asked forgiveness. I know that such things are doctrinally challenging and hair-splitters for congregations but the point of my sharing this is that God promised that EVERYONE who is Spirit-filled will prophesy. You. Me. Everyone.

Now before you make the same mistake that I did, let’s talk about prophesy and what it really is. To prophesy is to declare or foretell by divine inspiration. Pretty cool, huh. Romans 10:19 tells us that if we “declare” with our mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in our heart that salvation is fully accomplished. When Jesus died on the Cross, He released His Spirit. The Spirit of the Living God tore the veil in the temple from top to bottom so now nothing could stop us from living in His Presence. It also began to raise the dead. Immediately. Opening graves and pulling out people. When Jesus rose again, He said, “I will send the Holy Spirit…the Holy Spirit (will come) and fill you with the Power of Heaven,” (Luke 24:49) Most people who call themselves Christians agree on these points. The disagreement is in manifestation. So let’s talk about prophesy specifically according to the Scripture so we can be empowered by it today.

The promise comes by faith. It’s true. Faith gives substance to what is believed. Faith pleases God. Faith makes the impossible possible even in the smallest measure. In Romans 4:17, the New International Version tells us about the father of faith – Abraham. What did Abraham do that was so great? He believed in the God who gives life to the dead AND “calls into being things that were not.” The Bible is filled with great potential for believers. However, I think most if not all would agree that many things have not come to pass in our life. Therefore, it is a book of prophesy…right? Could the basic elements of prophesy begin by something as simple as declaring God’s Word over our life?

Ezekiel 37:4-10 (NIV) Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says to these bones: I will make breath enter you, and you will come to life. I will attach tendons to you and make flesh come upon you and cover you with skin; I will put breath in you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’” So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I was prophesying, there was a noise, a rattling sound, and the bones came together, bone to bone. I looked, and tendons and flesh appeared on them and skin covered them, but there was no breath in them. Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to it, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Come, breath, from the four winds and breathe into these slain, that they may live.’” So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.

“The tongue has the power of life and death…” (Proverbs 18:21) Oh, if we only believed that to be true. We would be so careful to make sure the words of our mouth and meditation of our heart agreed. (Psalm 19:14) This is the part where I get really excited and don’t want to finish writing but just bask in the Presence of my Precious God. “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the Word of the Lord!” We have been given a book filled by divine inspiration promises and blessings yet to be discovered in our life. We have the Word of God. It belongs to us. Every single thing in God’s Word is mine. He does not lie or change His Mind. His Word cannot return to Him until it completely accomplished what it was sent out to do. If God speaks to you in a dream or vision (again Joel 2:28 says that He will), it remains circulating in your life until it comes to pass. We have been given a prophetic vocabulary. Why are we withholding it? Hmm…

So I prophesied as commanded…the prophet obeyed God. Did what He told him to do. The bones came together. The Word of God did exactly as promised but there was no life in the bones. Hang on. Simple obedience like sowing and reaping will perform as expected each time. What is planted will grow.  Religiosity will draw people together but the Spirit gives life. It is the Breath of God that sparks revival, fuels renewal and builds a vast army called the Body of Christ into a living, breathing form. In John 4, Jesus meets the woman at the well. He tells her that the time is coming and has now come when true worshipers will worship the Father in Spirit and in truth. We must allow God’s Word and Spirit to work its way from inside of us outside of us. We must not only speak the Word of God but give it life in our breath by believing it. The Spirit and Truth belong to us. Live in us. Work all things together for our good and God’s Glory when we begin to obey the Lord and speak to the dry, dead areas of our life the Word of God and release His Spirit to do what God promised to do. Jesus said, “The very words I speak are truth and life.” It is time to prophesy.

I Corinthians 14:1-4 (NLT) Let love be your highest goal! But you should also desire the special abilities the Spirit gives—especially the ability to prophesy. For if you have the ability to speak in tongues, you will be talking only to God, since people won’t be able to understand you. You will be speaking by the power of the Spirit, but it will all be mysterious. But one who prophesies strengthens others, encourages them, and comforts them. A person who speaks in tongues is strengthened personally, but one who speaks a word of prophecy strengthens the entire church.

There is a difference between speaking in tongues and prophecy. There I have said it. Everyone groan and cringe if necessary. I will give you a moment to reposition yourself in your seat. I am going merely on the Word of God here. Love should always be our highest goal. Love for God. Love for Jesus. Love for people. You should desire the Gifts of the Spirit beginning with the Fruit of the Spirit – absolutely. Speaking in tongues is a prayer language between us and the Father. I do believe in the gift of tongues. I do not believe that you must have this gift to be fully effective as a believer. It is a gift from God to us. We have the option to use it or not. The ability to prophesy is also a gift. The Word of God in this passage tells us that we should desire the gift of prophesy more than any other gift. When I pray in tongues, it edifies me. It is for my relationship with Jesus Christ and our communication. When I prophesy, it takes the Word of God in me and allows the Spirit of God to breathe life in it and it pours out on others. When I teach a Bible Study, I love it when people see Jesus like I do. I love it when they see themselves in God’s Word. For them to experience just the slightest essence of God’s Love gives me an overwhelming rush because God really is that good. The one who prophesies strengthens others, encourages them, and comforts them. What better way to represent the Awesome God who loves us so much.

This discouragement I have felt was linked to the circumstances of life and my current condition but as I prophesy God’s Word over my life and now share it with you – I am encouraged. Prophesy is the very thing that the church needs. In the most practical form, we have all the elements needed to project God’s Blessing, His Purpose, and His Plan to others wrapped tightly in His Love. The Word of God for my life is power. His Spirit is the result of grace that is more than enough when I am not which is most of the time. What would happen if rather than getting stuck in ourselves, wrapped up in religion, and caught up in disputes if we all just began to prophesy life to all the dry, dead and broken things in our life and church and community? What is the potential? Every promise of God is the potential. A strong and sound Body to be the Bride. So many possibilities if we only believe enough to prophesy in our life and others today. Prophecy is the practical application of God’s Word in every conversation. It is to breathe life in dead things and see them come back to life. It is to encourage. It is simple It is not my job to make the Gospel of Jesus Christ palatable or preferable…just to prophesy and watch dead things come to life. I have the power to change my life. The Spirit of the Living God lives in me and His Word is my inheritance. It is time to prophesy in my natural life what already is in the Heavenly Realm. It will prosper my life and encourage others if I simple take the time to prophesy.

John 6:63 (NLT) The Spirit alone gives eternal life. Human effort accomplishes nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are spirit and life.

 

Leave a Reply

