If It’s Not One Thing…

SONY DSC

Psalm 138:7-8 (NKJV) Though I walk in the midst of trouble, You will revive me; You will stretch out Your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and Your right hand will save me. The Lord will perfect that which concerns me; Your mercy, Lord, endures forever; do not forsake the works of Your hands.

If it’s not one thing, it’s another. Do you ever feel that way? Trouble comes and goes making room for something else it seems. Last night, my husband and I attended a visitation for a man of God who is the father, father-in-law, and grandfather of many of our friends. The place was packed. People gathered to honor the man and the room resounded his legacy of love and kindness to others. As I walked to the front of the church embracing my sweet friend, I could not help but feel her heaviness and feel completely helpless in alleviating her burden. Her mama so weak and frail standing next to her husband now with Jesus. I could not “do” a single thing to ease her burden or lighten her load. As everyone visited in the little church together, conversation turned to “how are you doing” and “how’s the family” as people began to catch up with one another. Burdens and concerns were shared amongst each other when one person said, “If it’s not one thing, its another.”

Well…getting into the truck to head home, I had missed a call from our youngest daughter. She called to tell me that our little dog was very sick. She had apparently found some potpourri and decided to try to eat it. The thought occurred to me right then and there, too. If it’s not one thing its another. Now as I sit in my quiet time this morning with the Lord, our tiny little creature is shaking in my lap while I wait for the vet to open. She is very sick. Sadly, our family just said goodbye to our other little elderly dog just a couple of weeks ago. I am concerned this morning. Concerned for friends with broken hearts, others with broken bodies, some with broken marriages and more. Though I feel almost guilty for having such concern for an animal with so many friends facing so many things there is comfort in God’s Word. My heart is reminded of this precious promise in Psalm 138 – “the Lord will perfect that which concerns me.”

One might think that this is regarding those who are enduring terrible times and tough trauma. Concern is not the high alert, panic button but it can be that thing causing your brow to furrow a bit or even what gains a second thought. As trouble escalates, it certainly can reach a higher level and without hesitation it is taken to God. But how many times do we say, think or even pray as not to bother God with little things like a sick pet or unexpected anything in life? God wants to perfect what concerns you today. He wants to do His Will and release His Plan for your life. Will you accept?

Matthew 6:9-13 (NKJV)  In this manner, therefore, pray: Our Father in heaven, Hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, As we forgive our debtors. And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.

When Jesus told us how to pray, He was specific. “In this manner, therefore, pray! The prayer model is not grandiose but granular. First, we call Him Father. God I honor Your Great Name today. “Your Kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.” This one phrase releases our Father God to be who He promised to be and do what He said that He would do in our life. We take a step back and tell Him – You lead the way today. Give us this day our daily bread. Jesus is the Bread of Life. Maybe this “daily bread” is not about what we will eat or drink or even sleep tonight after all His Word says that He will supply all of our needs according to His Riches. Maybe this more about a daily dose of Jesus who is the One that feeds our soul so that as our spirit man grows there is more room for heaven to fill our existence on the earth. Of course, then there is that little thing called forgiveness that keeps all of lives imperfections from growing into bitterness that will kill every godly work in us. We need the Lord’s Help or Helper to keep us from temptation especially the one that tells us to give up or give in along with His Deliverance from the evil one who pursues us relentlessly day and night trying to steal our joy and kill our confidence in our Father God. See we don’t need to sweat the small stuff. Whether what we face is major like the death of a loved one or minor like a sick pet – His Word is true. God is perfecting that which concerns us today.

Matthew 11:27-30 (NKJV) All things have been delivered to Me by My Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father. Nor does anyone know the Father except the Son, and the one to whom the Son wills to reveal Him. Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

God is in control. He has given Jesus Christ all power and authority over His People. In life if it’s not one thing it will always seem to be another. We were told ahead of time to expect tests and trials in life. Our goal at the end of the day is complete and total trust in Jesus Christ. To trust Him with every major thing and every minor detail of life. To pray about everything and worry about nothing. To revisit our Lord’s request to come those who labor and are heavy laden from this perspective means to give all our burdens to Christ not just the one’s deemed worthy of His Attention. His Word promises that He will perfect that which concerns me today. It doesn’t have to be a big deal but can be the smallest thing and He will perfect it.

Deuteronomy 32:4 (NKJV) He is the Rock, His work is perfect; For all His ways are justice, A God of truth and without injustice; Righteous and upright is He.

God is perfect in all of His Ways. Our imperfection tempts us to settle for less than God’s Best. Sin caused us to fall short of His Glorious Standard of Living. When Jesus died on the Cross, He marched into hell and took the keys of death and the grave back. He then proclaimed victory over our life. He handed us the Keys to the Kingdom and now it is up to me if I will live according to His Kingdom or settle for my circumstances here on earth. If I choose God’s Way, it is perfect. It means that I must have faith in what I cannot see and trust that He will perfect that which concerns me every time. It means releasing control and waiting for God to do His Will – not always my will. Yet in doing so, comes the promise that no matter how many times “it’s not one thing than it’s another” that the Lord will take all my burdens and perfect all that concerns me. There is nothing too big or small for the compassion and care of our Savior and Lover of our soul. Give it all to Jesus today. All of it. Holding nothing back until His Kingdom comes.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV) Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

 

Leave a Reply

