Humility’s Harvest

Humilitys Harvest

Proverbs 22:4 (NLT) True humility and fear of the Lord lead to riches, honor, and long life.

True humility. What is humility? What does it look like? How does one live it? What is its worth? It’s funny how the Lord leads us to certain secrets in His Word. Verses read over and over again suddenly become new seed to a soft heart. Pride rules human flesh. Survival of the fittest governs our mindset and thought process. God called His People to thrive. To be like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit in every season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do. (Psalm 1:3) It is only human nature to excuse lack in our life to some form of greater humility in life rather than calling it the bold-faced lie of the enemy that it is. God has created us, called us and committed us to prosperity in all things according to His Riches in Glory. How many times have we called Grace – God’s Riches at Christ’s Expense? A limited life does not represent a limited God but rather limited faith governed by a lack of humility. To live a life humbled before the Lord will lead to riches, honor and long life. You cannot fake it until you make it but rather must learn what faithful humility is to have a prosperous life.

Humility is to be humble. To become lower in condition, importance or dignity. It means that I must become less and less so Christ becomes more and more in my life. It is to live with a meek spirit that follows Jesus. It is to live in awesome respect of our Father in all that we do. However, when all that we do becomes the determining factor of our salvation suddenly grace gives way to pride and suddenly our life is impoverished again. Where is God’s Glory in the things I do? It is what the Lord wants to do in me and through me that bears significance in my life. Those things I don’t want to do but give because His Word instructs me to do it. Everything that I put my hand to in a day is impacted by the placement of my heart. If my heart is committed to Jesus Christ in adherence to the two commands given – to love Him with all my heart, mind, body and soul and to love others the same way – I am open to receive God’s Glorious Riches delivered at Christ’s Expense. As my soul prospers, the Spirit plants His Fruit in my heart and it grows not only intangible blessings in my life such as confidence, fulfillment and trust but it delivers prosperity in our life in the natural as well.

It is human nature, also to believe what we see or can perceive as possible in the future. Total trust in Jesus Christ is to believe Him for the things we hope for and cannot see. It is to give our all with no guarantee that shows God our heart condition. Humble hearts give their all-knowing God will supply all their needs. We have needs, wants and desires. The secret is in Matthew 11, Jesus invites those who are weary and carrying heavy burdens to come to Him. He promises them rest. Let me teach you! What did Jesus say that He would teach them? Humility and gentleness of heart. When our soul is secure and resting in Jesus Christ, there is a yoking of our heart to His Heart. It is in this place that the impossible becomes possible. Grace delivers us the opportunity to live in unison with Christ. One’s ability to do so is completely dependent on humility. Can I give up my way to follow His Way? Can I give up my wants and desires to allow His Contentment and Fulfillment to consume me instead? Your flesh will fight this every step of the way because it dies in such a place. The seeds of faith planted in such a decision grow into prosperity that fill our life naturally and supernaturally.

Luke 8:13-15 (NLT) The seeds on the rocky soil represent those who hear the message and receive it with joy. But since they don’t have deep roots, they believe for a while, then they fall away when they face temptation. The seeds that fell among the thorns represent those who hear the message, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the cares and riches and pleasures of this life. And so they never grow into maturity. And the seeds that fell on the good soil represent honest, good-hearted people who hear God’s word, cling to it, and patiently produce a huge harvest.

I am challenged today with self-examination. Have I limited my life by believing that God’s Grace is dependent on my service? Do I settle for less in my life because my eyes are on me and my ability rather than Christ and His Ability? My faith in healing is secure. I absolutely believe that God is our healer. The Stripes of Jesus have proven their worth. God has healed my family and others right before my eyes. But what did He tell Thomas, “Blessed are those who believe without seeing?” Since I have witnessed God’s Healing firsthand, I must move on to other things that I haven’t seen to continue to grow and develop my faith. I must examine my life for the areas of lack that are not fully reminiscent of God’s Glory, His Grace and His Riches. These are the areas where seeds must be planted so that they will produce a huge harvest.

In order to experience God’s Riches in my life, I must be responsible in continually sowing and reaping God’s Word. I know that I have prayed prayers that are yet to be answered. Did I stop praying when I did not see the results I expected? I know that I have sown financial seeds that have no shown their worth. Did I leave the field to pursue other interests? God has given me dreams and visions of supernatural increase in natural things that religion tells me are not the Will or Way of God. Well, who do you think gave you the dream and vision in the first place? God is in everything we do. It is in Christ we live, breathe and exist. God doesn’t always give us things that are super spiritual but reveals Himself in all creation. If you have a business idea that could yield big dividends in your life, who says it is not of God? God’s Riches should not be limited to spiritual return but knowing that everything we put our hand to has a potential blessing and harvest hidden if done as unto the Lord.

Isaiah 45:3-6 (NLT) And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness—secret riches. I will do this so you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name. “And why have I called you for this work? Why did I call you by name when you did not know me? It is for the sake of Jacob my servant, Israel my chosen one. I am the Lord; there is no other God. I have equipped you for battle, though you don’t even know me, so all the world from east to west will know there is no other God. I am the Lord, and there is no other.

My life is to be a light to the world. A beacon that draws people to the One who changed my life forever. I remember as a little girl going to my friend’s house. Her mom always had sweet tea for us. Our family was struggling. My parents were divorcing. She had a family and sweet tea. I decided in that moment that when I was a mom, my kids would always have sweet tea. Silly isn’t it. How the smallest of things leave a mark in our memory? I remember declaring that over my life in the second grade. But guess what? My kids have sweet tea. We make declarations over our life every day. I remember years ago sitting in church. It was a new experience in a full gospel church. A new friend who was quiet and shy moved by the Holy Spirit began to voice a message from the Lord – loud. Way more boisterous than her meek personality – it was clearly not of her. Yet in that moment, I asked the Lord under my breath – “Please God don’t use me like that.” Recently as I have prayed for the Lord to have His Way in my life – take my whole life, these words came back to me. I repented and asked the Lord to forgive me for limiting His Power in my life with a simple declaration that had silenced me for years. Well, not anymore.

The woman with the little jar of oil representing years invested in ministry did not experience the fulfillment of God until she was on the verge of losing everything. It was only then at the prophet’s prodding she broke open the seal and let it flow in her life. Her life would never be the same. The overflow produced prosperity that would carry her through the rest of her life in abundance. It was only limited by the vessels she procured. The other woman who I have been studying is the one with the alabaster box. She poured it over the head of Jesus Christ in desperation. It represented all that she had in life. Her life worth and savings in a box hand-carved by man. In the Presence of Jesus, she was ready to give Him her all. I have an anointing in my life. You do, too. God does not lie, change His Mind or withdraw a single call or blessing from our life. No matter what we do or do not do – His Grace is enough. Grace is truly God’s Riches at Christ’s expense. I must humble myself before the Lord. When I do, God will show me all the treasures hidden in my life. The jar tucked on the shelf. The perfume that represented all my brokenness. Given to Jesus, it produces prosperity. It fulfills my purpose. It makes my light shine bright in a dark world. Humility does not produce poverty naturally or supernaturally. Humility produces prosperity in the life of those who choose it.

2 Corinthians 6:10 (NLT) Our hearts ache, but we always have joy. We are poor, but we give spiritual riches to others. We own nothing, and yet we have everything.

Humility is not an abased state but an abundant position. We must have an eternal perspective that impacts all we do on the earth. Work without it will leave us emptyhanded when the end does come. (Ecclesiastes 5:12-16) We must evaluate every working in our life for spiritual prosperity and expect natural prosperity as well. God has given us every spiritual blessing. In Genesis 1, we are blessed with the power of prosperity in every area of life. Proverbs 27 challenges us to know the state of our flocks. The areas of our natural life lacking in prosperity must be carefully evaluated and examined. Does faith apply to that part of my existence? If not, why not? To be the Proverbs 31 requires the same effort. She is confident in her eternal and earthly future. Christ in us guarantees His Glory around us. (Colossians 1) Is your life glorious? Is favor a factor in all that you do? Do you see supernatural results in your natural life? God’s Riches are glorious and when we humble our life to the Lord they will be evident in our life. Who would want a God who starves His Children? Who desires a Savior that causes them to needlessly suffer? What good is grace if nothing good comes of it? We must allow faith to expand our expectation from what we think we can do to what God knows He will do for those who humble themselves before Him.

Philippians 4:18-20 (NLT) At the moment I have all I need—and more! I am generously supplied with the gifts you sent me with Epaphroditus. They are a sweet-smelling sacrifice that is acceptable and pleasing to God. And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. Now all glory to God our Father forever and ever! Amen.

God is a good father. He take premium care of His Children. I have every spiritual blessing given to me. I have all I need and enough to live a generous life. He supplies me from “His Glorious Riches.” If I win the lottery, but never turn in the ticket – my bank account remains the same. If I claim healing – I must give up the disability check. I have all of God’s Riches given to me at Christ’s Expense. To honor Him means taking full advantage of His Gift. His Goodness is for the land of the living. The Children of Israel were just passing through the wilderness, fleeing Egypt with only their family and what they could carry. Yet when it was time to build the Tabernacle, the craftsmen had to go to Moses and tell him to instruct the people to stop giving because they had given “more than enough to complete the whole project.” If you read the elaborate design of the Tabernacle, the miracle is clearly laid out. How did a people fleeing slavery and exiled in the wilderness in a nomadic state have such a surplus? They were God’s Children. What has the God hidden in your life today that is not being used for His Glory? What have you exempted from fulfilment by limiting your expectation to what you can do rather than committing it to the Lord to see what He has in mind? God’s Riches are given to me by the Grace of His Son, Jesus. I will never deserve the extravagant gifts of His Blessing and Benefits that He bestows on me day after day. It doesn’t change the fact that God desires to do these things for me and in me.

God’s Glorious Riches are on reserve for you today. Humility is the key to the access point of prosperity. Do not stand on the threshold in doubt. Walk in the prosperity of God available in all areas of your life committed to Him. Declare His Blessings in your home, church, workplace, and everywhere your feet take you today. He is with You! Greater is He that is in you than He that is in the world. Let Him increase today! For as your soul prospers…your life will, too! What is the Gospel of your life today? Is it pain and poverty? This is not the message of the Gospel at all but the process by which God is attempting to reveal Himself to you. Ask the Lord to show you were to plant seeds of faith and wait for that humble harvest. Do what He says? All of it without hesitation and step out of your limitation into His Unlimited Power today!

Ephesians 3:6 (NLT)  And this is God’s plan: Both Gentiles and Jews who believe the Good News share equally in the riches inherited by God’s children. Both are part of the same body, and both enjoy the promise of blessings because they belong to Christ Jesus.

3 thoughts on “Humility’s Harvest

  1. “Have I limited my life by believing that God’s Grace is dependent on my service? Do I settle for less in my life because my eyes are on me and my ability rather than Christ and His Ability????”
    Very powerful and heart searching questions there! Thanks.
    The Lord opposes the proud but he gives grace to the humble.The proud spring up like a tree in its native land, but there are suddenly brought down.Humilty is a key issue.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Humility’s Harvest – Site Title

Leave a Reply

