Planting Peace

planting-peace

Matthew 5:9 (NLT) God blesses those who work for peace, for they will be called the Children of God.

When my children were all little, there was never a moment’s peace in our life. It seemed they came with only two speeds fast and asleep. There were days collapsing exhausted in the bed when I thought if only I could have a second to myself. Cooking, cleaning, picking up, dropping off, refereeing, homework, and all the other duties in the job description of wife and mother left me complete worn out. This morning the house is quiet. My husband is on a well-deserved and much needed hunting trip with the guys. The three oldest off adulting and creating their own lives in the big world. One daughter house sitting who will soon graduate and do the same. I have one baby in the nest who is not a baby anymore sleeping in a mound of covers with our fur baby. It is that moment I longed for years ago, well at least the quiet anyway.

Just as I was not certain of what I longed for then, I find that peace comes in different forms and fashions. To truly be at peace is not a condition or situation in life. I can work to promote peace and get myself in big messes sometimes especially when it comes to people. Peace is a place found in God. It is the Presence of God permeating our life. It becomes our protection when life doesn’t go as planned or is exactly like it should be but does not yield the satisfaction one expected. There are many people with seemingly perfect lives that never know the contentment and completion of perfect peace.

Proverbs 3:5-8 (NLT) Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take. Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the Lord and turn away from evil. Then you will have healing for your body and strength for your bones.

How important is peace? Is it relevant in our life or just a gift that some are given? To truly trust the Lord with all our heard produces a harvest of peace in our life. Faith is not blind and one must never be satisfied until it becomes confident. Confident faith is the belief that the Presence of God in our life, our life in Christ and the inhabitation of His Spirit is all that we need to be victorious in any and all situations. Those who “endure” will be saved. It is a fight of mind and matter being crucified with Christ and a retraining of all senses to rely on the unseen reality of God’s Purpose, Plan and Protection over every other influence and power in our life. It is not a one-time fix but constant process of submitting more and more of our life to the Lord each day. Peace is the evidence that faith is working in our life.

Peace depends on God’s Understanding. His Wisdom over my whims, wants and wanderings. Not so easy when the enemy is beating on the door and world crashing down all around you. Peace is found in the Presence of God. It cannot be fully understood with human logic but is achieved fully by faith. It requires a change of heart and mind that leads our feet in new directions. Once it is found, it will bring healing to our souls. Revive us. Restore us. Renew us day by day no matter what our current circumstance or living condition.

James 3:17-18 (NLT) But the wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and the fruit of good deeds. It shows no favoritism and is always sincere. And those who are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of righteousness.

Faith becomes logical the more God’s Word is planted in us. The Way of God is contradictory to this world. Peace cannot be found in an ordinary life but the pursuit of a supernatural existence in Jesus Christ. It means believing God’s Word not the lie of the enemy for your life. How can you tell the difference? Planting seeds of peace in our life begins by putting good seed in the fertile soil of our heart. How can you know God and not know His Word? Jesus is the Word of God made flesh to demonstrate His Great Love and provide the Way for us to return to Him.

How can I get there from here if I do not take measures to find to track Him down? I know that California is on the West Coast and I live on the East Coast. I know that if I head west that I will make it to the other side of the country but will I make it to California without clear directions? Or what I want to go specifically to Sacramento? Or maybe I know someone there who lives at 123 Main Street? If I am looking for the Presence of God and more specifically the Peace of God, I must seek directions to my destination just as I would when traveling the country.

Psalm 85:8-9 (NLT) I listen carefully to what God the Lord is saying, for he speaks peace to his faithful people. But let them not return to their foolish ways. Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him, so our land will be filled with his glory.

God is speaking. Some are listening. Others do not like what they hear so choose not to listen. Even more do not recognize His Voice and cannot discern the Truth from a lie. Busyness causes a deafness in the midst of more pressing matters that will eventually cause us not to hear Him anymore. Or maybe He just becomes just another voice in our head demanding more than can be given in the limited amount of time left after other priorities take over. Nevertheless… God is speaking to us more importantly to YOU each day. What is He saying? The Lord is calling you closer. He asks Your Heart to come near. He hears you crying out for help and calling for relief but because you will not listen and respond – there is nothing the Lord can do but wait.

God speaks to people every single day. You can hear Him when your ears and heart are open and tuned in. Remember Elijah driven to the cave on the mountain by the lie of the enemy hissed by a woman scorned? It was after the calamities of life that the prophet heard the still, small voice. God wants to save you today. He wants to clean you up. He wants to fix your broken heart and heal every wound. His Spirit wants to help you, guide you and teach you to live in the peacefulness of His Presence every single day. Are you listening?

John 14:26-27 (NLT) “But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you. I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”

For, “Who can know the Lord’s thoughts? Who knows enough to teach him? But we understand these things, for we have the mind of Christ. As a believer, you have the mind of Jesus Christ. The potential of full confidence in the Father because you are one with Him again through the Son. Jesus has left us with His Spirit so we can know His Thoughts concerning us and His Will for us. I have the gifts of peace of mind and peace of heart. I must take control of my thinking in order to take captive those things that are contradictory to God’s Will, Way and Word for my life. I must do that because I am fully equipped to do so according to these verses. Like Moses standing in front of the Red Sea, with the Children of Israel whining and the Egyptians closing in – God told his man to stop crying out to me and do what I have instructed you to do. He has given us everything needed to overcome doubt, fear and anxiety. It is called faith. Faith fortified by His Word, His Spirit and His Mindset. The rest is up to us. Faith means believing when you cannot see a thing. Trusting when there is nothing left to hold on to but the aforementioned faith and riding this thing called life out to the end.

Psalm 119:164-165 (NLT) I will praise you seven times a day because all your regulations are just. Those who love your instructions have great peace and do not stumble.

Do you praise God seven times a day? When I read this verse, I immediately began to evaluate my life and the confession I make each day. Do I praise God daily just because of Who He is? Do I thank Him when I am not getting my way? Do I praise when I am waiting? Do I praise Him when everyone is watching? Do I praise Him when no one is looking? Do I praise Him without music or someone to lead me to this place? Do I praise Him in the mornings (even though I am not a morning person)? Do I praise at bedtime (even in complete exhaustion and to do list left undone)? Do I praise the Lord when things are good? Can I still manage to praise Him when they are not so good? Can I praise God when nothing in my life measures up to His Standard of Living? Praise is essential to peace. It is the confession of faith over our life that releases our expectation from the natural and grabs hold of the supernatural. Praise is evidence that something inside of us is willing and able to grab hold of the Promise and possibly hang on until the end. Praise plants seeds of peace that yields harvests of abundance in our life. It is an expression of pure faith and trust in the Lord to perfect all the concerns us. When there is nothing else praiseworthy to think of this world, just think about the Gift of Life that Jesus has given us so that there is more to life than this.

Ephesians 4:2-4 (NLT) Always be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love. Make every effort to keep yourselves united in the Spirit, binding yourselves together with peace. For there is one body and one Spirit, just as you have been called to one glorious hope for the future.

Perfect peace cannot exist in the presence of pride. Humility and gentleness promotes peace in our life. First with God and then with everyone else. You cannot be at peace with the living God and in constant discord and strife in all other relationships. Submission is not a fashionable word but it is absolutely essential in maintaining peace in our life. What about me? Who is going to take care of me? Total trust means submitting our life to others knowing that God has us in all things. This is not to say that you should be subjected to abuse of any kind but that when it comes to having your way – you will give it up to maintain peace and love in your relationships. It means giving up being right all the time to be righteous.

I have shared many, many times about my friend who taught me about submission. After a long rant about my dissatisfaction with my husband’s attitude and actions, she said, “You must submit.” It made me mad enough to spit. I was offended that she would say such a thing to me. I was ruled by pride and stubbornness that would take years to work on and God is still working on now. But I tried it in my marriage and am happy to report it worked. When two people come together – to walk together one must give in and give up their way. In any relationship this is absolutely necessary. It is not anyone else’s responsibility to satisfy my life. It is not their job to be my perfect partner, friend or whatever role they play in my life. Jesus is my soul mate. He is the One who promises to give me a rich and satisfying life. When I “submit” my way, it is full acceptance of His Way. It is not giving in to another person. It is not losing and certainly not giving up anything of worth. Submission says Lord I trust you more than anyone or anything else to satisfy my soul. We are one body, one spirit and given one hope. Let’s keep our faith in Him and submit our way to His Way – peace is the promise received if I do!

Philippians 4:6-9 (NLT) Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you.

Plant seeds of peace in your life today. Examine every area to find those places in your heart not at peace. Pray about each one specifically and ask the Lord to give you peace. Jesus did not come to bring peace to the world. He gave it to you and me directly. Our peace will never be understood or acknowledged in the natural. It is a God-given gift. It is a seed of faith that if you plant it in every situation will see its fruit in no time.

God keeps in perfect peace all who trust you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! (Isaiah 26:3) I have experienced this kind of peace. It came at the price of self and in a place of complete brokenness. I could not do it my way anymore. My human strength was completely gone. All I could do was trust the Lord so I did. That’s when I felt it, knew it, and believed it. Now I desire it more than anything. Are you willing to sow seeds of peace in your life today? What if it costs you pride? What if is at the price of being right? What if it means giving up your way? What if it does not yield immediate results or gratification? What seed does? Will it be worth it? Absolutely. When His Perfect Peace overtakes you – it will be worth it all to have a satisfied soul.

Colossians 3:14-15 (NLT) Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful.

Leave a Reply

