Know Your Season

know-your-season

Psalm 1:1-3 (NLT) Oh, the joys of those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers. But they delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night. They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season. Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.

“For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1) To everything there is a season, an ordained time of productivity with absolute production of that which has been planted that prospers into a harvest. If there is seed planted, it will grow according to its providential design. Whether wheat or weeds are planted something will surely grow unless uprooted and destroyed or ignored and left to die. People live in seasons and there is a time for every activity under heaven. Do you know what season it is? This winter has been unseasonably warm here in the South, yet our daughter has been buried in blizzards and below zero temperatures up North. Though we are of the same family, our seasons are obviously different. What if people could see the seasons of each other just like that? While I send her pictures of the warm sun shining through the open sunroof in January, in return I get a picture of what she thinks might be her car buried in the snow. Since, I am not accustomed to such conditions it may look kind of fun to stomp around in the powdery white stuff and make a snow angel. But if I lived in it, I would definitely not feel the same way. I cannot compare the season of my life with anyone else’s because they do not live where I do according to the plan handwritten for my life by My God. You have one, too. Just for you with seasons and times completely individualized according to Your Purpose. It is important to know your season. How else will you know what to cultivate in your life during such times?

The commonality for believers is Jesus Christ. From there, our plans and purposes change as dramatically as the parts of our body each with its own works and operations that together form a united physique. The Body of Christ is highly specialized and incorporates all members to work together with one heart, one mind and one purpose. However, if I do not find my place and release my purpose then I cannot prosper and contribute to my part of the Kingdom of God. My prosperity is not dependent on anyone else or any natural element that exists in the world. God made me to prosper and bear fruit in ALL seasons even the harsh ones with extreme conditions. My leaves will never wither and I can prosper in all that I do. How? How is this possible when life falls apart? Drought dries up resources? A bad diagnosis drains my hope. When life doesn’t turn out as expected? How can I know my season when it does not meet my expectation? This is not the case if I learn to delight in the Lord, meditate on His Word, and continuously sow it in my life.

Leviticus 26:1:3-5 (NLT) “If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands, I will send you the seasonal rains. The land will then yield its crops, and the trees of the field will produce their fruit. Your threshing season will overlap with the grape harvest, and your grape harvest will overlap with the season of planting grain. 

What if God is providing the seasonal rain, but the thought to be fertile ground of our heart is not ready? What if He is absolutely doing what He promised but the hardness and crowded area meant for His Spirit will not absorb it? Our seasons should overlap as Children of God. Each new season should produce new blessing that carries over from yesterday through today and into tomorrow. We live in the security of God, but am I at peace? The Lord promises peace to those who follow His Decrees and obey His Commands. To walk His Way, sowing His Word in our life produces certain advantages that are not tangible but still exist. He offers to rid the land of enemies. In fact, He promises us the power to overcome the enemy. It is the Sword of His Spirit that drives Him away. He promises to make us productive in life. However, if I choose another way. Any other way, even if it is delayed obedience, partial obedience, or even total obedience in the absence of love – well I will not prosper as God intended which is to experience success in all that I do.

Deuteronomy 28:1-6 (NLT) “If you fully obey the Lord your God and carefully keep all his commands that I am giving you today, the Lord your God will set you high above all the nations of the world. You will experience all these blessings if you obey the Lord your God: Your towns and your fields will be blessed. Your children and your crops will be blessed. The offspring of your herds and flocks will be blessed. Your fruit baskets and breadboards will be blessed. Wherever you go and whatever you do, you will be blessed.

The Blessings of God are not contingent on obedience but conceived in obedience. God prospers our life as our soul prospers. As His Seed, His Word, grows in our heart, the blessings reserved for us grow out of us. The rain falls on the just and unjust. Every living and breathing person can sow and reap in life. Those who sow good seed get a good harvest. Those who sow bad seed will reap what they sow. Those who sow no seed will go hungry and live in famine. It is not because God is good or even bad? Our seed is not contingent on God’s Faithfulness but cultivated in obedience. God is just. He is a Good God who gives to each of His Children exactly the same. Those who sow in the Spirit will reap in the Spirit supernaturally. Those who sow in the flesh will reap of the flesh. Those who sow in the world will reap the things in life. It is a process that is not governed by prejudice. There is no need to look at, inspect, evaluate, or compare our life and its productivity to another because all are given the same advantage. Obedience to God and His Word produces blessings in season and out of season. The seed is the same. His Word is true for everyone. Those who believe enough to trust the Lord, have faith in Him and continue to sow in the Spirit will reap heavenly rewards by bringing heaven to earth.

Deuteronomy 11:13-14 (NLT) “If you carefully obey the commands I am giving you today, and if you love the Lord your God and serve him with all your heart and soul,  then he will send the rains in their proper seasons—the early and late rains—so you can bring in your harvests of grain, new wine, and olive oil.

No season is wasted. Nothing is wasted when it comes to the Lord. Even seeds planted in our life that didn’t necessarily grow in our next season may simply dormant in the ground for the time when famine comes. Or maybe that seed that died in the ground fertilized the true harvest that God intended for your life. We must stop evaluating God by the seasons and honoring Him in every season of life. The more that I trust the Lord the longer I will wait for Him. The more I believe God’s Word the less likely I am to dig it up and start again. God has labeled every season of my life as “proper” – it is absolutely the right time to cultivate my purpose, my anointing, my calling and allow His Oil to flow through my life but if all I seek are the tangible blessings of God then I will miss the real harvest in my life called new things, new creation and new life. To seek God for a better life is to miss the blessing reserved for us. Jesus died to give us a satisfying life. If it could be had or accomplished in this life, there would be no need for God. But everything else is garbage compared to knowing Jesus Christ and finding ourselves within Him.

2 Corinthians 9:6-12 (NLT) Remember this—a farmer who plants only a few seeds will get a small crop. But the one who plants generously will get a generous crop. You must each decide in your heart how much to give. And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure. “For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.” And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others. As the Scriptures say, “They share freely and give generously to the poor. Their good deeds will be remembered forever.” For God is the one who provides seed for the farmer and then bread to eat. In the same way, he will provide and increase your resources and then produce a great harvest of generosity in you.

All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ.” (Ephesians 1:3) Our union with Jesus Christ when He becomes our Savior and Lord releases every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms. Do you believe that today? Jesus Christ called Savior affords me the Grace that is all sufficient in washing away my sins and making me a Child of God. To call Him Lord is demonstrated in my obedience to Him. When He is my Lord, I will do what His Word says to do, speak it and live it every day to the best of my ability because I love Him. When I seek the Lord only to make this life better, easier, and wealthier for human comfort – I will miss the greatest blessing of all. A farmer who plants only a few seeds gets a small crop. If my expectation is limited to my tiny temporary existence on this planet, I have forfeited the spiritual blessings and prosperity available as by faith and trust I make myself available for the Lord to pour every spiritual blessing in me so it can flow through me to those around me.

The generosity of Spirit that creates an overflow of blessing in my life is from the Fruit of His Spirit not the ways of the world. To sow in the Spirit will reap the signs, wonders and miracles that set people free, leading them from darkness to light, and from death to life. What are you sowing in your life today? Is your time taken up with work, worry and stress? Spend some of it the Word today. Where is your talents? Sown for the Kingdom that thing God created you to do, whatever it may be, releases potential to become purpose which always leads to prosperity. What about your treasure? That thing in your storehouse reserved for a rainy day, or that new thing, or even your future, did you give God your first fruit or is it dying in a storehouse rather than given to good ground? We choose how to invest our life. Those who sow in the Kingdom will reap every spiritual blessing that Jesus died for us to have. To plant in this world will always produce less than God’s Best until we invest our life in the Gospel and generously sowing it into the world.

Galatians 6:7-9 (NLT) Don’t be misled—you cannot mock the justice of God. You will always harvest what you plant. Those who live only to satisfy their own sinful nature will harvest decay and death from that sinful nature. But those who live to please the Spirit will harvest everlasting life from the Spirit. So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

I don’t know what season you are in today. Most days, I am not absolutely sure of my own. What I do know is that God’s Spirit cannot be mocked. He knows what I am planting and the intent of my heart. He knows what my expectation is in that seed that I am sowing. He knows what I hope it will produce. Our heart is fickle. Our pursuit of God sometimes wanders from His Heart to His Hand. It is only natural. We must concentrate daily on sowing for the coming season. We must not allow our giving to be influenced by what we have today but make it the seed for the future. Our words are seeds. They will be worthless until infused with the Life Giving Potential of Jesus Christ and His Word. Choosing to live to please the Spirit is to focus on investing in everlasting life that meets us the moment that we draw our last breath. The seed of my life sown for today is wasted. It is when I choose to sow God’s Word and live His Way no matter what my earthly conditions that I will prosper in each day regardless of the season favorable or not. Are you tired? Weary of well doing? Do you know your season? Every season has potential to produce God’s Purpose when faithful obedience is our choice. It will release spiritual blessings beyond what we can think or imagine. Sometimes we just need to get our eyes off the ground and what is growing, instead looking to the sky from where our help comes!

James 5:7-8 (NLT) Dear brothers and sisters, be patient as you wait for the Lord’s return. Consider the farmers who patiently wait for the rains in the fall and in the spring. They eagerly look for the valuable harvest to ripen. You, too, must be patient. Take courage, for the coming of the Lord is near.

Leave a Reply

