The One and Only I AM

The One and Only I AM

Psalm 73:25-26 (NLT) Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.

I woke up from a fitful night of sleep with the thought – He is God. Always God. Never failing. Just God. Yet completely God. Overwhelming and all-encompassing God of All. There is only one who is God. The One and Only I am. With finite thinking and my fragmented being – I want to soak in and sop up all that He is today in the defining character of I AM. It was Moses who had the pleasure of the first introduction to the Great I AM. As he stood staring at an oddity of nature, a burning bush. It continued to burn yet never was fully consumed. The Lord told Moses take off your shoes for this is holy ground. I wonder if that raging fire was a spark from God’s Passionate Heart burning for people that happened to get away from Him. Drawing the attention of a wayward soul lost in the wilderness to step into His Calling and out of the dark. God always wants to draw us closer, capture us in love, press out our purpose and pour blessings over every area of our life. God is our father. He is a good one at that. He is love. The very definition of love in all of its entirety. I want God’s Unconditional Love today. Not the one religion tells of with all its rules and regulations but the kind of love David talks about in Psalm 23. Unfailing love accompanied by His Goodness that is always pursuing me.

Everyone comes to a point or place in life wondering is this really all that there is? There has to more to my existence than struggling to get by and grappling for acceptance and affirmation each day finding none. Jesus came to us offering soul satisfaction. The passionate and loving nature of His Father, God came wrapped in flesh to be our sacrifice once and for all. Life changing. Resurrecting power for a people who can barely sustain their own life. He did it for me. Not because I deserve it or that He needs me at all – no, the Great I AM desires me. He loves me. His Constance is His Love for us. It is the Life Changing Power of Christ in us. Yet many days – it is a struggle to know the Great I AM much less trust Him with our life…why?

Exodus 3:14 (NLT) God replied to Moses, “I am who i am. Say this to the people of Israel: I am has sent me to you.”

Exodus 6:2-3 (NLT) And God said to Moses, “I am Yahweh—‘the Lord.’ I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob as El-Shaddai—‘God Almighty’—but I did not reveal my name, Yahweh, to them.

When the Lord came to Moses in the middle of the night speaking from the embers of a burning bush, He revealed His Identity to the man. I am Yahweh – the LORD. I AM. There are some interesting things to consider about God’s Declaration to Moses that are significant to the faith aspiring to grow in you and me. Yahweh indicates that there is no beginning and no end to God. He was and is and is to come. He was the One who formed everything and through Him everything has life. God is an absolute reality. His Authenticity is given no credibility by my willingness to believe or accept His Divine Authority. He is Sovereign and in complete control of every element of life whether I know it or not. Everything depends on God for life. Jesus is the Resurrection and Life. He is the Way, the Truth and the Life. He is part of God and all of God at the same time. My ability to theologically explain or even logically understand the Character and Nature of the Lord does not define Him at all. He is. He was. He will always be. God is constant. God is truth. God does what pleases God alone.

God has a plan for our life. It contains a future and hope. This is the same for you, me and even Moses. It is not a plan defined by my flawed human nature or natural abilities. No, as God knit me together in my mother’s womb and filled me with purpose, He decided all these variables in advance.

“God is not a man, so he does not lie. He is not human, so he does not change his mind.Isaiah revealed that His Word cannot return to Him void. It must accomplish the purpose for which it was released. But that’s not all it says, the Word will prosper (grow something, increase it) everywhere it is sent. The Lord has called you by name. He has invited you to return to Him. He doesn’t stop there but relentlessly pursues us putting opportunities and even opposition if needed to capture us with His Love. We don’t believe it. If we did, it would be clear that all I need to do to know the Great I AM is to simply turn around. He is there. He has always been there.

I John 4:7-8 (NLT) Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God. But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

God is love. The nature and character of God for us is His Love. He desires me. I please Him simply being alive. He knows my faults and failures otherwise surely His Grace would not be enough. How would He know how much mercy I need for today when He sends it? Our comfort is in service to God. Somehow attempting to level the playing field so that in some small way just maybe we can become a little more deserving of God’s Love, Acceptance, Affirmation and Blessing. Reading the Word of God, looking for the fine print. The ah-ha moment that reveals the secret and trick to the abundant or rich and satisfying life promised to all God’s Children through acceptance of Jesus Christ. To let God. To take in the Great I AM and allow Him to make me all that He promised I could be.

For today let’s keep it simple. Rather than trying to change everything that is wrong with our life, rethinking, reorganizing or reprioritizing. Let’s just stop for a moment and invite the Lord. Yahweh – the Great I AM to just take over. To just be still in this moment and know that He is God. God is love. He is crazy about me. His Grace is enough. Christ in me is all I need. Breathe in and out. Once again. Oh, for Heaven’s sake, just one more time. God has called me to love others. Love people. This comes directly from the Holy Spirit. It is the first fruit of God’s Spirit in us. Love. God is love. Have you been captured by His Love lately? Have you ever felt the peace that passes all understanding in knowing the Lord even when you haven’t or can’t do a thing? Do you know what it is like to be filled with inexpressible joy? See the enemy wants us to think we are or can do – but the Truth and Reality of my life is – God is Yahweh – He is the Great I AM and not everyone will know Him that way – but today I can.

Last night we had baked ziti, salad and bread. Sharing a meal with my family is probably one of the greatest blessings I know even though there a fewer people at the table. As the girls were talking, I listened while taking the garlic bread and soaking up the left over salad dressing made mostly of oil and spices. Today, I wonder if I can just soak up God’s Love like that. Like sopping up leftover gravy with a buttermilk biscuit after a wonderful meal. Sometimes like Martha overwhelmed by duties to serve the Lord, it is easy to forget the Great I AM and the fact that He is all that I need. His Love is complete. His Work still in progress. As I wait, becoming tired and impatient, the enemy will offer easy escapes and comfortable compromise to those who desire the Lord more and more. But those who are willing to wait on the Lord, bask in His Presence, spend precious time with Him and sometimes even just turn around will find nothing but unfailing love and goodness was there all the time. Life is hard. I know. We don’t always understand God’s Way but if for a moment just a single second we can experience His Love – it will change us forever.

Psalm 46:10 (NLT) “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.”

Leave a Reply

