Give Me Your Heart

give-me-your-heart

Ezekiel 36:26-27 (NLT) And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart. And I will put my Spirit in you so that you will follow my decrees and be careful to obey my regulations.

Some mornings as I dive into this time with the Lord, it is in a quest for knowledge or a thought that came to me during my commute that is creates urgency to dig a little deeper and uncover another nugget of truth to be cultivated. Other times it is a battle of my spirit to apprehend my flesh washing it in His Word while I act like a stubborn child who loves the mud. Thoughts that do not correspond with the Christ who live in me are challenged during this time as the strongholds I try to build with my hands are torn down by His Spirit in my life. Parting from reality and stepping into hope, I find this place in His Presence to always be refreshing and renewing. Time well spent in the course of the day and never missed or decidedly wasted at the end of my day.

This morning was a little different. When the alarm went off, I had this profound need to surrender my heart to the Lord again. Just hand it over to Him in exchange for the new heart that He promises me day by day. Coming through a challenging season and stepping into the new thing God is doing – I am overwhelmed with the need for His Heart. The kind of heart that He promised in Ezekiel. I want a new heart. I want a revived spirit today. My heart is given to stubbornness. It is apt to become hard without me even trying to do so. God, I want a tender responsive heart today.

If the church was completely honest, every single person sitting on a pew or even comfortable padded chair in the climate controlled comfort zone of religion, it would probably feel the same way. Frustrated that others do not see the Light so clearly hidden in the recesses of my very human heart. Concerned for a lost and dying world that doesn’t seem to hear the message of the Gospel being shared. Tired of serving without results. Hurt by those around us who are imperfect. Desperate due to misplaced hope expecting something that has not happened or that seems impossible. You are the ones who can relate. I don’t want life as usual. I want supernatural life that cuts through darkness, breaks every chain, heals every hurt and renews me day by day to engage with others and share the Love that is greater than life given to me absolutely free and with more than enough grace to discover.

I need a new heart. Not just today, but every day. Pride would like to convince me that my confidence in Christ has something to do with me. The Spirit of God within me often cannot get past the resolve of resignation that I somehow or some way can contribute anything at all to a perfect gospel, flawless message or selfless service already accomplished by Christ on the Cross. I cannot. Less of me and more of Him is the only way that I live a worthwhile life from the mess that I made it. My heart will never bow to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords until it turns on itself. Pride has no place in a human heart that longs to be all God created us to be. Grace is the only sufficiency in my life. It completes me. Otherwise, I am only half the woman God created me to be. Lord, humble my heart today so your Spirit can take over.

I John 4:7-8 (NLT) Dear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. Anyone who loves is a child of God and knows God. But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

Our dining room table has seen better days. How it survived all five children and countless meals is a miracle in and of itself! Over time, our daughters discovered nail polish. They also found nail polish remover. On multiple occasions, I expressed my concern about using it on the table. Explaining in careful detail that it would remove the finish if it happen to find its way on to it. I was “assured” by my girls that would not happen as they were being extremely “careful”. And then I would hear the word, “Oops!” The dark expresso finish has some boo boos compliments of the girls and their beauty quest. I have been refinishing and repurposing furniture lately to reuse in our new house. He has hinted that it would be nice if I did the same thing to our kitchen table. For years, he has asked for a new one but I cannot part with it.

The table is special and unique. Many years ago, one of girls struggled with a deficiency in her fine motor skills. She could not write her name or other words smaller than about six to eight inch letters. After consulting many doctors and neurologists, she was given a weighted pencil to achieve the task. The wood on my table is pine and softer than an oak finish. The weight of the pencil made an impression in the table and her name is found inscribed there. I do not want to remove her little masterpieces from it so I cannot bear to redo it.

God wants to use our heart. He wants to write the names of people who are on His Heart and trust us to love them more than ourselves. More than our comfort. More than our convenience. More than our hang-ups and insecurities. But we hold tightly to the pieces of a broken and hard heart wondering why there is no movement in our personal ministry (called life) and why others are not benefiting from the Light of His Love that we try to project. The ministry of Christ was not apart from Jesus but who Jesus was. God is love. His Son was made in His Father’s Image just as we are. I cannot be effective for Christ or even serve Him efficiently if I withhold any of my heart from Him.

Matthew 9:16-17 (NLT) “Besides, who would patch old clothing with new cloth? For the new patch would shrink and rip away from the old cloth, leaving an even bigger tear than before. And no one puts new wine into old wineskins. For the old skins would burst from the pressure, spilling the wine and ruining the skins. New wine is stored in new wineskins so that both are preserved.”

New wine is stored in new wineskins so that both are preserved. The call for revival is a cry for a new outpouring of His Spirit. His Spirit cannot inhabit a hard heart. If He does remain there, He cannot move without risk of destroying the person. God does change. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. His Spirit is from Him so therefore has the same characteristics. Yet believers want the Spirit to move in them, through them and around them, one must be full aware that this will only come at sacrifice of self. God’s Spirit will not change to meet your space or condition. The move of God’s Spirit through you will not be limited to the space allowed. If God poured out His Spirit on the church, due to its current heart condition it just might implode or collapse at the weight of it.

Why? On the way home from work last night, I stopped to spend some time with a lovely young woman from our church. She is quiet and shy. The Lord has placed her on my heart to love and get to know. Yesterday was a long day at work, I had to work late and tried to think of every reason in the book to cancel but couldn’t. My heart told me to go. Afterwards, it was late and the family was hungry. I had a meal prepared to cook for them but knew that by the time I got home no one would want to wait so I swung into a fast food restaurant. Too tired to think, I ordered four of the usual and recanted the drink order that I have asked for a hundred times before. Arriving home, everyone gathered around the table immediately gratified by food that isn’t all that good or good for us. We want it fast. We want it now. We want it our way. We want what we want when and how we want it without waiting more than five minutes to get it. We want convenience, comfort and control. This is not how life in Christ works as He lives, moves and breathes in us. We must give up all those things that this life offers to acquire a new heart, new spirit and new life. It all begins with our heart.

I John 4:15-19 (NLT) All who declare that Jesus is the Son of God have God living in them, and they live in God. We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love. God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them. And as we live in God, our love grows more perfect. So we will not be afraid on the Day of Judgment, but we can face him with confidence because we live like Jesus here in this world. Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced his perfect love. We love each other because he loved us first.

Today all I want is a new heart. I want the kind of heart that loves like Jesus. The kind that is willing to be broken over and over again if grace and salvation comes out of it. God is good, yes! He has been so good to me! But first and foremost, God is love. To be like my Father requires a selfless, patient, unconditional, unfailing and unending love that this world cannot identify with but longs for. This is the kind of love that sparks revival. This is the heart ready to be filled with His Spirit. Lord, I ask you today for the new responsive heart promised in Ezekiel. The kind of vessel that is willing to be inconvenience, uncomfortable and broken over and over again for Your Glory! Give me your heart God, the one like yours prepared for me. Amen!

Psalm 51:10-12 (NLT) Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a loyal spirit within me. Do not banish me from your presence, and don’t take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and make me willing to obey you.

One thought on “Give Me Your Heart

Leave a Reply

