Do I Measure Up?

Do I Measure Up

Romans 12:3 (NLT) Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.

How much is a measure? The King James Version of the Bible (which we all know is the one that Jesus wrote – written with a wink) tells us to “to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.” Again, I ask, “What is a true measure?” Just how much faith has God given me. According to Dictionary.com and its many sources, a measure is the extent, dimension and quantity of something, ascertained especially by comparison with a standard. People live by comparison which produces choices. Each day is filled with the same opportunities and though there are varying statistics it is all relegated down to a 50/50 chance because for freedom’s sake – we have a choice. Everyone is given a choice. We choose according the standard mode of operation or our moral code whichever is called for. Our life is evaluated by the comparison to others which produce an inner drive based on the estimation. How much is a measure? We are called to measure our life according to the faith God has “given” us. Does this mean that I don’t have to go looking for faith or be given it by another? Nope. You have all the faith you need to have a godly life filled with every spiritual blessing hidden in Heaven with your name on it. You don’t have to beg, borrow or steal from another or work yourself to death to have it. All you need is faith that you already have but have not discovered. It is in there. It is up to us by the Goodness, Grace and Glory of God to help us find it and apply it to our ordinary, mundane and lack luster life to produce the one that was written for us long ago, in our mother’s womb, when God created us to be His Masterpiece.

“I’m speaking to you out of deep gratitude for all that God has given me, and especially as I have responsibilities in relation to you. Living then, as every one of you does, in pure grace, it’s important that you not misinterpret yourselves as people who are bringing this goodness to God. No, God brings it all to you. The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what he does for us, not by what we are and what we do for him.” (Romans 12:3 – The Message)

What if all we need to live a saved, healed, fulfilled, satisfied, content, abundant and prosperous life was already in us? What if there was nothing else to do but live and thrive in the Presence of God. Spoiler Alert – Everything I need to live a saved, healed, fulfilled, satisfied, content, abundant and prosperous life is inside of me… and you for that matter. I know what you are thinking. You don’t know me. You don’t know what I have done. The time that I have wasted. The choices I have made. The circumstances surrounding me. The thoughts impeding me. Or even the conditions that you are born in, subject to or remain in today – you are absolutely right – I don’t. But I know God! I know He is always good. I know that He is always faithful. I know that His Love will never fail. I know that His Grace is enough. Now I must figure out how to make this “measure” of faith find its way out of me…just like you do no matter how alike or different our life may be.

Romans 12:4-5 (NLT) Just as our bodies have many parts and each part has a special function, so it is with Christ’s body. We are many parts of one body, and we all belong to each other.

The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what he does for us, not by what we are and what we do for him.” We are part of the Body of Christ. The Body only functions properly when each member performs at an optimum level. In my natural body, if my foot hurts it will cause me to limp. My brain will register pain that my body responds to. I may tense up, clench my jaw and after walking favoring the hurt limb – my hip and back will begin to ache from improper alignment. Please don’t be offended when I say that the Body of Christ is limping along today. Rather than working together, it seems to prefer being apart. My elbow is not attractive. I keep it so I can move my arms around. My face is getting wrinkles but I am not going to cover it or I might start running into things. Our body functions as a unit as the Body of Christ is called to as well. Just before these verses Romans 12, the first two talk about being a living sacrifice and not conforming to this world. We have been given a measure of faith because our present life is not the glorious standard God had for us. God didn’t make you or me to live an impoverished life and money is the last of our problems. The limits on our life begin in our mind. The enemy releases a relentless attack each day on the mindset of God’s People. For every lie there is a truth or better yet a promise to be discovered in God’s Word. We must learn to combat every misgiving with God’s Grace, Truth and Knowledge not only learned but applied to every facet of our life. This will enable us to use the measure of faith given to make some accurate measurements of our life and decide where to apply it and watch it grow.

2 Kings 4:1-7 (NLT) One day the widow of a member of the group of prophets came to Elisha and cried out, “My husband who served you is dead, and you know how he feared the Lord. But now a creditor has come, threatening to take my two sons as slaves.” “What can I do to help you?” Elisha asked. “Tell me, what do you have in the house?” “Nothing at all, except a flask of olive oil,” she replied. And Elisha said, “Borrow as many empty jars as you can from your friends and neighbors. Then go into your house with your sons and shut the door behind you. Pour olive oil from your flask into the jars, setting each one aside when it is filled.” So she did as she was told. Her sons kept bringing jars to her, and she filled one after another. Soon every container was full to the brim! “Bring me another jar,” she said to one of her sons. “There aren’t any more!” he told her. And then the olive oil stopped flowing. When she told the man of God what had happened, he said to her, “Now sell the olive oil and pay your debts, and you and your sons can live on what is left over.”

The unexpected came knocking. Her husband is dead. Her sons to be taken by a creditor to pay a debt. A religious woman who lived her life (supposedly) serving God. How could this happen? If God is so good, why would he allow her husband to die and her children to be in danger? Who is this God that she served? Why give another moment of another day to Him? The prophet came by “coincidentally” that day. He was not spouted parables or stories of victory but rather peddling some practical faith. Oh Lord, if the church would stop performing and take some time to peddle practical faith. The kind of faith people can use and apply to their life rather than something worthless and untrue. He asked her but one question, “Tell me, what do you have in the house? What’s in your house today? Better yet, what’s in your heart? She answered honestly, “Nothing at all, except a flask of olive oil.” Oil represents anointing. It represents those approved by God for His Service. You are anointed. Jesus died for you so that your full potential could be realized. He even gave you the faith to respond to the Lord. You have it all in that tiny temple called your body that belongs to God waiting to be consecrated to His Service. The prophet told her to borrow as many jars as she could find and begin pouring out the oil into them. Pouring out! I am down to this one little bottle of oil. The only thing of worth in my life and God is requiring it from me. Desperate times call for desperate measures. What did she have to lose? Everything. What did she have to gain? So much more…

What is in your house? What is in your heart? God often must allow our heart to broken so that we will release the potential in our life and achiever our purpose. Otherwise, we bottle it and stick it on a shelf for all to see but not of much use. Religion will always produce mediocrity in life because it is living up to and measuring up to man and our ability. A relationship with Jesus Christ, just like a strong and productive natural relationship, requires all of me for all of you. The oneship of relationship overcomes the monotony of life. My husband and I are well on our way to becoming empty nesters. With five children ranging from 27 to 14, I never thought the day would come when our house was not noisy and people all around. It is happening quickly. Our girls have an active life and a close friends. They do a lot with their youth group. Come Friday night the pack migrates to one house or the other. Even though it is just the two of us, my husband and I have spent almost two decades working on our relationship so now we are reaping some of the benefits. Had it not been so, this could be a very devastating time for us? We would have been perfect strangers in close proximity rather than best friends.

Faith is not a tangible measure but a new standard for our life. It contradicts the way of this world and does nothing for us held up inside. We can ask the Lord for faith but all we really need is the strength, confidence and courage to pour it out and watch it grow. It is tiny but powerful. You don’t need a lot just what you have properly applied to our life. If I measure my life according to other people, some days I am doing pretty good and other days I am quite dissatisfied. It is a roller coaster of thankfulness and discontentment that I am sure could be classified as a psychological disorder. I am called to live a rich and satisfying life because Jesus Christ died for me to have it. Sin kept me from God’s Glorious Standard, but His Grace is sufficient for me to have the life He planned, prepared and promised me from the moment that He made me. If I set the standard of my life according to worldly measurements, I will never have God’s Promised Results. It is when I take the measure of faith that the Lord has given me and begin to pour it out that I will see just how much potential is packed in a little granule the size of a mustard seed. We must stop trying to measure up to the standards of the world and let our faith bring us up to God’s Standard of Living again. But you can’t keep it in – the contents of our life must be poured out.

Ephesians 1:3-5 (NLT) All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ. Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes. God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.

Human beings have a really difficult time wrapping their head and hearts around grace. It just seems too good to be true. How can God love me when I have done all these terrible things? When I choose lesser things just about every day? When I get mad at him for not doing it my way or when I want Him to? How about the fact that there is nothing I can do to earn it just accept it? That’s a tough one for me personally. I do not like to owe people anything. I don’t like to depend on others. Why? I have been hurt, betrayed, abandoned and let down many times in my lifetime and so it is easier not to depend on other people just look after myself. Am I being too transparent? I hope you can see through these words to my heart. I am no longer hurt or embittered by the battles in my life. But I am fully aware and cognizant of not only my need for God’s Grace but my desire to fully accept it along with His Unconditional Love. Here is yet another ground and heart breaking truth that I discovered. I don’t have to make faith. I don’t have to fake it. I have it. It came with the package. God gave me the faith to respond to every promise beginning with the one called salvation. He has already provided me “every spiritual blessing” so the faith that I have allows me to grab hold of that, too. The Lord has left nothing up to us but to accept the Fullness of His Love and live in it. All I have to give up is this broken, dysfunctional, ordinary, mundane life.

Matthew 13:31-33 (NLT) Here is another illustration Jesus used: “The Kingdom of Heaven is like a mustard seed planted in a field. It is the smallest of all seeds, but it becomes the largest of garden plants; it grows into a tree, and birds come and make nests in its branches.” Jesus also used this illustration: “The Kingdom of Heaven is like the yeast a woman used in making bread. Even though she put only a little yeast in three measures of flour, it permeated every part of the dough.”

An oil flask in Biblical times probably only held about an ounce of oil. The woman poured jar after jar of oil from a tiny receptacle. My olive oil bottle in the pantry is about 17 ounces. I cannot imagine pouring it into garbage-can-sized receptacles and getting very far. Can you? However, when the prophet told her to do – she did. Why? She was desperate. The perfume flask in the alabaster box was about the same size. It was all she had gained from her giving herself away to all those people. But when she met Jesus – she couldn’t help but anoint him with it. She was desperate for Him. Are you desperate for the Lord today? Both parables describe the small amount of faith necessary to release the great potential God has planned for your life. You came with a purpose and plan far greater than you can think or ask. He is ready to do imaginable things in you and through you. He will give us perfect peace and inexpressible joy. Our life will be pressed down and shaken together just so it can receive and release all that is promised and purposed for our life. Our life is not just meant to be a blessing to us but the whole body of Christ. Withholding nothing, I have the potential and promise to have it all. What am I holding back? Am I willing to release it to have the fullness of God take over my life? You have all the faith needed to see signs, miracles and absolute wonders in your life. You have enough faith to move mountains hidden with the eternity in your broken human heart. Everything you need is packed in that package called you. Now what are you going to do with it? Stop trying to measure up to other people’s standards and let the Lord pour you out today! When we spend our life measuring it up to Christ, we cannot fail! Are you desperate today? Do you need a breakthrough? Are you willing to be broken? To pour your life out before Christ? Do you trust Him? Faith only needs a little trust to get the job done. In the Name of Jesus Christ – I ask you God to fill my family, friends, coworkers, church and even my enemies with a desire to release the measure of faith you have hidden in their hearts along with me!

Ephesians 4:13-15 (NLT) This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ. Then we will no longer be immature like children. We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching. We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth. Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ, who is the head of his body, the church.

Leave a Reply

