Well, Shut My Mouth

Well, Shut My Mouth

Shut My Mouth

March 31, 2016

 

Philippians 2:14-16 (NIV)

Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky as you hold firmly to the word of life. And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor in vain. 

 

Do everything without grumbling or arguing so that you may become blameless and pure Children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation. Grumble. Complaining. Arguing. Backbiting. Gossip. All these things are faith stealers and joy killers yet we get sucked in day by day as the dissatisfaction of the surrounding world seeps into our lives, churches, homes and hearts. There are days when I ask the Holy Spirit to put His Hand over my mouth as I feel words not worthy of my salvation and the grace that I have received rising up within me. I was not necessarily born with a filter. I usually speak what is on my mind. It has taken fifty years of growth to mature to the point that most of the time I actually think about my words and the power that they hold before I speak them rather than casting them carelessly around with total disregard. So today…forgive me. The Lord and I are dealing with my words so bear with me. My boast is in the Lord and when my words reflect anything other than the love, faith, hope, joy and peace that I have in Jesus – it is time to find to shut my mouth.

 

Ephesians 4:29-32 (NIV)

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

 

Unwholesome talk. We cannot a lot it. Every single word that we speak releases something in the atmosphere. Every word even whispered is heard by the enemy who knows our heart at that moment because from the abundance of our heart words come tumbling out. Sometimes I think the Holy Spirit intentionally allows us to say what’s on our mind so we can see what He is dealing with. Perhaps then and only then, we can rip out the roots of bitterness, unforgiveness, anxiety, fear and stress that keep us from accomplishing Kingdom Goals and fulfilling God’s Perfect Plan for our redeemed life.

 

Get rid of ALL rage, anger, brawling, slander, and every other form of malice. What about righteous anger? Who are we “allowed” to be mad at? To be angry with someone and sin not is a tall order. Our nature is retaliation but to rid ourselves of all malice means that we must be kind and compassionate applying grace to all human situations and every person that we meet. So who are we going to be mad at now? The enemy. Do you really think the team who wins the Super Bowl, Word Series or Grand Prix gives a second thought to the team who loses or comes in second? No, they are celebrating victory. Celebrating together, praising their sponsors (who in our case is Jesus). They are not concerned with anything except the fact that they won! We win. Jesus overcame the world. Now if we can just overcome our doubt…

 

Complete confidence in Jesus Christ will change our heart and mind, as well as our attitude and actions. But here is the thing that cuts to my core today, religion changes our actions a lot of times but only a relationship with Jesus will change our attitude. As a reminder, we tend to be a hardhearted and stiff-necked generation. No matter how strong and victorious we are living in the Favor of God – there is that one Jezebel that sends us running to the cave like Elijah. No weapon formed against us can prosper. Christ is victorious. I heard a verse in a song say that “He borrowed the tomb for three days.” Our words can build walls around our heart and introduce things to our mind not of God. These things take root and become prisons keeping us from walking fully and freely in the Favor of God that is given to His Children. If the Lord can speak through a donkey and shut the mouths of lions, He can shut my mouth, too.

 

Matthew 15:10-14 (NIV)

Jesus called the crowd to him and said, “Listen and understand. What goes into someone’s mouth does not defile them, but what comes out of their mouth that is what defiles them.” Then the disciples came to him and asked, “Do you know that the Pharisees were offended when they heard this?” He replied, “Every plant that my heavenly Father has not planted will be pulled up by the roots. Leave them; they are blind guides. If the blind lead the blind, both will fall into a pit.”

 

Jesus listens when we speak. He knows our heart condition already yet still listens because each word will be placed before us for accountability. Of course, God looks for Truth. Truth covered in love that is. Isn’t that what He did for us? He took the truth about us and covered it in His Blood and Grace. There are many doctrines and religions that tell us what to do and how to live. However churches are often the breeding ground of contempt. Why? We know better. If our mission in this world is for Heaven to come down and touch the earth sparking a revival and if our goal is true discipleship, there is no place for our opinion. It is all about God’s Love and the Truth – Jesus Christ.

 

Does every single word I speak point to Jesus Christ? Does it turn on an indescribable light that leads others to His Love? As I lay my words on the altar, I am sad to say that not every one of them is worthy of His Name. As I pick through each sacrifice of breath, I realize the very Breath of His Spirit is grieved by some of them and now so am I. I don’t want to be a Pharisee with a mouth that is nothing more than a whitewashed tomb or a cup clean on the outside but filthy on the inside. The Word of God cuts bone from marrow and now in me, too. Bitterness is a root that comes from a seed. The Holy Spirit weeds the heart of the willing but it is done at the sacrifice of pride. To have any root other than Jesus Christ as the foundation of our thoughts at the center of one’s heart and mind is to invite death and devastation. Faith killers, joy stealers, dream crushers, and satisfaction enders are the words left unfiltered by washing them in the Word, inspected by His Spirit and smothered in His Love.

 

James 3:3-6 (NIV)

When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body, sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

 

Proverbs 18:21 tell us that “the tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.” The words released from our mouth have the absolute power to change the atmosphere. It is not in our own understanding or wisdom but each delivery that comes from a heart filled with love and Spirit produced fruit. I have lived most of my life with my foot in my mouth. I have released horrible words that I wish I could take back. I have learned through many trials that what I say can spark a fire of devastating force. Until I have absolute control of my words and are brave enough to measure them up to God’s Standard of Communication with the absence of all malice. His Word for us is Jesus. He came in the flesh and died for my sins so I could live victoriously. Why do I get caught up in this world? Why do I allow ungodly communication to proceed from my mouth? Why? Life is a process. As the Lord uses His Love and Grace to reveal the areas of our heart still under construction. He will forgive me for my rotten fruit not fit for His People. It is up to me if I will produce a good crop.

 

James 3:9-12 (NIV)

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness.  Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers and sisters, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.

 

Today I making a concentrated effort to taste each word before I release it. So many times we credit the enemy for his tactics and skillful attacks that leave us devastated and hurting. We applaud him for ruining our day. We give him kudos for knowing just what to do to push our buttons. Is he really that good? Or was just listening to the words that we were speaking? Did he get a hint in our complaining? Did he find an open door in our grumbling? Did he sneak in through bitterness, unforgiveness or malice planting weeds in the Fruit of our Spirit? The Holy Spirit seals us to the Day of Redemption but we still must master this thing called free will. It is the part of us that chooses to love the Lord in all things rather remaining subject just to do’s and don’ts. Our heart must be so full of Jesus that when anything contrary to His Word, Will or Way comes to mind it is quickly and completely taken captive and our complaints will die in our mouth rather than spreading toxin in our life.

 

When pressure and persecution come, it is our job to respond rather than react. It doesn’t matter what another person says when we stand before the Lord. It will be every word that proceeded from my mouth under careful and complete examination. Grace does not stop the process just allows us to make it through all those times the filter fell off of our mouth and corrupt communication escaped us. (Matthew 12:36) Hence, life and death is in our tongue. Could it be revival has been buried in our words? Is it possible that chronic complaining, backbiting, or gossip has stopped the signs, wonder and miracles of God around us? Totally possible and highly probable. Have we killed the next great move of God in our expressed dissatisfaction in our Lord? Any complaint we have is against the Lord no matter who we think is the cause? Any grumbling rumbles discord through our life as our faith is challenged by our fears? We must shut our mouths and let the Lord filter our words if our desire is that His Kingdom be manifested on the earth.

 

Well, my filter fell off. It did. I repent Lord for saying things not representative of the overwhelming grace that I have been given. My river of life is just a bit salty. Cleanse it in your flow today. Wash every word of mine with the Truth of your word. Cover every uncertainty and complaint with the Blood of Jesus. May each word of mind be tied to God’s Great Love for me and carried to another. May the only fire in my words today that spark revival in my heart and soul to start a blaze for Your Glory around the word. It begins with me, Jesus. My words. My communication. No matter what another person says, let my words be always and only reflective of You – Jesus. Just you. Not me. Take the coal of from the altar today – Lord I ask you to cleanse my tongue so I may be used for Your Glory. Amen.

 

Isaiah 6:5-8 (NIV)

“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.” Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.” Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Leave a Reply

