The Impossible

The Impossible

Mark 10:27 (NLT) Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But not with God. Everything is possible with God.”

It was one of those mornings, in the stillness and quiet, I could feel the Holy Spirit nudging me awake. I grabbed my phone and it lit up with a notification. A friend shared the details of her visit to Gainesville with her son for his one year scans. We didn’t grow up together, meet in college or work at the same place. No our relationship began as a desperate message from a mutual friend who had heard the details of her son’s cancer and immediately knew it was the same signs and symptoms as our son. She reached out to me to make contact so I did. The young man made it through is celebrating one year of being cancer-free. However, one of the tests, “lit up” on their recent visit. The oncologist caring for him is a close friend who joined us on our journey. She sprang into action. Thankfully no tumor was discovered but precautionary scans in a couple of months. I could feel the tears on my face. I struggled to take another breath as my fingers typed a response. I hate cancer. I hate sickness and disease. I hate the enemy. But God…

I can certainly sympathize with my friend. I can empathize with her plight. I know the feelings and emotions invested in the moment when danger approaches. Like a deer in a field catching a scent on the breeze, her head is up, ears alerted to the next sound, her nose twitches to decipher what is coming, and every muscle of her being is on high alert. Hiding in the folds of the Father’s Love, my spirit turns from the message that has my heart in the pit of my stomach to see His Face. I have no strength to fight when it comes to this kind of thing. I don’t even begin to try to hide behind a false bravado of fearlessness but run to God for His Shelter. My heart will break into a thousand pieces if I do not let Him hold it tight. Lord, you have these kids in the palm of your hand and their names are written on your heart. Be God! I will trust you!

The Word of God tells us that “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But not with God. Everything is possible with God.” But if you read the very next verse, their disbelief is immediately evident as Peter chastens Jesus. “We gave up everything for you…” Oh my. How often do we feel that way in our Christian life? Walking with Jesus until bumping into the unexpected, then getting mad at the Lord for not moving it out of the way. Well, miracles require the impossible to be a miracle in the first place. Trust must learn dependency for validity. Endurance is found in a course farther than willingness or ability to travel. Patience is discovered in nothing other than waiting. All these things will produce prosperity in my soul and increase the abundance of God’s Fruit in my life. But who wants to pay the price for such things…surely not I.

Hebrews 11:5-6 (NLT) It was by faith that Enoch was taken up to heaven without dying—“he disappeared, because God took him.” For before he was taken up, he was known as a person who pleased God. And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him.

Faith always starts small. It is described as the smallest seed with great potential. Every seed every planted must die in its present form to reach the fullness of potential hidden deep inside. Who wants to be buried in darkness? Feeling the pressure to change like soil surrounding a seed? Giving way to what is known to embrace the unknown is not fun or favorable to human senses but absolutely necessary to reach the potential inside our heart called Eternity. To live for more than what our five senses can establish or our emotions understand and fully embrace by faith a God who is able and willing to do the impossible for me. Enoch is my example. He continually pursued God’s Presence. He got wrapped up in the Almighty God. He walked so close to Him that one day the man disappeared in the Presence of God. Lord, I want that kind of walk. So consumed by Your Love and Grace that people can’t see me anymore just you. Only You – Jesus.

It is impossible to please God without faith. If our objective in life is to fully pursue the Lord and have real faith then it is obvious that there will be struggles. Not only the natural ones in this place and time called life, but in our spirit as our flesh gives way to God. Do you believe today that God exists? Do you believe that He rewards those who seek Him? Or is He a strict, unyielding Father ready to punish or harm you? Who is He to you today? Do you fear Him? Do you trust Him? Do you love Him? God loves you. He loves me. He hates the sin that plagues us. He despises the diseases invading our bodies. He hates the enemy who is constantly after us. God is always good. So good in fact that He gave us a free will. We get to choose each day how life is lived and the choices made. He will not ever force us into His Way even those it is so much better than our own. He constantly pursues us with Unfailing Love and Goodness every single day. It is ours by simple stopping long enough to turn around and face Him. The details of this life are clearly revealed in the Word of God. Jesus warned us about life and how depraved it would become. He told us what was coming, but then promised He would overcome the world and you know what? He did. He died on the Cross to pay the debt for my sin so that His Grace would be enough for me. Jesus walked through hell and took my life back from the enemy. He emerged victoriously and thrust the Keys to His Kingdom in my hand and said, “Use them.”

Luke 1:37 (NLT) For the Word of God will never fail.

When I did a search in the online Bible for “impossible” – it was this verse that came up first. Funny that with all the ways “impossible” is used in the Word of God – the search engine found this to be the most pertinent. It is. The Word of God will never fail. It won’t. It can’t. God cannot be God if He goes back on His Word or changes His Mind. It compromises His Absolute Sovereignty and perverts His Perfection. If His Word cannot fail, I must invest my life in His Word to find the same results in life. Jesus Christ is the Word of God. He came to this world as a living love letter from the Father to His Children. His message – I love you! No matter what I love you and I am laying my life down to prove it. I am opening the doors to my Home called the Kingdom to you and you are welcome anytime. The Windows are open so my blessing can fall into your life like fresh spring rain to refresh, revive and restore you. All of me. God offered all of Himself to us in the person of His Son, Jesus. I accept. Lord, teach me to fully embrace you now.

Impossible. Forever. Never. All of these words smack of opportunity. Each one was spoken over one of my children and each time God came rushing in to intervene. This life is temporary but our God is eternal. Life is hard. His Love is enduring. He never gets weary or weak but constantly fights for us. Our ability to believe decides what is too hard for the Lord, because it limits us. (Zechariah 8:6) Those who decide that nothing is impossible or too hard for God enough to live like it will experience the supernatural. Divine outcomes will begin to happen in our earthly challenges attributable only to God and His Miracles. It is by believing our faith allows us to overstep the boundaries of natural outcomes to the place called hope.

Hebrews 11:1 (NLT) Faith shows the reality of what we hope for; it is the evidence of things we cannot see.

Romans 8:23-25 (NLT) And we believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering. We, too, wait with eager hope for the day when God will give us our full rights as his adopted children, including the new bodies he has promised us. We were given this hope when we were saved. (If we already have something, we don’t need to hope for it. But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently.)

Oh, the realm of hope, I have been here before. In a place of impossibility, yet feeling an overwhelming peace. Faith shows the reality of what we hope for. If we already have something, we don’t need to hope for it. If only this word saturate our thick skulls and hard hearts today. If the image of Christ was that of a warrior who fights for us and with us not Santa Claus who is a fairy tale created and maintained by humanity. The Lord has a place for us in His Presence. It is accessed by faith and allows us to come confidently and boldly into His Presence. Reciting His Word and recalling His Promises, the Lord must act on it because He is faithful. Hope is wasted on that which is possible to man. Faith does not promote the natural but increases the supernatural in our life. It is a seed that requires many seasons of growth and development to finally take hold and grow in us. It comes not as man perceives it by having it all together but is received through absolute and complete brokenness ready to receive all that God has for us.

I plead the Blood of Jesus over you today. I ask the Holy Spirit to fill your heart and mind with the Light of His Unfailing Love. I speak to the seed of faith hidden inside you to grow and take root in God’s Love and Care for you. He is the vine and we are His Branches. I ask Jesus to fortify the anchor of hope that is holding you tight keeping you from drifting. I ask the Lord to silence the enemy and reveal all of his lies to you so that the Truth will overtake them. God’s Love for us is overwhelming and life changing. It does not make all our problems, trials and troubles disappear but gives us overwhelming victory. Triumph is in the treasure of our heart and life – Jesus Christ. My constant and prevailing prayer for you is that you will never face such hardships as cancer, death or disaster in your natural life, but the reality is that you more than likely will. My hope for you is that when you do – the Love and Certainty of Christ, found in this life of faith you live now, will keep you tightly in His Presence fully consumed by His Embrace. The Lord is good. God is greatly. His Love is complete and unfailing. His Goodness always in hot pursuit of you. His Presence is always open to you. His Spirit available as well. Do not fear the impossible but fully embrace it because it is where miracles happen and His Glory shines, too. Everything is possible with God… we must only believe. Faith makes all things possible.

Hebrews 6:18-20 (NLT) So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. Jesus has already gone in there for us. He has become our eternal High Priest in the order of Melchizedek.

Leave a Reply

