Yet I Am Confident

Yet I am confident

Hebrews 10:34-36 (NLT) You suffered along with those who were thrown into jail, and when all you owned was taken from you, you accepted it with joy. You knew there were better things waiting for you that will last forever. So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you! Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.

I usually don’t check my phone much when I am in my quiet time with the Lord. But when I saw her name flash on the screen, I knew something was up. She is a friend who I worked with at one time. We don’t talk very much since changing jobs. The link attached to the message was a news report. A young man lost his life in a car accident. Not just another kid, but someone I knew and had watched grow up. I know his parents. He went to school with our kids. Life cut short at just twenty years old. All I could do was weep. Such tragedy and loss so close to home, as I prayed I could hear the words, “God, you are good!” As I prayed for his parents who have been undergoing a terrible trial already now to lose someone so precious, I kept hearing those words, “God, you are good!” I know He is good. I believe it with all my heart and soul. It is my confidence.

Throughout the day, I thought about the instant response during my prayer time. Why would the Holy Spirit interject this consistently? He was reminding me. I need God to remind me in the midst of tragedy, hardship, loss and defeat that He is always good and none of this was His Desire for mankind. It pushes me farther into the Light of His Love which is completely necessary when the chaos of loss, crushing of the heart, and other events threaten our stand. There is suffering all around us. Devastation fills the headlines. Life is hard. The enemy ruthless and cruel. It is easy to throw away our confidence when such things happen except there is a great reward promised to those who endure. Not just those who endure but those who do so to the end. Jesus said that they will be saved.

Strength and suffering are relative to one another. What I find to be overwhelming and tragic may not seem like it to you if you are stronger – physically, emotionally or spiritually. However, today I am sensing that there are some people thinking about throwing in the towel and giving up on their confidence in the Lord. Well, that is just unacceptable. You can’t give up. You must dig in. To do so requires confidence, it is the anchor of our soul. (Hebrews 6:19) To become so confident in God’s Goodness that when evil comes – you have a response.

Psalm 27:13-14 (NLT) Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living. Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance of what we do not see.” (Hebrews 11:1) Faith is our access point to the Kingdom of God. Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one can come to the Father but through faith in His Son, Jesus. One way. Faith connects us to hope. Our objective between here and eternity is to build confident trust in what we cannot see enough to draw it into this life. Yet I am confident…yet implies that the conditions and circumstances prior to this word are not what the end result will be. Whenever hope is involved there are qualities such as unseen and not recognized attached. If you can see it, touch it, feel it or produce it for yourself there is no need for hope.

In all other situations that seem hopeless, we can be confident that God is going to do exactly what He said. His Promises are true and timely for us. I hear many people pray “if it’s Your Will” but I challenge this with truth. You have the ability to know the Will of God. You always are promised it now AND forever. His Word is distinct in delivering God’s Expectations and what we can expect when we come to Him boldly and confidently. His Spirit teaches us all things. God has given us everything we need by His Divine Power to live a godly or god-like life. The rest is up to us. Are you confident in Jesus today? Do you believe? Do you have hope that is confident? Courage comes from confidence in Jesus Christ.

I Peter 2:9-10 (NLT)  But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

When my children come home, they do not knock on the door to request access. They know who they are. As our children, it is not required. This is their home, too. They are confident in their identity as our sons and daughters. They come in. They make themselves at home. They eat our food. They don’t have to ask because they know who they are and live that way. There are people who know Christ and then there are others who belong to Jesus.

“So in Christ Jesus you are all Children of God through faith, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.” Faith connects us to Jesus. Hope covers (or clothes) us in the Lord. It changes who we are. It changes the outcomes in our life. It makes us into who God created us to be rather than what the world turned us into. That’s the Good News… now here is the hard part.

Romans 5:2-4 (NLT) Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation.

Confidence comes through hardship and trials. It must be tested to proven true. We must develop endurance to make it to the end and be saved. Our character must be strengthened. Strong character not easily swayed is confidence. Faith brings us to a place of undeserved privilege but it is the hope of forever that we after. When our son was diagnosed with advanced cancer, my world fell apart. The carefully crafted idea that bad things happen to good people just not my people was crushed. Now facing the truth that death must be considered, I had to dissect my faith in God completely. Putting it under a microscope examining it for any flaws or defects. It began a matter of life or death to know what I believed and how much I believed it. I know now that it is in our trials, pain and yes, even suffering that the Lord allows us to grow, mature and develop our faith to become more confident in hope.

Psalm 31:19-20 (NLT) How great is the goodness you have stored up for those who fear you. You lavish it on those who come to you for protection, blessing them before the watching world. You hide them in the shelter of your presence, safe from those who conspire against them. You shelter them in your presence, far from accusing tongues.

The Goodness and Greatness of God surrounds us in a shelter of hope. It is the protection our heart and head need when assaulted. You will be assaulted with lies, hurts, and trauma in life. One doctor told our son, “Everyone goes through something in life. This is your something.” I believe life is a series of somethings that the Lord uses to develop our endurance and strengthen our character so that we will have confident hope. Those who can accept the fact that God is always good are well on their way.

Psalm 23:4-6 (NLT) Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me. You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.

During labor with each of my children just before giving birth, I have threatened to quit the process. Now you and I both know this is not possible, but in a reaction to pain my brain has told my body to tap out. Thank God my body did what it was created to do. With our fourth child, I was telling myself in no uncertain terms that I was done. Forget it. I wasn’t doing it anymore when midsentence the revelation hit me that I was almost done. The fact these words were coming out of my mouth marked the reward I had waited over nine months was here.

Are you about to give up? Are you ready to quit? Have you exerted all energy and exhausted all emotion? Are you done? Good! Grace comes when we are weak and makes us strong. In fact, His Power works best in weakness. The weaker you are the closer you are to having all God has promised and hope held on to. God is preparing a feast in the presence of the enemy today. Your life is overflowing with unclaimed blessing just waiting on you. God’s Goodness and Unfailing love pursues us every day. His Grace is enough. When we are weak, He makes us strong. His Grace is enough for you to overcome weakness and step into His Glory.

Psalm 112:4-8 (NLT) Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous. Good comes to those who lend money generously and conduct their business fairly. Such people will not be overcome by evil.  Those who are righteous will be long remembered. They do not fear bad news; they confidently trust the Lord to care for them. They are confident and fearless and can face their foes triumphantly.

Fearless living comes from a confident heart. Our heart must trust the Lord completely to accomplish and achieve life is He predestined it. To overcome evil requires complete confidence in God, His Word and His Way. Otherwise, we waver. Those who truly experience a relationship with Jesus Christ born of true and genuine faith will not waver anymore. (Hebrews 6:4-6) Our relationship with Jesus produces certain things in our life like goodness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. When this becomes the overflow of our life, the conditions and circumstances surrounding us do not impact the current of these three things in us, through us and out of us. (Romans 14:17) A confident heart praises the Lord no matter what. (Psalm 57:7) Confidence accompanies boldness giving us access into God’s Presence and the ability to ask for anything with full expectation of fulfilment. (Ephesians 3:11-12) You have hope. (Romans 8:24-25) It has already been given to you. Confidence connects our faith to that hope hanging on until the end. This is how we endure. This is how God strengthens our character molding and shaping us into His Precious Children.

Ephesians 1:18-20 (NLT) I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called—his holy people who are his rich and glorious inheritance. I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms.

I have not received the dreaded phone call in the middle of the night. I have sat by my son’s bedside countless hours praying and believing. I know that God is good. I had to be confident in that while he was sick with no other confirmation that he would be made well other than God’s Word spoken to me on the very first day. The banner wore thing when one diagnosis turned into four more relapses. My arms grew tired when the insurance company kept saying no, no, no! All the time away from my other children left a void that is not yet fulfilled. If I had not had some confidence the Goodness of God to believe that He would do what His Word say IN the land of the living, I would never have made it to the end.

Are you losing confidence today? Is your trust tired? Where is your hope? If you can find it in God’s Word, it is His Will for your life? We do not facilitate God’s Power. Nothing I say or do will change His Plan for my life. Faith, trust, confidence and hope simply allows me to participate and partake of His Goodness. We will never fully comprehend God’s Greatness and Power in our natural body. It does not mean that we don’t have to have confidence in it. You can live a courageous and confident life no matter what. It is up to you. I have the same power in me that raised Jesus from the dead. Confidence in the Lord and hope that I have found in Him allows me to access that power and be its conduit in this life. God is good. His Love never fails. His Promises are true. It doesn’t matter how “bad” this life may get – faith, hope and love will always remain! Of this, we can be sure. Yet, I am confident.

Romans 12:12 (NLT) Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.

Leave a Reply

