Rushing Water

Rushing Water

Revelation 19:6-9 (NIV) Then I heard what sounded like a great multitude, like the roar of rushing waters and like loud peals of thunder, shouting: “Hallelujah! For our Lord God Almighty reigns. Let us rejoice and be glad and give him glory! For the wedding of the Lamb has come, and his bride has made herself ready. Fine linen, bright and clean, was given her to wear.” (Fine linen stands for the righteous acts of God’s holy people.) Then the angel said to me, “Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding supper of the Lamb!” And he added, “These are the true words of God.”

What will Heaven be like? Do you ever wonder? Will it be like a great reunion? Will it be a big and vast open space? Will there really be streets of gold and mansions all around or is that just a way to entice people? Will it just be Jesus sitting on a throne surrounded in light? Will it be all these things? Our church hosted a worship night. A time of worshipping the Lord without a real order of service or programmed agenda. Just a time of moving a little bit closer to Jesus as far as each individual was willing to travel. Whenever I am in such a service, I find my thoughts wondering. Lord is this what it will be like forever with you. A place where time stands still. Time passes swiftly but seems like only a moment. Flowed with peace. Overcome with joy. Every burden lifted. Yet, we are still here. Once it is over, we walk out the doors into a cold and dark world filled with challenges, temptations, trouble and tragedy. We want Heaven. The more it is tested our taste is refined. The world is no longer satisfying and does not bring contentment only a greater thirst to find one moment or two to bask in the Light of His Love and be filled to overflowing again.

I was looking for the word “Hallelujah” today. It is the word that connects us to the Lord by accepting His Sovereign Power, submitting to His Supreme Purpose and surrendering to His Perfect Will. I find that it reminds me I am not in control of my circumstances, but praise God, no one else is either. I live under the divine authority and complete control of Jesus Christ so that no matter what weapon is formed against me – I will prosper – Hallelujah! Greater is He who is in me than He that is in the world – Hallelujah! I am blessed beyond any curse and His Promise will endure – Hallelujah! Hallelujah is a lot like “amen”. It is the acceptance of God’s Will and commitment to His Plan but submission of our life to His Authority. It is the highest praise. It is translated many ways such as praise the Lord and thanks be to God. Hallelujah is the sound of Heaven as men and women gather together in one accord to worship the Lord in all of His Holiness.

“Then I heard what sounded like a great multitude, like the roar of rushing waters and like loud peals of thunder, shouting…” The Kingdom of God is not quiet in its celebration of the Lord so why are we? I wonder sometimes if the “order” indicated in the early church has somehow been mistranslated and traditionally handed down.  The sound of Heaven is loud. It is exuberant. It is committed to a kind of worship that connects with Jesus. There will be no sideline worshippers in Heaven on those who choose Spirit and Truth as a way of surrendering to the Lord completely. I believe that how we worship in this place is the ultimate audition for our entrance into Eternity. Will we be ready and able to worship the Lord as indicated in Revelation? Will our response be Hallelujah? Will our worship be radical enough to join others.

John 4:10 (NIV) Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.”

Jesus told the woman at the well, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked Him and He would have given you Living Water.” We must receive Living Water from Jesus to produce it in our life. Jesus went on to share with her that whoever drinks the water He gives will never thirst. They will be satisfied. Are you satisfied today? Have you asked the Lord to fill you with Living Water? The water that Jesus gives us will be like a spring of water welling up to eternal life. When God created the earth, He did not make rain at that time. No, the world was watered from within. You were not created to be “watered” or sustained by the things of this world but to be solely dependent on the Living Water inside of you.

In John 4:23-24 (NIV), Jesus tells the woman how we should worship. We must worship the Lord in Spirit and in Truth. These are two vital commodities to successful entrance to the Kingdom of God because these are the ingredients of worship that cannot be avoided or ignored. The very attributes that change praise into worship. Do you have the spirit? I am not asking about manifestations of the Holy Spirit such as speaking in other tongues. This is God’s Power flowing out of you. It will not happen without the Fruit of His Spirit cultivated in us. Do you worship the Lord in Spirit? Relying on His Guidance and His Direction. Coming to Him with our weakness. Conversing with Him in crisis. He is our Helper. He was sent to teach us to move deeper in our faith and hold on to hope. The Word of God is truth. Jesus is the Word wrapped in flesh, therefore, He is Truth. Worship cannot be produced without a connection to Christ and His Word. When God speaks – He speaks His Word. It is definitive. He cannot and will not contradict Himself. Jesus died and as raised again so that God’s Word could be active in our life again apart from sin. This is true perfection achieved in His Love and by His Grace which is the reason that we can move from praising God to worshipping Him successfully.

John 7:38-39 (NIV) Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.” By this he meant the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were later to receive. Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified.

Our commitment to know the Spirit and Truth applying it to our daily lives begins to produce change in us. It is a stirring deep within. Whoever believes in Jesus will start to feel rivers of life surging in their belly looking for a way out. Flowing to find a source greater than its own content. An ocean to connect with. More water to feed its flow and increase the current. The rivers of living water that Jesus promised are directly connected to His Spirit. As we begin to allow Living Water to make its way through us, it begins to create a need for greater sustenance. It is power rushing through us ready to explode like a geyser in our soul. This is worship getting ready to be expressed. Not just any worship, but the kind that blesses God’s Heart.

When Jesus was glorified, it marked God’s Acceptance of His Sacrifice. This is the very thing that allowed His Spirit to be released to help us and live in us. It was the moment that our praise turned to worship making it significant to God and worthy of His Kingdom. It’s not any sound that my head tells my mouth to produce. It is the Lord’s Spirit rising out of my belly, rushing through my heart, making its way out of my mouth that connects to His Kingdom entering the very Presence of the Living God. I want to live there. I don’t ever want to leave that place.

Psalm 42:7-8 (NIV) Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me. By day the Lord directs his love, at night his song is with me—a prayer to the God of my life.

I wonder if it is possible to truly worship God and not surrender or submit to Him. I only say that because His Will is perfect and His Word is true. His Power is Sovereign. He does not waver or change His Mind. When deep calls to deep it is in the roar of His Waterfalls. God’s Love for us is unfailing and unrelenting too. A waterfall’s current becomes inescapable the closer you get. It sucks you in and pulls you over the edge. Maybe that is why worship is scaring to people so they only persist in praising God for what He has done rather than totally trusting and surrendering to worship Him.

God’s Love is sweeping over you today. It is live waves urging us deeper as the current goes out. He directs us with His Love. At night, He sings over us a love song. I wonder if it is like the sound of the ocean when staying in a beachside villa. Opening the doors, the breeze blows over you and the sound of the waves on the surf woo you into peaceful sleep. The Love of God is as unfathomable as the depth of the deepest sea. It feels dangerous and overwhelming sometimes. But those who trust the Lord will make the connection that is vital to move us from here and not to forever with Jesus. Worship is essential. It is our key.

Psalm 63:1-5 (NIV) You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

 

“Like the roar of rushing waters…” Heaven sounds like rushing water. Of course, it does. When the Living Water flowing in us connects with the Rushing Water flowing from His Throne, worship bursts forth like water through a dam. I cannot live in Heaven…yet. However, there is an opportunity among believers to worship in Spirit and Truth right now. Right here. To experience such a Presence of God that His Satisfaction will satisfy our dry and thirsty soul. Reaching all the dry and dead things with Resurrection Power. He is ready to revive us again but are we thirsty enough to seek Him in such a way. To surrender to His Overflow in our life and be watered from the inside out. It is our opportunity to connect with Jesus and bring Heaven to earth but we miss it week after week, day after day and moment to moment ignoring the deep crying out to deep within us. My connection to Christ fills me. United with likeminded believers creates the opportunity to increase the flow. Those who thirst for more will continue to press in until Living Water flows from the church again. It is a must. It is the sound of Heaven beginning in each belly and filling the world. Worship moves us closer. Takes us deeper. It changes us so we can encounter Him more. Am I doing my part? Are you doing yours? Lord I want to worship in Spirit and in Truth. Lord, may living water make it from my belly and wash over my world. My worship matters. Our worship matters. It connects us together forming His Bride. I want to go deeper. I want to know you more. I want to worship like they do in Heaven right here on the earth.

 

Psalm 42:1-2 (NIV) As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?

Leave a Reply

