Whoa

Whoa

Psalm 46:10 (NIV)

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

 

Be still. Know that I am God. What if we could grab hold of these two statements and carry them with us throughout the day, applying them to any and all situations. What would be the result? I have decided that it would be peace. Rest. Calmness. Steadfastness. We would become immovable if we would simply decide to be still knowing that He is God. If you are like me, no matter how calm and tranquil the morning begins in the hours before dawn when the kids and animals are still sleeping, as soon as the day gets going it is off to the races. In the course of each day, hundreds of choices must be made small and large. We are given so many options it is not wonder our heart beats wildly and mind reels in chaotic thought. The enemy thrives in such an emotional environment. If you can picture an adolescent antelope grazing in a plain who is unaware of the pending danger. Inexperienced and young, it has never heard the quiet before the attack. It doesn’t realize all of the mature animals are watching and waiting because they know danger approaches. Before it can catch a breath, the race for its life begins as the stealth lion knows that if he can separate the young one from the herd that he will quickly overtake him. So he waits for that moment when the antelope is not paying attention, or maybe just naïve and unaware to lunge after him. The enemy in our life comes after God’s People the very same way. He watches and waits for an opportunity. He creates many distractions to lure us away. If he can catch us alone, off guard, not paying attention – he will surely overtake us. It happens all the time.

 

We are to be steadfast and immovable in the Lord. To be still and know that He is our God. It is not a play on words but complete and total mindset that forces us to act upon it. It is our only hope of peace in this crazy world that we live in. I want to be still. To be still is to remain in place, at rest and motionless. It means to be free from turbulence or commotion. To be peaceful and undisturbed. No anxiety. No worries. No cares. Just abiding faith and confident trust in the Power of God’s Love to sustain us. There are times when an overactive mind will expose a weakness in our faith that must be swiftly dealt with. As if watching the attack of prey on film, if we could just say, “Whoa!” Stopping the live action long enough to help the inexperienced animal have just one more day. As he runs fueled by adrenaline and fear, we watch feeling helpless and afraid knowing that any moment he will make a wrong turn, trip and fall or run into a dead end losing his life. Today I am telling my heart to whoa, my mind to cease its reeling as well. I must be still. I must know that He is God. I will do it but not on my own.

 

Mark 4:38-40 (NIV)

Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

 

Jesus was sleeping in the stern of the boat as it rocked wildly in the midst of a powerful storm. He was unaffected but not unaware. Jesus knew that He had all power and authority over the elements of nature. He was fully at rest and fully in power all at the same time unlike his disciples whose fear finally overtook their faith so they asked Jesus to intervene. But look what they say to the Lord. They do not ask Him to calm the wind and waves but question his love and care for them. “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown? Notice also the Lord got up and rebuked the wind and waves not his followers. Instead asking them two things. “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

 

Jesus knows our heart and mind. He sees our limitations. He has given us His Spirit to overcome these weaknesses so we are empowered to be steadfast. It is the trials and challenges of this life posed in natural troubles and hardship that force us to examine our faith and prove its authenticity. This is not for God’s Benefit. It is not punishment but discipline as the Lord teaches us the insufficiencies of our faith to offer more grace until we are complete lacking no good thing. The problem is that at the first sign of trouble – most of us abandon ship. We would rather swim through the storm which implies some variation of human control then call on Jesus to calm the wind and waves, waiting for Him to do it, and not moving until He does. Guilty! I am so guilty of this sometimes and I detest this quality in me. What is the driving force in your life today? Is it the wind and waves? Is it the storm? Or is it faith in God and His Word?

 

Psalm 37:7-9 (NIV)

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes. Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret—it leads only to evil. For those who are evil will be destroyed, but those who hope in the Lord will inherit the land.

 

Be still before the Lord. Wait patiently for Him. I almost laugh out loud every time I read this. People say do not pray for patience. Well, if your desire is to follow Christ wholeheartedly – His Spirit will work to produce patience in you whether you pray for it or not. (Galatians 5:2) He will toil the rocky, hard ground of our heart until fertile soil is found, and then the Spirit works that place until patience rise up. Hope cannot be seen or obtained naturally so of course, it will require patience.

 

Stillness would be less difficult if we didn’t have to deal with people all the time. Living with blinders on is not an option, if we want to serve others we must be observant and aware. It all comes to down to patience. Discipline. Commitment. Obedience. We must be willing to trust the Lord and wait on Him if the whole world passes us by. We will catch up. Those who endure until the end will be saved. Patience is produced in waiting.

 

Psalm 130:5-6 (NIV)

I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. I wait for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.

 

I have to chuckle as I write about waiting today. It is the bane of my existence. The Lord makes me wait constantly and on purpose. It is a difficult process that will yield powerful results but it is painful. I remember as a child into my teenage years, my sweet grandmother telling me all the time that I was not patient. “Lori, you must learn to be patient.” Well Gram, I am finally getting there as I near the big 5-0. I can now do those things that she once told me required patience. Patience is a process. We are not born with them but rather a selfish need for immediate gratification.

 

Today I am reminded that I must wait for the Lord with my “whole being”. Body, mind and spirit must live in agreement with God’s Word and in cooperation with His Holy Spirit in order to wait as the watchmen for the morning. They will not leave their post until the sun rises. They keep their eyes fixed on the horizon waiting for the sun, while watching for the enemy. We will only wait and watch expectantly if we believe wholeheartedly that the Lord will come to us. (Psalm 5:3) Lord, create in me a clean heart and renew a steadfast spirit that will wait until You come. (Psalm 51:10)

 

I Peter 5:8-11 (NIV)

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.

 

I know what you are thinking right now. I must be strong. I must stand tall. I must fight the enemy so that he will flee. I often have the same thoughts, too. But this is not the case at all for believers. We must just be still and wait on the Lord because He fights for us. (Exodus 14:13-14) Too many times we fight battles that are already won because our faith is not large enough to consider a Savior who is always victorious. Our mind will not accept a priceless battle or effortless war. We do not battle with flesh and blood but principalities and darkness. We are saved because through the Love and Blood of Jesus Christ we live in the undeserved privilege of righteousness again. No weapon formed against us will prosper. The righteous will not be shaken by fear for they trust in their Refuge and Strength – not in themselves. (Psalm 112:6-8) Though the whole earth shakes, we are bound securely by God’s Love and therefore untouchable if we remain there. (Isaiah 54:10) God will not allow the righteous to be shaken or removed from His Love, His Presence or His Body. (Psalm 55:22) If it happens, we bear responsibility. It is a lack of trust. A lack of faith. A lack of confidence in the Lord and His Ability to keep and care for us that leads us from His Presence to pursue lesser things. Jesus wants to make us strong, firm and steadfast again. I want to be strong, firm and steadfast, too.

 

Hebrews 12:26-29 (NIV)

At that time his voice shook the earth, but now he has promised, “Once more I will shake not only the earth but also the heavens.” The words “once more” indicate the removing of what can be shaken—that is, created things—so that what cannot be shaken may remain. Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.”

 

What if this shaking and shifting that is causing us to examine our faith and recommit our trust to Jesus is not really the enemy rattling our cages, but the Lord once more shaking the earth? What if it is not a test but final preparations for His Return? Too many times we give the enemy way more credit than he deserves by assuming he has some power and authority over us. He doesn’t. The God of Peace will crush satan. (Romans 16:20) For a believer to have strong faith and confident hope produced by learning to patiently, steadfastly, and persistently wait on the Lord until His Word comes to pass – they will live in the Peace of God forever. God’s Peace is like no other. It is not logical but always faithful. It is not something the world will ever understand because it is not of this world. You will not find it in this temporary place called earth but it is transferred from God’s Kingdom and imparted supernaturally to His People.

 

John 14:26-27 (NIV)

But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

 

When Jesus ascended to Heaven, He left a gift behind for me. It is called the Holy Spirit. He is my Advocate. He knows my weakness of heart and mind working to resolve it each day so faith and hope may abound in my life and peace right along with it. On those days when I think about giving up or quitting, He encourages me. On the days that I become prideful, He instructs me. On the days I choose my way, He guides me back to God’s Way. Jesus gave me peace. It is up to me to maintain it in my life. I am the protector of my own peace. I must feed it the Word of God. (John 16:33) I must be obedient. (Romans 8:6) Jesus is my peace. As long as I strive to live and abide in His Love, I will have perfect peace. (Ephesians 2:13-17) Peace is accomplished by remaining still and steadfast trusting, believing and obeying the Lord and taking God at His Word. Our feelings and emotions don’t really matter for they are changing all the time. Jesus gives us victory if we are willing to wait for it. Stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always giving ourselves to the Work of the Lord. This is a place of peace. This is where I learn to be still. This is when I will know that He is God. (I Corinthians 15:57-58)

 

Philippians 4:6-9 (NIV)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

 

Like wild horses, we must learn to rein in our rebellious thoughts and wayward thinking. We are to be anxious for nothing. Tell the truth. You are worried about something, aren’t you? You are concerned. Lets’ be real. There is something compromising your peace today. I am right there with you but it doesn’t have to be that way. Don’t tell me you are a worrier because I know that you are really a warrior of Christ. One thing that I have learned over the last five decades of life, waiting is inevitable. Patience and persistence pays off. When you apply it to faith and confident hope, it will become the anchor for our soul that keeps us from drifting or wavering from His Promises. (Hebrews 6:18-20) The enemy is working hard to shake your faith and confidence in the Lord. We must pay attention. The Peace of God always seems a bit crazy and insane because we cannot understand it. We know where it comes from but when it overtakes us – the impact is crazy. The Lord has given me peace. In the stillness of waiting on the Lord, there may be many storms and attacks but if I strive to remain faithful in all things His Peace will soon overtake me. I have been given the opportunity of righteousness or right-standing with God if I choose to live in it. It is this profound privilege that affords us to be still and know that He is God. He is Good. He is relentless working on our behalf to make good from every detail of our life. His Love is unfailing. His Goodness is constantly pursuing me. I must only wait and watch for it to catch up. Whoa today my fellow believer! Stop trying to make things happen and let God be God again. Don’t buck the waiting but embrace it as fulfillment comes to you. Patience always pays off greater dividends than our investment. Be still today in all things. Have faith. God is with us. He is for us. He will never let the righteous be shaken much less fall.

 

Psalm 112:6-8 (NIV)

Surely the righteous will never be shaken; they will be remembered forever. They will have no fear of bad news; their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the Lord. Their hearts are secure, they will have no fear; in the end they will look in triumph on their foes.

 

Leave a Reply

