What Are You Afraid Of?

what-are-you-afraid-of

I John 4:18 (AMP) There is no fear in love [dread does not exist]. But perfect (complete, full-grown) love drives out fear, because fear involves [the expectation of divine] punishment, so the one who is afraid [of God’s judgment] is not perfected in love [has not grown into a sufficient understanding of God’s love].

What are you afraid of? What is the thing causes fear to well up inside of you? Are you anxious? Many people operate in fear without even knowing it. Some have grown so comfortable in its existence that they are held captive by it unknowingly. There is no fear in love. Maybe you have heard the Christian cliché – “FEAR – False evidence appearing real.” While there is truth in this statement, tell the person who is feeling afraid all you want that it is false but to them it is very real. God’s Will for our life is to become fearless. He did not give us the spirit of fear and works in us to deliver us from all fear. Can you say that today? God, I want to be fearless.

According to 2 Timothy 1:7, God did not give us the spirit of fear. The spirit of fear is characterized as timid and cowardice. Instead, we have been given a spirit of power, love, sound judgment and personal discipline. This is the Truth that must be adopted and accepted as our way of life to drive out every fearful spirit that attempts to take the place of Christ in our life. That’s right. Fear takes up God-Space in us because we have been given the Mind of Jesus Christ. (I Corinthians 2:16) We are to be guided by His Thoughts and Purpose for us now that sin has no hold on us. However, it takes time to rewire our thinking and expose the lie that has held us in bondage so long.

“After the earthquake, [there was] a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire, [there was] the sound of a gentle blowing. When Elijah heard the sound, he wrapped his face in his mantle (cloak) and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. And behold, a voice came to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” (I Kings 19:12-13) Don’t beat yourself up, friend! Even strong Christians, steadfast believers and mighty men and women of God are tricked into the captivity of fear along the way. It is a carefully laid snare by the enemy to trap us. (Proverbs 29:25) When faced with fear or anxiety, the only weapon of use that we have is the Truth. The Word of God is the weapon that separates the Truth of God’s Love from the lie of the enemy called fear.

2 Corinthians 10:3-6 (AMP) For though we walk in the flesh [as mortal men], we are not carrying on our [spiritual] warfare according to the flesh and using the weapons of man. The weapons of our warfare are not physical [weapons of flesh and blood]. Our weapons are divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying sophisticated arguments and every exalted and proud thing that sets itself up against the [true] knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought and purpose captive to the obedience of Christ, being ready to punish every act of disobedience, when your own obedience [as a church] is complete.

Jesus called out satan for the liar that he is. In John 8:44, he says, “he was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks what is natural to him, for he is a liar and the father of lies and half-truths.” Jesus is essentially saying, “Liar, liar pants on fire.” Sorry, I couldn’t resist. We must develop a weapon useful and effective in combating the fiery darts that come at us every single day. The enemy take not take you out of the game. He cannot snatch anyone who is solidly fixed in God’s Hand or Plan. Distractions, diversions, delays and detours are often created simply because we do not know the Truth and it has not set us free yet.

John 8:31-32 (AMP) So Jesus was saying to the Jews who had believed Him, “If you abide in My word [continually obeying My teachings and living in accordance with them, then] you are truly My disciples. And you will know the truth [regarding salvation], and the truth will set you free [from the penalty of sin].” 

Truth will set you free from believing the lie and living in fear. There is nothing that can ever separate us from God’s Love. God’s Love has a different definition than worldly lust called love. God wants you for you. He created you to be a masterpiece. It doesn’t matter how you see you or others see you – God’s sees His Purpose and Plan for your life and it’s a good one. If only for a moment the Light of His Love could make its way to every dark doubt and deception seeded in us by the enemy’s lies.

What is love? God gives a clear definition of genuine love looks like. Love endures with patience and serenity, love is kind and thoughtful, and is not jealous or envious; love does not brag and is not proud or arrogant. It is not rude; it is not self-seeking, it is not provoked [nor overly sensitive and easily angered]; it does not take into account a wrong endured. It does not rejoice at injustice, but rejoices with the truth [when right and truth prevail]. Love bears all things [regardless of what comes], believes all things [looking for the best in each one], hopes all things [remaining steadfast during difficult times], endures all things [without weakening]. Love never fails [it never fades nor ends].”(I Corinthians 13:4-8) What if God’s People chose to really know God’s Love? What might happen? You cannot give what you do not have. You cannot explain what you do not understand. You cannot live by faith if you do not know God’s Love. Faith is our assurance, title deed and confirmation that the things hoped for are divinely guaranteed. Faith sees the supernatural as factual and spiritual reality above worldly influence. Faith is our confidence in God’s Love that is relaying by a life of confidence and trust that allows us to expect God’s Goodness in all things.

When our son was diagnosed with cancer, I realized my greatest fear in that moment. I am not a fearful person. I tend to forget to lock the door or even shut the garage door at night. I don’t live carelessly either. I don’t think that I am necessarily courageous either. I just don’t struggle a whole with fear or anxiety. However, I faced fear head-on when our son was sick. It was not in the initial diagnosis. God said to trust Him so I did. It was a habit. I had experienced great results giving God my burdens. However, by the third diagnosis, when doctors became concerned that they were running out of treatment options and possibly time. I was introduced to the realm of hope. The reality of hope is that there is no physical foothold to stand on other than a firm foundation of faith which is great in theory. My son’s life was on the line. It was not a game any longer but a matter of life and death. I did not have any power or control over the situation. I did not have the ability to save his life or exchange mine for his. All I could do was pray, trust and believe that no matter what the outcome that God is good and His Love secure. Fear must give way to faith in our life to live in confident trust. We live in confident hope. Hope is not for today but our confidence in forever.

Psalm 23:1-5 (AMP) The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, to guide and to shield me], I shall not want. He lets me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still and quiet waters. He refreshes and restores my soul (life); He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the [sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort and console me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You have anointed and refreshed my head with oil; My cup overflows.

God’s Will for your life is to be brave and courageous. Not in our natural ability, personal power, or strength of self – but in confident trust. God is good. No matter what you are going through in life, He is with us. Ready to guide us and lead us with His Rod and Staff. Wisdom and truth are His Offering. We accept by discipline and obedience. He guides, shields and protects those who follow Him. He prepares us for the dark valleys, famines and droughts ahead of time. Paths of righteousness are not easy. There will be sunless slopes. There will be battles or where else could he prepare tables before our enemies. The difference is faith and confident hope that trusts God’s Love, Grace, Mercy and Goodness every day even on the days that are tough and scary. We rely on the reserve of God in our heart. His Word will dispel the lie of the enemy every single time. The best way to expose the lie holding you captive in fear today is to get in God’s Word and His Presence to find the Truth. The Light of His Love is in His Word. It is the very weapon available to fight for your faith and claim back your mind, will and emotions to be subject to faith and confident hope. You will be fearless when you face your fear and kill it with Truth.

Hebrews 4:15-16 (AMP)  For we do not have a High Priest who is unable to sympathize and understand our weaknesses and temptations, but One who has been tempted [knowing exactly how it feels to be human] in every respect as we are, yet without [committing any] sin. Therefore let us [with privilege] approach the throne of grace [that is, the throne of God’s gracious favor] with confidence and without fear, so that we may receive mercy [for our failures] and find [His amazing] grace to help in time of need [an appropriate blessing, coming just at the right moment].

Jesus does not condemn us for our fears but offers opportunities for us to come to Him and receive mercy, grace and help when we are struggling. We are fighting for faith. It is important to keep our eyes fixed on the prize and not focused on fear. Fear cannot produce failure unless we give into it. We must fight fear with faith in God every single day. We must root it out of the fertility of our heard and sow good seeds of God’s Word in its place. We must take captive EVERY SINGLE THOUGHT that is contrary to faith and confidence. Fear and anxiety cannot be welcome, entertained or accepted. It is important to face fear head on in our everyday life to be successful when the true test comes along. I want to be found faith-full not fear-full. We must aim and pursue righteousness in all things so that the lie of the enemy is revealed and truth begins to prevail in our life. We find Truth in His Word and His Presence. Worship is confidence in God. To live a life of worship lives in the Truth of Who God is and His Promises no matter what life looks like right now – it shows our Trust in Who Christ is and not reliant on what He is doing right now.

Psalm 27:1-4 (AMP) The Lord is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear? The Lord is the refuge and fortress of my life—whom shall I dread? When the wicked came against me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and my enemies, they stumbled and fell. Though an army encamp against me, my heart will not fear; though war arise against me, Even in this I am confident. One thing I have asked of the Lord, and that I will seek: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord [in His presence] all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty [the delightful loveliness and majestic grandeur] of the Lord and to meditate in His temple.

God’s Plan for my son was to go into remission. He is alive today. God rid his body of cancer and he will graduate from college this year. The reality is that all my children will die one day. It is the partial truth. The whole truth is that my kids love the Lord. They have asked Him to be their Savior. They will be with Jesus the moment after they take their last breath. Our faith is worthless if it cannot take us past this life. Fear is the enemies plot to destroy our faith by continually pressing thoughts, ideas and images in our head of tragedy and trauma. He wants us to believe that there is an end to life. I am alive in Jesus Christ. I have a future that extends past today, tomorrow and my funeral. It is to my advantage to be with the Lord forever. What am I afraid of? Exactly. Fear is absolutely false evidence appearing real but to many it is the reality that prevails in their heart. I rebuke fear, anxiety, worry and stress in the Mighty Name of Jesus. I ask the Holy Spirit to shed the bright Light of God’s Love in each heart today to expose that which God has not given us but has been allowed to live their too long. God give us courage and confidence as we surrender our fears to You today! Give us faith to overcome every obstacle to live fearlessly in Your Love!

Proverbs 1:33 (AMP) “But whoever listens to me (Wisdom) will live securely and in confident trust and will be at ease, without fear or dread of evil.”

One thought on “What Are You Afraid Of?

Leave a Reply

