While We Wait

while-we-wait

Psalm 27.14 (NLT) Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

Waiting on God is not at all for the weak and fearful. To take a stand on an invisible foundation with nothing more than a word or thought seems fruitless in a world based solely on sight. Yet as believers, we are called to walk by faith and not by sight. It is important to accept that God always incorporates waiting in His Process and Promises concerning us. Prosperity always has a prescribed wait that cannot be avoided. To know what to do while we wait requires one to understand the purpose of waiting.

James 1:12-13 (NLT) God blesses those who patiently endure testing and temptation. Afterward they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him. And remember, when you are being tempted, do not say, “God is tempting me.” God is never tempted to do wrong, and he never tempts anyone else.

Jesus said,But the one who endures to the end will be saved.” (Matthew 24:13) Endurance requires patience and persistence. Humanity is born with stubborn obstinacy that gives have to persistence but it is patience that is nonexistent. Through the process called life, it is up to us to allow the Holy Spirit to produce it in us. The Spirit produces patience in us. The evidence of patience is in the fruit called self-control. We are tempted by our flesh and desire for immediate gratification to reduce wait times and leave the watchtower.

God does not prescribe wait times as a form of punishment but discipline. Temptation to hasten God’s Process and quickly obtain His Promise is the very thing that keeps us from it altogether. We must wait on the Lord. It is important to the growth process. The seed of faith must grow, develop and mature in us until there is total trust in Jesus Christ. The Crown of Life is the desire of our heart. To avoid death and obtain life in all things. Those who endure to the end will be saved. Those who give up and walk away receive nothing.

Psalm 5:1-3 (NLT) O Lord, hear me as I pray; pay attention to my groaning. Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God, for I pray to no one but you. Listen to my voice in the morning, Lord. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly.

Are you waiting today? I am. As we sit and wait together, let’s talk about what to do while waiting. I find that most of the time, I am not afforded the luxury of other company in my wait times. So I will take full advantage of this time with you. “Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly.” What is your expectation of this wait you are in? Has the Lord given you a promise? Is He doing a new thing? Are you at a crossroad or even a valley of decision? If you want godly direction or the Lord’s Instruction – it is important to bring your “expectation” to Him.

Christians pray. Believers may even pray a little more. However, the challenging examination is whether or not we are able to wait on the Lord “expectantly”. When our son was sick, occasionally he was able to attend worship services. People would come to him and say things like “I am praying for you” and other tidbits of encouragement. We could always tell who believed that he would make it and the ones who had their doubts. The culture called Christianity adopts its own language but without acquiring a new heart it is all just lip service. The culture changes into a community when there is a viable relationship with Jesus Christ full of expectancy in His Word and Will alone.

Psalm 37:7 (NLT) Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act.
Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes.

You are waiting on God not people. The Lord may use people and He may not. The enemy may or may not use people to try to interrupt you as well. People are not the provider of your promise. God is. People are not the problem. The enemy of our soul is. We must continually keep this in mind while we wait.

Psalm 62:1-2 (NLT) I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will never be shaken.

On the game show, Let’s Make a Deal, contestants are given choice after choice. They will have a prize and be asked if they would like to trade what they have for that which is hidden behind the curtain. Giving up the known for the unknown? It is the exchange day by day. To give up life as it is to have what is eternal. Is it a fair exchange? Of course it is more than fair – it is overly gracious. But is it easy? Not really. I know that when my children were babies, if they had something in their hand that they did not want to give up, I could get them to release it by offering them a something else. At that age, they were easily distracted. However life begins to harden our heart and stubborn pride takes over our mind until there are times when God offers us a promise that is better but because our flesh likes comfort – we settle for less. Oh to have childlike faith that always trust the Father for what is better.

While we wait it is important to decide what we are waiting for. Do I want victory? Will I wait for the win or walk away? When our choice is to wait on the Lord, we will be victorious every single time. It may not happen now or today but the Lord has secured it for us in His Time and His Way if we will wait to have it.

Psalm 62:5 (NLT) Let all that I am wait quietly wait before God, for my hope is in Him.

All of me must wait all on Him. God’s Plan is complete. It is accomplished in Christ alone. When I decide to put my faith in the hope that I have in Him, the anchor only secures that parts of me that are firmly attached.

Habakkuk 2:1-3 (NLT) I will climb up to my watchtower and stand at my guard post. There I will wait to see what the Lord says and how he will answer my complaint. Then the Lord said to me, “Write my answer plainly on tablets, so that a runner can carry the correct message to others. This vision is for a future time. It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled. If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently, for it will surely take place. It will not be delayed.

The faithfulness of God is unchangeable. He cannot lie or change His Mind. The blessing and prosperity that He preordained and predestined for us does not change by our choices. I visit the watchtower often and climb the ladder to the guard post a lot. It is the place where I watch and wait for the Lord. Note that verse two is actually the Lord’s second response so it is not uncommon for us to inspect, dissect, and examine God’s Word and His Promise for our life frequently when it does happen as one would expect in the natural. It is those things labeled impossible that miracles happen so why do we get so discouraged and dismayed? The watchtower and guard post are often lonely. It is a place where the Lord has our attention or at least He should.

The Lord has recorded every moment of our life in advance. His Plan comes with a future and hope. We live in a new covenant much more glorious than the old one. With all this in mind, it is up to us if it is what we want and worth waiting for. Some things seem nonnegotiable. Other things test our ability to wait and self-control. Each moment spent waiting gives that small seed of faith time and space to grow.

Isaiah 30:18 (NLT) So the Lord must wait for you to come to him so he can show you his love and compassion. For the Lord is a faithful God. Blessed are those who wait for his help.

Finally, if you have been waiting a really long time or your promise seems to be taking forever, I wonder – could it be that the Lord is waiting for you? There are times when I have done everything to stand and waited until what seems the final hour only to realize that He was waiting on me to come to Him. Startling revelation to think that sometimes we may not have had to wait as long as we did if we had come to the Lord in the first place with all our heart and soul.

While we wait together, may I remind you that God is good, good Father. Everything He does and does not do is for our benefit and blessing. He is always faithful. His Faithfulness is not contingent on mine – thank you Jesus! His Ways are not my ways even though I often expect them to be. His Thoughts are not like mine so I must change my mind and how I think to recognize His Presence in my life. Those who wait on the Lord always win. They are the redeemed who are saved in the end. So while we are waiting we can do so peacefully praising His Great Name. And so, dear friends, while you are waiting for these things to happen, make every effort to be found living peaceful lives that are pure and blameless in his sight.” (2 Peter 3:14)

James 5:7-8 (NLT) Dear brothers and sisters, be patient as you wait for the Lord’s return. Consider the farmers who patiently wait for the rains in the fall and in the spring. They eagerly look for the valuable harvest to ripen. You, too, must be patient. Take courage, for the coming of the Lord is near.

It was nice waiting with you today. Be encouraged that the seeds of faith, hope and love God has planted in you are being carefully cultivated, developed and matured in your life to prosper you, bless you and complete you until you lack no good thing. Even when you feel nothing but frustration, impatience, and discouragement but choose to remain in the watch tower manning the guard post of your heart waiting on the Lord – the time spent there will never be in vain. God is always worth waiting for you. It will be worth it. It will be worth it all.

Psalm 38:15 (NLT) For I am waiting for you, O Lord. You must answer for me, O Lord my God.

Leave a Reply

