Always Perfect

perfect-always

Psalm 27:4-6 (NLT) The one thing I ask of the Lord—   the thing I seek most—is to live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, delighting in the Lord’s perfections and meditating in his Temple. For he will conceal me there when troubles come; he will hide me in his sanctuary. He will place me out of reach on a high rock. Then I will hold my head high above my enemies who surround me. At his sanctuary I will offer sacrifices with shouts of joy, singing and praising the Lord with music.

Last night, I had the profound privilege of attending an open-air concert called the Night of Joy. Hosted by Walt Disney World, sitting in an open stadium, hundreds of people created a scene out of Heaven worshipping the Lord together. This is indeed a privilege that not many people around the world are given. We are fortunate in American that even though people reject, refuse and retaliate against God and the Name of Jesus that we still have the opportunity to praise Him publically.

One of the artist was Chris Tomlin who is probably one of the greatest praise and worship leaders of all time. He sang, “Good, Good Father” along with the “church” in attendance last night. The verse “You are perfect in all of your ways” was repeated over and over again. I always stop to wonder in the midst of that song, if we truly know what we are telling the Lord. Such a confession means “God, I trust You”. No matter what I may be going through, the impossible thing that I am facing, the overwhelming hurt I am trying to overcome – God, I believe that YOU are perfect in all of your ways. The statement is true. It is valid. It cannot be accepted with some trials and troubles along the way. It must be confirmed and written in our heart by His Word. We must rely on His Spirit to help us understand a God who is perfect and how that impacts our life.

In the midst of doing life today, can we just stop and meditate on the Lord’s Perfection? Rather than just singing along with a song, or reiterating church rhetoric, can we think about what we believe for just a minute? Do you believe that God is perfect in all of His Ways? Do I believe it? God’s Perfection is not complex. It is incomprehensible to humans who have never experienced such. It seems cruel and unbending. God is relentless. He does not lie or change His Mind. While at times this does seem harsh, the Truth is it is our security. It means that there is nothing I can do to separate myself from the Love of God. It is confirmation that no matter how far I run or deep into darkness that I wander – His Love will find me.

Matthew 5:48 (NLT) But you are to be perfect, even as your Father in heaven is perfect.

Human inability to be perfect creates an immediate trust issue among people. We put our expectation in others who fall short of such a thing, then label God with the human qualities others have shown us. We cannot believe in a perfect God because we try to make the Lord like other people. Who is like you Lord in all the earth? Matchless love and beauty, endless worth. Nothing in this world can satisfy. Jesus, You’re the cup that won’t run dry. If only we could experience the perfection of God for just a moment…maybe then we would understand God’s Perfection is His Love.

You are to be perfect. I do not believe that the Lord would set a standard that people could not attain. If He calls us to perfection, it is totally possible. We must know the perfection of God. His Perfection is Love. Love covers a multitude of sin. Love is His Grace. His Grace is enough for me. It allows me to say that He is perfect in all of His Ways even when I am uncomfortable and inconvenienced by the process because I know His Perfection is filling me and His Process just makes more room.

Matthew 19:20-22 (NLT) “I’ve obeyed all these commandments,” the young man replied. “What else must I do?” Jesus told him, “If you want to be perfect, go and sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” But when the young man heard this, he went away sad, for he had many possessions.

Perfection is found in following Jesus because He is Perfection. As we do what He did, say what He said, and love like He loved, perfection is not far from us as it once was. The problem is not with His Process but His People. If rather than trying to wrap our head around being perfect, we would allow our heart to get wrapped up in His Perfect Love – our life would be perfect. Satisfaction and contentment are found in Jesus. Too often – it’s those “things” or “possessions” that keep us from the “perfect” life because we will not give them up to go where Jesus goes. This is not about the tangible or the acts of kindness or even Christian service. It is to surrender all that we are and ever hope to be to the Plan of God to be filled completely with His Love. The Light that drives all darkness away.

John 17:22-24 (NLT)  “I have given them the glory you gave me, so they may be one as we are one. I am in them and you are in me. May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me and that you love them as much as you love me. Father, I want these whom you have given me to be with me where I am. Then they can see all the glory you gave me because you loved me even before the world began!

Jesus prayed for us to have “perfect unity”. There was a glimpse of that in the crowded statement as men, women, young and old worshipped the Name of Jesus together. Suddenly the lines were erased defining denomination, organization and congregations. For a moment, it was like Heaven. I believe Jesus came in our midst because for a second or two we were in perfect unity. It was all about Jesus and not about us. Jesus prayed for this on His Way to the Cross. Just hours before every sin of every person was heaped upon Him, Jesus prayed for us that we could experience the Glory of perfect unity with the Father, Son and His Church. This is perfection. To God it begins and ends with His Love.

Philippians 3:12-15 (NLT) I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.  Let all who are spiritually mature agree on these things. If you disagree on some point, I believe God will make it plain to you.

What if today moving forward everyone agreed that God is perfect in all of His Ways? Would it tear down the walls built by people to create a “perfect” church? It might. Saul achieved great things for God before he became Paul. He did not persecute the Christians as a criminal but because of his convictions as a devote Jew who loved God the Father with all of his heart. Jesus showed Saul a better way, gave him a new name, and made him a new creation. Could it be we all need an experience with Jesus to forget the past? Past religion, convictions, denominations and the like to ask the Lord to show us His Perfection once again. To fill us with His Love all over again so we can see the renovations needed in the church and connect the Body of Christ. What if when we disagree, we would believe God is perfect in all His Ways and able to make it known to us rather than causing more separation than we are currently experiencing now. I wonder…

Psalm 27:11-14 (NLT) Teach me how to live, O Lord. Lead me along the right path, for my enemies are waiting for me. Do not let me fall into their hands. For they accuse me of things I’ve never done; with every breath they threaten me with violence. Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

Lord, help our unbelief today. Help us understand Your Perfection and makes us perfect as you are perfect. What? You do believe that He is perfect in all of His Ways? Is the evidence visible in your life? Do you praise Him in the storm? Do you trust Him in all things never experiencing worry, stress or anxiety? Do you follow His Word to the letter? Do you go where He calls you? Do you say “yes” to Him every time? Do you surrender to His Leading? Do you submit to His Will? See if we really believe that God is perfect in all of His Ways – we would not hesitate in faith anymore. Thank you Lord for the stirring and conviction in my heart today. I must not only say that You are perfect in all Your Ways but must believe it with my heart and live it with my life.

Colossians 3:13-15 (NLT) Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful.

One thought on “Always Perfect

Leave a Reply

