Not Moment to Spare

not-a-spare-moment

Matthew 6:26-27 (NLT)  Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

Stop. Just stop. Stop moving. Stop talking. Stop thinking. Stop worrying. Just stop for a moment. Now take a deep breath and one more. With the first breath, the natural process of oxygenation put life giving air back into the cells of your body and in that second you became a little bit healthier whether you felt it or not. The second breath, hopefully, allowed God’s Spirit along with His Peace to permeate your weary, stressed out, overloaded, maxed out self to feel the Presence of God all around you. If not, maybe by the time you read this, it will happen as it should.

This season is already a rush hour but the general consensus of people I know who live and work around me is go…go…go and then some. I cannot begin to delineate all the unexpected things going on around me as if everyone I know is being pelted with worry, fear, sorrow and more including our family. After going through a rough season, things seemed to be getting back to normal. After Thanksgiving, it was like every irritating minion of hell was meddling all around. Every time something was planned…something came up. Each time a list has been made… it has been torn up. Nothing was getting done. Everything was in an upheaval. Can I get an “amen”? AMEN!

By the end of the week, my heart was heavy. I was exhausted. I was agitated. As if holiday stress was not enough…life stressors were mounting, too causing a domino effect. Sometimes it is not the big things in life that cause us to fall apart but all the little things that bury us! Many believers reserve their faith in the Lord for the big things and hold tightly to all the small and seemingly insignificant details of life. You are valuable to God. He created you to be a priceless masterpiece and his personal treasure. You are not the person you see in the mirror but the One who He dearly loves and desires above all else. So quickly we forget…

Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? No they cannot but instead rob us of special moments prepared for us by God. Consumed by control and steered by stinking thinking, quickly we forget who we are in Jesus Christ. We are the Sons and Daughters of God. Every need is met. Every promise given. Every blessing prepared. Every moment lined up to perfection. God has a plan consisting of moments in time that lead to a future and hope. It is beautiful by design and perfectly timed.

Ecclesiastes 3:9-13 (NLT) What do people really get for all their hard work? I have seen the burden God has placed on us all. Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end. So I concluded there is nothing better than to be happy and enjoy ourselves as long as we can. And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God.

I am usually a very calm person. Over the years and with age, my panic button has been pushed further and further from my hand. I have endured many things, trials, troubles, heartaches and brokenness. I have seen the Hand of God revive, renew and restore things in my life over and over again. It takes a lot to break me to the point of tears and giving up. Last week, it was a perfect storm. By Friday, I was done. Finished. Our little dog was poisoned on Monday night which turned into three different vet visits including hauling her to work. I had a carefully planned holiday list that was now coming apart. We did not have a tree. Christmas shopping had not yet begun. People I loved I would not be able to see due to holiday schedules beyond our control. This piled on a whole lot of life already in progress when my husband reminded me that he was going out of town broke me. I could not see Christmas coming together, the dog on the mend, the presents bought, wrapped or delivered. I could not think beyond right then enough to prepare yet another list to discard. You know the kind of week that I am talking about because many of you have experienced the same. Well…

God makes everything beautiful in His Time. Each day I poured out my heart to the Lord. Christmas is a struggle emotionally for me. Why God? Why are you allowing all these other things to pile up? Finally unable to carry the load, I just pushed it across the table until it all fell into His Lap. I just couldn’t do it anymore. Meeting everyone’s expectations is hard. I don’t know how He is able to do more than we can think or ask other than He really is Perfect in all of His Ways. Worry and stress cannot add a moment to our life. I believe wholeheartedly that faith and trust can redeem time and add moments to our life filled with supernatural qualities that far exceed anything you or I could do with a spare moment. So here’s what happened…

The vet cleared our little dog of permanent damage and sent her home to rest and recover with a plan to keep her nourished for the weekend. She began to perk up bit by bit. By Saturday, she was beginning to eat a little bit here and there all on her own. Looks like she is going to make it. At a Christmas party, some of my loved ones surprised me with a quick trip to town to celebrate Christmas. Game on devil God is doing His Thing. At the party, suddenly hopelessly broken relationships showed some signs of mending. After the first night of solid sleep and good rest, Saturday seemed a bit brighter. By the end of the day and four hours of shopping with my sweet husband who hates the mall, Christmas shopping is almost done. A quick trip to the local hardware store, a tree was chosen in about five whole minutes which is a family record. It is decorated and I am almost positive one of the most perfect trees our family has ever gotten. The first Christmas celebration was a success and by the end of the night the first batch of decorated cookies produced and consumed. In a single 24 hour period, everything I was worried about is already done. But how? God redeems our time according to His Plan when we trust Him.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 is often read at funerals but maybe it should be read long before. It reminds us that in accordance with Psalm 139 every moment of our life is prerecorded by God before our birth. It points back to Jeremiah 29 that tells me God has a plan with a future and hope for me. I must only seek Him wholeheartedly to find it. I can look ahead to Romans 8 that promises every detail of my life will be worked out for my good and His Glory if I will just hang on and take my stand in this moment for the next one that is coming. Timing is everything to God because He is perfect and never compromises. If only we knew this ahead of time, we could see that God does everything in His Timing without a moment to spare and it is always beautiful.

What do people really get for all their hard work? Depends on who or what they are working for in a broad sense. If you are working for something you already have isn’t it a waste of time. Shouldn’t we strive for what we do not have instead? God promises to provide for us and supply our every need. He knows the desires of each heart and longs to fulfill it according to His Will. We all have a purpose and plan for our life that is better than one can comprehend so the Lord works to fulfill it by created faith experiences and God encounters. However, human nature doesn’t seek God in the good times but only under duress. What if we concluded as Solomon did to be happy and enjoy our life. Happiness is a choice. Joy is a product of God in us. Everything I have and am able to do is a Gift of God. I only carry out steps and live moments already given to me by my Father. Why am I worrying? There is purpose for my life. I have a future and hope. God has already ordered my steps and handwritten every moment. What do I worry and stress?

Ecclesiastes 3:14-15 (NLT)  And I know that whatever God does is final. Nothing can be added to it or taken from it. God’s purpose is that people should fear him. What is happening now has happened before, and what will happen in the future has happened before, because God makes the same things happen over and over again.

This too shall pass…wise words spoken for a long time. It will. One way or the other this moment will be spent and this season will transition to the next. What will you do while you wait? Will you worry about a life already provided for? Will you stress over a season of joy? Emmanuel has come and God is with us. The enemy can do nothing more than knock on your door and beat on the windows, God will not let Him in.

Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT)  Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing.

You know last week I felt really dumb for being so worried over our pet. I berated myself for feeling worried, anxious and stressed over her well-being. I even apologized as I prayed to the Lord for her healing when other people are going through so much. Yet in that moment, the anxiety real and heartache truly felt. I believe that the Lord loves us so much that He cares about every moment of our life. The ones used for His Glory. The ones when we barely get by. The ones when we fail miserably. The ones when we give up completely. Every useful and spare moment of our day – God is there as He works our life together for the good things that He has in store for us.

Faith doesn’t allow us to see what we hope for. Trust is the opportunity to believe that it is there. Faith is a choice. Trust is a decision. Do I believe that every moment of my life is handwritten and provided for by the Lord according to His Riches in Glory? Do I trust that His Grace is enough power and strength to keep me going, catapult me over my circumstances and move me from season to season? Hope is not anything that can be seen but filled with infinite impossibilities ready to be manifested in my life. People who tithe testify of bank accounts and registers that just don’t make sense. Those who trust the Lord can exchange every spare moment for something perfectly supernatural. Will that be you today?

Your worry, stress, sorrow and regret will not add a single moment to your life but rob us of precious moments that the Lord has in store for us. Isn’t it time to shove all those burdens over to Him in exchange for His Peace that puts a guard over the door to our heart and window of our soul so when the enemy comes making a racket our response will be – It is well with my soul because God’s Timing is perfect for me!

Philippians 4:8-9 (NLT) Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you.

Matthew 6:26-27 (NLT)  Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

Stop. Just stop. Stop moving. Stop talking. Stop thinking. Stop worrying. Just stop for a moment. Now take a deep breath and one more. With the first breath, the natural process of oxygenation put life giving air back into the cells of your body and in that second you became a little bit healthier whether you felt it or not. The second breath, hopefully, allowed God’s Spirit along with His Peace to permeate your weary, stressed out, overloaded, maxed out self to feel the Presence of God all around you. If not, maybe by the time you read this, it will happen as it should.

This season is already a rush hour but the general consensus of people I know who live and work around me is go…go…go and then some. I cannot begin to delineate all the unexpected things going on around me as if everyone I know is being pelted with worry, fear, sorrow and more including our family. After going through a rough season, things seemed to be getting back to normal. After Thanksgiving, it was like every irritating minion of hell was meddling all around. Every time something was planned…something came up. Each time a list has been made… it has been torn up. Nothing was getting done. Everything was in an upheaval. Can I get an “amen”? AMEN!

By the end of the week, my heart was heavy. I was exhausted. I was agitated. As if holiday stress was not enough…life stressors were mounting, too causing a domino effect. Sometimes it is not the big things in life that cause us to fall apart but all the little things that bury us! Many believers reserve their faith in the Lord for the big things and hold tightly to all the small and seemingly insignificant details of life. You are valuable to God. He created you to be a priceless masterpiece and his personal treasure. You are not the person you see in the mirror but the One who He dearly loves and desires above all else. So quickly we forget…

Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? No they cannot but instead rob us of special moments prepared for us by God. Consumed by control and steered by stinking thinking, quickly we forget who we are in Jesus Christ. We are the Sons and Daughters of God. Every need is met. Every promise given. Every blessing prepared. Every moment lined up to perfection. God has a plan consisting of moments in time that lead to a future and hope. It is beautiful by design and perfectly timed.

Ecclesiastes 3:9-13 (NLT) What do people really get for all their hard work? I have seen the burden God has placed on us all. Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end. So I concluded there is nothing better than to be happy and enjoy ourselves as long as we can. And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God.

I am usually a very calm person. Over the years and with age, my panic button has been pushed further and further from my hand. I have endured many things, trials, troubles, heartaches and brokenness. I have seen the Hand of God revive, renew and restore things in my life over and over again. It takes a lot to break me to the point of tears and giving up. Last week, it was a perfect storm. By Friday, I was done. Finished. Our little dog was poisoned on Monday night which turned into three different vet visits including hauling her to work. I had a carefully planned holiday list that was now coming apart. We did not have a tree. Christmas shopping had not yet begun. People I loved I would not be able to see due to holiday schedules beyond our control. This piled on a whole lot of life already in progress when my husband reminded me that he was going out of town broke me. I could not see Christmas coming together, the dog on the mend, the presents bought, wrapped or delivered. I could not think beyond right then enough to prepare yet another list to discard. You know the kind of week that I am talking about because many of you have experienced the same. Well…

God makes everything beautiful in His Time. Each day I poured out my heart to the Lord. Christmas is a struggle emotionally for me. Why God? Why are you allowing all these other things to pile up? Finally unable to carry the load, I just pushed it across the table until it all fell into His Lap. I just couldn’t do it anymore. Meeting everyone’s expectations is hard. I don’t know how He is able to do more than we can think or ask other than He really is Perfect in all of His Ways. Worry and stress cannot add a moment to our life. I believe wholeheartedly that faith and trust can redeem time and add moments to our life filled with supernatural qualities that far exceed anything you or I could do with a spare moment. So here’s what happened…

The vet cleared our little dog of permanent damage and sent her home to rest and recover with a plan to keep her nourished for the weekend. She began to perk up bit by bit. By Saturday, she was beginning to eat a little bit here and there all on her own. Looks like she is going to make it. At a Christmas party, some of my loved ones surprised me with a quick trip to town to celebrate Christmas. Game on devil God is doing His Thing. At the party, suddenly hopelessly broken relationships showed some signs of mending. After the first night of solid sleep and good rest, Saturday seemed a bit brighter. By the end of the day and four hours of shopping with my sweet husband who hates the mall, Christmas shopping is almost done. A quick trip to the local hardware store, a tree was chosen in about five whole minutes which is a family record. It is decorated and I am almost positive one of the most perfect trees our family has ever gotten. The first Christmas celebration was a success and by the end of the night the first batch of decorated cookies produced and consumed. In a single 24 hour period, everything I was worried about is already done. But how? God redeems our time according to His Plan when we trust Him.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 is often read at funerals but maybe it should be read long before. It reminds us that in accordance with Psalm 139 every moment of our life is prerecorded by God before our birth. It points back to Jeremiah 29 that tells me God has a plan with a future and hope for me. I must only seek Him wholeheartedly to find it. I can look ahead to Romans 8 that promises every detail of my life will be worked out for my good and His Glory if I will just hang on and take my stand in this moment for the next one that is coming. Timing is everything to God because He is perfect and never compromises. If only we knew this ahead of time, we could see that God does everything in His Timing without a moment to spare and it is always beautiful.

What do people really get for all their hard work? Depends on who or what they are working for in a broad sense. If you are working for something you already have isn’t it a waste of time. Shouldn’t we strive for what we do not have instead? God promises to provide for us and supply our every need. He knows the desires of each heart and longs to fulfill it according to His Will. We all have a purpose and plan for our life that is better than one can comprehend so the Lord works to fulfill it by created faith experiences and God encounters. However, human nature doesn’t seek God in the good times but only under duress. What if we concluded as Solomon did to be happy and enjoy our life. Happiness is a choice. Joy is a product of God in us. Everything I have and am able to do is a Gift of God. I only carry out steps and live moments already given to me by my Father. Why am I worrying? There is purpose for my life. I have a future and hope. God has already ordered my steps and handwritten every moment. What do I worry and stress?

Ecclesiastes 3:14-15 (NLT)  And I know that whatever God does is final. Nothing can be added to it or taken from it. God’s purpose is that people should fear him. What is happening now has happened before, and what will happen in the future has happened before, because God makes the same things happen over and over again.

This too shall pass…wise words spoken for a long time. It will. One way or the other this moment will be spent and this season will transition to the next. What will you do while you wait? Will you worry about a life already provided for? Will you stress over a season of joy? Emmanuel has come and God is with us. The enemy can do nothing more than knock on your door and beat on the windows, God will not let Him in.

Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT)  Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing.

You know last week I felt really dumb for being so worried over our pet. I berated myself for feeling worried, anxious and stressed over her well-being. I even apologized as I prayed to the Lord for her healing when other people are going through so much. Yet in that moment, the anxiety real and heartache truly felt. I believe that the Lord loves us so much that He cares about every moment of our life. The ones used for His Glory. The ones when we barely get by. The ones when we fail miserably. The ones when we give up completely. Every useful and spare moment of our day – God is there as He works our life together for the good things that He has in store for us.

Faith doesn’t allow us to see what we hope for. Trust is the opportunity to believe that it is there. Faith is a choice. Trust is a decision. Do I believe that every moment of my life is handwritten and provided for by the Lord according to His Riches in Glory? Do I trust that His Grace is enough power and strength to keep me going, catapult me over my circumstances and move me from season to season? Hope is not anything that can be seen but filled with infinite impossibilities ready to be manifested in my life. People who tithe testify of bank accounts and registers that just don’t make sense. Those who trust the Lord can exchange every spare moment for something perfectly supernatural. Will that be you today?

Your worry, stress, sorrow and regret will not add a single moment to your life but rob us of precious moments that the Lord has in store for us. Isn’t it time to shove all those burdens over to Him in exchange for His Peace that puts a guard over the door to our heart and window of our soul so when the enemy comes making a racket our response will be – It is well with my soul because God’s Timing is perfect for me!

Philippians 4:8-9 (NLT) Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned and received from me—everything you heard from me and saw me doing. Then the God of peace will be with you.

Leave a Reply

