Head Games

Head Games

Psalm 61:1-4 (NKJV)

Hear my cry, O God; attend to my prayer. From the end of the earth I will cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For You have been a shelter for me, a strong tower from the enemy. I will abide in Your tabernacle forever; I will trust in the shelter of Your wings.

 

It happens in an instant. Without any fanfare or a grand announcement, running the race well and then we trip and stumble falling headlong into fear becoming overwhelmed. At least, this is how it works in my life? O foolish Galatians! Who has bewitched you that you should not obey the truth, before whose eyes Jesus Christ was clearly portrayed among you as crucified?” (Galatians 6:1) Sometimes when I find myself suddenly overwhelmed by a decision or problem, I begin to pray and hear this verse in my head. O foolish _________! You can put your name in there too if you would like because no matter how strong we are as a person or deeply one abides in Christ without carefully and constant focus on Christ – anyone can be a victim of becoming overwhelmed.

 

I know that I am a Child of God. I know that God loves me. I know that Christ lives in me. I have faith that I am actively trying to grow into a mustard seed and hope that is being refined and hammered into a mighty anchor for my soul. I am crucified with Christ striving to live in Him and become a new creation. There are many things that I know and believe about the Lord. The enemy hates that about me. Every thought turned to the Lord, every idea that He is all I need, and every single grain of truth no bigger than a piece of sand, God is creating a pearl of wisdom that will be my wealth is coveted by the enemy. The more I want to know Jesus and be like Him, the more the enemy will look for a way into my mind. He tries to wiggle into my thoughts. He wants to overtake me pulling me from meditating on Jesus to worrying about his next attack. Greater is Who is in me than he that is in the world. Help me Lord when I am overwhelmed.
It happened in an instant. I didn’t see it coming. It hit me hard. To be overwhelm is to overcome completely in mind or feeling. To be overtaken is for that thing to actually catch up with us. There is a difference. We must identify those things that tend to overwhelm us and deal harshly with them to protect our heart and soul. When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Lead me to THE rock. Jesus is THE rock. He is the rock or cornerstone of one’s salvation. Lead me to THE rock that IS higher than I. Sometimes if we can just step up on something higher than we can see a little more or a little farther.

 

2 Corinthians 10:4-6 (NKJV)

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, and being ready to punish all disobedience when your obedience is fulfilled.

 

We are equipped in warfare for pulling down strongholds. Casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against what – the Knowledge of God. Thoughts and feelings. As Joyce Meyer has identified clearly the battlefield is our mind. What we think and know about Christ makes all the difference in our success and failure pursuing the Lord. Carnal means flesh. It is merely human. The mind is powerful in our pursuit of Christ. To know Him and make Him known relies on one’s complete conviction and utter commitment to the Truth and Word of God whose Name is Jesus. Jesus is the Word of God wrapped in flesh to live among us.

 

I must bring every thought into captivity and obedience to Christ in order to escape becoming overwhelmed and quickly overtaken. The enemy is subtle in his approach. He is powerless against God’s People and cannot use force. He must simply offer a lie. We choose whether or not we accept it or allow it to permeate our thoughts, consume our mind and infect our heart.

 

Psalm 55:3-5 (NKJV)

Because of the voice of the enemy, because of the oppression of the wicked; for they bring down trouble upon me, and in wrath they hate me. My heart is severely pained within me, and the terrors of death have fallen upon me. Fearfulness and trembling have come upon me, and horror has overwhelmed me.

 

Because the voice of the enemy…the enemy is constantly offering God’s People shortcuts, substitutions, options, and lies. Baiting God’s People with so-called truth that is nothing more than a bold faced lie. Fear causes us to become overwhelmed. Fear is created by a lack of knowledge of the Truth that makes a lie seem possible and probable in our life. Even those who live in love with Jesus bound to His Truth must work diligently to keep ahead of the enemy and his agenda. What is the voice of the enemy telling you today? Jesus said that His Sheep know His Voice. We know His Voice by listening to Him speak, reading His Word, meditating on it, studying it and allowing the Holy Spirit to write it on our hearts. We must know who is talking to us to know how to rightfully respond.

 

Psalm 143:3-4 (NKJV)

For the enemy has persecuted my soul; he has crushed my life to the ground; He has made me dwell in darkness, like those who have long been dead. Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; my heart within me is distressed.

 

Fear is a head game that overwhelms our heart and mind. It tells us things that are contrary to God’s Word, Will and Way yet appeals to our base nature and commanding flesh. Hence why it is important to crucify our flesh daily dragging it to the Cross and into submission. I Peter 5:8 tells us to “be sober and be vigilant.” Sober means to be habitually temperate or self-restrained. Discipline is absolutely necessary to maintain a solid connection to Christ. The Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness and produces self-control in us which aids in our sobriety. To be vigilant means to be keenly watchful and to keenly detect danger. Why? Because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Your enemy is seeking those who he “MAY” devour. It is not a can or will here but may. The enemy is looking for an access point in your thoughts, ideas and feelings to come in and offer you fear rather than faith or hope. When you take that thought or idea and wrap it up in feelings, suddenly you find a heavy oppressive weight of bondage. Once inside our mind, it wreaks havoc on our thoughts producing in our mind things that are contrary to God’s Word that we allow to come into our heart until we are overwhelmed and not it begins to chip away at our heart.

 

John 12:35-36 (NKJV)

Then Jesus said to them, “A little while longer the light is with you. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you; he who walks in darkness does not know where he is going. While you have the light, believe in the light, that you may become sons of light.” These things Jesus spoke, and departed, and was hidden from them.

 

The same thing you see in the light exist in the dark. The only difference is when there is light you can see and avoid certain things. I, for one, am not a proponent of those things that go bump in the night. I do not like the things that swim under my legs and around my feet in the ocean either just to keep the record straight. We are Children of the Light. (Ephesians 5:8) Jesus is the Light of the world who promised that those who follow Him will never walk in darkness again. (John 8:12) We are to be the Light of the world. (Matthew 5:14) So therefore, the darkness cannot overtake us (I Thessalonians 5:3-4) but it can overwhelm us if we are not careful.

 

Psalm 91:1-9 (NKJV)

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the perilous pestilence. He shall cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler. You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, nor of the arrow that flies by day, nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness, nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday. A thousand may fall at your side, and ten thousand at your right hand; but it shall not come near you. Only with your eyes shall you look, and see the reward of the wicked. Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, even the Most High, your dwelling place…

 

Those who dwell in the secret place of the Most High will live in the shadow of the Almighty. When we decide to trust the Lord rather than listen to the lie of the enemy – it is a truthful response. It is not always an easy one. It means moving just above how we feel or what we think to stand on His Promise even though we cannot see it. We are fully empowered by God. He has given us weapons to combat the enemy and be victorious. However, we are our own worst enemy sometimes…

 

Perfect love is supposed to cast out all of our fear. (I John 4:18) Why do we still fear? God has not given us the spirit of fear but of a sound mind. (2 Timothy 1:7) Fear is bondage that makes us forget who we are and the power we possess. (Romans 8:15) My children are not afraid of me because they are scared that I will harm them. No, of course not. The respect me as their mom and would not want to cause strife or separation in our relationship by doing things they know are wrong. Now what they believe for themselves and what I believe may be different, the Truth will prevail. Most people will strive for a relationship before being right all the time. But bondage and slavery does not represent any kind of familial relationship at all. God has not given His Children the spirit of fear so when it comes it is to be discredited and disregarded as not from the Father at all. We are given the privilege of living in our Father’s Presence victoriously in His Love. Do not let anyone or anything convince you of something different or the lie will overtake you and you will be overwhelmed. If we do not discard doubt and anxious thoughts, we will soon be overtaken by a senseless worthless lie. It’s all a head game created by the enemy to convince us that God is not a good father and does not love us at all.

 

I John 3:19-21 (NKJV)

And by this we know that we are of the truth, and shall assure our hearts before Him. For if our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and knows all things. Beloved, if our heart does not condemn us, we have confidence toward God.

 

Jesus tells us that if we know the Truth that it will set us free. Jesus is the Word of God. We must know Jesus. Not of Him, but know who He is and allow Him to be that to us right here and now. It matters how we live. The life we live represents our belief system and moral values. To live in depression, anxiety and despair is evidence of hopelessness rather than the hope that doesn’t disappoint. God is greater than how we feel. God’s Purpose in us is much larger than we are and takes us higher than we are comfortable going. If we take a moment even a second to glance down, we are in danger of being overtaken because we become overwhelmed.

 

Many years ago, my husband and I went on a vacation. We went parasailing. They pulled us behind a boat with a large balloon attached. Soon we were high above the water and could see for miles and miles. It was breathtakingly beautiful. Then the boat slowed down as we began our descent. Fear overtook me instantly as I saw the deep blue sea and realized that once I hit the water for several minutes I would be helpless in the ocean until the boat could circle around to get us.  I don’t like the ocean. I have seen Jaws one too many times. It wasn’t what I could see that frightened me but what I could not see. Following Jesus with our eyes firmly fixed on the Lord, we go higher, farther, deeper and even wider in His Love until the moment that we look down, ahead, behind or all around and begin to see the “reality” of things. It sucks the life and hope right out and we become overwhelmed by worry, fear and anxiety as if the Lord somehow lost control. The quick remedy is to turn your face, heart and mind back to Jesus. We can only win the head games of life if we know the God we serve and love. We must study and mediate on God’s Word so when the enemy twists and turns into a lie – we immediately know because we know God’s Voice.

 

Are you overwhelmed today? God is greater than your feelings, emotions, and circumstance. Are you afraid? Dive deeper in His Love today and your fear will dissipate. Step into His Presence if the enemy has you on the run. Your God is greater and stronger, He will take care of it. Ask the Lord and He will give you His Mind. The peace that comes with it is far from understanding and will guard your heart forever. Amen.

 

I John 4:18 (NKJV)

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.

 

I Corinthians 2:16 (NKJV)

For “who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?” But we have the mind of Christ.

Leave a Reply

