Brevity of Life

brevity-of-life

Psalm 90:12 (NLT) Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.

Looking up at the morning stars contemplating the day, the word “brevity” comes to mind. The brevity of life to be more specific. I have never been one to worry too much about my age or the passing years. Today, on the eve of my mother’s open heart surgery, I am taken back to the day my grandfather underwent triple bypass surgery many years ago. Suddenly, I am caught up in the passage of time. Both of my precious grandparents are now in Heaven, and thankfully so. Sparing them the heartache of their great-grandson’s plight with cancer which would have devastated them completely. This world has changed so much and would have caused them great distress when considering their children and grandchildren and even great grandchildren left behind. Many joys have happened, too. Weddings and additions to the family giving their heart much joy. Their great-great grandson becoming a famous athlete. Life happens so quickly. However, it takes times like this to make one stop, even if only for a moment, to come together and recognize the brevity of life. Life is short.

Life is a series of breathes ordered by God to the fulfillment of purpose and then we leave this world sometimes way too soon. During the three years our son battled cancer, our life stood still other than pursing treatment or did it? Not really, our kids kept growing. Our oldest daughter graduated and fell in love. The two younger girls grew and there were moments that I missed caring for their sibling that pains me can never be regained. When it was all over, I realized that my priorities in life had changed. Time became very important. When facing the possibility that it may not be as limitless as once considered, we are forced to see our life in terms of time. The reality is that our next breath is not certain. Life cannot last beyond today without carefully considering that first moment our natural breath leaves us. Will we have the Breath of Life – God’s Spirit – to carry us on to eternity?

Psalm 33:6-11 (NLT) The Lord merely spoke, and the heavens were created.
He breathed the word, and all the stars were born. He assigned the sea its boundaries and locked the oceans in vast reservoirs. Let the whole world fear the Lord, and let everyone stand in awe of him. For when he spoke, the world began! It appeared at his command. The Lord frustrates the plans of the nations and thwarts all their schemes. But the Lord’s plans stand firm forever; his intentions can never be shaken.

I have been mustering faith in God for a long time. When I gave my heart and life to Jesus Christ completely, faith intrigued me. The kind of faith that provoked Peter to step out of the boat and walk on water. Who would even consider such a thing in a storm no less? I was completely enthralled by the centurion soldier who believed the Lord at His Word alone. I wanted to be like that, too. Be careful what you pray for!

Faith is a process. It means coming to the end of ourselves in order to trust Jesus. It means our natural circumstance or condition must completely use up all our confidence in anything else so the only one left is the Lord. You think that sounds easy. I will admit it is a rush. It brings you to the edge of your life and everything believed in your heart and asks the question, “Do you trust me” enough to take one more step, to live one more day in this situation, to stand when you just want to quit? It is a thrill ride alright.

Imagine standing on the edge of a massive cliff looking down into darkness, not sure where it leads or its depth, and the Lord whispers, “Do you trust me?” Depending on your desperation in life will determine one’s response. Now consider the same imagine, but you are holding your child in your arms. Whoa! Just whoa! Whatever is most precious to us will be challenged at one time or another. It could be our spouse, child, family, church, job, comforts or any other thing in this life that may somehow mean just a little more to me than God. We hang on to those things tightly. God says, “Life is too short to hang on to this life. We must work for forever.” How do we attain eternal life? Through Jesus Christ, the Way, Truth and Life. What do we need to do? Put our faith and trust in Him. When? Today. Right now. In this moment. Lord, teach us the brevity of life SO THAT we may grow in wisdom.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NLT) For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.

God created you with a plan and purpose. He gave you a future and hope. He says that when you pray – He will listen. In seeking Him wholeheartedly, you will find Him. In Psalm 33, the Lord’s Plans stand firm forever. His Intentions can never be shaken. In Psalm 139, the psalmist writes “You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered.” In Psalm 144, it is asked, “What are human beings that you should notice them, mere mortals that you should think about them? For they are like a breath of air; their days are like a passing shadow?” We must understand the brevity of life to achieve our purpose and live in the fulfillment of God.

Psalm 39:4-7 (NLT) “Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered—how fleeting my life is. You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand. My entire lifetime is just a moment to you; at best, each of us is but a breath.” Interlude We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing. We heap up wealth, not knowing who will spend it. And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you.”

“My only hope is in you.” There are many things that can drive us to this point in life, but what I have found to be true is that it was factual my whole life. We think faith is something we grow and hope newly discovered. It is not a new thing but revelation of the one thing. This breath that keeps us alive started with Adam. It continues as humanity reproduces. It God withdrew His Breath everything that breathes would die. (Job 34:14-15) The Spirit of God made me and the Breath of God keeps me alive. (Job 33:4) My mom noticed that during certain activities she became a little short of breath. As it became a bit more uncomfortable, she sought medical attention. The cardiologist discovered that there was a problem with her heart. During a heart catheterization, they realized there was a huge problem with her heart. Her aorta was completely blocked and the aortic value not functioning. She should not be here. BUT God made it clear that was not His Plan and a tiny vessel made its way around her blockage keeping her alive and her heart undamaged. What does this have to do with anything? Well, if we would take notice of our “shortness of breath” in life, it may give us the opportunity to detect any heart problems that keep us from eternal life. When faced with the end of our life, we look for the beginning of eternal life.

John 20:21-22 (NLT) Again he said, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I am sending you.” Then he breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit.

When Jesus died on the Cross, He released the Holy Spirit to come live in us. Denominationally this has caused much division in the modern church. So before you get your hackles up, just hear me out. Listen to what the Word says about the moment Christ died and released His Spirit. ”Then Jesus shouted out again, and he released his spirit.  At that moment the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. The earth shook, rocks split apart, and tombs opened. The bodies of many godly men and women who had died were raised from the dead. They left the cemetery after Jesus’ resurrection, went into the holy city of Jerusalem, and appeared to many people.” (Matthew 27:50-53) Now where did the Holy Spirit go after causing an earthquake, tearing the barrier between us and God apart, and resurrecting the dead? Umm… He breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit.”

Life is brief. Tomorrow is not promised. As believers, the Lord has filled us with resurrection power. He has given us the Good News which is the Gospel that He commanded us to share in the Great Commission. Too often, we become consumed with life. The problems and temporary troubles of a limited existence take precious time that could be used advancing the Kingdom and setting the captive free. Harboring unforgiveness or being offended builds walls rather than using the time we have left to come together united as one body becoming a worthy bride. So maybe just maybe God allows moments like this to make us aware of the brevity of life. To shake off all the unimportant burdens collected over time to yoke our life to Jesus Christ once again. As we give Him all our cares and concerns – the Lord teaches us to rest and rely on His Love. Rather than stepping on or over all the dry bones, just trying to make it or get by. If we realized that there is nothing to lose and everything to gain, we might decide to speak to them bringing new life. (Ezekiel 37)

This is not a word of despair or discouragement but rather a declaration of hope for our life today. You woke up this morning to new mercy which means God still has purpose and prosperity for your life. Death is not the end for the soul set free. My mom is going into her surgery tomorrow with complete peace. She will openly admit that no matter the outcome – her total trust is in the Lord. While I am sure that we will all be a little (or a lot) nervous tomorrow, I am so thankful for a family who understands the brevity of life no matter what it took to get us here. Lord, thank you for the realization of Your Love and confident hope we have in You!

Psalm 104:30-33 (NLT) When you give them your breath, life is created, and you renew the face of the earth. May the glory of the Lord continue forever! The Lord takes pleasure in all he has made! The earth trembles at his glance; the mountains smoke at his touch. I will sing to the Lord as long as I live. I will praise my God to my last breath!

Leave a Reply

