One More Step

One More Step.

Psalm 37:23-24 (NLT) The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.

One more step. Just one more step. What if my purpose will be revealed in the very next footfall? What if my potential will be realized in just the span of one foot length? What if I am that close to a breakthrough but too tired to move? What if the door is finally open but I choose to stop and turn away? One more step. The Lord is asking us to trust Him for the next step in our life not the summation of our destination. Too many times our focal point is not the finite but much farther ahead than human eyes could ever see. Determining our destination by a divine moment than God’s Plan – we take His Whisper and whip it into our own idea, concept or goal rather than patiently and confidently waiting on the Lord to show us the very next step.

The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. If you read this verse and think about it, the Goodness of God will begin a spark in your heart today. The Lord directs our steps. Is this a good thing…always? Well, it is if you continue reading “He delights in every detail of our lives.” What about the tough times? Heartbreaking situations? Overwhelming circumstances? Chaotic situations? What about those steps…are they divinely ordered because the Lord delights in us? Absolutely. Romans 8:28 is our guarantee. God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His Purpose for them. What is my purpose? To love God. Do I? Well, of course I do. Do I always get it right? Nope. Do I fall, fail, and mess up? Constantly. The sufficiency of God’s Grace is that no matter what if I love and desire God – I will always find myself in His Goodness. Always.

How can this be possible with all the sickness, hardship, trauma and terror in this world? The good die young while evil prospers. The rich get richer and the poor die in poverty. Love is cold and growing more so every minute. Sin has taken over. Perverted thoughts and skewed thinking rule the world in which we live. Jesus has not fallen off His Throne. He has not turned His Back on us. Whom the Son sets free is free indeed. We are permitted to choose our steps each and every one to our liking and choosing. God put mankind out of the garden not because He was mad at us or hated us but to save us from the torture of living forever in a deteriorating condition as a result of sin. Can you even imagine? A terminal cancer patient who can never be whisked away from pain and suffering into the Arms of Jesus? Death would be our escape and sudden release from the condition caused by our rebellion. We made the choice to turn our back on God that day. He made the choice to love us any way and make a way for our return.

I Corinthians 9:25-27 (NLT) All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize.  So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.

Discipline will always move us away from disqualification. Discipline keeps our feet on the path when our heart looks back or tries to wander of. Discipline is the stairway to goals and achievement. Discipline focuses on the end goal not all the steps that make their way to it. If God showed us the summation of our life from the beginning most of us would quit right then and there. If we could see our life without God’s Plan to teach us things like persistence, patience and endurance – it would be so overwhelming many would never take the first step – let alone another one. God has planted purpose in each and every step that I take. His Plan is a good one and comes with a future and hope. Discipline requires a wholehearted effort and so does the Plan of God. No halfsies. You must desire the Lord with your whole heart to trust Him without borders. To go where you have never been. Do what you never thought you could do? Be exactly who God created and called you to be.

I Samuel 17:38-40 (NLT) Then Saul gave David his own armor—a bronze helmet and a coat of mail. David put it on, strapped the sword over it, and took a step or two to see what it was like, for he had never worn such things before. “I can’t go in these,” he protested to Saul. “I’m not used to them.” So David took them off again. He picked up five smooth stones from a stream and put them into his shepherd’s bag. Then, armed only with his shepherd’s staff and sling, he started across the valley to fight the Philistine.

David obeyed his father’s directive to go to the battlefield to take his brothers food and supplies. He was then to bring back a report on their condition and news from the front. David followed his father’s directions. It seemed like just another monotonous task yet he did it. Upon arrival, each step led him from shepherd to warrior to giant killer in the span of one afternoon. I wonder where God is leading you today. Is today that one step will turn into victory? Is today the day you kill the giant who has been taunting and threatening your life? You will never know if you do not take the first step. David’s journey to the battlefield did not begin that day. It was a series of steps. Each one in obedience to someone or something in his heart, and know he would become a name everyone knew. He would become a giant killer. He would be victorious and his story recorded in the Word of God for all to read and glean from. What is your story? There is no way that you could possibly know because His Thoughts are so much higher than our own. The Lord is preparing a blessing far greater than you can think, ask or imagine. He is leading you to it. Are you following?

Here is something else from this passage that I believe is wisdom from on high. God has placed purpose in each and every one of our steps. He has planned, prepared and equipped us to overcome and achieve victory in our life. The absolute worst thing to do in such a situation is try to do it our way, be someone who we are not, or follow the advice, direction or leading of anyone other than the Lord. David was fully armed to take down the giant that day. God sent him into battle with everything he needed to overcome. If he had worn someone else’s armor or yielded a borrowed sword, I do not believe that David would have triumphed. We must have confidence, not only in God’s Plan, but that He has fully equipped us to achieve our goals and triumph in each battle. Faith is worth more than any other commodity used to fight. Grace keeps us moving in the right direction. Discipline will always lead to success. Obedience to God may lead us right to the battlefield but it comes with the promise to triumph.

Proverbs 16:9 (NLT) We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.

I do not believe in random fate. I do not ascribe to coincidence. I believe that no matter how I set out today that God is with me and in complete control. Even when I choose a different direction than where He is leading me, His Unfailing Love and Goodness is still in hot pursuit. Like a sheepdog herding wandering sheep, I believe God and His Spirit are constantly encircling me, directing me, leading me, and guiding me just like the Lord has promised. On especially difficult days, it is hard to see God’s Purpose, His Plan or even experience His Presence, but if I decide to take just one more step – I will find Him right there waiting for me. God is with me. Christ lives in me. Where I go – He goes. Where He goes – I want to be.

In John 18:4-5, Jesus is in the garden. He went there to pray. But now the Temple guards were there, things were beginning to come together. And the Word of God says, “Jesus fully realized all that was going to happen to him.” God’s Plan fully revealed. It was going to be rough. It would be horrible and torturous. He thought I was worth it, so you know what Jesus my precious and loving Savior did? “So He stepped forward…”The Lord took one more step. I don’t know what you are facing. The last few weeks have been challenging in my life. The thought of leaving this quiet place in the Presence of God is disheartening, but God is with me. He is where my help comes from. He promises that my steps are ordered. He tells us that He delights in every detail of my life. Is there blessing even in the bad days? Yes, according to His Word. How will I find it? Taking one more step…

Proverbs 20:24 (NLT) The Lord directs our steps, so why try to understand everything along the way?

After walking through a long season of waiting and a time where two steps forward seemed to result in three steps backward, I have seen God change my mode of operation. I have decided to follow Jesus. I have no reason to look back. Anything in my past worst having the Lord is more than capable to bring into my future. Micah 6:8 has become one of my most favorite verses, “…The Lord has told you what is good and this is what He requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.” It is so simple. Not hard to understand or follow. There are some things in my life that don’t add up or make sense according to His Goodness or His Glory and these are the things that might hinder my next step if I hadn’t decided to just trust the Lord and keep walking.

In Acts 2:14, the Holy Spirit had finally come to fill us. The Day of Pentecost must have been quite a party. It would also be the consummation of purpose in a man named Peter. The same Peter who said that he would die for Christ yet denied him not once but three times just hours before His Death on the Cross. Same Peter just kept following Jesus. He stepped out of hiding into purpose that day. You never know if today is the day that your purpose in Christ will be revealed. It doesn’t matter the outlook or forecast today – the Lord directs our steps. To overthink and scrutinize our course according to our expectation leads to discouragement. We have a hope that never ever leads to disappoint. The power or purpose is not in my next step but the Power of the One inside me who has already planned, prepared and promised me a rich and satisfying life. He is directing my steps right to it. He will lead me there if I just follow Him. This is not an act of service or according to any ability that I have. It is based solely and completely of faith and trust in God’s Love for me. Do not despise small beginnings. Rejoice in every victory even those that seem insignificant. Take the next step today. Do not be afraid to move ahead. Simply walk humbly with your God. All the Power, Potential and Promises of Your Father are carefully laid out before you – you are headed in the right direction…as long as you take one more step.

Galatians 6:9 (NLT) So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

