Seeking a New Position

seeking-a-new-position

Exodus 14:15-18 (NLT) Then the Lord said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the people to get moving! Pick up your staff and raise your hand over the sea. Divide the water so the Israelites can walk through the middle of the sea on dry ground. And I will harden the hearts of the Egyptians, and they will charge in after the Israelites. My great glory will be displayed through Pharaoh and his troops, his chariots, and his charioteers. When my glory is displayed through them, all Egypt will see my glory and know that I am the Lord!”

I am seeking a new position in 2017. While maintaining my current earthly roles of daughter, sister, wife and mother including friend and co-worker, I am determined to achieve a higher position in my walk with the Lord. It is attainable. The door has already been opened and I am qualified for the position. It is mine for the asking. If I seek it wholeheartedly, it belongs to me. I have grown bored with yesterday. I no longer desire the past. I am set on the future and to press to the mark of the High Calling. I was made for more than what I am currently maintaining in my power and under my control. Now is the time to move into the new thing that God has prepared for me, secured on my behalf and calls from the deep for me to come to!

Where is my motivation? What is this inspiration? It came to me listening to the song, “No Longer Slaves” by Bethel Music. I have heard this powerful song of deliverance and freedom countless times and yet the epiphany so overwhelming it left me shouting in the car on the way to work. Stuck with me throughout the day, and played in mind until morning. I am a Child of God. Of course, I already knew that. But sometimes it is a position that believers struggle to fully achieve and maintain as a way of life. It is not easy to comprehend a God that loves unconditionally and is ALWAYS good especially when things don’t seem to be working in our favor or completely falling apart.

“You split the sea so I could walk right through it…My fears are drowned in perfect love…You rescued me and I could stand and sing…I am a Child of God…” You (God) split the sea (created an opportunity) so I could walk right through it (faith) my fears are drowned in perfect love (confident hope) you rescued me (He did it, not me) so I could stand and sing…I am a Child of God!

There are three positions evident in the journey of the Israelites from bondage to total freedom. Slave, servant and Child of God. They were chosen by God from the beginning. You and I were created and chosen by God as well. He gave us a purpose that includes a future and hope achieved by faith. Faith means totally and wholeheartedly seeking an unseen God based on His Promise and not the evidence portrayed in our current life and conditions. The Israelites had nothing to go on but the word of Moses given to him by God.  They were slaves to the Egyptians. This was not an acquired position which was sought after but rather rebellion to God landed them there. Sound familiar?

Romans 6:4-7 (NLT) For we died and were buried with Christ by baptism. And just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glorious power of the Father, now we also may live new lives. Since we have been united with him in his death, we will also be raised to life as he was. We know that our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose its power in our lives. We are no longer slaves to sin. For when we died with Christ we were set free from the power of sin.

I am no longer a slave to sin. The Blood of Jesus Christ has washed away my sins as far as the east is from the west. Though I try my best to avoid sin, it happens every day nevertheless. If my desire is to become a servant of God, I must be willing to move from my position as slave to sin. When the Israelites were given the opportunity to be free again, they jumped at the offer. However, when things became inconvenient and uncomfortable – they decided they wanted to return to Egypt and the life of bondage they knew. We come to Jesus at His Offer of freedom but when it compromises our convenience and comfort many will just return to their old life rather than taking a chance on change. There are people today with great potential and hidden talents that will not leave their current employment for the very same reason. There are job posts every day for promotion. If you see the advertisement and desire the new job, yet do nothing to obtain it – whose fault is it if you do not get the new position. Jesus Christ has given us an opportunity called salvation. To live in complete freedom in this life moving into forever with Him one day as a part of His Kingdom. If you desire this position, you MAY have it but you MUST do something to make the move.

Hebrews 3:5-9 (NLT) Moses was certainly faithful in God’s house as a servant. His work was an illustration of the truths God would reveal later. But Christ, as the Son, is in charge of God’s entire house. And we are God’s house, if we keep our courage and remain confident in our hope in Christ. That is why the Holy Spirit says, “Today when you hear his voice, don’t harden your hearts
as Israel did when they rebelled, when they tested me in the wilderness. There your ancestors tested and tried my patience, even though they saw my miracles for forty years.

When God parted the Red Sea, the people had to make a choice. If you consider what that must have looked like in the natural, I am quite sure it took every ounce of courage they could muster to walk into the middle of two towering walls of water in faith that God would not let them go and destroy them all or they could remain behind and be led right back into slavery. The people chose to step out in faith and move from slave to servant.

What is the difference between slave and servant? Slavery is a forced position maintained by power and control. Servanthood is service offered with freedom of choice. Some slaves released by their owners in Biblical times would choose to become a servant if their master was fair, honest and good to them. We are no longer slaves to sin but will we move to become a Servant of God? Will we change positions? Will I choose bondage again or freedom of service? It is completely up to me.

In Exodus, the Lord told Moses to divide the sea so that the Israelites “can walk” not will walk or be forced to move but “can”. It was totally up to them to seek a new position. Once they made it through, now they were servants of God. What did they do? Rebelled. Over and over again. What is rebellion? Any time I do it my way and not God’s Way. Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. To have all of His Promises and achieve every bit of personal potential deposited in me by God means doing it His Way…not my own. Good servants do what their masters ask. Grace is the credential allowing me to move from death to live and slave to servant. Faith is the ability to progress. Total trust takes time. Your current placement does not fully reflect God’s Potential in your life. You were not created to be just a servant of God but redeemed to be a Child of God. If you desire such an adoption but if you choose to remain like a hired hand it is completely up to you!

Luke 15:17-24 (NLT) “When he finally came to his senses, he said to himself, ‘At home even the hired servants have food enough to spare, and here I am dying of hunger! I will go home to my father and say, “Father, I have sinned against both heaven and you, and I am no longer worthy of being called your son. Please take me on as a hired servant.” So he returned home to his father. And while he was still a long way off, his father saw him coming. Filled with love and compassion, he ran to his son, embraced him, and kissed him. His son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against both heaven and you, and I am no longer worthy of being called your son.’ “But his father said to the servants, ‘Quick! Bring the finest robe in the house and put it on him. Get a ring for his finger and sandals for his feet. And kill the calf we have been fattening. We must celebrate with a feast, for this son of mine was dead and has now returned to life. He was lost, but now he is found.’” So the party began.

This is probably the scenario that is most accurate for most of us. We come to the Lord. Fail miserably. Decide that grace is not given but must be earned. Return to the Father seeking the position of “hired servant” because it most closely resembles the way of the world and what we are accustomed to and never realize our full potential as sons and daughters of the Living God. You are a Child of God. It doesn’t change because you took the wrong path, made a bad choice, or rebelled in any way. You still have the same potential that you were born with. It is up to you and me to seek new levels and positions in God by faith not facts.

The son just wanted to have a comfortable life. His father loved him completely and filled with compassion intended to give his son his entire estate. Your Father’s Unconditional Love and Limitless Compassion accompanied by Overflowing Grace is always ready to hand you “back” the Keys to His Kingdom. Are you willing to seek the position? Will you return home in humility to be elevated to new levels of His Grace? Faith is a requirement. Faith will never be comfortable. It is not convenient. It pushes us to the edge of ourselves and the very end of self in order for us to solely rely on His Grace as sufficient for us. When we do, it creates change and movement in our life to fully assume the potential invested in us by God who is ready for us to become His Masterpiece. (Ephesians 2:10)

How many miraculous opportunities do we brush off because of fear and a lack of confidence in our Father’s Love for us? How many times have we taken other way when He offers to be the Way? Why do we continue to gather crumbs under His Table rather than sit at the feast in the presence of the enemy? What is keep you from fully assuming your position as Child of the One, True, Living God? Is it fear? Is it doubt? Is it comfort? Is it control? Is it pride? Is it selfishness? Whatever it is it is keeping you from enjoying all the benefits and blessings of God’s Kingdom because whether you have assumed such a position it is the one predestined for our life.

John 1:12 (NLT) But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. 

The New Year is fast approaching. You have the freedom to move into a new position and higher level and deeper place in the Presence of God. He is ready to promote you. The potential inside of you is untouchable by sin, shame or any other rebellious thing you can do. It is His Promise for your life released by faith and maintained by confident hope. The only limit on your future is put there by you. The only cell that you are locked in is held tight by your hands. Who the Son sets free is free indeed. What is your choice today? Will it be another year of slavery? Being led to and fro by fleshly desires and opinionated people who exhibit invisible control over you. Will you move into servanthood? Trusting that God is always good enough to begin serving Him with your life. It is the next step to total freedom. It is the one that allows us to experience some of His Many Benefits to test promises revealing their truth and validity. Are you ready to take the biggest leap of all and become His Child? I want to live like the Child of God that I am in the coming year.

Then the Lord said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the people to get moving! Pick up your staff and raise your hand over the sea. Divide the water so the Israelites can walk through the middle of the sea on dry ground.

Why are you still crying out to God for what is already preordained and designed for your life? This is my revelation as I seek a new position in 2017. Why am I asking for that which is given? I must muster enough faith to do it. Trust to attempt it. Confident hope to receive it. See God has already done His Part. Jesus said, “It is finished” on the Cross completely His Role as well. The rest is up to me. God is ready for me to seek a new position in life and move into it. He has given me the opportunity so the rest is up to me. Can I? Will I? So I may? These all hand the baton to me to finish the race and win the prize. Can I do it? Yes, I can. Will I do it? Now that is an entirely different question yet to be answered. It is time for me to get moving. I am seeking a new position in 2017. How about you?

Acts 17:27-28 (NLT)  “His purpose was for the nations to seek after God and perhaps feel their way toward him and find him—though he is not far from any one of us. For in him we live and move and exist. As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’

Leave a Reply

