Good Deeds

good-deeds

Matthew 5:13-16 (NLT) “You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless. You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.

The New Year is less than a week away. I love the New Year. It is a new start. A great place to make certain changes in our habits and routines to improve our life naturally, physically and spiritually. I am pumped. I am ready. Many wonder things have come together in 2016 that have aligned us with our next great adventure with God. All of us, yes even you. I have many family and friends who might say that 2016 was the worse year of their lives. They want to leave it in the past forever never looking back but pressing forward. I completely understand and couldn’t agree more. However, we must not invalidate the Presence of God in our tough times and hardships because He is the reason it is over and we made it through. During that time, seeds were planted for our provision next year. Roots were established for storms brewing ahead. God never leaves us the same as before because He is working all things together for the good of those who love Him and are called. (Romans 8:28) With this in mind, it is important that in the midst of taking down decorations, returning or exchanging gifts, and throwing out leftovers that His People take the time to evaluate last year and seek His Voice for the coming year just around the corner.

In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father. Was my salt salty? Was my light bright? Did I get my feet wet stepping out of the boat? Did I cast my net on the other side of the boat? Did the fruit in my life sustain me throughout? Are doors yet unopened? Did our good deeds shine for all to see? Did revival come? All of the questions could and should be asked while preparing for the coming year. If our mission in life is to seek the Lord wholeheartedly – one must put some effort into evaluating our purpose and progress in the process. Honestly. Earnestly. Intently. All these things are so important in our spirit growth. Good deeds are evidence of faith in action and spiritual progression in our life.

James 2:14-17 (NLT) What good is it, dear brothers and sisters, if you say you have faith but don’t show it by your actions? Can that kind of faith save anyone? Suppose you see a brother or sister who has no food or clothing, and you say, “Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well”—but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do? So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless.

“Faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless.” Can I ask you a question? If your church attendance is not important to you, why would it be to those you invite? To those lost or wandering family members who you pray for and encourage to come, yet see you choose other priorities than attending the House of God on a regular basis? What about those who come and serve all the time? Never miss a service, but are gossipers and backbiters. Those who tell of a loving God but then cut down every sinner who walks through the door hitting them with a long list of rules and regulations which they cannot abide by. What about living high on the hog while others are scraping through everyone else’s scraps? We give to faceless names during the holiday season, but how do they survive the rest of the year? We are too worried about why they fell on hard times and judging their expenditures rather than sharing the Love of God in the form of perpetual generosity. We are to be the salt of the earth. Salt that loses its flavor is useless. We are to bright lights on the hills and rooftops of each city. Where are our lights shining? I am asking myself these questions right now because I want revival in my family, home, joy and especially in ministry this year. I cannot do the same things and expect change. God has set me up with all that I need, every spiritual blessing, perfectly positioned and ready to see His Glory and experience His Favor in 2017. I guess the question is – what will I do about it? Good deeds produced by our life of faith allow us to evaluate our spiritual progress to set our purpose for the next season of life. How’d you do? I am asking myself the same question.

Romans 7:4 (NLT) So, my dear brothers and sisters, this is the point: You died to the power of the law when you died with Christ. And now you are united with the one who was raised from the dead. As a result, we can produce a harvest of good deeds for God.

I am united with Jesus Christ. His Spirit lives and breathes on the inside of me. He is producing purpose and potential in me to see the dead come to life. Yes, resurrection power. Now I can say that nothing is impossible when I believe, but do I really believe it. If I do believe, I will begin jumping out of the boat to get to Jesus rather than waiting for Him to come to the shore to pick me up. God has perpetuated thoughts and ideas in the form of what if. He says, “Come on, I’ve got you.” But looking at the winds of change and waves of uncertainty, it is easy to say that you are waiting on God but really you are just too scared to move. I can produce a harvest of good deeds for God when I walk by faith and not by sight.

Greater is He who is in me than he that is in the world, but who am I listening. What voice do I follow? When the Good Shepherd calls me, am I willing to walk through the valley of the shadow of death to sit at the table prepared for me in front of the enemy? Or am I awaiting a formal invitation with transportation provided to sit at a lavish banquet served by waiters in a climate controlled environment without a single inconvenience? For example, if God called you to ministry, are you willing to work for free? Will you quit your great job with good benefits to answer his call for more hours, less pay and no benefits? If He tells you to move, will you do it? If He tells you to stay right where you are, will you wait? The Voice of God is speaking but too many times we only listen and respond when the Lord tells us what we want to hear. Am I listening? Am I doing? Am I following?

Titus 2:12-14 (NLT) And we are instructed to turn from godless living and sinful pleasures. We should live in this evil world with wisdom, righteousness, and devotion to God, while we look forward with hope to that wonderful day when the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, will be revealed. He gave his life to free us from every kind of sin, to cleanse us, and to make us his very own people, totally committed to doing good deeds.

This is not a Word for everyone, only those who want to be history makers and world shakers for God and who love Jesus desiring Him wholeheartedly. I don’t want live a comfortable and complacent life that leads to complications when I meet Jesus face-to-face. The words “well done good and faithful servant” mean everything. It is the difference between life and death. It defines a life wasted over one that gave glory to His Great Name taking full advantage of amazing grace.

I fully believe that if the Church (Body of Christ) truly is committed to revival – it is absolutely vital that every single one of us desire, seek and do everything in our power to walk closer to the Lord than ever before. Do that thing you have never done? Pray that prayer you have been too afraid to pray? To be the change you are expecting in the atmosphere around you rather than waiting for someone else to do it. Forgive the unforgivable. Read the Word. Study the Word. Live the Word. Devote every attitude and action to God the Father relying on the Power given to us by His Son, Jesus Christ. Love like we have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Otherwise, let’s abandon this notion of revival. It is insanity to expect different results doing the same thing over and over again.

2 Corinthians 9:8-10 (NLT) And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others. As the Scriptures say, “They share freely and give generously to the poor. Their good deeds will be remembered forever.” For God is the one who provides seed for the farmer and then bread to eat. In the same way, he will provide and increase your resources and then produce a great harvest of generosity in you.

Generosity is a characteristic of grace that must be evident in the life of true believers. You cannot accept God’s Grace in totality without the inner need and drive to give it back. His Grace changes us from the inside out when allowed to have His Way in us. We can expect seed to sow if we are not sowers. We cannot be planters without the preparation for harvest. If I am unwilling to dedicate my time, talent and treasure to loving and caring for others with genuine love, compassion and commitment just as Christ cares for me, I am not a candidate for revival power. I have to give my life away to receive His Power and His Provision for such an outpouring.

Lord, examine my heart today. Change my mind where I am unwilling. Clear away every barrier and boundary that is keeping me from experiencing Your Glory and fullness of Your Favor in my life. Teach me to give selflessly. Forgive always. Live a genuine life. Be a light. Keep savory. Lord, I want to see revival in 2017. To see men and women radically changed by Your Power. To experience a surge in the Kingdom only attributable to Mighty Move of God and nothing else. We need You – Jesus in epic proportions. Work in me, Lord. Produce good fruit and deeds in my life that will nourish Your Body and build Your Kingdom. I am ready, Lord.

How about you?

Psalm112 (NLT) Praise the Lord! How joyful are those who fear the Lord and delight in obeying his commands. Their children will be successful everywhere; an entire generation of godly people will be blessed. They themselves will be wealthy, and their good deeds will last forever. Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous. Good comes to those who lend money generously and conduct their business fairly. Such people will not be overcome by evil. Those who are righteous will be long remembered. They do not fear bad news; they confidently trust the Lord to care for them. They are confident and fearless and can face their foes triumphantly. They share freely and give generously to those in need. Their good deeds will be remembered forever. They will have influence and honor. The wicked will see this and be infuriated. They will grind their teeth in anger; they will slink away, their hopes thwarted.

Leave a Reply

