It Belongs to Me

It Belongs to Me

Psalm 16:5-8 (NKJV)

O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You maintain my lot. The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Yes, I have a good inheritance. I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; my heart also instructs me in the night seasons. I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.

 

My husband has decided that he would like a pair of cowboy boots. I am not sure why he would like a pair, but he has been looking in stores and online for the perfect pair. On a whim, we loaded up the girls and went to a store that specialized in boots, jeans and other “country” type items. I am from the South but have never been quite that Southern if you know what I mean. I say, “Hey y’all” and love sweet tea but that is about the extent of it. Walking into the store, I left my wallet in the car certain there was nothing that would appeal to me. I was wrong. On one wall of home décor, there was a section of nothing but crosses. A particularly worn one caught my eye over its rugged appearance was a piece of metal with the words, “Amazing Grace” burned into it. It spoke to me. I turned to show my daughter but she had moved on to another part of the store where something had caught her eye as well. Looking around the store, it was clear everyone had found something that appealed to them. Isn’t funny how that works out in life?

 

The Lord is my inheritance and He is my cup. What does that mean exactly? Jesus is everything that I hope for and He is all that I have. We forget that sometimes. Like my family who all walked in the store together on a mission to find dad a pair of boots, once inside everyone headed off in their own direction. Life keeps us very busy. We get wrapped up in personal pursuits, agendas and endeavors forgetting that this is a temporary place and our situations are not permanent. I love what the psalmist says, “I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.” Where are you today? What are you after? Does it matter? God has a plan for us and a purpose. He not only provides what we need to make it through each day well cared for but promises us an inheritance.

 

Romans 8:14-17 (NKJV)

For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together.

 

As a believer, we have the opportunity to be sons and daughters of God. There is but one requirement. We walk in the Spirit and not according to our flesh. It means that Jesus is not only our Savior, but has been chosen as Lord of our life. Adoption is a choice. Every man and woman makes the choice to be a son or daughter of God. He does not force you to follow the example of His Son, Jesus. In fact, we are free to do what we please every single day of our life. It is completely up to us who we will serve. Make no mistake. You will serve someone. The only limit to the Love of God in my life is my willingness to receive it. He not only designates a portion to provide for my life but an inheritance for me as His Child. He is God here and now. He is the God of my future.

 

Do you live led by the Holy Spirit? This is not a trick question but the only requirement to be called a Child of God. The Holy Spirit promotes oneness with Jesus. He prods us to do the right thing according to God’s Word and His Way. He is the one who prospers the things in us that make us like our Father. It matters how we live. Let me say that again, there is no condemnation in Jesus Christ so it matters how we live. (Romans 8:1) There is therefore…can be misconstrued. It doesn’t say there therefore there is no condemnation in Christ. It says, “There is therefore” no condemnation in Christ. It is only by placing our entire existence in the Lordship of Jesus that we overcome sin completely and obtain righteousness fully. My flesh or human being cannot please God. It is completely and fully contaminated by sin. Unacceptable to a perfect God.

 

Picture this – it is like a costume. When I step into the costume and begin to pull it up over my legs and torso, putting my arms in each side and lift the covering over my head, I assume the identity of the character all around me. People do not see me but the character that I have become. My salvation and adoption is not about me. It is not accomplished by anything I do other than stepping into the character and person of Jesus Christ and covering my life completely in Him. We do this every day if our choice is to live by the Spirit.

 

The best part is this – we become heirs of God and joint heirs with Jesus Christ. Whaaat? Our inheritance in God is the contents of His Kingdom. To be joint heirs with Jesus is to partner with His Authority and Power now and forever more. He becomes our portion now as we are able to bring Heaven to earth and He is our forever as we are more than conquerors. My inheritance belongs to me. My portion is already provided. Say that out loud. Let your body, mind and spirit soak it in. I am a Child of God. My inheritance belongs to me. I have been provided a portion that fulfills every need.

 

Romans 8:28-30 (NKJV)

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified.

 

Romans 3:21-24 tells us that all have sinned and fallen short of what? God’s Glorious Standard of Living. It is the lie of the enemy that tells people that to live for Jesus Christ is restrictive in nature. It limits our flesh but not our spirit. In fact, to take control of our flesh allows us to flourish in the Kingdom of God. The more of our life surrendered to the Lord the less our limitation. This is how we know…this is how I know that all things work together for my good because I love God and I am called according to His Purpose. It is in this thing called confident hope that I find a better and more satisfying life. I know it is not logical. It is not realistic. It may seem a bit irrational. All I know is that it is true.

 

Romans 8:31-33 (NKJV)

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things? Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.

 

This verse reminds me of when the Lord asks Elijah, “What are you doing here?” Similar to when He asked Adam, “Who told you that?” The lie of the enemy is fierce opposition because we see what He is saying even though it contradicts what we know about God. Faith in Jesus Christ absolutely has to go beyond our natural emotions and human feelings. It must go against our gut sometimes to take hold of hope refusing to let go. The Lord told Abraham to leave his natural inheritance into another land, Abraham trusted the Lord so he did. (Hebrews 11:8-10) This would be the first step of faith that would one day make him the father of many nations and a true friend of God. It would be his righteousness that his faith in God did not waver. Nothing in God’s Kingdom or God’s Heart changed when you decided not to trust Him anymore or hope seemed too farfetched to take hold of. Not a single ounce of your inheritance went missing and your cup did not run dry. You moved. You turned your cup over and said, “No thank-you.” Just like in a restaurant, the whole operation did not close down and the coffee pot did not get shut off because you decided you didn’t want anything. The moment we open our heart and mind to Jesus and allow ourselves to be led by His Spirit again – the windows of Heaven fly open and its contents come pouring out.

 

Colossians 3:23-24 (NKJV)

And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.

 

I want what belongs to me. I want full satisfaction on the earth. I want every blessing hidden in Heaven awaiting my arrival. I want it all. My pursuit of such things will keep me in alignment with Jesus. He is my partner. His Spirit gives me strength and understanding because quite frankly faith makes no sense at all. It defies reality. It calls things that aren’t as though they were which most often we must wait to see. Exceeding greatness is available to those who believe. (Ephesians 1:15-21) But do not be deceived, we are the priesthood of Jesus Christ. Our inheritance is not here but in Heaven. (Numbers 18:22; Deuteronomy 18:1-2) The Lord promises to be our portion and full satisfaction instead. Our inheritance will last forever. (Psalm 37:18-19) It is worth having. It requires my life.

 

Ephesians 3:14-21 (NKJV)

For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height—to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

 

Someone told me just yesterday that they wanted to know what their inheritance was as a Child of God. There was no hidden meaning or Christian jargon in the statement but the look in her eyes cleared of a child in pursuit of her Father’s Love. Do you know that you are God’s Heir today? Have you realized that as a Joint-Heir with Jesus Christ? You have the power and authority to change your living conditions effective immediately in Jesus Name. Sometimes we forget. Sometimes it is a lack of understanding. Most of the time it just doesn’t make any sense. But in those moments that we move just a little bit closer to the edge of our faith peering beyond into the realm of hope that we discover it just gets better. So much so that we forget that which once kept us bound because we must have more. Today’s revelation is not a new one – but rather a work in progress in our life. As we learn to live in Christ – life gets better. Not because I do not do what I used to do, say what I used to say, or choose the choices I used to. It is all because of who I am. I am a Child of God.

 

It is simply in our understanding of who we are and who lives in us that we are able to move past today and persevere until tomorrow knowing new mercy will reach us and that the Lord is working everything out for my good. I am filled with His Portion. I have an inheritance. It is mine. I want it. I am willing to lay down my life to have it. Our understanding must not be limited by logic or restricted by reasoning, we must never keep ourselves bound by reality but become fully released into the realm of hope. I have found that I do not like to go there and sometimes need a little push. Thank you God. Thank you Holy Spirit for enabling me to experience all the blessings of being a Child of God!

 

Whatever that thing is that seems too important to let go, just go ahead and do it. The problem that has reached epic Philistine proportions – it’s going down. Just lift your hands to Heaven today and say, “I am a Child of God! Whatever He has for me I want it.  I will lay my life down to have it.” Now do what you said!

 

I Peter 1:3-5 (NKJV)

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His abundant mercy has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible and undefiled and that does not fade away, reserved in heaven for you, who are kept by the power of God through faith for salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

Leave a Reply

