Let Me See

Let Me See

Matthew 9:27-29 (NLT) After Jesus left the girl’s home, two blind men followed along behind him, shouting, “Son of David, have mercy on us!” They went right into the house where he was staying, and Jesus asked them, “Do you believe I can make you see?” “Yes, Lord,” they told him, “we do.” Then he touched their eyes and said, “Because of your faith, it will happen.”

Like many people, I have to wear glasses or contacts to see clearly. Over the years, my eyesight has declined as a result of a condition called presbyopia. This is caused by a normal change in the eye’s ability to focus and progresses with age. It affects my ability to see at a close distance. In the beginning, I bought a pair of cheap reading glasses from the local drug store which worked great until my arm was too short to compensate for my lack of perception. Finally, I relented and went to the optometrists who jovially welcomed me to the club and prescribed my first pair of bifocals. Cute bifocals. Glasses, nevertheless. Last year at my annual exam I was given the opportunity to try out some new contacts made for this condition. Previously contact lens were not an option for presbyopia. However, there was a catch. To free myself from glasses would cause my distance vision to suffer somewhat. It is a trade-off. I can see up close but at a distance things are just a bit fuzzy. Each day I must choose how I perceive life and the lens that I look through. Hmmm…

I really did not intend to bore you with the details of life after fabulous 50 or ruin the inevitable surprises of aging. It occurred to me, however; as I was jabbing those little plastic-like circles in my eye of the choice that I was making. Each day I choose my perspective on life. Will I see this life that I live through the eyes of Christ? Or will I maintain a human perspective and look at the details with no consideration of eternity? We all live in freedom because the Son has set us free. The Lord does not tell us how to think or how to live and force us to see things His Way. He gives us a choice.

2 Corinthians 4:17-18 (NLT) For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.

This life. Our world. Everything around us cause distractions along the way. This place called today is filled with present troubles. Trials perplex us. Tragedy overwhelms us. Terror strikes us. There are so many troubles that sometimes we cannot see past surviving this moment into the forever that is planned for us. Life is hard. Our world is not fair. All lives matter though that is not how it is playing out around us. Twisted and tainted by sin our society is imploding and if we are not careful just the sight of it will consume our every moment.

We must fix our gaze on the things that we cannot see. Two men heard of the Lord raising a little girl from the dead. They were blind. They could not see, but their hearts told them that He was the Messiah and had the answer to their present problem so they followed Jesus shouting His Name. The Lord knew what they wanted and asked them how they would get it. He said, “Do you believe that I can make you see? They confirmed that they did and Jesus said to them that their faith will make it happen. Their eyes were opened and they could see.

Do you believe that Jesus can make you see today? To see over your situation. Look past your circumstance. He can and He will but there must be a choice made each day as to the perspective that we live for. Will I live for here and now? Or will I live for forever? How is that even possible? Can we really become disenchanted with our natural vision to be consumed with God’s Perspective on life? Yes you can.

2 Corinthians 5:7 (NLT)For we live by believing and not by seeing.

How do live by believing and not by seeing? You must look at God’s Word every single day. I share this with people all the time but wonder who really listens. My perspective in life is completely changed not by life’s experiences but my daily encounters with the Word of God that feeds my soul and nourishes my spirit. It is the thing that causes my soul to prosper. Paul encouraged the Philippians to forget the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, press to reach the end of the race and receive the prize. God’s Word tells us the end from the beginning and everything in between. It educates and encourages us to stick with it. It is the Bread of Life. Since Jesus is the Word, we cannot know Him if we do not know God’s Word.

I must live by His Spirit. Jesus told his disciples that His Father would give us an advocate. He would lead us to truth. But He also warned that the world would not recognize Him or receive Him. We are to know the Holy Spirit who always points to the Truth and leads us there day by day. We must live by the Spirit not what we see.

Prayer or communication with the Lord. I must take the time each day to talk with the Lord. How else will I know His Perspective or take on things? I need to know that there purpose in each heartache, hope on the verge of disappointment and grace when I need to get back up. The world is not going to show me that kind of mercy – only Jesus. We see another pair of blind men in Matthew 20 who are calling out to Jesus. The crowd tells them to hush and not bother the Lord. What do they do? Cry out louder. Jesus has compassion on them and they are healed. They can see. What do they do? Follow Jesus.

Romans 1:19-20 (NLT) They know the truth about God because he has made it obvious to them. For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God.

Romans 1:19-20 will mess up people’s doctrine and rile up the religious because it says that we don’t need someone or something to tell us about God or who He is. It also tells us that mankind has no excuse. God has made His Presence known but we choose to acknowledge Him. Salvation is a choice. Believing is a choice. Seeing the Lord is a choice. Living for Jesus is a choice. Life is full of choices. Though we often make excuses – the truth is that God has made Himself obvious to us now we are without excuse…no matter how many we tend to make…we can see God.

Matthew 16:22-24 (NLT) But Peter took him aside and began to reprimand him for saying such things. “Heaven forbid, Lord,” he said. “This will never happen to you!” Jesus turned to Peter and said, “Get away from me, Satan! You are a dangerous trap to me. You are seeing things merely from a human point of view, not from God’s.” Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must give up your own way, take up your cross, and follow me.

Are you a Christian? Do you call yourself a believer? Do you walk by faith and not by sight? I am confident that Peter would have said, “Yes” to all three statements. However we all face situations in life when our perception of God is limited. It must choose to strive to see past the details of this moment to the definitive place called eternity. Jesus told His Disciples what was to come. It was not as they had planned. Peter gallantly defended Jesus because his visional perception of Jesus and what He came to do could not see past that moment. Peter’s reprimand was turned back on him. “You are seeing things merely from a human point of view, not from God’s.

Then Jesus said to HIS DISCIPLES… “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must give up your own way, take up your cross and follow me.” Call me Captain Obvious, but aren’t these the same disciples that left their families, friends, community, and professions to “follow” the Lord. Yes, absolutely. Up to this moment they were following the man not the Messiah. To truly follow Jesus is to go beyond the natural and live in the supernatural. It is the decision to stop reacting to life and respond to Jesus.

I Corinthians 13:12 (NLT) Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

I will never have perfect vision again. Even if the Lord touches my eyes today and gives me 20/20 eyesight, there will still be things that are not clear because we see things imperfectly. We cannot see everything that the Lord is doing around us and in us but we can know and believe it is happening and live that way. It means living by what we believe not what we see. It is a daily choice that arrives with His New Mercy to get through each day. Life is hard. It is uncertain. It is a tough teacher. It is filled with hard knocks. Trust me I have lived more than 50 years here. What I have discovered is that as I set my eyes on Jesus looking for His Kingdom rather than relying on what I see around me, my faith is renewed and hope is never disappointed. I can wait on Him even when I see no sign of His Arrival because I know that the Lord will not leave me or forsake me.

2 Peter 1:5-8 (NLT) In view of all this, make every effort to respond to God’s promises. Supplement your faith with a generous provision of moral excellence, and moral excellence with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with patient endurance, and patient endurance with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love for everyone. The more you grow like this, the more productive and useful you will be in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

In view of all this, make every effort to respond to God’s Promises. I will go get ready for the day soon and choose whether or not to wear glasses or contacts. It is a choice I make every day. Without them, I cannot read anything up close. The words are blurry and unclear. I will not be able to continue through the day because I cannot process the information that I need to. I want God’s Promises in my life. I desire those things that He designed for me. I long for His Plan and Purpose to be fulfilled. I cannot see those things without seeing my life through God’s Eyes. When I do, I will respond to His Promises rather than reacting to every setback or stumble that comes along. When I focus on Jesus, my faith is supplemented with many useful and vital things that lead to a productive and useful life that impacts forever. I want that life. I choose to see! Lord, teach me to look at life through Your Eyes every day!

Matthew 25:43-45 (NLT) “I was a stranger, and you didn’t invite me into your home. I was naked, and you didn’t give me clothing. I was sick and in prison, and you didn’t visit me.” “Then they will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and not help you?’ “And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’”

Leave a Reply

