Is It Worth It?

Is It Worth It

Matthew 6:33 (NLT) Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

When looking for a new home, the buyer may only see a few places or tour hundreds before they find a place that they are willing to invest and live in. They must see the potential if renovation is needed. Envision their life in the new place even if it empty or occupied by another. There are many factors in the decision. When we found our new home, we knew it. We love it. We are ready to move, but first must undergo the process. Our current residence had to put on the market for sale which meant cleaning up and staging it for potential buyers. Our financial information had to be provided to the bank to be fully examined and deemed worthy of loan approval. Savings had to reflect our ability to pay the necessary closing costs and fees after the sale of our home. Of course, a new house had to be found. Inspections and appraisals done for the bank to approve our purchase. All parties now are packing and preparing for closing so that at the right moment on the appointed day all three families will move to new locations. It is a process. The process is facilitated by value and worth. Not only the monetary steps but the dream or vision that made us want to move in the first place. Is it worth packing our life and moving to a new place? Is it worth giving up this life to save our soul? I think its time to take a practical look at pursing God’s Kingdom. If we do not deem His Kingdom worth the sacrifice and investment, what’s the point?

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else. Live righteously. He will give you everything you need. Seek the Kingdom of God first, but will it be worth it? We must appraise the Kingdom’s value to us and decide if it is worthy of our life investment. In this world filled with many open doors called religion, one must make the choice to enter and engage in a right relationship with God through Jesus Christ. The world shows us many doors with shining “open” signs and “welcome” mats leading to a hipster coffee shop, padded theater seats, gigantic “jumbotron” screens, elaborate sound systems, and great presentations marked as “the way” as an access point to the Kingdom of God. I wonder sometimes if we get lost in the hype. If we miss the true value and worth of the rich and satisfying life that Christ died for us to have because our economy of life does not change with our movement toward the Living God?

When we moved into our current home over a decade ago, I pledged before God and my husband that I was never moving again. Moving takes work. It is not an easy task. We had five small children at the time. Seven people relocating is exhausting and a bit overwhelming. We have lived a good life in this house even with some of the stress and heartaches along the way. God has filled with this place with love, joy and peace just like He promised. His Holy Spirit has ruled the atmosphere with grace and mercy as we have learned to love the Lord along the way. But now, it’s time to do and the driveway declaration doesn’t mean much knee deep in boxes and packing tape. It is the Lord that pressed our hearts to make this change. I know that He has a plan and purpose in it. My investment is faith that believes it will be worth it. Only by believing in God’s Plan will we invest in it.

Matthew 5:3 (NLT) “God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.”

God blesses those who are poor in spirit. It is in our desperate condition that one seeks to know God more. If we have it all together, all our needs are met, our dreams fulfilled and desires satiated, would we really continue to go after God? Let’s be real. It is in our disease, discomfort, dissatisfaction and displeasure that we seek the life that God has promised. It is when the bank account empty or full cannot pay the full price of freedom that we seek the One who sets the captive free. We must realize our need for Jesus in order to inherit His Kingdom. To decide that it is worthy of inconvenience to step into His Glory forever will change how we live and what we long for. I believe the Lord allows us to become agitated, frustrated and desperate so that we will move our natural life from this world into His Kingdom. Otherwise it would be too late.

Matthew 19:23-25 (NLT) Then Jesus said to his disciples, “I tell you the truth, it is very hard for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. I’ll say it again—it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of God!”  The disciples were astounded. “Then who in the world can be saved?” they asked.

My concept of wealth has changed dramatically over the years. I lived in a single wide mobile home as a very young child. My grandparents lived in a modest home which seemed like Heaven to me so I decided that if I could have a house without wheels, brick walls and wood floors that I would be satisfied. When we bought our first house, I thought that was it. It was wonderful. A lot of late nights and elbow grease went in to preparing that palace as it was a foreclosed property in need of some TLC but we knew it would be worth it so invested our time and energy.

Not long after, the market was booming. We decided to move again. So, we built a house. It was glorious and new. It did not need renovations like the first one. Several years later, we installed a swimming pool. Who would have thought that from modest beginnings there would be a home with a pool? I sure didn’t. However, over time what I discovered is that though wonderfully blessed, everything lost its luster. Don’t get me wrong I am thankful for the things that the Lord has given us, but they are require upkeep and maintenance. They are responsibilities. But if Jesus came to me today and said, “Sell all your possessions and follow me” it would be a struggle. Why? I am rich in the natural. I am blessed with many things. My life is comfortable. Even though people find things to grumble and complain about most of the time it is in vain. We are rich enough to not want to give up what we have to have what is His – that is until we decide it is worth it.

Mark 4:26-29 (NLT) Jesus also said, “The Kingdom of God is like a farmer who scatters seed on the ground. Night and day, while he’s asleep or awake, the seed sprouts and grows, but he does not understand how it happens. The earth produces the crops on its own. First a leaf blade pushes through, then the heads of wheat are formed, and finally the grain ripens. And as soon as the grain is ready, the farmer comes and harvests it with a sickle, for the harvest time has come.”

In Genesis 8:22, the Lord tells Noah that as long as the earth remains, there will be planting and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night. In other words, there will be consistent sowing and reaping in the seasons of life for all mankind. Our sowing will always dictate the harvest. Sowing in this world will result in earthly harvests subject to the destroying organisms in the natural and deadly forces in the spirit. We must sow in the Kingdom. Also, our life is subject to seasons – a whole lot of them. Here in Genesis 8, natural seasons are described. In our spiritual life, as well as physical life, we will endure other seasons listed in Ecclesiastes 3. Some we encourage and embrace while there are others we might just as well do without. Nevertheless, the Lord is telling us to be alert to the seasons and sow generously throughout.

I wonder today if I am investing my life in the most beneficial way. Am I scattering seeds in the Kingdom sealing them with faith watering them with the spirit so they will grow? Or am I continuing to waste my time by seeking the natural rather than living for the supernatural? There are some days when I am tired of fighting the good fight, the wait on the watchtower seems to long, and the impossible doesn’t seem to budge, that I hear the Holy Spirit whisper – “It’s gonna be worth it. It’s gonna be worth it all.” This is where I am given the opportunity to believe one more day for that which seems elusive and sow more seeds of faith in the Kingdom rather than returning to the world.

Mark 4:30-32 (NLT) Jesus said, “How can I describe the Kingdom of God? What story should I use to illustrate it? It is like a mustard seed planted in the ground. It is the smallest of all seeds, but it becomes the largest of all garden plants; it grows long branches, and birds can make nests in its shade.”

Heaven will become a priority when it possesses something you want. If there is no hope, then who needs Heaven? In the most simple form of repentance and obedience to the Lord, He comes rushing in and our life is better. Whether He delivers us, heals us, or sets us free each action and attitude that draws us closer to God through Jesus Christ will impact our life in the natural. For example, when my husband and I returned to Christ many, many years ago, we decided to tithe. It was a choice. Not an easy one at first as there were six of us at that time to care for on one meager salary. God blessed us. We never missed a meal. Always had utilities. Clothes to wear. Gas for our automobiles. Automobiles. We sowed in the natural and God produced favor and financial covering in our life. Tithing is obedience. There are many other things in the Word of God that are labeled the same. We transition from the natural blessings of God to the supernatural when we begin to operate in His Commodity. What is God’s Most Valuable Asset? Well, He calls us His Prized Possession. His Treasure. Could it be that we are the very thing that makes Heaven so rich? The most valuable possession to God is the human soul. You are of infinite worth to God because His Son died for you. I am precious in His Sight because when He sees me – it is through His Son.

It is like a mustard seed…that mustard seed of faith planted in our heart will grow into a life of true discipleship if planted in the Kingdom and not this world. You cannot be who God predestined you to be outside of Jesus Christ. The Kingdom of God is where we sow and reap with the greatest reward but seldom immediate gratification. We must endure to the end to be saved. Are you willing to plant seeds of faith along the way? We plant in people. We invest in love. Jesus made a way for us to regain right standing with God. We must come to Him like children. (Mark 10:15-16) It is not an intellectual pursuit but a child’s surrender and subsequent return. For every small investment of the spiritual fruit in our life, it will yield a great return. (Luke 13:20-21) But the Kingdom must be valuable to you. It must be worth everything you have. It must be worth giving up all that you own. It is must be worth giving up your life to save your very soul. (Matthew 16:26)

It must be worthy of finding that which is lost. If I lose a penny in the bottom of my enormous purse, I would not spend much time looking for it. It is only worth a single cent clearly not worth my time or effort. Now if there is a twenty dollar bill lost in my handbag, it would be game on until I discovered its whereabouts. Twenty dollars is worth something to me. The Bible says that Jesus leaves the 99 to find the one. He talks about lost coins and lost sheep to get the point across to us that we are what matters most to the Lord. (Luke 15) In all our rebellious imperfection, God wants us. We are worth it to Him. The truth of the matter is that souls matter to God the most. They are the commodity of the Kingdom. Our soul and every other one every created.

Matthew 13:44-46 (NLT) “The Kingdom of Heaven is like a treasure that a man discovered hidden in a field. In his excitement, he hid it again and sold everything he owned to get enough money to buy the field. Again, the Kingdom of Heaven is like a merchant on the lookout for choice pearls. When he discovered a pearl of great value, he sold everything he owned and bought it!

Is God’s Kingdom your treasure today? I am asking myself the same. I must not only examine my heart but evaluate my life to determine where I am investing myself. Is it for personal profit? I am blessed just knowing Jesus. My feeble attempts to walk with Him produce natural and supernatural blessings in our life. His Faithfulness keeps me following Him. Am I fully invested? I want to know for a fact without a shadow of a doubt that my faith is fully vested in Kingdom business not just earthly exchanges. I can have family, friends and coworkers. Do I love them? Do I love God enough to invest my life in the one and only commodity that is worthy of investing in His Kingdom? I am challenged by this thought today.

When our son was sick, it came to a point where there was only a slight glimmer of hope. Reality challenged my faith to one fateful night when I asked myself, “If God chooses to take him home, will I still love and trust Him?” The answer shook me to my core. “Yes.” How could I say such a horrible thing? It’s not horrible. It just means that somewhere in my complete devastation and undoing, the Lord gave me a tiny seed of faith to keep the process of transformation going. Heaven becomes more important when there is something there we want. The Kingdom of God becomes more inviting when the investment yields a favorable return.

The Pharisees tried to trick Jesus into civil disobedience by asking whether or not they should pay taxes. Jesus responded, “When they handed it to him, he asked, “Whose picture and title are stamped on it?” “Caesar’s,” they replied. “Well, then,” Jesus said, “give to Caesar what belongs to Caesar, and give to God what belongs to God.” (Mark12:14-18) We have a free will. We are Children of God who live as foreigners in this world. We render to Caesar that which bears his mark. We honor God by living a righteous life filled with faith, hope and love generously given to all mankind. Thus increasing our investment in Heaven, making it totally worth the wait.

Acts 20:24 (NLT) But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.

 

Leave a Reply

