The Burger Joint

The Burger Joint

Psalm 34:8-10 (AMP) O taste and see that the Lord [our God] is good; how blessed [fortunate, prosperous, and favored by God] is the man who takes refuge in Him. O [reverently] fear the Lord, you His saints (believers, holy ones); for to those who fear Him there is no want. The young lions lack [food] and grow hungry, but they who seek the Lord will not lack any good thing.

Our girl’s weekend has concluded. It has been a good time. We attended the Beth Moore, Living Proof Ministry Conference and I would highly recommend it to individuals, families, friends and women’s groups. I may or may not have been living under a rock the last ten years, but I have never read one of her books or heard any of her teachings. Her team definitely were game on this weekend. I came hungry and received more than my fill. My hunger and desire for Jesus these days seems insatiable. The turning point is unclear when His Word and His Voice became a vital nutrient and daily requirement for my life but now I cannot seem to make it through a single moment of an ordinary day unless I know that the Lord is right there with me – walking arm-in-arm.

The first night of the conference ended after 9:00 PM and the parking garage was a crush. Glad the victory was won that night, because after hometown football games I have sat in the long line of cards with the bitter taste of defeat and a roaring belly. Sitting in the car packed in like tiny sardines, the most pressing matter in the moment became food. No one had really eaten since breakfast and all were getting hungrier by the minute. The only thing open that late was the usual breakfast clubs and a few burger joints. Votes were cast and due to the early wake-up call everyone decided on the latter. Now, I have not completely purified my diet but in the name of old age and trying to preserve this shell of humanity that covers me, I don’t eat greasy food much anymore, especially not late in the evening right before bed. I prayed a little prayer that the Holy Spirit would but His Hand on my stomach and protect me. Once in the booth, I really didn’t need a menu. We all ordered the same cheesy, greasy, double patty burger loaded with fries and milkshakes, Lord help us – we were now committed.

When the sweet waitress delivered the food, I am sure to other patrons it must have resembled a school of piranha in the Amazon River. My daughter confessed later that she did not even remember consuming the pile of fat and calories. Every person who engaged in the frenzy agreed that the burger was the best they had in a long time. Food was delicious. I had to smile inside. Was the burger really so tasty? The fries cooked to perfection? The milkshake filled with all the creamiest richness? Or was our perception of the food based on our appetite conditioning our desire? Or our hunger that led to desperation? When our appetite was fulfilled and our desperation turned to satisfaction, suddenly the burger was praised. I think you know where this is going so let’s just dive in…

O taste and see that the Lord [our God] is good; how blessed [fortunate, prosperous, and favored by God] is the man who takes refuge in Him. I have been a Christian since I was eleven years old when I invited Jesus to come inside my heart and live there forever. I did not fully understand what I was asking or how it would happen, I just knew that He is who I desired based on the recommended by others and the little bitty hunger that rose up in my heart that day. It would take hears for me to develop a true desire for Jesus Christ in my life. However, once we do “taste and see” for ourselves – no one can change our mind. No one will convince our group that the burger on our plate and then in our stomachs the night before last was anything less than perfection. However the Truth is that the burger really was not that great for us. Some experienced a bit of gastric distress but deemed it worth it in the end. Hear me today! To taste and see that the Lord is good requires dining at His Table. In fact, Jesus is always knocking on the door to our heart asking to share a meal with us. (Revelation 3:20) Too often, busyness or cares of life or fear of expectation keep us from allowing Him to come and satisfy our heart with His Richness and Goodness so we pop in another microwave, quick-gratification meal to keep us from experiencing those hunger pangs or feelings of desperation just a little bit longer. The Lord has desires. He is desperate to bless you and me. To make us fortunate, prosperous because we are favored by God. Too many times, we choose something less to meet the current need rather than to experience a rich and satisfied life. (John 10:10)

O [reverently] fear the Lord, you His saints (believers, holy ones); for to those who fear Him there is no want. Fear is a powerful force. There are two kinds of fear. The first and most understood by people is the feeling. Fear is a distressing emotion aroused by perceived danger, evil or possible pain where it is real or imagined. This is not the fear expressed in Psalm 34:9 yet the reality of faith for most people. They fear God’s judgment and punishment because they have not fully comprehended the authenticity of His Unconditional Love and Amazing Grace offered in the Person of His Only Son, Jesus Christ. When Jesus lives in us, and by chance we fall in love with Him. The bond creates a union so that when God sees us – He does not see our sin but the Beautiful Face of His Son and the sacrifice offered to rid us of it. Fear arises from doubt in the sufficiency of God’s Grace and is often shrouded by religion rather than true fear of the Lord arising from confident trust in the relationship offered when we yoke our life with Jesus Christ. The fear that offers us a fully satisfied and completely content life is found in reverence for the Lord. Fear defined as reverential awe. Reverence is the feeling or attitude of deep respect tinged with awe and the outward manifestation of it. It is to have faith and trust the Lord. When He acts upon His Promises as a result of this attitude, it only deepens and widens our capacity to love and trust Him more. Reliance becomes inevitable. Our hunger will grow. Our desire deepen. Our appetite will increase for more of Him. All of this will create people who are desperate for all of Jesus.

The young lions lack [food] and grow hungry, but they who seek the Lord will not lack any good thing. Yes, I am convinced that our perception of the hamburger the other night was based on our hunger and need for food rather than the reality that it was that tasty or divine. It just hit the spot. Somebody needs to hear this today. You live from day to day even meal to meal on less than God’s Best driven by natural desire and hunger that force you to compromise and live on less. No experience will do this every time. Young lions lack food and grow hungry. BUT… But God… But they who seek the Lord will not lack any good thing. Food is a daily necessity for healthy growth and development. The Lord invites us to His Table today. He is the Bread of Life. Communion is not just for certain Sundays but welcomed in every day of our life with the Lord. It is up to us to make better choices in our consumption. The day after eating the burger and fries guess what I was craving again? You guessed it. I was ready to consume more of it. It is up to me to decide what the best choice including the things I take in to my life naturally, emotionally and spiritually each day. I must choose what I consume based on the desires for each area of my life.

Galatians 5:22-24 (AMP)  But the fruit of the Spirit [the result of His presence within us] is love [unselfish concern for others], joy, [inner] peace, patience [not the ability to wait, but how we act while waiting], kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such things there is no law. And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature together with its passions and appetites.

I am so thankful today for the Spirit of the Living God who resides inside me. Not only is He an excellent life coach but the Holy Spirit produces fruit in me that will produce complete satisfaction in my hungry heart. He offers things like love, joy, peace, and yes, even patience to wait for the right thing rather than grabbing the first thing that comes along. He offers me kindness, goodness, faithfulness, and gentleness in such abundance that I have no other choice than to share it with others. He also provides self-control so I will make better choices in all areas of life. Why do we limit God to the super-spiritual when He offers to bless, prosper, multiply and increase every are of our natural and spiritual existence? All I must do is choose to bring my choices, appetites, desires and even passions to the Cross and hand them over to Christ for inspection. He does not shame me in those things that are not good for me, but rather always offers me something so much better than I might have settled for. His Word instructs me to choose better. His Spirit leads me to those things. I have the opportunity to live a life defined as rich and satisfying. It is up to me if I will choose it.

Psalm 37:3-5 (AMP) Trust [rely on and have confidence] in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and feed [securely] on His faithfulness. Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and petitions of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him also and He will do it.

Our desire for the Lord will turn to delight by tasting and seeing that He is good. To know if a certain food is palatable to us requires tasting or trying it. This is a commitment. I cannot sniff and decide it worthy of consumption but must put it in my mouth, roll it around and swallow it. You will never know or experience the fullness of God available in Christ until your faith tries Him by trusting Him. We must rely on Him some to develop confidence in the Lord. We must “feed on His Faithfulness” to see the remarkable changes produced by such a choice. The Lord wants to give you a rich and satisfied life unaffected by the temporary problems, troubles, trials or even distractions. Once you experience the Goodness of God, you will never be the same. It changes us from the inside until suddenly there is a deep desire that becomes desperation. Now no longer do we want His Hand but all of His Heart. This will lead to the everlasting lifetime of called glory to glory which produces an abundance of love, joy and peace in our life. It raises our standard of living to the God’s Standard again. Right here. Right now. His Love is amazing and overwhelming. The question has been posed – How do you eat an elephant? The answer is simple. One bite at a time. You get to choose when and where you will decide to taste and see that the Lord is good. Why not today? Why not now?

Matthew 5:6 (AMP) “Blessed [joyful, nourished by God’s goodness] are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness [those who actively seek right standing with God], for they will be [completely] satisfied.”

Leave a Reply

