An Open Conversation

an-open-coversation

Psalm 27:7-8 (NLT) Hear me as I pray, O Lord. Be merciful and answer me! My heart has heard you say, “Come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “Lord, I am coming.”

My husband loves football. It is his favorite “season” of the year. For many years, our family enjoyed season tickets to the local hometown team collegiate games. He loves his team and follows them passionately. Not a man of many hobbies, when attending the events he is all business. Never should the words be uttered, “It’s just a game.” I enjoy the games but must admit there are times when I have done some online shopping, social media and texting with friends rather than really paying attention to the game and the score. One thing that I have noticed over the many years of football and my husband is that in the noisy stadium with the crazed crowd, blaring band, bright lights and gridiron action IS NOT the time to attempt in meaningful conversation. Important talks are not to be held in such an environment. Personal and intimate communication is not engaged while yelling over the drunk guy behind you if you know what I mean. My husband is not giving me his full attention and for me to assume that he is would be ridiculous. If I would like to spend quality time with my husband and engage in meaningful conversation and connect with him, it will be one on one without distractions. It will be a time set aside when we can talk one on one without other people around or “things” to do. We must put down our cellphones, turn off the television and stop looking around to really hear each other. I believe most people have the talking part of a conversation down pat especially women. It is the listening part that challenges so many. To humble ourselves and even our opinion to open one’s heart and mind to carefully consider and hear what the other person is saying to us.

Many years ago, I set out on a journey to hear the Voice of God. I wanted to go beyond what the Word of God offered, engage more than with just His Spirit, but I desired to actually listen for His Voice when He speaks directly to me. I know this will blow some of you away at my deep devotion and complete commitment to this but I set my alarm for fifteen minutes earlier than before. That’s right a whopping whole fifteen minutes for the Lord to expand my knowledge, deepen my understanding and share all of His Many Secrets with me.

We pray to the Lord for things the majority of time. Maturity in Christ may even produce thankfulness that begins to manifest in our prayer time. To stop there is not enough, when God offers us so much more. I love Psalm 27:8, “My heart has heard you say, ‘Come and talk WITH me.’ And my heart responds, ‘Lord, I am coming!’” God is used to people talking about Him. Jesus is used to people talking TO Him. But the Holy Spirit within us connects with the Lord of Lords when a believer decides to talk with Him instead.

John 10:3-5 (NLT) The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep recognize his voice and come to him. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. After he has gathered his own flock, he walks ahead of them, and they follow him because they know his voice. They won’t follow a stranger; they will run from him because they don’t know his voice.”

God speaks to His People. Jesus is speaking to us today. Why can’t I hear the Voice of God clearly? Well, do you listen? We pour our hearts out to the Lord but how many times are you willing to sit in silence until He answers? I believe that God has important details to share with us but most often His People are too busy to stop and listen or uncomfortable with the silence that proceeds it. We must know, recognize and follow the Voice of the Lord. It must be familiar to us in order to distinguish between a truth and a lie. Do you recognize when God is speaking to you? Do you know His Voice? This is an important part of our relationship with the Lord. God speaks to His People. Jesus calls out to us each day. We call out, cry out and speak out to Him. We must wait for Him to respond. He is waiting for us to listen.

I Kings 19:11-13 (NLT) “Go out and stand before me on the mountain,” the Lord told him. And as Elijah stood there, the Lord passed by, and a mighty windstorm hit the mountain. It was such a terrible blast that the rocks were torn loose, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his cloak and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave. And a voice said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

To set the scene for those who may be unfamiliar, Elijah had made fools of the prophets of Baal. The prophets were all killed and Jezebel was furious. She threatened to kill Elijah so he ran to hide. There is more to the story that I encourage you to read but the underlying truth at this point in the story is that Elijah had been driven into fear and hiding by the lie of the enemy. He is hiding in a cave on a mountain. The Lord tells him to “go out and stand before me on the mountain.” So he does and it is there Elijah encounters a windstorm, avalanche, earthquake and fire falling from the sky and then after all hell breaks loose around him…he hears it. The still small voice that can only be the Lord. The gentle whisper that brings new life to us. When Elijah heard God’s Voice, he went out and stood at the entrance of the cave to have a personal and intimate conversation with the Most High God.

Problems, troubles and trauma cause us to seek the Lord and even cry out to Him. However, it is in our complete and utter failure that most of us will actually listen to what God is saying to us. We must run out of options and opportunities before fully relinquishing the controls of our life to His Capable Hands. We lie to ourselves and God by implying a complete turnover of our life to His Care. Only to discover, that our hands are firmly attached to the wheel. So when all hell breaks loose in our life and the atmosphere around us explodes, suddenly we become speechless in our own fear and doubt. We stop fighting and become resolved to our situation.

When I was about eight years old, there was a “bully” at school who used to “threaten” to kiss me. I was appalled at the thought of it. One day as I got off the bus looking back for my offender, he pointed at me and said, “Today is the day. I am going to catch you.” I jumped off the bus and ran all the way home never looking back. Bursting through the door, my mom was immediately concerned. As I began to tell her of my awful ordeal, a smile crept across her face. I grew even more frustrated. When I ran out of words and breath, my mom in all her infinite wisdom told me exactly what I should do. “Turn around and kiss him first.” WHAT?!? I was outraged. I think God our Father does the same thing for us. He waits. The Lord waits until His Children finally come to Him pouring out all their heart, using all their words down to their very last breath. Then He whispers love and truth to them, now that they are ready to listen.

Matthew 7:7-8 (NLT) “Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.

Reading Matthew 7, have you ever wondered what might be waiting on the other side of the door prayer is knocking on? I know one might assume it is that very thing for which we are asking or praying but I don’t think so any more. God promises that for those who keep knocking that the door will be opened. Everyone who seeks will find. Keep knocking. Everyone who asks will receive. But what? I don’t believe the answer to every prayer and petition is “yes” so that invalidates the possibility that it is always what I want or think I need. Behind the door on which prayer knocks is this…

Revelation 3:20 (NLT) “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.

We knock on God’s Door to meet our immediate need, heal a disease, solve a problem, ease our minds, fill our hearts, and every other dream and desire that comes along when all along Jesus is on the other side just waiting for an invitation to enter an open conversation. We are given the will to choose whether or not to engage in a meaningful and heartfelt relationship with Jesus Christ. He desires a friendship not acquaintance with us. Friends talk about everything. Communicate often. Spend time together regularly. Listen to each other. Help one another. The Lord desires to communicate with you today. He is talking to me. Are we listening?

Psalm 95:6-7 (NLT) Come, let us worship and bow down. Let us kneel before the Lord our maker, for he is our God. We are the people he watches over, the flock under his care. If only you would listen to his voice today!

It is up to me the amount of attention I give to the relationships in my life. I give my job about 8 or 9 hours a day and in exchange I get a paycheck each month. This is the terms of our relationship. I have five children – two live at home so I communicate with them daily and effortlessly because they live in my presence. It is a bit more of a challenge to keep up with the others who are busy adulting. We must all put forth an effort to communicate and build our relationship apart. I have some close friends who I speak to just about every day through texting or calling. My besties, if you will, and I have ongoing conversations that stop today and may resume right where we left off the day after tomorrow when things slow down. My husband is my life partner. He is my soul mate on the earth. I talk to him every single day. I listen to what he says and even what he doesn’t say directly because I love him, care for him and am his helper in life. We spend time each day talking and listening to maintain our marriage and uphold our covenant. This is the kind of relationship that the Lord desires with you and me. An intimate and ongoing conversation that contains both talking and listening on both our parts. He is a good listener. If you think about it, people tend to do all the talking. We must become good listeners, too.

To be a good listener requires a few things. We must stop talking. We must stop thinking about our response and concentrate on the one speaking. We must believe that they have something worth hearing to invest our time, energy and concentration. We must remove all distractions. Prayer is communication with the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. We must learn to communicate effectively and listen for His Voice. Do you hear the Lord saying in your heart today, “Come and talk with me!” It will be a still small voice or gentle whisper that only the one who know His Voice will hear and follow. He desires to spend quality time with you His Beloved today. How will you respond?

John 5:24-25 (NLT) “I tell you the truth, those who listen to my message and believe in God who sent me have eternal life. They will never be condemned for their sins, but they have already passed from death into life. And I assure you that the time is coming, indeed it’s here now, when the dead will hear my voice—the voice of the Son of God. And those who listen will live.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

