Life Quote

life-quote

Philippians 2:5 (NLT) You must have the same attitude as Jesus Christ.

Facebook recently circulated an application by Nametests.com that allows users to generate and post a life quote. The user clicks on a friends “life quote” are redirected to the website with the question, “What is your life quote?” Logging in with your Facebook account it generates a “life quote” for you. Many of my friends have posted the results on their timeline. The truth is the application takes the posts from your personal page analyzing the key words used in posts. It takes the key word and puts the quote associated with that word or words assigning it to you as a “life quote”. As I read these quotes posted by others, I began to wonder what my life quote might be.

As I am writing this, Jenn Johnson is singing in the background. The words “I once was lost but now I am alive in You!” This pretty much sums up my life. Is it the impression I leave others is the question. I can post what I want people to see on Facebook. I can dress a certain way, act another way, and say all the right things and still not be living life to the fullest in my Lord Jesus Christ. I want to be an authentic and genuine believer who not only tells the world that Jesus is my Savior and Lord but am believable. I have found a love bigger than life itself yet if I do not share God’s Love is my testimony credible. We are all bound by the Great Commission but if we do not have the right attitude behind all these words – we will never effectively share the Love that is found in Him.

Another quote from Facebook today – “When the church feels like it must become like the world to win the world, it has not won the world, the world has won it.” I don’t disagree with this but I think there is also truth that the church has tried to create its own realm of reality. The religious realm that makes it about anything other than the Unconditional Love and Amazing Grace of Jesus Christ given to us as a Gift from God. (Period) Religiosity is like the security gate at Walmart that sets off an alarm. It was put into place as a theft deterrent but in most cases just scares the heck out of unsuspecting shoppers when the cashiers fail to deactivate the security tag. We invite people to the House of God and into our sanctuaries under false pretense offering a “come as you are God” yet offering conditional love, terms of doctrine and other religious traits that God does not impose on us. If we care more about how they look, the way they live and how quickly they look like, act like, talk like and live like us, we missed it. There are alarms going off and to many they are silent. When the church feels like it is “better” than a single sinner it encounters it has become like every other social club. It is by grace I am saved through faith. No matter how long I live I will struggle with sin. The only thing that I have of worth in my life to offer is Jesus Christ. Jesus didn’t reject anyone on their appearance or actions. He accepted everyone who came to Him and met their need. Only twelve were invited to follow Him, the rest came just as they were and followed Him all the way to the Cross. Masses and crowds of people left their homes, business and “churches” to sit on waterfronts and mountainsides just to hear what Jesus had to say! Why are buildings and sanctuaries empty if our message is clear? The world was just as sinful then as it is now. The enemy just as ruthless. People need love more than ever before. Where is it? What is my life quote today Jesus? What is the testimony of my life?

Philippians 2:1-4 (NLT) Is there any encouragement from belonging to Christ? Any comfort from his love? Any fellowship together in the Spirit? Are your hearts tender and compassionate? Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose. Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.

These verses precede the key verse. Am I an encouragement? Do I comfort others with His Love? Do I fellowship with others in the Spirit? I believe to do so means that the Fruit of His Spirit will be produced in such relationships. Is my heart tender and compassionate for all people? The Lord is coming for one bride, one church, and one body. He is not a polygamous god but one Savior and Lord who is one Bridegroom coming for One Beloved. People, friends, brothers and sisters – we have got to get our act together. We must have the same attitude as Jesus Christ. One mind and purpose to be like Jesus more and more every day. Love. Love. Love. More love. Putting all of our expectation in Jesus Christ to change hearts and transform lives while trusting Him enough to do it that we put aside what we think people should live in order to let Christ’s Creative work be manifested in their life.

Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Do I think of others as better than myself? What if they don’t love Jesus like I do? What if they don’t serve Him like I think they should? What if they don’t believe the same doctrine I do? Are they worthy of laying my life down for? Jesus thought so. What makes me any better? Revival has become stalled by personal agendas as we try to make Heaven look like us and our idea of church. Revival comes from the Resurrection Power of Jesus Christ when Heaven comes to earth and makes us love and look like Jesus Christ. Otherwise, we do not truly want the kind of revival that comes when the Presence of God falls upon us. Let your Kingdom come, let your Will be done will never look like we have made it – it will always be the Love of Jesus sweeping people away who are not the same but want the same Savior.

Romans 14:17-19 (NLT) For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of what we eat or drink, but of living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. If you serve Christ with this attitude, you will please God, and others will approve of you, too. So then, let us aim for harmony in the church and try to build each other up.

There is no religion in the Kingdom of God. Heaven is not filled with churches of every denomination. Denominations create division. Doctrine are articles of organization put into place because people do not yet know how to live in one accord so we need order to continue in the midst of different opinions and individual ideas. If we devoted our life to having the same attitude as Christ – to simply walk in His Way. Do what He did. Say what He says. Love like He loves. Be who He called us to be. There would be no more walls of division as there are today. The Kingdom of God is living a life of goodness, peace, and joy in the Holy Spirit. To serve Christ with this attitude. God I just want to please you today. Let us live in harmony, Lord. Let us build each other up. Let us be an encouragement to others Lord. Help us to be humble in our approach. Forgiving in all things whether intentional or not that no one is offended. The attitude of the Kingdom is and has always been a building process. How far we have fallen by tearing it apart…

I Peter 3:8-12 (NLT) Finally, all of you should be of one mind. Sympathize with each other. Love each other as brothers and sisters. Be tenderhearted, and keep a humble attitude. Don’t repay evil for evil. Don’t retaliate with insults when people insult you. Instead, pay them back with a blessing. That is what God has called you to do, and he will grant you his blessing. For the Scriptures say, “If you want to enjoy life and see many happy days, keep your tongue from speaking evil and your lips from telling lies. Turn away from evil and do good. Search for peace, and work to maintain it. The eyes of the Lord watch over those who do right, and his ears are open to their prayers. But the Lord turns his face against those who do evil.”

My heart is grieved today. As I retreat to my prayer closet, I am asking the Holy Spirit to renew my thoughts and attitude today. My heart’s desire is revival. The more I pursue Jesus Christ the more I have come to realize that so many principles and precepts that I have applied were incorrect. When I have looked down on others only to realize it was an attempt to appease my own performance insecurities. I cannot gain my own salvation. I cannot earn the Grace that God has given me. I can never repay Him for His Goodness. I will never be perfect and to act like I have it all together is a lie. The very lie that is killing our churches today. At the end of the day, when all is stripped away and we stand before God the only thing that will save us is the Blood of Jesus that covers us. Not a single deed will be accounted in that moment. I cannot be perfect. God does not need me – He desires me. Jesus will never make me love Him – but His Love for me is unconditional and unending. His Spirit will not shove me but draws me closer each day that I say, “Yes, Lord.” To ask the Lord change others will not bring the Kingdom of God any closer. To preach a loveless, hard message is not the Gospel of Love that changed my life. The Love that I have found in Jesus Christ is indescribable. It is complete. It is absolute on the days I do great and the ones I fail miserably. To offer anything less to another living, breathing soul is hypocrisy. To recount the sins of others along with every fault and failure is to renounce the grace that I have been so freely given. Revival comes when I invite Jesus to change me. To transform me. I don’t want to conform to the world or the church. I need a new heart and new mind. I need new thoughts and a brand new attitude. I must be one with Jesus to be one with every other human ever created. This is the Will of God for our life. This is the Kingdom of God. Lord, I want my life quote to be by your design not my own. Lord, make the words I speak and the mediation of my heart be pleasing to you. I will be saved by the Blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony. Let my testimony be “I once was lost but now I am alive in You!” Lord, make me like you today. I want to love like you Jesus. Let your Kingdom come. Let your Will be done. Send Heaven to earth!

Psalm 19:14 (NLT) May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.

One thought on “Life Quote

  1. I am amazed by God’s beauty everyday. You had me at where we can dress and act anyway. But basically are we walking the walk. That is what I felt God was reminding me of when i get upset. Thank you for being His vessel to help improve us all in our walks with Him. He is an awesome God where we can pray and type up something and then go, Oh yes I get it now Lord!! God Bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

