Oneness

Oneness Pic

John 10:30 (NIV) I and the Father are one.

“All I want is just to know Your Heart so will you keep me here until we are one.”

My flesh is exhausted. My body is bruised and hurting from days of endless exertion with very little rest to recovery. My mind has been fixated on moving from our past to the future for months now and as I sit in our new house, in this new place, there is but one thought circling in my head. I just want to know His Heart today. I want to be one with the Father. I almost didn’t go to church last night. In selfish consideration, I thought about staying home and curling up on the couch with the Word of God all to myself. Or would I? Truth be told I probably would have continued to nest – unpacking the few things left, repositioning pictures, and making this new house our home. But I couldn’t something in my compelled me to get the House of God. So I went…

Walking in halfway through the worship set, I was drawn immediately into worship. I don’t even remember laying my belongings down in the chair or the people around me. I was captivated in a moment by the Love of God too wonderful to care about anything other than He was there. As the words to the song, “My Soul Sings” began something in my heart began rise up. “My soul sings…how I love You!” I love when I encounter God like that because nothing else matters in that moment. When the evidence of His Love overtakes every thought, idea, notion, problem, pain, worry, care and any other thing that has entertained us – it is complete and utter peace with full satisfaction seldom seen in this world that we live. It is the very thing that I live for it seems. To take one step farther from reality into the thing called faith. To come just one inch closer to the One I love so that He will be with me more than ever before. The longing of my heart is to know the Heart of God which often means keeping me right where I am until we are one.

John 17:20 (NIV) My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message that all of them may be one, Father just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one; I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

Jesus desires oneness today. He is one with the Father. Our Savior longs to be one with us. He prayed for such unity in John 17 just before venturing to the Cross. In His Final Moments, His Heart and Mind were set on us. Those who had not come yet but would hear the Message and be saved. Salvation is not the end of our experience with God through His Son, Jesus. It is only the beginning as waves of His Glory sweep through life accompanied by His Grace.

“I have given them my glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one; I in them and you in me.” It is one thing to know someone as an acquaintance. An acquaintance is someone known of. The relationship is formed by opinion and assumption based on limited knowledge. Time is not spent with those labeled as such. They are not a high priority but acknowledged in passing. We have friends. Those associated with more regularly. We communicate with them. There is loyalty and a limited commitment to such a relationship. We have family which has even greater familiarity. The people who share our blood or enter a deeper relationship through covenant (marriage). We have a forced acceptance of such because of this. Blood is indeed thicker than water. If you place all five of my kids in a room, the visit will go well as they have not interacted in some time. However, if left in said room for too long this is prone to change as they individualism takes over. However, mess with one and you have messed with them all.

Intimacy is reserved for marriage. It is to be established with a husband or wife exclusively giving all to become one. It is a relationship of love based on commitment that is unbreakable in the eyes of God. He wants to be One with us. The Lord desires intimacy with us. Too many times, the approach taken to knowing the Lord is like all the other relationships. Lacking full intimacy and a complete giving of our mind, soul, will, emotions and even our body – His Glory is limited in our life.

Jesus wants to live in complete unity with me…and you. He desires such a seamless connection that His Glory emanates through us into the world. Revival will come to this world if we can ever may a unified effort to complete intimacy and total transparency with Jesus. It is not a move of God when a church plans a service, promotes an event or puts on a great show. No, the Move of God that we are after is the one when the majority of people gathered together come with the commitment of “all I want is just to know Your Heart so will you keep me here until we’re one.”

John 17:24 (NIV) Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory You have given me because You loved me before the creation of the world.

True intimacy with the Lord is not going to happen where I am right now. It happens when I decide to forsake my personal comfort, choices, complacency and compromise to go where Jesus is. He wants us to be with (Him) where (He is) to paraphrase. We ask the Lord to come to us, be in us, go with us, and fix us. The truth is the opposite must occur. God did not plan to leave us. Jesus came to save us so that He could one day take us to where He is all in the Name of Love.

John 17:25-26 (NIV) Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and I myself may be in them.

The enemy uses all worldly elements to force believers off track. He offers people to love more than God. He gives us opportunities to have higher priorities than Jesus. The enemy is astute at lying and convinces us to compromise on a so-so life giving up the rich and satisfying life that Christ died for us to have all in the Name of Love. The world does not know God or His Son, Jesus. It knows of Him only. Acquainted with the Name of God yet turned off by His Sovereignty – they choose unbelief over complete surrender. Christians who assume the Name of Christ but do not submit to His Lordship live in frustrated discontentment because they boast of a life that they do not know. Simply calling Jesus our Savior is not enough. He must be our Lord if what we desire is Oneness. He will come close to those who call on Him but He only lives in those who open their heart, mind, soul and body to Him compelled for completion achieved only in absolute intimacy. Love makes you do crazy things. Loving Jesus is not different.

John 15:9-11 (NIV) As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in His Love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.

Today my soul sings. It sings of salvation. It sings of God’s Love. My heart joins the chorus longing to know Him a little bit more today. I am fine with the Lord keeping me right here until I do rather than allowing me to race off ahead or fall behind. I want to be where He is.  The Love of the Father is relentless and it has been my experience that each and every time I find my way into His Glory – I am blessed. Sometimes it His Hand on my head and other times just the profound privilege and opportunity to be used by Him for His Glory. I choose to obey the Lord to the best of my ability and accept His Grace when my flesh fails me which I know it will. Just to know Him gives me complete and absolute joy. What does your soul say today? What does it say of His Love? Have you experienced intimacy with Jesus lately? Have you encountered the Love of God at all? Jesus didn’t die just to be an acquaintance or your friend. He didn’t do it to be in the family. Jesus desires oneness with each one of His Beloved. Hey, that’s us. His Love is worth waiting for. His Glory is worth having. Just to know His Heart and wait to one.

John 15:4-5 (NIV) Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself, it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine, you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.

Leave a Reply

