Be My Vision

Be My Vision

Isaiah 35:4-6 (NLT) Say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, and do not fear, for your God is coming to destroy your enemies. He is coming to save you.” And when he comes, he will open the eyes of the blind and unplug the ears of the deaf. The lame will leap like a deer, and those who cannot speak will sing for joy! Springs will gush forth in the wilderness, and streams will water the wasteland.

There are times in life even as a believer that it is not clear what God is doing. John the Baptist felt this way and sent his disciples to ask Jesus one more time if He was the Messiah and the One who they had been waiting for. The same John who baptized the Lord when the heavens opened and God declared His Love for His Only Son. John had fallen on hard times and into diverse conditions. He would soon be beheaded. He sat in a prison evaluating his life and his dedication to Jesus. We all fall captive to our innermost thoughts. Those “what ifs” that circle in our head when it comes to faith in the unseen rather than being consumed by reality. It is human nature to stop in our pursuit of God and look around. It is this character flaw that allows the enemy to attack our mind and blind us to His Will and Way. Faith must become logical to our heart and mind so that when these times come it is a credible decision. God, be my vision today.

In Isaiah, the Lord promises to those with fearful hearts. I feel the hand of the enemy pressing on my cheek trying to force me to look back or at least side to side. He wants to take my eyes off Jesus and lead me to the wilderness. I do not want to go there. My heart cries out today, “Lord, be thou my vision!” My salvation comes with promise. The Lord promises to strengthen me. He will destroy my enemies. He will open my blind eyes and unplug my deaf ears. He will heal my lame parts. He fills me with inexpressible joy. Those springs and streams gushing is the Living Water running through me spilling out to a dry and thirsty land. He came for me first. I cannot truly share Jesus with another until I fully know Him myself. Trusting my life to Him and accepting nothing but the Fullness of Him so that I may be complete lacking no good thing and filled with an ample supply of love for others.

Luke 9:62 (NLT) But Jesus told him, “Anyone who puts a hand to the plow and then looks back is not fit for the Kingdom of God.”

I can serve the Lord with my life never giving Him my heart. It is when I allow God to open the eyes of my heart, illuminate my mind, and make His Way into my soul that I see what life really is all about. It is hard to live by what you know and not what you see. This is exactly the life that believers are called and commissioned to live. We walk by faith not by sight. We are blessed because we believe without seeing and thus will inherit the Kingdom of God. Look it up. This is exactly what the Word of God tells us. Too many times Christians “put a hand to the plow” without clear cut vision or definite focus on what the Lord is doing but are intent on just doing something for God. We must have open eyes and unplugged to ears to see and hear what the Lord is doing rather than rushing off to do whatever feels right.

John 9:39-41 (NLT) Then Jesus told him, “I entered this world to render judgment—to give sight to the blind and to show those who think they see that they are blind.” Some Pharisees who were standing nearby heard him and asked, “Are you saying we’re blind?” “If you were blind, you wouldn’t be guilty,” Jesus replied. “But you remain guilty because you claim you can see.

Jesus entered the world “to give sight to the blind and to show those who thing they see that they are blind.” The Pharisees responded to Jesus by saying, “Are you saying we’re blind?” The southern translation might be “them are fighting words, buddy!” We have the Word of God. Jesus filled us with His Spirit who teaches us everything we need to know about the Word of God. We worship the Lord in Spirit and in truth…sometimes. When we get tied up in religion, service, emotionalism and other such hindrances – it is time to come back to the Lord. Why not ask Him today – “Are you saying I am blind?”

It is only human nature to put our own spin on scripture. To begin to tell the Holy Spirit what we think. To seek comfort rather than change. To be complacent rather than committed. To accept our conditions rather than being more than a conqueror. Before it is realized, we are blinded. Our attempts to lead other will only take them with us into the darkness and away from the Light of His Amazing Love. As long as people are involved, there will be problems. We are complex individuals bent on our own way even when thinking that we are pursuing His Way. I will be the first to admit that I am more into the “shake the dust off your feet and move to the next town” kind of ministry rather than let’s dig in and get to the heart of the matter. That being said the cry of my heart today is “Lord, be my vision.” Those who have seen the Light of God’s Love are now accountable to remain in it.

Luke 6:39-40 (NLT) Then Jesus gave the following illustration: “Can one blind person lead another? Won’t they both fall into a ditch? Students are not greater than their teacher. But the student who is fully trained will become like the teacher.”

Jesus said, “I am the Light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the Light that leads to life.” I cannot lead you to a place that I am unfamiliar with. I cannot take you somewhere that I have never gone. If I choose to forsake the Light and continue to grope in the darkness, I cannot lead another soul to Jesus. We are both in danger of falling away. I must rely on God’s Word as a lamp for my feet and a light for my way. It is His Spirit who takes this knowledge and understanding to make it into spiritual wisdom and discernment for me.

2 Peter 1:5-10 (NLT) In view of all this, make every effort to respond to God’s promises. Supplement your faith with a generous provision of moral excellence, and moral excellence with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with patient endurance, and patient endurance with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love for everyone. The more you grow like this, the more productive and useful you will be in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But those who fail to develop in this way are shortsighted or blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their old sins. So, dear brothers and sisters, work hard to prove that you really are among those God has called and chosen. Do these things, and you will never fall away.

My success in spiritual growth and development is dependent on my commitment to see things as Jesus sees them. I must make every effort to respond to God’s Promises which is life to me. I must supplement my faith with the right things to develop moral excellence, knowledge, self-control, patient endurance, godliness, affection and love for everyone. These is the character of those who are believers. We must be like Jesus Christ and can do so only in the knowledge and absolute trust in Who He is and what He came to do. Those who fail to develop in this way are “shortsighted or blind” who tend to forget who they are and what they mean to Jesus Christ. We must work hard to prove that we are among the Ones who God has chosen and called to be like Him. If we strive to make Jesus our vision, we will not fail but live forevermore.

I was a church secretary and many times I would be in the church office alone. It was storming one day which was no big deal. I was in the restroom when the power went out because of torrential rain in the area. With no windows it was pitch black, so I groped my way until I felt the door handle in my hands pulling it open to a windowless corridor without any light to speak of. I kept waiting for my eyes to adjust but it was too dark for that. I began to walk the familiar path I had followed many times slowly making my way back to the office. What a creepy feeling walking in the darkness even in the four walls of the church. About halfway in my journey, the lights flickered back on and I was blinded by the light that I had longed for. When Saul was persecuting the Christians, he completely believed that he was doing it for God. He was a religious man well-versed in the Word of God. He was blessed with power and influence. But when he met Jesus on the road that day, he also was blinded by the Light of God’s Love. He met Jesus. The Word came to life on that road and made His Way into the hard heart. I wonder if at times we become like Paul invested in church work, godly service, and doing all the right things. Yet we are not walking in the Light of His Love but a life marked by our own control, intentions, and expectations. This is so dangerous to us as believers.

When things in life do not make sense and the rush of adrenaline tells you to fight or flee, wait on the Lord. Ask the Lord to be your vision. Seek the Light of His Word as a lamp for your feet. Fan the flames of the spiritual gift that you have been given who is the Holy Spirit. Ask Jesus to be your vision. Make Him the center of it all so the Light of His Love illuminates your life showing you His Will, His Way, His Plan and His Purpose for your life so that you can walk in it leading others to Christ. It would be a tragedy to live my whole thinking that the Lord knew my name only to find out I was blind and He knew me not. Lord, I ask you to open the eyes of my heart to see You today. Lord, steady my heart and drown my emotions in Your Amazing Love and All Sufficient Grace. Let me only have eyes for You, Jesus…today and always.

Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart,
be all else but naught to me, save that thou art;
be thou my best thought in the day and the night,
both waking and sleeping, thy presence my light.

Be thou my wisdom, be thou my true word,
be thou ever with me, and I with thee Lord;
be thou my great Father, and I thy true son;
be thou in me dwelling, and I with thee one.

Be thou my breastplate, my sword for the fight;
be thou my whole armor, be thou my true might;
be thou my soul’s shelter, be thou my strong tower:
O raise thou me heavenward, great Power of my power.

 

Leave a Reply

