Show Me Your Glory

show-me-your-glory

Ephesians 1:3-6 (NIV) Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will—to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.

Show me Your Glory, God. The cry of Christians around the world. The revelry for revival is just about the only thing the church agrees on anymore. Wanting Jesus, but having no idea how to produce the overflow and outpouring of years gone by. Why is God keeping His Glory from us? Where is the spiritual blessing promised in the Word of God for believers? Ephesians 1:3 is clear in praising God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ who blessed us in the heavenly realms with EVERY SPIRITUAL blessing in Christ. Where is the spiritual blessing? Are we just not spiritual enough?

Not to change the subject, but to elaborate on it practically. Our new home has an irrigation system. However, the previous owner did not maintain it. Many of the sprinkler heads were buried underground and others broken off completely. The system did not come with instructions. My husband has undertaken the task figuring out how it works and finding each one of the outlets to repair  them so that it will all work as it is supposed to. To find the different sprayers, he turns on the water for a bit and walks around the yard to find where it bubbles the ground from beneath the surface. He then carefully digs around the area until he finds the hidden unit. He evaluates each one and buys a replacement. He will work on that area until it is working properly. This has taken weeks to accomplish and he still works on it today. It is with in mind that I believe is a lesson of expressing God’s Glory in our life.

We have every spiritual blessing that is possible. The Grace of God expressed through the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus Christ has produced an outpouring of unfailing love and goodness in our life that is not making it from the Heavenlies to our everyday life for some reason. God’s Word promises that He is my Shepherd and I lack no good thing. (Psalm 23:1) There is a lot of real estate covered in Psalm 23:2-5 including the green pastures, quiet waters, right paths, darkest valleys, evilness, pain, and even in the presence of my enemies. All the tests, trials and travails of life. The psalm ends with the revelation that “Your Goodness and Love follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the House of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23:6) From the beginning – we lack no good thing, but then life happens as we journey through this life to eternity. There are days when His Grace is enough for me and other days when I try to do it all myself. Those are the days when He follows me with everything in His Hands waiting for me to turn to Him.

So I had this thought, if God’s Glory is manifesting in our homes, jobs and churches, could it be an “us” thing? Could there be a problem with my connection to Heaven rather than some grand order from God to stop His Blessing from reaching His People. Absolutely. It is a me thing not a God thing. How do I see the Glory of God in my life? In every season, in every situation. Well, it begins by evaluating our connection to Christ in every area of our life much like my husband is working on our sprinkler system. Step by step. The water is flowing. The source is intact. It is in our ability to express it in our life that needs some adjustment. God does not change His Mind. He does not lie. He has ordained His Love, Grace and Goodness to flood our life. We must find out why it is not happening and make the proper adjustment.

John 15:5-8 (NIV) “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

The Glory of God is not reserved for a church service or revival. The Glory of God is for you. It is for me. It is available in every dwelling place in our life. His Glory can fill our homes, jobs, and communities. It can reside in our relationships including intimate, personal, acquaintances and even with our perceived enemies. Jesus said, “I am the vine; you are the branches.” Are you grafted to Jesus Christ today? The overflow and outpouring of God for our life once restricted by sin and shame is now washed clean by the Blood of Jesus and grace established a new connection called righteousness. Here is the errant way of most in that righteousness at some point becomes about what we do rather than who Jesus is. Remember in Psalm 23, the initial declaration is that Lord is my Shepherd and I lack nothing but by the end of the chapter His Goodness and Love are following behind.

Life happens. Things happen. To continue in our pursuit of God’s Glory is a constant and ongoing giving up our way and our will to have His Way and His Will. Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one will make it to the Father but by Him. Those who remain in His Love will what? Produce much fruit. Prosper as their soul prospers from the connection to Christ. However, grafting requires a cutting process. It is a form of brokenness that must be ongoing. Apart from Jesus I can do nothing. It goes on to say that once I am firmly fixed in Christ that I can ask anything in His Name and He will do it. “This is to my Father’s Glory, that you bear much fruit showing yourselves to be my disciples.” If my life is not bearing spiritual fruit (love, joy, peace, forgiveness, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control) there is a problem with my connection to Jesus Christ. It is definitely a “me” thing and if I do not come back to the Lord examining and evaluating my relationship with Jesus I will never see His Glory in my life again.

2 Corinthians 3:9-11 (NIV) If the ministry that brought condemnation was glorious, how much more glorious is the ministry that brings righteousness! For what was glorious has no glory now in comparison with the surpassing glory. And if what was transitory came with glory, how much greater is the glory of that which lasts!

How much greater should the Glory of God be in our life today? The Law brought condemnation along with a long list of things to do that were impossible of ordinary people. Lives committed to a physical worship that never really measured up to God’s Glorious Standard. So God sent His Son with a new covenant bringing new life. However, sometimes our humanity is more comfortable with the old covenant rather than fully accepting the terms of the new agreement that did not do away with the Law but completes it. How is this possible?

God’s Grace is enough for me to have His Glory in my life. It is not to be earned or endured but is fully endowed by accepting Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. In my previous employment, I supervised multiple departments for a local technical school. It was part of the county. It was said that job security was intact unless you “shoot the Pope”. This produced the mentality that if you made eight hours every day. Came to work and sat in your seat that you would eventually be promoted and get a raise simply because you showed up. There was a particular employee who was transferred into our school when her previous position was terminated and since she had not committed any fatal offenses she was given a job. The task given was overseeing the Financial Aid department which consisted of one person – her. She was to administer millions of dollars in Federal funding and keep our school compliant. She did a great job. Overlooked multiple times for a raise, I went to the administration and fought for her to obtain an increase. It was a battle and she was promoted to a proper position and salary for her duties. Well, this did not sit well with the ones who had held their positions for quite some time and felt entitled. One was bold enough to confront me. She wanted a pay raise. She felt it was her right. So I asked her one question, “What have you done above and beyond your job description that I can share with my supervisor to justify an increase?” She sputtered and shifted in her seat. She indicated that she had good attendance, dressed appropriately and had been in her position for a number of years. She looked me straight in the eye and with complete indignation said, “It is my turn!” I told her I would take her concerns to administration which I did.

In government positions, employees are on contract. Since these offices are generally associated with elected with officials, termination is frowned upon. Everyone wants a state job. It comes with great benefits and a level of security other professions, businesses and employers do not offer. We have a covenant that connects us to Jesus Christ. As long as we show up and do the right thing, we feel entitled to receive the benefits that He offers. But what are we doing to establish a deeper connection with Christ? Are we willing to do anything to have a deeper more meaningful relationship with our Savior and Lord?

The young woman in my story did not once ask for a promotion or pay increase. I knew what the position was worth and aware of her excellent performance so I began interceding for her. She was thankful for her job since the other one was taken from her. She had an advocate that went to the administration and authorities on her behalf. Jesus does this for us every day. He goes to the Father and reminds Him of His Grace and that His Glory can be given to us. I think sometimes as believers we think we are entitled to God’s Glory based on our performance when it has nothing to do with anything we do but everything Christ has done for us. When we strive to love Him more, to know Him, be like Him, and have Him permeate every area of our life – we become properly aligned and that which already belonged to us makes its way to us.

We have an irrigation system on our house. It belongs to us. Water flows into it in abundance. It is up to us to examine and fix every outlet until it works properly. We have everything we need. We own it. All we have to do is make the proper connections. God is outpouring His Love and Goodness to us and the Windows of Heaven are open. If God’s Glory is not reaching us, it is us not Him. The Grace obtained through Jesus Christ is more than enough to prosper the life of every believer.

Ephesians 3:16-21 (NIV) I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

The Glory of God is desired by every church in operation or at least it should be. Why are churches divided, separated and broken? The Glory of God is not in them so without purpose they implode. God is pouring His Love, Grace and Goodness over the bodies formed of believers pursing Him. What happens if we just turned around? What if the each person in each body stopped trying to “do” all the right things and repented right there? Rather than inspecting, evaluating and judging all the people not like us, what if each person decided to inspect, evaluate and examine their connection to Christ independent of the organization so when meeting together collectively there was no barrier of sin, unforgiveness, or condemnation to block His Glory. His Glory is not earned. It is pouring out for us according to the Grace of God every single day. We can do nothing to earn it just clear the way to receive it. Once you experience the Glory of God, you will desire more and more of His Presence in your life. It is that good! Misalignment keeps us from receiving what belongs to us in Jesus Christ.

My husband can go outside and call forth every sprinkler to come on and water his lawn. Probably won’t happen – God bless him. Or he can roll up his sleeves and get to work making the way for the water to reach the atmosphere and let it water the ground. The proper channels are in place. The water is flowing. It is up to us to uncover the places in our life that have taken over the outlet of God’s Overflow for us. Revival will not come until God’s Glory is flowing from heaven into the lives of His People once again. It is up to me to clear the way in my heart and mind for His Glory to makes its way to me and through me first. Friend, we can stand at the altar of every church praying, crying out and even travailing for revival but until we fix our everyday connection to Christ, produce the fruit of His Spirit that makes us His Disciple then they will just be words falling to the cold hard ground. I must want Jesus more than anything else with a willingness to do anything to find Him even it means simply turning around, giving up my way and embracing Him fully – then this is what we must do before we ask Him to show us His Glory. Lord Jesus, let your power work in me today. Wash away everything that is between my life and Your Glory. I want to know the power of your grace. I want to comprehend just how wide, long, high and deep your love is or at least just a little more as I move in closer to YOU! Show me Your Glory, Lord!

Psalm 145:9-16 (NIV) The Lord is good to all; he has compassion on all he has made. All your works praise you, Lord; your faithful people extol you. They tell of the glory of your kingdom and speak of your might, so that all people may know of your mighty acts and the glorious splendor of your kingdom. Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures through all generations. The Lord is trustworthy in all he promises and faithful in all he does. The Lord upholds all who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down. The eyes of all look to you, and you give them their food at the proper time. You open your hand and satisfy the desires of every living thing.

Leave a Reply

