Come Boldly

come boldly

Hebrews 4:15-16 (NIV)

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

 

The New Living Translation of this verse says, “So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God.” Come boldly. Boldness is born of confidence. It is to have full assurance of our entitlement that creates an inner drive to claim that which belongs to us. It is a sense of ownership. Such confidence knows no shame as it works toward acquisition. Oh that the church would become bold again. Oh that the men and women of God that fills each sanctuary big or small would come to the Lord with boldness to receive the inheritance that He has designated just for them. Each personal pursuit need not seek after another for in the Lord’s Portion there is always more than enough. He does more than we can even think to ask for, yet we do not ask. Greater is He that is in us then he who is in the world – yet the church cowers in a corner a victim to politics, people and personal agendas. Lord, why are your people so weak and shallow? Why don’t we have more than enough and live in abundance as You desire? Have we lost confidence in You? Did we have it to begin with? Faith is weak and flesh overpowering.

 

The Lord is my portion. He is my lot in life. He makes me secure. (Psalm 15:5-6) He supplies all my needs. (Philippians 4:19) God pushes us to completion for He does not understand compromise. (James 1:4-5) God desires to give us eternal pleasure not fleeting happiness or fuzzy feelings. (Psalm 16:11) He has given everything and every season a proper place in my life that will produce the eternity in my heart as a reality for me. (Ecclesiastes 3) The Lord has given me everything I need by His Divine power to life a godly life and see Heaven come to the earth. (2Peter 1:3) So why is my life less than perfect? Why all the pain? What is my problem? Am I ashamed? Perhaps, it is not a matter of heaven touching earth. Heaven is pressing its windows and doors waiting for release. Could it be that I do not have enough confidence or faith to come boldly before the Lord? Does sin separate me from satisfaction leaving me struggling in substitutions? Does my faith allow the Lord to release all these wonderful things in my life or has fear rejected them? Lord, I want to come boldly. Please show me the way.

 

Lamentations 3:22-26 (NIV)

The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!” The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him. So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord.

 

I have had an epiphany. It came in the midst of the greatest trial of my life. Praying for my son in his hospital room with more than ten infusion pumps beeping as the contents rushed through his veins. Medication, nutrition, and poison all at once into his frail body. As I continued to ask the Lord to save our boy, I felt it as though a cold, hard rock dropped in my heart falling to my stomach. He will die… one day. We all are dying slowing as we live our life. It is God’s Mercy so that we do not have continue to live in dilapidated and deteriorating conditions as our flesh is wasting away. We have blessed release. I do not believe a person who sees Jesus and steps into Eternity to be with Him every thinks twice about coming back. All of this life fades in comparison to His Beauty in that moment for all time. Heaven touches earth but does not change the earth but prepares us for His Kingdom. The Presence of God comes to people not places. This life is preparing us for the moment that we meet Him face-to-face. I want to know that Jesus knows me and invites me into forever with Him.

 

During our son’s illness, my life was completely reprioritized in about 30 seconds. Everything fell off me in that moment and all I knew was that I would fight for his life. Period. End of story. I would find out just what it meant to stand on the Word of God and wait on Him to make it come to pass. But in the meantime, I would learn so much more about God’s Plan for us as people. Your trial may not be the illness of your child. It may be a battle against your flesh. Struggle with depression, anxiety or fear. It could be that you just don’t know what to believe. These are the laments or complaints of life. There is a book called Lamentations. It is there that we find this verse.

 

When we have a need that becomes desperate, we turn to the Lord. When it is just too much for us, we ask the Lord for help. This is not the standard operating procedure that yields God’s Abundance in our life. The Lord is our portion. He makes our part the whole. We are part of the Body of Christ. It is Jesus that connects us to the whole. Do we feel as though it is possible to be completely connected to Christ? If so, we would come boldly. Each morning the Lord supplies us with His Mercy. Why? His Unfailing Love and Compassion for us know that we may slip and fall or even fail miserably so He provides for us ahead of time what we need to keep going. Our relationship does not make Jesus part of our life, but when He becomes our portion than we become part of the whole Body of Christ and Kingdom of Heaven. It is a working connection that completes us not because we have anything to give but He gives us everything.

 

Matthew 15:22-28 (NIV)

A Canaanite woman from that vicinity came to him, crying out, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me! My daughter is demon-possessed and suffering terribly.” Jesus did not answer a word. So his disciples came to him and urged him, “Send her away, for she keeps crying out after us.” He answered, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel.” The woman came and knelt before him. “Lord, help me!” she said. He replied, “It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to the dogs.” “Yes it is, Lord,” she said. “Even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master’s table.” Then Jesus said to her, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed at that moment.

 

Is Jesus copping an attitude… no, not really. The Lord was making a valid point. The woman was a Gentile. She was not a Jew. So his point that day was valid in the natural, but not Jesus’ point of view in the supernatural. He was speaking to us even way back then. The woman came to Jesus and called Him, “O Lord, Son of David.” She recognized that He was the Messiah. She identified with Jesus who He was and what He came to do. Jesus did not acknowledge her, not a word. So the disciples responded to his apparent disregard for her and tried to send her away. Now as a mom who has experienced an agonizing and life-threatening situation with our son, I totally get her next move. I have had to do it, too.

 

“Lord, help me!” See what just happened, her knowledge of who Jesus was became faith the moment it became personal. She called him, “Lord”. She accepted Jesus as her Savior and Lord the moment that she came boldly before Him. She didn’t care what He did next as long as He did something because she believed in Jesus. She trusted him. She would eat the very crumbs beneath His Table if need be, she came boldly for her portion. What did Jesus do? How did He respond to such boldness and confidence? “Dear woman, your faith is great. Your request is granted.” Her daughter was instantly healed.

 

Could Jesus have done it the instance she arrived? Of course. His Unconditional Love would not let her settle for just a healing but rendered salvation the moment she believed. What are you willing to settle for? We settle all the time. Tolerating sin. Accepting substitutions. Considering compromise. Why? We do not have faith. Knowing who Jesus is. Understanding what He can do. It is not enough. When we finally decide that He can AND will do it for us, Jesus becomes our more than our Savior – He becomes our Lord. Now we ignore sin, push past substitutions and will not entertain compromise. We are Children of the King. We don’t settle for crumbs but go straight for the table with confident boldness that our God will do what He says. Or do we…

 

Psalm 138:3 (NIV) When I called, you answered me; you greatly emboldened me.

 

Studying the story of the Canaanite woman, a commentary referred to this passage. “You greatly ‘embolden’ me.” The word “embolden” means to make bolder, more earnest, hearten and encourage. Why would the Lord make the woman continue to beg? That is not what occurred in this story at all. He moved her from the crumbs to the table. He moved her from possible to impossible. He moved her from complacently to complete satisfaction. When Jesus stops becoming a novel idea and the Lord of our life every outcome changes as He works every detail of our life for good according to His Will. See she could have continued to forage and fight for the scraps with the dogs, but when Jesus went from being Lord to becoming her Lord everything changed in her life beginning with the thorn in her flesh that brought weakness to be filled by His Grace.

 

We do not cry out when things go well, but in great distress. We do not petition God in the good times but run to Him when things go badly. In our lack, we seek for Him to meet our need but all along God desires to complete us until we are lacking no good thing. He is attempting to produce an abundance of the fruit of His Spirit so it will overflow from us in to life around us especially other people. If we could only get past our doubt that He is our Lord, we could sit at the feast He prepared before our enemies. Our cups would run over with the blessings of God. Yes, friend, there would be a great revival.

 

The Lord allows us to wait to draw us closer to Him thereby releasing our inheritance and more of our portion that is mandated by God included in His Plan and Purpose for us. It belongs to us. It is waiting on us. Our petition becomes more earnest the more desperate that we become. While we seek Him for a singular segment, Christ desires to give us double portions. When we become confident in who Christ is, make Him our Lord and live for Him only, we will have a completely satisfied life that allows us to seek out others rather than seeking Him for ourselves. Revival comes when His Spirit overflows from us and the four walls of building and captivates a community. How can we boldly share a Savior and Lord who we have not accepted fully for ourselves?

 

Isaiah 61:7 (NIV)

Instead of your shame you will receive a double portion, and instead of disgrace you will rejoice in your inheritance. And so you will inherit a double portion in your land, and everlasting joy will be yours.

 

The Spirit of the Lord is upon us. Jesus gave us His Spirit. We revel in the first three versus of this chapter, but we must move on to the rest. We are to be rebuilders. We must become restorers. We are to renew those lives devastated by generations of sin and coated in shame. How do we do that if we cannot accept it for ourselves first? Our lives should be marked by shameless pursuits of Christ. Coming to His Throne boldly with every facet of our earthly existence that does not line up with His Word while we devote our life to faithful obedience because He is our Lord. It has become personal. It evokes passion. Do you believe? Do you have faith in Jesus as Lord of your life and everything in it? This is how we accept His Portion. He give those who choose to live by faith, hope and love in every season good or bad, feast or famine continually pressing and pushing for the life He promised, the blessings that He gives and fulfillment He offers. No, I don’t deserve it. Jesus gave it to me. I only need to accept Him. When I fully believe that He is my Savior and Lord all these things are added to my life. I can live shamelessly. I do not know disgrace but rejoice in inheritance. I will inherit the double portion when I believe in Christ alone and everlasting joy is mine just knowing Him more. I must come boldly. Obedience is a sign of confidence. We must be bold. Jesus is calling. He is inviting us closer. He is creating an atmosphere for His People to experience revival again. It begins when we decide to come boldly.

 

Matthew 7:7 (NIV)

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”

 

Psalm 73:25-26 (NIV)

Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Leave a Reply

