Be Greater

Be Greater

I John 4:4 (NLT) But you belong to God, my dear children. You have already won a victory over those people, because the Spirit who lives in you is greater than the spirit who lives in the world.

 

Need a pep talk today? Me too. Sometimes as believers who are constantly challenged to have greater faith and confident hope, our humanity becomes overwhelmed in the reality of the endeavor or gravity of the problem. Climbing the mountain, praying it will move, but not looking down leads us to a place greater than our courage. It is higher than our hope. It is massive compared to our motivation. If just for a moment we choose to look down, it is overwhelming. Paralyzing fear overtakes us. What if we fall? Oh, my dear but what if you fly?

 

I belong to God. I am His Child. I have already won the victory in every engagement I encounter. The Spirit of the Living God lives in me confirming these things. His Spirit is greater than any other spirit in the world today. My desire is to be greater to live in the realm of hope and never look back or peer down. I am only human so on those days that I am disobedient or rebel. You know those times that rather than looking at Jesus, my eyes are fixed on the wind and waves, I must choose to be greater. I am an overcomer hidden in a broken human form. God is alive and well inside of me looking for ways to manifest in my life. He pursues me with goodness and unfailing love just waiting for an opportunity to release it in my life. I must be greater. Isn’t this a contradiction? Not really.

 

John 3:30-31 (NLT) He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less. He has come from above and is greater than anyone else. We are of the earth, and we speak of earthly things, but he has come from heaven and is greater than anyone else.

 

Does being greater contradict these verses? Not at all, it is confirmation of the transforming power of God and wonderworking power of the Jesus’ Blood. It implies that in laying down my pride and power over my existence that Christ in me will become greater which means every promise and purpose for my life can now be fulfilled just like He promised because I am no longer at enmity with God. Through right standing through the Grace of Jesus, I am free to become like Him. It is in the yielding of our life to the Lord that His Power is perfected in us and magnified through us. As I become less and less, Jesus becomes greater in my life.

 

The potter will always be greater than the clay. (Isaiah 29:16) Pride tells us otherwise as we decide to mold and shape our life into what we want it to be with a touch of Christ here and there. What happens is a misshapen, dysfunctional and non-useful life that cannot do what it sets out to do because of conflict. His Ways are not like mine. His Thoughts always higher. I can be greater but it begins by being less.

 

Luke 6:39-40 (NLT) Then Jesus gave the following illustration: “Can one blind person lead another? Won’t they both fall into a ditch? Students are not greater than their teacher. But the student who is fully trained will become like the teacher.

 

I will never be greater than Jesus. The student cannot be greater than the teacher. But through understanding and knowledge turned to wisdom, the student can become like the teacher. There is a fine line here to be observed. Any time we think or believe that we can “do” something for God, we fall into the trap of self-perceived greatness which is called pride. If you think God needs you – you are wrong. The only power that you have over sin is Jesus Christ. He is the One who establishes our right-standing with God that allows us to enter the Kingdom. We cannot earn it in any way, shape or form. We must simply believe that He is greater in all things and seek to do His Will. God is greater than my feelings. (I John 3:20) It doesn’t matter how great I think I am. There is always that moment when I realize the error and folly in my thinking and come to the realization that I am nothing without Jesus.

 

John the Baptist was the forerunner of Jesus Christ. He did many things that Jesus would do. He said many of the same things. He even baptized like the Lord would do but only with water. Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, of all who ever lived none is greater than John the Baptist.” Jesus admired John. But wait there is more, “Yet even the least person in the Kingdom of Heaven is greater than he is!” Simply put, John had not made Heaven yet. According to the Matthew Henry Commentary, Jesus was simply pointing out that John was still just a man though he possessed the Power of God. His perfection would come in his acceptance to Heaven because only then could he worship, serve and love God as he should. We must advance the Kingdom of Heaven forcefully. Evil advances many ways. Pride is the root that claims victim inside the church and within congregations. Those who do not need, desire and pursue God’s Grace every single day are worthless to the Kingdom and live apart from it.

 

John 15:12-14 (NLT) This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command.

 

There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friend. I must lay down my life to Jesus Christ to become greater than I am today. It is in the total sacrifice and surrender of self that His Grace becomes sufficient for me and His Power can work in me and through me every single day. It is not me exalting myself but in the exaltation of Christ that others see something of worth that they value and need. Laying down my life will never ever be comfortable. It is how we take up our cross and follow Jesus. To decide that this world holds nothing of worth for me but Kingdom has it all requires transformation and transportation to greater heights of faith and more deeper presence to secure our hope.

 

Psalm 71:20-21 (NLT) You have allowed me to suffer much hardship, but you will restore me to life again and lift me up from the depths of the earth. You will restore me to even greater honor and comfort me once again.

 

Are you struggling today? Did you dare to look down or around and not you are scared that your faith has taken you too far? Is hope becoming a bit shaky and unstable? Good! It is in those times of God’s Gentle or Not-So-Gentle Undoing that we find more grace and become greater. His Power works best in our weakness. We must become weak to be made strong. It is when we come to the end of ourselves yet still manage to take one more step that our faith grows a little more and hope secures itself to Christ again.

 

2 Corinthians 2:7-8 (NLT)  Shouldn’t we expect far greater glory under the new way, now that the Holy Spirit is giving life?

 

The Lord is inviting us to seek the greater glory that was promised to us. Knowledge of the Greatness of God calls us to do greater things. Solomon built a greater temple in the revelation of Greater God. (2 Chronicles 2:5-6) Haggai prophesied of an even greater temple that was coming. (Haggai 2:9) The greater temple is comprised of living stones attached to the Cornerstone who is Jesus Christ. To know the Greatness of God and choose to live in it is a harrowing task that yields the biggest reward. I must know that God is greater than any other god in order to operate in the fullness of such a revelation. (Psalm 135:5) Nathanael knew that Jesus was the Messiah instantly when Jesus told him that He saw the man sitting by the tree. Jesus went on to challenge Nathanael to take this little bit of faith and be greater. (John 1:50-51) What will it take for you to become greater today?

 

Hebrews 3:1-3 (NLT) And so, dear brothers and sisters who belong to God and are partners with those called to heaven, think carefully about this Jesus whom we declare to be God’s messenger and High Priest. For he was faithful to God, who appointed him, just as Moses served faithfully when he was entrusted with God’s entire house. But Jesus deserves far more glory than Moses, just as a person who builds a house deserves more praise than the house itself. For every house has a builder, but the one who built everything is God.

 

God’s Greatness lives in us and is looking for a way out. Jesus said that those who believe in Him would do greater things. Are you doing greater things? Are miracles happening around you? Do you find sin less enticing? Do you feel a tug in your gut when you fail or fall short? We belong to God. We are partners with Him for life. Jesus is our Bridegroom. We are to remain in Him and He will live in us. The Holy Spirit represents God’s Holy Inhabitation of His People. As we live to honor this partnership and glorify the Greatness of God something happens to us. Building a life based on the Greatness of God makes the Holy Spirit at home in us. As we continue to defy the enemy choosing to build rather than abandon or teardown, His Greatness is manifested in our life. It is then we discover that decreasing is not a bad thing because His Greatness is better than life. Jesus deserves all the glory and in exchange He makes us great.

 

John 14:12-13 (NLT) “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.

 

To be greater, my life must consistently point to Jesus Christ. Glorying God alone releases His Power in my life so that it can reach the lost, dying, broken and hurting. I can do nothing apart from Him. As I renew my commitment to walk by faith and not by sight, it is with the profound desire to go deeper within God’s Inner Sanctuary to the place where His People dwell. I want to know Him more to day. My desire is that my life effectively represent Jesus Christ and not myself. As I continue to decrease, His Greatness will continue to increase in my life. I will influence others to know the Greater God that I have hidden in my heart. My hope will become stronger and less willing to stop waiting or give way under pressure. I desire nothing more than a total manifestation of God’s Power in my life to transform the lives of others by His Goodness and Love. I can only do that by pressing into His Presence. Establishing His Greatness over every feeling I possess. Jesus, I ask you to make us greater today. Move me out of the way, so that You can have Your Way in my life today, tomorrow and always. Nothing is worth losing my soul. I forfeit mediocrity for the miraculous today. King Jesus, I declare that You are Lord of my life and greater than any challenge, problem or battle I may face. You have overcome. I will overcome by the Greatness of who lives in me. I ask you to seal my heart and mind with the Greatness of Your Name! Holy Spirit give me confidence and boldness in all things that I may glorify the Father and Son in all things! I have total and absolute victory today just because You are greater

 

Hebrews 6:16-19 (NLT) Now when people take an oath, they call on someone greater than themselves to hold them to it. And without any question that oath is binding. God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary.

Leave a Reply

