Missing Communication

miscommunicaton

I John 1:1-4 (NLT) We proclaim to you the one who existed from the beginning, whom we have heard and seen. We saw him with our own eyes and touched him with our own hands. He is the Word of life. This one who is life itself was revealed to us, and we have seen him. And now we testify and proclaim to you that he is the one who is eternal life. He was with the Father, and then he was revealed to us. We proclaim to you what we ourselves have actually seen and heard so that you may have fellowship with us. And our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son, Jesus Christ. We are writing these things so that you may fully share our joy.

Communication is essential in maintaining a relationship. In an age distanced by texting and social media, friends and family go long periods of time without ever speaking to the other person. I am not at all of the opinion that anything God created was bad. All these technological advances were given as a thought or idea to someone for our benefit. Though “I am allowed to do anything, not everything is good for me. I am allowed to do anything but not everything is beneficial” or so the Word of God says. (I Corinthians 10:23) As believers our communication is very important for we speak life. Audibly – the Breath of Life in us travels to the atmosphere and people around us. We have the Word of Life within us. There was nothing of form in the universe until God spoke. The first thing that He created was light. I believe it is God’s Will and Way to improve our communication for His Glory and to manifest His Power on the earth.

Communication involves two components – to speak and to listen. These two things are absolutely necessary to avoid miscommunication in life and love. However, most of the time people talk to be heard and avoid listening altogether. What we say reveals the contents of our heart and so does the way that we listen. Listening is not always about us. It doesn’t always matter if we believe what the other person is saying or how they perceive a situation. We have but one perspective. It is love. The Lord is instructing His Children today to improve our communication or chaos will continue to erode the church.

Luke 6:43-45 (NLT) “A good tree can’t produce bad fruit, and a bad tree can’t produce good fruit. A tree is identified by its fruit. Figs are never gathered from thorn bushes, and grapes are not picked from bramble bushes. A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of an evil heart. What you say flows from what is in your heart.”

Our words reveal the contents of our heart. The way that we listen reveals the condition of our heart as well. I can say all the right words. Christians have a language and dialect all their own. It has been widely broadcast but there is no harvest in sight yet. Why? We open prayer lines, message boards, and offer altar calls with the promise that someone will listen and offer assistance to others in need. Where is the change? Could it be there is still miscommunication in the midst of our good intentions? I believe there may be. I know that a serious discussion conducted by text message usually leads to disagreement caused by misunderstanding. Hearsay most of the time never sounds as it was intended. We are saying all the right things. We pretend to be interested in the hearts and lives of others. Jesus, you are the Word of Life given to us to share with to illuminate darkness and bring dead things back to life. Why is that happening?

A tree is identified by its fruit – not its root, trunk or leaves. Fruit is fulfillment of purpose and determines the prosperity of our life. The seeds that produce a tree are planted in the ground. They must die to their current form to give life to the tree. It is a sacrifice of self. It is reformation. It is transformation and change. The human heart is a vile and despicable thing bent on its own way. It is deceitful. A change of heart is produced by Jesus Christ. His Word is the seed of our heart that takes root and gives form to our purpose in this life. Without the Word, nothing useful will grow from our interactions with others. Seed gets overtaken by many things – it is plucked up by the enemy, eaten up by distractions and when it falls on a hard heart cannot grow. We must pay close attention to the condition of our heart to communicate effectively. Our ability to speak to others and listen to them as Christ would have us to is based on perception and the condition of our heart used to do so.

I Corinthians 13:1-3 (NLT) If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

I am hesitant to engage in public speaking. The Lord has been nudging me more and more to do so but I am a bit apprehensive. People immediately judge us according to our words and actions. Perception is everything! We are called to walk by faith and not by sight but to be real for a moment we react more than we respond. If I could speak every language on earth, there would still be miscommunication because our hearts are not aligned as one. Every word ever spoken comes from our heart and every word ever heard is evaluated there. We must speak AND listen in love.

I Corinthians 13:4-7 (NLT) Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

What if every word spoken was wrapped in love and every word heard considered in love? What would happen? Communication God’s Way is always about love. It is about forgiveness. It is patient and kind. It is not jealous, boastful, proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable. It keeps no record of wrongdoing or the expectation is in man not the Lord. Love never gives up. Love never loses faith. Love is always hopeful. Love endures every circumstance. What if we considered everything we say and hear according to love? It could change the world. Walls would come down. Doors would be opened. Chains would fall off with unforgiveness, offenses and heart. The brokenhearted would feel the Presence of God and His Spirit carefully healing wounded hearts and crushed spirits. It wouldn’t matter if we were right. Irrelevant if everyone agreed because love would prevail again.

I am considering giving up texting people altogether. There are days when I don’t even want to speak in fear of miscommunication. Our preconceived notions of life and love must give way to the Love of God and His Light to illuminate the breakdown in earthly communication that erects barriers limiting the outpouring from Heaven that God has for us. We cannot be offended. We must forgive. We must speak life to one another. We must stop taking every word spoken and heard making it about us and focus our thoughts on Jesus Christ who is Love. Love never gives up and never loses faith. We cannot lose faith in other people. We must love one another.

Philippians 2:1-2 (NLT) Is there any encouragement from belonging to Christ? Any comfort from his love? Any fellowship together in the Spirit? Are your hearts tender and compassionate? Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose.

How will the Body of Christ ever become effective if it cannot agree? If every word spoken is misinterpreted and every word heard applied to self, how can we ever get past ourselves to move together for the Kingdom? I am just as guilty as the next person of miscommunication. I get wrapped up in what others say and think about me sometimes more than I should. I apply the actions and attitudes of others to my thoughts rather than fixing my thoughts on the Word of God and His Promises. The life choices of others do not impact or impede my life and ability to love unless I allow it. My heart and mind must be given to Jesus Christ day by day and moment by moment to be led by love alone. Believers are called to agree wholeheartedly. We are to love each other. It is our duty to work together with one mind and purpose which will always mean putting myself behind the Lord and other people. This is how prosperity becomes our way of life as our soul prospers in Jesus Christ.

Proverbs 1:5-6 (NLT) Let the wise listen to these proverbs and become even wiser. Let those with understanding receive guidance by exploring the meaning in these proverbs and parables, the words of the wise and their riddles.

Matthew 13:12 (NLT) To those who listen to my teaching, more understanding will be given, and they will have an abundance of knowledge. But for those who are not listening, even what little understanding they have will be taken away from them.

The more I know the Lord, the less I know. Being saved would be a whole lot easier if people were not involved. The more personalities and individual perceptions the less likely agreement will be unless as a body we decide to give up always being right, preserving our feelings, withholding forgiveness to love like Jesus did. He loved others completely and met their needs unconditionally – yet they hated him. Love has grown cold and sin is rampant but it is not supposed to be that way in the church. We are to be like-minded. With one heart and one mind pursuing Jesus Christ together. How can we get anywhere if we do not agree? Each wanting our own way – we are at a standstill. Wise people identify their need for more understanding. Those with understanding know they need additional guidance. We have the Holy Spirit.

Holy Spirit create in me a clean heart today. Your Word for my life in Ezekiel promises me a “new heart” and I receive it today in Jesus Name. Renew in me a right spirit. One that is ready to bend and give way to love always. Remove any bitterness, unforgiveness and malice that is hidden there. When I reach the edge of my love for other people, extend it. Break my heart for other people again, Lord. Make me a good communicator. Jesus, help me to speak life from a heart filled with you and listen through the love and grace you have given me. I need you today, Lord, to be a good speaker, good listener and good communicator. Most of all Jesus make me a good lover of all people.

Reach out to someone today. If there has been a breach in communication, work to rebuild and repair it. Speak to one another. Listen to each other. Liberally apply grace to your relationships today especially those strained. It is probably nothing more than miscommunication but left unaided it will create restrictions and barriers in our life that keep the outpouring of heaven from reaching our homes, jobs and churches. One heart. One mind. One purpose. It really doesn’t leave much room for me anymore.

Psalm 51:10-15 (NLT) Create in me a clean heart, O God. Renew a loyal spirit within me. Do not banish me from your presence, and don’t take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and make me willing to obey you. Then I will teach your ways to rebels, and they will return to you. Forgive me for shedding blood, O God who saves; then I will joyfully sing of your forgiveness. Unseal my lips, O Lord, that my mouth may praise you.

Leave a Reply

