Like Rain

April Showers Bring May Flowers

Psalm 143:5-6 (NLT) I remember the days of old. I ponder all your great works and think about what you have done. I lift my hands to you in prayer. I thirst for you as parched land thirsts for rain.

April showers bring May flowers. A short rhyme given as a reminder that in life rain must fall but that there is potential in every storm. The flowers are blooming yet the pollen comes with it. Life is all about perception. Everything worth having usually is precipitated by a season of challenges – otherwise there would be no joy or celebration in the outcome. The seeds in the ground from the previous season long for rain. When the rain falls, the thirsty and dry soil drinks it in deeply until moisture reaches its potential. The struggle does not stop there as the dead shell of its former state begins to change and develop to reveal its purpose. The little seedling must then push through all the soil surrounding it to break through the surface. Its goal is to reach the sun glorious sun.

The Lord has hidden a tiny measure of seed in our heart called faith. It is encased by a hope called eternity. A Kingdom of our own making each one has a position and place as God’s Child with a room just for them. How Lord do I get there from here? Through all the wind, rain and storms – is it possible to keep going and constantly growing through seasons of drought and dryness? When the drought is in my heart and not atmospheric conditions, there is only one rain that will make it inside of me. The Voice of God. His Word. His Presence offers intimacy to have such conversations. The ones that refresh us like an April shower ready to produce May flowers.

I Corinthians 15:37 (NLT) And what you put in the ground is not the plant that will grow, but only a bare seed of wheat or whatever you are planting.

Never doubt the potential the Lord has hidden inside of you. It is the purpose given to you when He formed you in your mother’s woman. He has a plan for our life that is most definitely set in stone activated when the stone that sealed the tomb of His Precious Son rolled away. No, longer held back by sin, death or the grave – we are like tiny seeds planted in the earth with great harvest hidden in fragile vessels and broken hearts. God is ready to grow us. Develop us. Increase us. Fill our life with all that His Grace and Goodness promised thanks to unconditional and uncompromised love. But first our seed must die to self and give way to become a new creation… What does that mean exactly? Rain must fall in our life to reach the seed so it will grow. Lord, come like the rain today. 

My husband and I were texting the other day. It was a nasty, rainy day fit only to stay home in pajamas on the couch or wade your way to work. We both made it to the office. I asked how his day was going and he shared that “the rain is killing” my business. I replied something like “I thought you said we needed some rain.” He responded, “Well, praise the Lord.” Sometimes life leaves us dry and thirsty. We want rain and even need it but when it comes find it messy and inconvenient. I hate getting my feet wet but insist on walking on water. Oh Lord help me to see the necessity of rain, showers and even storms you send to give life to our hidden promise to reach full potential.

Micah 5:7 (NLT) Then the remnant left in Israel will take their place among the nations.
They will be like dew sent by the Lord or like rain falling on the grass, which no one can hold back and no one can restrain.

I believe that God is in the final stages of pulling together the remnant. A body of believers who have finally let go of religion and taken hold of a real and authentic relationship with Jesus Christ. Those who desire a connection so deep and strong in the Lord anchored by deep and abiding hope. The church is going through some growing pains. Mega churches have been broken down to small groups. People are pursuing a personal God on an intimate level. Rain is falling. Storms blow through. God is preparing His Sons and Daughters to engage in eternity with Him forever. He is coming like the rain. Are you ready to receive Him? I hate when I hear rhetoric in the words I share. Church language with negative and empty connotations. The Lord desires you. He doesn’t want to fall around us but flow through us. He doesn’t require me to change to receive Him but promises His Presence in my life will change me into the person and purpose I was created to be. It is not a doctrine but a decision to live in love with Jesus that allows living water to reach my hard heart and make it soft again.

Psalm 65:9-13 (NLT) You take care of the earth and water it, making it rich and fertile. The river of God has plenty of water; it provides a bountiful harvest of grain, for you have ordered it so. You drench the plowed ground with rain, melting the clods and leveling the ridges. You soften the earth with showers and bless its abundant crops. You crown the year with a bountiful harvest; even the hard pathways overflow with abundance. The grasslands of the wilderness become a lush pasture, and the hillsides blossom with joy. The meadows are clothed with flocks of sheep, and the valleys are carpeted with grain. They all shout and sing for joy!

Are we mission minded or mercy filled today? What is the message resounding from my life? Do my words fall on others like refreshing rain or am I pounding them to death? Moving past the fundamentals of loving our neighbors as ourselves, it is our life calling to share a message of unfailing love and overwhelming goodness that causes seeds of faith, hope and love to begin to grow in others. I may be on a mission to tell others about the Lord but if I am not living by the great commission which is to share the love of Jesus rather than the Law of God I am failing. So into my life a little rain must fall…the kind in Psalm 65:10 that in an effort to produce a bountiful harvest must drench the plowed rows of indifference and melt the clods of harsh unforgiveness and even level my heart with humility to see that my need for Jesus never ends. The same grace given to me is provided for others. I cannot earn it or in any way aspire to deserve it but only open every area of my life to receive it.

Deuteronomy 32:1-3 (NLT) “Listen, O heavens, and I will speak! Hear, O earth, the words that I say! Let my teaching fall on you like rain; let my speech settle like dew. Let my words fall like rain on tender grass, like gentle showers on young plants. I will proclaim the name of the Lord; how glorious is our God! He is the Rock; his deeds are perfect. Everything he does is just and fair. He is a faithful God who does no wrong; how just and upright he is!”

The blessings of God pour from Heaven each day arriving with His Mercy…always right on time. I wonder if in an effort to avoid the rain or build other shelters that it doesn’t reach us. Like water on a rock, our heart is hardened by trying to survive in the dry and thirsty land. His Word will soften our heart when allowed to penetrate the surface. His Voice will blow just the right amount of refreshment needed to make it through one more day to victory. His Grace and Mercy are enough for me to release all human expectation and desire to receive what He has planned and prepared for me. All of His Promises are good. His Purpose in me secure. I have to let the rain reach me in order to be changed into the New Creation that God has chosen me to be. There must be April rain to bring May flowers. The kings rain must reach me in order for His Favor to be my portion. Abundant harvests are the product of many seasons. What season are you in? They all have the potential for rain. Jesus is our Source. He will be our supply. He will send the rain. God is faithful. Jesus is enough. Every good and perfect gift is poised on the edge of Heaven and you are on the verge of breakthrough. You just need a little rain!

Psalm 84:5-7 (NLT) What joy for those whose strength comes from the Lord, who have set their minds on a pilgrimage to Jerusalem. When they walk through the Valley of Weeping, it will become a place of refreshing springs. The autumn rains will clothe it with blessings. They will continue to grow stronger, and each of them will appear before God in Jerusalem.

It’s funny that people will say that they love the sound of rain. They find it peaceful minus crashing thunder and flashing lightning. But when we have plans, it suddenly is inconvenient. If it impacts our business, it is no longer wanted but the source of contention. See rain falls on the wicked and the righteous every single day. The Lord longs to bless us. All of us. Those who know Him and those who don’t. To know Jesus is to love Him. He is always whispering to us, inviting us to spend time in His Presence, and even knocking on every closed chamber of our heart. When the Word is able to access every part of our broken and hard heart, like rain, the blessings, prosperity, increase and abundance of God begin to grow in our life. Valleys of Weeping become a refreshing place in the Presence of the Lord. Rain even hard, beating storms become a place of blessing for those who know and love Jesus. Through every storm, God’s Grace promises to make us strong even if we stumble, fall or fail. God is so good! He is that good! In every shower, He will bloom us right where we are planted. His Word is life. Lord, saturate me with fresh rain and new beginnings in Jesus Name.

Hebrews 6:7 (NLT) When the ground soaks up the falling rain and bears a good crop for the farmer, it has God’s blessing.

Leave a Reply

