The One Thing

The One Thing

Philippians 4:13 (NLT) For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.

Have you ever had those days, weeks or months when you just can’t seem to get on top of it? Tasks are greater than time. Responsibilities are overtaking rest. Frustration eats at faith. Discouragement begins to set in. If not you, then maybe it is only me. I know “this too shall pass”, but sometimes it feels like the season goes on and on. Glancing at the books on the table, a pile stacked high of must-reads for me and some to evaluate for the next Bible Study group at church. It seems the more I try to yield to God’s Calling and Purpose in my life the greater the challenges that seem to come. I am the owner of my time and must distribute it accordingly. I do not ascribe to the idea that I am any busier than anyone else for there is only 24 hours in a day and I get to choose how I spend it. When the demands of family, work, church and life in general seem bigger than the allotment in our day. It is seriously time to evaluate what we are doing and who we are doing it for.

I can do all things through Christ. It says it right there in black and white. Jesus is my strength. Matthew 11 is the offer of my Jesus to let me yoke myself with Him and He will help me carry every load and burden each day. I don’t always remember that. Do you? Sometimes I am guilty of taking control of my schedule, to-do list and expectation. He has promised to do far greater than I can think, ask or imagine. However, the human component called flesh and pride will gladly try to get a foot in the door and take over completely. The idea that I have a worthwhile and meaningful contribution outside of Christ is ridiculous. I am selfish and hardhearted in my human form. It is the Christ in me that produces all the good stuff. The good fruit worthy of others and the potential of my life.

Our life is mostly made of good intentions but seldom is there time to follow through. Giving our time up for lesser things, there is nothing to give to allowing Jesus to overtake us with His Unfailing Love or allow His Goodness to reach us. We are on the run – here and there trying to good things that are futile compared to the Favor offered to me by God. Working harder not smarter for sure as I sometimes lack the wisdom to see that He who lives in me is greater than little ole me.

This morning would be no exception. The last few weeks at work have been more than stressful with many deadlines and few hands to meet client expectation. I love my job. The Lord has blessed me with a good one. I am thankful for it. It is just one of those seasons. It will soon all fall into place but driving home in the blurriness of exhaustion – it is hard to see past the fog in my head. With Mother’s Day approaching and now just around the bend, one more wake up and I must be ready to bless all the mom’s in our church. I agreed to the task. I am called to serve women. I love doing it as much as I sometimes joke that I do not. I decided from the beginning not to enlist any help in preparation. The women in our church serve every other day so I wanted them to peacefully enjoy their own time. Now on the eve of Mother’s Day, I have a to-do list a mile long. Lord, I need you to be my strength today. I desire you above all things. Life. Life is hard. There are struggles. There are busy times and wasted moments that comprise the summation of our life. Lord, teach me those that are important.

I Corinthians 10:23 (NLT) You say, “I am allowed to do anything”—but not everything is good for you. You say, “I am allowed to do anything”—but not everything is beneficial.

Each morning when I wake up to spend some time with the Lord is different and unique. There are times it takes a while to meander with Him and find the Word that He has for me. Other times, He gently nudges me awakening me from sleep. Not the case today, I was met with the desperate barks of our new puppy who despite her sleepy owners needed a potty break. I just want to sleep. Find rest. Escape all the “things” waiting for me “to do” today. This morning – the Lord came to me directly and purposefully when I finally stopped doing things to listen for His Voice. This is what He said, “Yes, you can do all things through me. But have you done the One Thing?” It was as if I was a student in the classroom and the Holy Spirit my teacher. The passages written in black on the white dry erase board. Listen. Look at this. Think about it. Meditate on it. Marinate in it. Find your place in this – I can do all things through Christ. I am allowed to do anything. Grace has me covered. Mercy meets me each new day. Christ lives in me so I am free to live my life as I choose to do so. I am indeed allowed to do anything…but not everything is beneficial.

Isaiah 40:28-31 (NLT) Have you never heard? Have you never understood? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.

Understanding the difference between permissible and beneficial and applying to our life is called wisdom. We know a lot of things about the Lord claiming to believe them. Faith is demonstrated by trust. Those who are fully dependent on the Lord yoked in life to Jesus Christ do not grow weak and weary often but those who do not discern the differences between permissible and beneficial often go it alone. God’s Grace allows us to do most anything. His Mercy catches us if we should stumble. But sometimes it is not a matter of sin, but service. We are trying so hard to please others and prove ourselves worthy of a love and grace that is priceless. We wear ourselves out trying to obtain that which is already given. Have you never heart? Do you not understand? The Lord is an everlasting God who never grows weak or weary! He lives in you and me giving us purpose and limitless potential if we would only believe.

Romans 8:28 (NLT) And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His Purpose for them. He causes everything to work out right. I love God. I am called according to His Purpose so even when I take on too much or overdo it, Jesus is still living in me with the offer to share the burden and carry the load. I must trust Him. Our good intentions are permissible and even beneficial but must be done with a pure heart. There will be difficult seasons. There will be blinding storms. There will be closed doors that seem impossible to open. Mountains much too high to climb and heavy to move. Pressure moves out of us the purpose that God put in us because it pushes us into His Presence. Are you tired? Frustrated? Exhausted? Overwhelmed? Just plain stressed out? I have the answer…

Psalm 27:4-6 (NLT) The one thing I ask of the Lord—the thing I seek most—is to live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, delighting in the Lord’s perfections and meditating in his Temple. For he will conceal me there when troubles come; he will hide me in his sanctuary. He will place me out of reach on a high rock. Then I will hold my head high above my enemies who surround me. At his sanctuary I will offer sacrifices with shouts of joy, singing and praising the Lord with music.

The Presence of God changes everything. All things are possible to those who believe enough to invest faith along with time into seeking His Face, basking in His Glory and spending time in the Presence of the Lord. After long days at work, during my 40-minute commute, I will play my favorite worship songs and dive into His Presence headlong. I know I need Jesus every day, hour and minute. I need His Presence to permeate my life tangibly. Christ lives in me. He invites me to come to Him – I must respond to His Call to come and find myself all over again. To make Him the ONE THING rather than trying to do everything.

I can do all things in Christ. He is my Strength and Way Maker. He is working everything together for my good because God loves me. I have responded to His Love likewise and now try to live according to His Purpose. My purpose is to love and serve Him. To be of one heart, mind and spirit with Jesus Christ. I must remember before attempting anything to one thing first – seek Him. My desire for Christ must be greater than any natural drive that I have. To love Him. Pursue Him. Please Him. Delight in Him as He delights in me. He must be the first thing on every list. The last thing I do every day. The reason I live, breathe, move and exist for every single second and each breath I take. If I can do this one thing, Jesus will give me the strength to do all the other beneficial things that I would like to do!

Psalm 36:5-9 (NLT) Your unfailing love, O Lord, is as vast as the heavens; your faithfulness reaches beyond the clouds. Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your justice like the ocean depths. You care for people and animals alike, O Lord. How precious is your unfailing love, O God! All humanity finds shelter in the shadow of your wings. You feed them from the abundance of your own house, letting them drink from your river of delights. For you are the fountain of life, the light by which we see.

One thought on “The One Thing

Leave a Reply

