Know Your Limits

Know Your Limits

Ephesians 3:10-12 (NLT) God’s purpose in all this was to use the church to display his wisdom in its rich variety to all the unseen rulers and authorities in the heavenly places. This was his eternal plan, which he carried out through Christ Jesus our Lord. Because of Christ and our faith in him, we can now come boldly and confidently into God’s presence.

Pressing the boundaries of ordinary in pursuit of extraordinary is not without certain challenges. To take this thing called “faith” that is tiny and small in the first place and finding the right “ground” in which to sow it is also difficult. Faith is not logical. I cannot take the title or deed to the supernatural blessing of my inheritance in God secured by Christ and shake it in the world’s face demanding my rights as His Child. Yet, it is because of Christ and (my) faith in Him that I can now come boldly and confidently into God’s Presence. Oh, how elusive this place of power seems when the world and its ways are pressing in on us. The further one ventures in faith the more distant God seems sometimes. In the moment of testing and trials – how do I hold tight to my faith without wavering? Stuck in the realm between impossibility and possibility – I desire more faith to hold on to. I want more confidence in Christ than I have ever had before. I hear His Voice but cannot always see His Hand holding me. What about you? Have you come to the edge of His Love? There really is no limit to God’s Love or the potential of faith in our life. We have limits to overcome to keep exploring and experiencing the spiritual blessings that are already given to us but grace has not expanded far enough in us to release that segmented power hidden within us.

God’s Plan for us is set in the Heavens. The one and only thing that can separate us from God and His Blessings is sin. Sin is overcome by the love and grace that flows in the Blood of Jesus Christ. Our life has the potential to dramatically change by faith. Faith is tough. You cannot see it, feel it, touch it or hear it. The reality of it is not influenced by our inability but rather acceptance of it. It seems too good to be true so it is half-heartedly pursued. I hear people say all the time, “I have faith but the reality is…” I must be a realist. Realism is an interest or concern for the actual or real. It does not consider the abstract or speculative. A realist subscribes to the thought and rationale of all five senses staying away from anything that is not factual reality discerned with the mind backed up by human consciousness. I am a realist. I am also an optimist. I have a tendency to look at the favorable side of things and to expect favorable outcomes. I believe that people all have the potential of goodness hidden inside broken hearts and dysfunctional lives. I believe that goodness pervades reality because God is good. He is a good father who created a good thing. However, optimism does not change the conditions, circumstances or situations in my life – faith does.

Hebrews 11:1 (NLT) Faith shows the reality of what we hope for; it is the evidence of things we cannot see.

Hebrews 11:1 (NIV) Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Hebrews 11:1 (AMP) Now faith is the assurance (title deed, confirmation) of things hoped for (divinely guaranteed), and the evidence of things not seen [the conviction of their reality—faith comprehends as fact what cannot be experienced by the physical senses].

Hebrews 11:1 (MSG) The fundamental fact of existence is that this trust in God, this faith, is the firm foundation under everything that makes life worth living. It’s our handle on what we can’t see.

Anything untried cannot be proven. It is human nature to try things. We are inquisitive by nature and quite curious about things. Faith must be proven to become a reality in our life. Otherwise, it is just a notion. We must have faith to please God. “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who earnestly seek Him.” God’s Plan becomes possible by faith but not just any kind of faith. It is made a reality by faith that not only believes God is alive but also that He is good. He is a rewarder. He provides well for His Children. It is not enough to believe but we must know God – His Nature, His Character including Who He is and what He does. Faith is confidence in the Character of God and His Faithfulness not our ability to be faithful.

I have included four translations of Hebrews 11:1. Let it soak in for a minute. Faith is the title deed to the things we hope for. It is the evidence of the unseen and our confidence in it. Do you have faith today? I know – every Christian shakes their head in affirmation and whispers, “Yes, of course.” Do we really have faith and confidence in a person who acts completely contrary to human nature and boasts of the impossible? Optimism believes in goodness. Faith rests assured in the Goodness of God held tightly by faith and accessed with bold confidence.

2 Corinthians 10:3-5 (NLT) We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.

If faith is illogical, how do I apply it intellectually to my life? Faith is illogical to the world in which we live. However, to our spirit (and soul) it is absolutely essential. Sin came into this world because a lie was conceived as truth and influenced humanity. Welcome to the world in which we live. Our life is lived by our belief system. Driven by emotion, and reactive to our five senses, it is a difficult transition to believe God for our daily life and not just eternal salvation. Life is hard. The enemies attacks and assaults against us are relentless. Our faith in God must overwhelm every doubt, fear and lie that has entangled us and trapped us in an unlocked cell with a door held shut by ignorance. I must know the Word of God to overcome every doubt and fear. My life is not limited because I serve a limited, powerless Lord. My life is limited because of self-imposed strongholds that must come down.

I believe there are four significant limitations that Christians must overcome to have a flourishing and productive life of faith. Disbelief is always overcome by the Truth. Once you know the Truth, you cannot fall privy to a lie. It becomes a choice. Imagine a field with a fence line of four sections. When each one is in place, it contains something. Limits its ability to move. A farmer puts fences in place to keep his sheep inside of it.

John 10:9-10 (NLT) Yes, I am the gate. Those who come in through me will be saved. They will come and go freely and will find good pastures. The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

Jesus said that He is the Gate but His Sheep are free to come and go. The first limitation is that of limited perception. I must recognize, discern, envision and understand a faith that cannot be perceived by any of my natural senses. It must become the solid foundation of my life. To believe God at His Word, I must know the Word. Jesus Christ is the Word of God wrapped in flesh. I must hold tightly to these teachings to see earth and heaven. There is a relationship between the two achieved by faith in the Person of Jesus Christ. When Jesus asked Peter, “Who do you say that I am?” He confessed Jesus as the Son of God. It was in that moment of faith that the Lord told Peter who he was to Him. Jesus knew when he spoke to this man every fault, failure and denial that would come. My faith is not based on my ability to live according to each every single moment of every single day but my recognition, discernment, envisioning and full understanding that by His Grace – I am saved. I must remove the limits of my perception to the Person of Jesus Christ. Rather than trying to be all things and do all things to be right with Him, I must overstep my limitation of perception into the vast depth of faithful and boundless love that is completely independent of me and available solely in Christ. This is the field in which I live. It is the gateway to freedom.

I John 3:19-20 (NLT) Our actions will show that we belong to the truth, so we will be confident when we stand before God. Even if we feel guilty, God is greater than our feelings, and he knows everything.

The second limitation is that of perspective. God is passionate but He is not emotional. He does not lie or change His Mind ever especially according to how He feels about us on any given day. He loves us unconditionally. It is human nature to examine and evaluate our life from a human perspective. We doubt the influence of faith in God in our life based on current circumstances, situations or conditions rather than seeing them only as temporary. God has promised to make good of every detail in our life. To trust the Lord by faith to do so we must remove the barrier of doubt that is driven by emotions and not our faith. We must learn to respond to God’s Promises and not react to the current stressors of the momentary problems that have a positive outcome and blessing attached. We sell our birthright for a single meal as Esau did when we give up the impossible and settle for what is possible. To live in the ordinary rather than pressing for the extraordinary. We ask not so we have not and we are not asking because we do not believe beyond our current perception and given reality.

Matthew 19:26 (NLT) Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.”

The third limitation is limited possibilities. We simply do not believe that with God everything is possible. I do not mean to offend you, but if you truly believed that God is able. If you lived by the truth that God does not change His Mind, He doesn’t lie, He does not go back on His Word, and that His Word never returns void – your faith in Him would make all things possible. “To all perfection I see a limit, but your commandments are boundless.” (Psalm 119:96)

Ephesians 1:14 (NLT)  The Spirit is God’s guarantee that he will give us the inheritance he promised and that he has purchased us to be his own people. He did this so we would praise and glorify him.

The word “pretension” can have a negative connotation. There are many believers who boast of a faith they do not have because it is what they are supposed to say. It means to claim something. We claim to have faith. However, our faith is limited. As Christians, we lay claim to the promises of God as the reality of our life by faith. Really we are not claiming it, but attempting to fake it until we make it. Trusting God is evidence of faith and confidence in Him. We may not see His Perspective, Perception or even the hidden possibility of God’s Plan but faith follows through with willing obedience anyway. Are you living a pretentious life? Claiming a faith that you do not have. A Good God that you do not know or see. Pretense limits the potential in our life. It can only come down when faith is applied to the lie that has been holding us. God has filled His Word with promise after promise. Pick one. Grab it. Hold it. Wait for it. This will break down pretentious faith and make it purposeful again.

Ephesians 3:17-19 (NLT) Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is.  May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

So here I am again back in Ephesians 3, as the Lord begins to break down my hard heart and plant new seeds of faith and confidence in it. Right after we moved in this house, we took down an overgrown bush that grew into a cumbersome tree on the corner of the house. It was at the end of the flowerbed and an eye sore. We left the little stump there. Now spring, I bought some lovely azalea bushes to fill the barren bed with new life. My husband was planting the bush closest to the little stump but found he could not dig into the ground because of the roots hidden underground. The tree had established some thick and massive roots that we didn’t bother to remove with the tree. And so it is with our faith, as we explore new heights and depths of God’s Love there will be some resistance as our heart and mind shifts from worldly thinking to Heavenly revelation of this new life given to us as new creations in Jesus Christ. We must dig up those roots and strongholds that attempt to keep us in the impoverished mindset of false perception, perspective, and possibility living in a state of pretension when God wants to give us everything He promised us instead. My thinking can limit my life completely. Faith must become the logic. I live by. I must daily fight to remove every bit of my stinking thinking, untangle myself from all the lives and saturate myself in Truth that produces faith and confident hope. As I trust the Lord, doors are unlocked that lead me deeper into His Presence, His Provision and His Prosperity for my life. I may be an optimist naturally but I long to be faithful and confident in the hope that I have supernaturally. Lord, help us today to remove every self-imposed limitation and boundary in our life until nothing stands between me and You! God has blessed me and the earth in which I live. God teach me how to overcome every obstacle of faith in my life so I may live in the unlimited Power of Your Presence both NOW and forevermore.

Ephesians 3:20-21 (NLT) Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

3 thoughts on “Know Your Limits

  1. Pingback: Know Your Limits – Site Title

Leave a Reply

