Prosperity for All

Prosperity for All

Psalm 1:1-3 (NLT) Oh, the joys of those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers. But they delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night. They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.

I have a good life. I would even say that I live a God Life. Jesus is everything to me. He has filled gaps and spaces in my existence healing old wounds and exposing old ones that I did not know existed. This year, I have felt this stretching in my heart. God is eluding to the fact that there is more to Him than I am aware of. He keeps telling me and reminding me – don’t stop. I am ready to do more than you can think or ask. Secret things and hidden blessings that you do not even know to ask me for. Isaiah 55:8-9 say, “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.” Depending on one’s perspective, this verse can be comforting or daunting at times. Our knowledge and understanding of the Word of God must include the instruction and guidance of His Spirit and a constant meditation and marination that keeps it soaking and saturating our mind. What we cannot grasp or comprehend will not be applied to or adhered to in life including faith and confident hope that allows us to trust the Lord when it comes to His Thoughts beyond our own understanding and His Ways far greater than our own. His Thoughts for us are so much higher than we think for or of ourselves. Reading this verse today in consideration of Psalm 1, maybe just maybe God is trying to tell me something new. It isn’t new to the Lord but the introduction of a higher level thinking that I could not grab hold of before.

Isaiah 55:10-13 (NLT) “The rain and snow come down from the heavens and stay on the ground to water the earth. They cause the grain to grow, producing seed for the farmer and bread for the hungry. It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it. You will live in joy and peace. The mountains and hills will burst into song, and the trees of the field will clap their hands! Where once there were thorns, cypress trees will grow. Where nettles grew, myrtles will sprout up. These events will bring great honor to the Lord’s name; they will be an everlasting sign of his power and love.”

I have learned in studying God’s Word to always keep reading. Read what comes before great revelation and what comes next. God’s Word is complete. It is all true. One precept leads to the next new concept. It takes a lifetime of reading, studying, mediating and applying and our humanity still cannot possible extract all of its goodness and wisdom. But at least, one can try. Our life is lived in seasons. We adapt our behavior and lifestyle in preparation of the next natural season. It drives our economy. It fuels our resources. It is the perpetual nature of sowing and reaping. Planting and harvest. As God calls us to new things, bigger thoughts, new ideas, and new innovations in our life, it takes us a step higher in our faith to comprehend and apprehend the unthinkable and once unattainable in life. However, the Goodness of God in our life flows through us to display His Glory. I know that before I experienced the wholeness of God’s Word, His Spirit and His Presence – I struggled at sharing the Gospel or Good News with others. I had not experienced its Power and therefore, I wasn’t completely sold on it or serving God wholeheartedly either. However, once I began applying God’s Word like the seed it is referred to in the Gospels like Matthew 13 – the fruit of my life was worth sharing. This has nothing to do with me or things I do but the things God’s Word is doing in my life. Every time I have pushed a “seed” in the ground, covering it, caring for it, committed to it, and confident in it – it has produced something far greater in my life. Something worth sharing. Something valuable and desirable to others. We were created to prosper here on the earth. Yes, heaven is our destination but it is not God’s Plan for us to struggle and strive all the time – we were made to thrive. Not only in the Fruit of His Spirit, but as a byproduct of it.

Proverbs 16:3-4 (NLT) Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed. The Lord has made everything for his own purposes, even the wicked for a day of disaster.

Commit your actions to the Lord. Serve Him wholeheartedly in every effort. The Lord of the Harvest doesn’t live in the local church house. God wants to live in your house. The Holy Spirit lives in our heart. His Purpose is to instruct us and guide us according to the Word of God. It says right here in black and white that if I “commit (my) actions to the Lord” that “(my) plans will succeed.” Once properly aligned with the God’s Word, His Will and His Way – I will be successful. Let’s flip the script for a moment, does that mean that if my life is not successful I am out of alignment or possibly disconnected? Yes. You are in good company because we all have more to do. A life committed to Christ will prosper in all they do. If every attitude and action is committed to Christ likewise our plans will succeed.

Have you ever tried to drive a car whose tires are out of alignment? Essentially each one has a mind of its own and the vehicle will pull in the direction of the misalignment. The faster you go the harder it is to control the direction of the automobile. Is your life pulling to the right or left? Jesus promised to align His Way with you if you will come to Him. Yoking our life to the Lord means yielding our way to His Way. It is to slow down. Evaluate our direction. Examine our heart. Weed out those things keeping us from completely grafting into the vine and becoming His Branches. Those who get it right will prosper “in all they do” and have “plans that succeed.”

Genesis 8:21-22 (NLT) And the Lord was pleased with the aroma of the sacrifice and said to himself, “I will never again curse the ground because of the human race, even though everything they think or imagine is bent toward evil from childhood. I will never again destroy all living things. As long as the earth remains, there will be planting and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night.”

In Genesis 1:28, God blessed mankind with fruitfulness and prosperity. He gave us power and authority basically dominion over the earth. Sin did not separate us from the earthly blessing, but rather separated us from right standing with God. It ended our partnership with the Lord. We could have a good life with a lot of hard work but as far as the Goodness found in His Glory – yeah it was game over. Looking ahead man’s sin took over, so God took the only righteous man and his family to safety while he wiped out the planet with a flood. Noah got off the ark and offered a pleasing sacrifice to God and in exchange God blessed the ground. This is important. Seedtime and harvest is very, very important because it restored man’s ability to prosper on the earth.

In the Garden, prosperity was given to us with God’s Blessing. However, we didn’t need the earth to produce because the blessing in the garden produced everything humanity needed to thrive. Sin separated us from the Presence of God. God gave us goodness in the earth again. He is such a good Father. This would be the beginning of grace for the world and its inhabitants even though “everything they think or imagine is bent toward evil”. Hang on…now where have I heard something like that before. Oh wait a minute, it is in the context of my life verse for 2017. “Now all glory to God, who is able, through the mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might think or ask.” His Goodness produces a Glory that is beyond my comprehension. The Truth is that despite my stinking thinking and sinful recollections that God is still trying to get His Goodness past what I think is possible to the impossible things that He has planned for me. He wants to do more than I think I am capable of. He wants to take me higher than I think possible. He wants to give me the life that Jesus Christ died for me to have rather than the one that I try to settle for day after day.

I Chronicles 4:9-10 (NLT) There was a man named Jabez who was more honorable than any of his brothers. His mother named him Jabez because his birth had been so painful. He was the one who prayed to the God of Israel, “Oh that you would bless me and expand my territory! Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from all trouble and pain!” And God granted him his request.

In 2000, Bruce Wilkinson wrote a little book/commentary called The Prayer of Jabez. Many applauded the writing as pure revelation while others called it just another scripted effort in the prosperity gospel. I read the book. I prayed the prayer. I have seen its fruit bore in my life. Jabez was honorable humbled at birth by difficult circumstances. His mom called him a pain. His name actually means “pain”. I can’t imagine the humiliation others must have projected on Jabez. How insignificant his life must have felt as his mother looked at him in disdain. Childbirth is painful. I get it times five but I wonder what his mother must have been going through in her life. With each birth somehow a mother’s love overcomes the pain of the process, but for his mother it did not. He prayed to God, “Oh that you would bless me and expand my territory! Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from all trouble and pain.” If you wish to term this “prosperity gospel” be my guest because it absolutely is just that. God called us to leave the borders of our natural life and step out by faith into the prosperity that He has promised His People – His Children. He is a good father who offers us a rich inheritance. If your mind can only see financial or tangible blessing in that as you pray God will change your heart and mind to see that as your soul prospers so will the rest of your life. To disconnect the blessings of God for our natural life as part of a crucified life silences the Gospel in our life. God blessings His People. By grace you are saved through faith that restores a right relationship with God. What Father withholds goodness from His Children who live with them? Parents bless their children in a right standing relationship. Why wouldn’t God? He tells us over and over that He has planned for our success. He will prosper us in every season. In Leviticus 26:5, it even says that though there are seasons that to Children of God they do not apply negatively but overlap in prosperity. Deuteronomy 28 outlines the blessings of obedience which are intangible and tangible. He also tells us that an impoverished life is in direct correlation with disobedience. Did God lie? No. Did He change his mind? No. Did He mislead us in any way? No not at all. We have set the boundaries of God’s Goodness and overflow in our life. We limit the Gospel because His Grace is only as sufficient as it operates in our life. If I limit my life according to what I can do or will do – it is not God’s Plan but my own in operation.

James 1:16-18 (NLT) So don’t be misled, my dear brothers and sisters. Whatever is good and perfect is a gift coming down to us from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow. He chose to give birth to us by giving us his true word. And we, out of all creation, became his prized possession.

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.” The Lord has been good to me. He has been so much better than I deserve. It is easy for people to settle for the Goodness of God. The Word of God opens our eyes to the Truth that His Goodness has surrounded us from the moment that we were born – it is now that we can see it as magnified by His Word.

Through the battle with our son, bits and pieces of my life that I thought really mattered began to break off of me. The idea that I was somehow in control of anything in my life quickly subsided and the reality of my life is worth nothing outside of Jesus Christ. I was born to teenage parents. They struggled but just could not survive the statistics. They both had to find their own way leaving two little kids in the aftermath. God was with us. He gave us godly grandparents who took care of us while our parents sorted their lives out. My father married a wonderful woman who would become my mom, too. The Lord knew I needed her. My birth mother struggled for the rest of her life and died after a long battle with alcoholism that separated her from the ones she loved most. I discovered the love of God at eleven. Gave my life to Christ as a teenager. Rebelled for a decade. Ended up divorced with three kids and no hope for a future in my own eyes. I failed my children, my parents, my God and myself. God had a different plan and presented my soul mate. When I came back to Jesus, I set out to make things right to do all I could to make up for all that I had done wrong and thought I was doing pretty good. God blessed our life. My husband and I had knit together a family, achieved great jobs, built the perfect house, and life was good. Then came the moment that I realized it was all a façade, it came crashing down in October 2011. Could this be my fault? Repayment for a life wasted? No, God is good! Right? I could not save our son. I was helpless. God whispered, “Do you trust me?” I whispered, “Yes.” I meant it but had no idea the journey that I was embarking upon. At the end, I was broken before the Lord. I was empty. It was then everything changed. This was when God’s Grace became truly sufficient for me. You may say, “Well, of course it did! Your son is alive.” To God be the Glory – you are right he is. He had a 2% chance of survival. God did the impossible. However, what you do not know is that the doctors only believe he will live about ten years. The treatment is as deadly as the disease apparently. We are in the third year of remission. He experienced a long list of side effects that we must still believe God to take care of. See trust didn’t end in that moment, it was only beginning. The verse that carried me through treatment right now as he lives in remission is Romans 8:28 “All things work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His Purpose.”

Your life may not look like you thought. The disappointments might be a list longer than your arm. We get lost in our failures. We get tangled up in the lies the enemy is constantly trying to trap us with. We stop and settle because faith is just too darn hard. God’s Plan, His Future, is never at stake. He will absolutely do more than I can think or ask for. The only thing I must do is decide if I will live in His Presence or stay in the present. God’s Goodness is in your life right now. He blessed you from the beginning and called you to greater things. He ordained you for fruitful increase in every season. The righteous are not supposed to live in lack. Spiritual lack. Physical lack. Financial lack. His Goodness provides more than enough for us. But for those who desire His Glory – the kind that sparks revival – it is up to us whether we will step over the boundary of self and wealth into the place of prosperity called His Presence. Those who do will never experience disappointment again because their expectation is not on people or earthly provision but God’s Glory to fill their life and overflow. God has called you to prosper. He has already blessed the land on which you tread. He has gone before you and cleared the enemy’s camp. Will you go? Will you plant? Will you harvest? Well friend, that is up to you! I break the boundaries of human thinking that have trapped you in just enough in the Name of Jesus. I challenge you to let God do more than you can think or ask but stepping out in faith and trust in the Lord who always wants to do more than we can think, imagine or ask. As your soul prospers, let Him prosper you in all things.

Psalm 27:13 (NLT) Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living.

Leave a Reply

