Constantly Good

constantly-good

Psalm 27:13-14 (NLT) Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

How confident are you in the goodness of God? Are you confident in His Ability to care for you? Are you confident that He loves you today? Our confidence is the thing that relates trust. Without confidence in God, it is easy to abandon hope altogether. Confidence is not partial but complete trust. It is full assurance. The reliability of God is not based on our confidence in Him as many would believe. If you remove every trace of Him from the things of this world, eliminating His Name from every government building, hushing the use of His Name in every school, and attempting to stop worship in every home and heart – creation will still cry out His Name for His Glory. God is Sovereign. We do not understand such a thing in our society. Authority is challenged on every level to conform to our needs, wants and emotions even if it means lowering the standard of life. The inconsistent nature of human beings has created an unstable world spiraling to destruction. A constant God is not welcome because He will not conform His Standard to our sin. Does this make God bad? When bad things happen to good people, God’s Love and Care for us is not in question. God is still good. How do I know this? He is unmovable. He is unshakeable. His Kingdom is forever unlike the world in which I live. He is true. He is Truth. He does not have the ability to lie and will not change His Mind. The life that God chose for me apart from sin was a good one. It was my choice to sin that caused the problem in the first place.

Where does my hope come from? God is Sovereign. He is Constant. He is the Great I Am. He doesn’t change. Salvation is not that God changed His Mind or Position on anything. Grace came when He sacrificed His All to make a way for me to approach Him again. My confidence is not in me or my ability anymore. It is completely in the fact that God is good and He does not change. I must remain confident in everyday life that God’s Goodness is for me…right now…to effectively discover the new life that is for me and new creation that is rising up with me.

Lamentations 3:20-24 (NLT) I will never forget this awful time, as I grieve over my loss. Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: the faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!”

When our son was diagnosed with cancer, I was forever changed. It challenged my abilities as a mom. It made me question my purpose in life. Motherhood is my identity. There are many days that I find myself and the maternal instincts engrained in me “mothering” people and things that I did not even give birth to. Nurturing seems to be instinctual. However, when he was sick, I felt like a total and complete failure. Why? My confidence was in me – not completely entrusting Him.

The first test was when our oldest son spent a year in the Middle East. The difference is that our son chose to pursue this path. Our younger son was issued a death sentence. “I will never forget this awful time.” Such times create voids in us that need to be filled. The space of shattered expectation, unexpected trauma, and other places that “awful” things create must be filled by something. Will it be the Goodness of God? Or will it be bitterness and resentment? It is all about the source. You are what you eat. It’s really true. Romans 8:28 became my constant diet. It manifested an appetite for His Goodness in the midst of great trauma and tragedy. What will be on the menu for you today?

Psalm 23:5-6 (NLT) You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.

Who doesn’t want a fairytale life? But how quickly one forgets that happily ever after is preceded by hardship? There is a very real enemy and ominous threat in our life. Every day the enemy seeks to destroy you. He wants to steal your blessing. He wants to kill your desire to serve God. He roars like a menacing lion waiting to attack. “You prepare a feast for me” where? In the presence of my enemies. The Bible is the greatest love story ever written but it is not without a villain who wants to steal, kill and destroy the dream. Therefore, my confidence must remain in the unfailing love and goodness that pursues me. When I believe and trust in the Sovereignty and Constance of God, I am saying yes to His Unfailing Love and Goodness in spite of my circumstances and conditions because I know that He is preparing a feast in my honor and will soon bestow His Blessing on me. Do you trust in the God’s Goodness today? If not, you should.

Psalm 31:19-20 (NLT) How great is the goodness you have stored up for those who fear you. You lavish it on those who come to you for protection, blessing them before the watching world. You hide them in the shelter of your presence, safe from those who conspire against them. You shelter them in your presence, far from accusing tongues.

God’s Goodness is found in His Presence. His Presence is a place of power in this life and refuge of peace that allows us to successfully navigate the trials of life with faith and hope intact. To confidently trust God does not mean that everything in our life will be perfect and without problems. It means that God’s Goodness will make its way to us because we stand in confidence at His Constancy.

Psalm 119:37-40 (NLT) Turn my eyes from worthless things, and give me life through your word. Reassure me of your promise, made to those who fear you. Help me abandon my shameful ways; for your regulations are good. I long to obey your commandments! Renew my life with your goodness.

God’s Word is a menu of His Goodness for those who turn from worthless things. Again, you are what you eat. A diet of junk does nothing to nourish the body. It may satisfy our hunger for the moment but adds nothing nutritionally to our life. I have snackers in my family who constantly ruin their appetite for meal time. They eat all afternoon so that when I cook the evening meal they are not hungry. About an hour after dinner is done and the kitchen clean, they are right back in the kitchen and pantry foraging for something to eat. They are not satisfied. Come on, you can see where this is going! The Bible says to taste and see that the Lord is good. He is good. But we do not know that because we do not feast on His Word, and nourish our soul. If I base my life and decisions solely on this moment and how I feel, it will not yield long term results. It is immediate gratification rather than confident hope. However, if I know that God is good. He is faithful. He is unshakable and immovable. He is constant. If I believe that unfailing love and goodness belong to me here and now enough to wait on Him, I will be completely satisfied in my heart and soul. We read the labels on food for content, caloric intake, fat grams and sugars but starve our soul. What’s up with that?

Romans 14:17-19 (NLT) For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of what we eat or drink, but of living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. If you serve Christ with this attitude, you will please God, and others will approve of you, too. So then, let us aim for harmony in the church and try to build each other up.

When my children were younger, I would not allow them to eat junk food but provided healthy choices. Okay maybe I have mellowed and my youngest has been known to eat chocolate cake for breakfast on occasion, please don’t judge me. When the meal was set before them, they were given the choice to eat the meal or have no dessert. I was harsh back then just ask the older three. I didn’t do it to be mean but rather to ensure their health through a proper diet and good nutrition. My intentions were good for my kids. God is a way better Father than I am a mother. He is always good. He always sets His Very Best before us but He will not make us eat. It is up to me whether or not I partake of His Goodness. However, that never changes the fact that He is good.

With this in mind, Jesus gave us the Holy Spirit to help us discover His Goodness. In fact, the Holy Spirit produces goodness in us along with the other fruits of His Spirit. If I am living in the Goodness of God, it will begin to grow and overflow from my life. My soul will be healthy. My heart will be full. My mind set on Him because my appetite is for God alone.  A healthy soul and fullness of heart comes from a made up mind. When the church decides that God is good and worth having – it is then that Body of Christ will grow and mature fully developed in His Love.

Hebrews 6:4-6 (NLT) For it is impossible to bring back to repentance those who were once enlightened—those who have experienced the good things of heaven and shared in the Holy Spirit, who have tasted the goodness of the word of God and the power of the age to come—and who then turn away from God…

Do you have a good life? You have a Good God. Are you confident in His Goodness for your life today? Or have certain circumstances, situations and troubles caused you to doubt and wander? We must resign ourselves to the fact that God is Sovereign and will not change to suit our wants and desires. We can rejoice in the revelation that God is Good. It doesn’t matter how life looks now – you can have confidence in the hope you have been given through Jesus Christ. If you are not experiencing His Goodness in your life, it is not a God problem. It is our gut problem. His Unfailing Love and Goodness pursues us each day – will we slow down long to allow it to overtake us. His Mercy is new each morning – will I reach out and take hold of it. I can be confident that God is good but I will not see His Goodness when my eyes are fixed on worthless things that my hands are holding tightly too.

Once you have tasted the Goodness of God’s Word and His Blessings, it is impossible to turn away from God. What about those who wander? They have not truly experienced the Goodness of God for themselves. To step into His Glory and be surrounded by His Goodness creates a hunger and desire that cannot be filled by anything else this world has to offer. It makes a confident heart and made up mind that will settle for nothing less. It creates a strong body that will build the Kingdom. God is good. His Unfailing Love and Goodness belong to you today. They have been chasing you over the mountain, in the valley and through the dark woods. Will you let Him overtake you today? Right now. In this moment, His Goodness is right there for you to have and hold and live in. The rest is up to you. It doesn’t matter what is happening around us the Goodness of God is for us.

Psalm 34:8-10 (NLT) Taste and see that the Lord is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him! Fear the Lord, you his godly people, for those who fear him will have all they need. Even strong young lions sometimes go hungry, but those who trust in the Lord will lack no good thing.

Leave a Reply

