Do All

Do All

Colossians 3:16-17 (NKJV)

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

“Do all in the Name of the Lord Jesus…” I woke up with the Name of Jesus on my mind. It was so simple yet like a mighty wave it just kept washing over me. After a restless night of sleep, wondering if it was something I ate or the spirit stirring inside of me. I guess today will tell. We do many things in the course of the day. Sometime so routine or scheduled that it is hard to even recall or remember certain attitudes or actions. Our expressions set and intentions secure, there are certain times when our body goes on autopilot until monotony sets in. When we get tired of the same old, same old in our discontentment that is when we seek a change. The eternity in our heart calls out for more than the mundane and ordinary life. We were created by God the Father to live from victory to victory revealing His Glory over and over again throughout the course of our life. Sin robbed us of an extraordinary life. It stole supernatural living right out from under us in a treacherous exchange. People thought they were getting more out of life and they did. Labor, toil and burden – not exactly what we were after. Like Esau, exchanging our birthright for a single meal to satisfy a natural desire forsaking the future for just one lie. Now what?

 

Jesus. It is the Name of Jesus Christ alone that empowers our life, if only we believe that He alone has the power to save, heal and deliver us from sin. It is the little word “believe” that causes such a problem. Our perception of Jesus starts as a notion but cannot stay just a thought. It must grow, develop and mature to full-grown belief before it can do anything in our life. Until we establish our entire existence on faith, hope and love found in the Name of Jesus and “do all” in His Name – things will never be different. We cannot find fulfillment, satisfaction, contentment, peace and pure joy until we believe in His Name and seek to apply it to our life wholeheartedly. Not everyone feels this need and desire, perhaps life has been good to them, the darkness is too deep, or even fear of further disappointment keeps them from seeking the unseen God and keeping the familiar in place. Could it be that as Christians, we bear part of the blame? Have we misrepresented the Name of Jesus by using it without power because we do not really believe? Or promising something other than what the Word of God provides? Is it me, Lord?

Philippians 2:5-11 (NKJV)

Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

“Let this mind be in you” that was in Jesus. What is that mindset exactly? He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death. Let’s come back to that in a minute and move ahead for a moment. We know the end from the beginning. When we stand before God after this life is over, every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. You don’t have to believe it. You don’t have to like it. You don’t even have to think about it. Truthfully, you don’t even have to know the Truth to be held to it. One day – every single living breathing soul will kneel before the Lord. As one who claims to be a Christian, a believer if you will, this idea must create an urgency within me to proclaim the Name of Jesus so that those who are with me on that day will have the opportunity to remain there forever. It matters what you believe on that day. It is important that they know the Name of Jesus beforehand and call on Him to be Savior and Lord. What am I doing about that? Am I doing everything in life according to my faith and hope in the Name of Jesus? It matters. His Power evident in my life has a purpose. Not to improve my life but to change the heart and mind of the watching world. I must do all in His Name.

“Let this mind be in you.” Can we tiptoe back a little? I know this is very uncomfortable. Obedience always is. To obey means to surrender our way for another. It is to follow the lead of someone else. It defies human nature and calls for rebellion in our mind. Add to the ante that Jesus led a life of obedience “even to the point of death”. None of us have given our life in the battle against sin. We have so much more to offer the Lord to do all in His Name.

2 Thessalonians 1:11-12 (NKJV)

Therefore we also pray always for you that our God would count you worthy of this calling, and fulfill all the good pleasure of His goodness and the work of faith with power, that the name of our Lord Jesus Christ may be glorified in you, and you in Him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Is the Name of our Lord Jesus Christ glorified in all I do? This is the question that I asked me today. It is not a call of condemnation against anyone. I am simply asking the Lord to reveal to me any way that I do not use my life to His Glory so that I can repent and facilitate change in that area. Why? There are not enough or adequate words to express what Jesus has done for me. I have tried to do things for Him. Given Him bits and pieces of my life in exchange for His Goodness, but something has changed in my heart and mind creating a desire and drive to give Him my all. It comes with a warning though. This may not be for everyone. I pray it is for you.

Acts 2:38-39 (NKJV)

Then Peter said to them, “Repent, and let every one of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is to you and to your children, and to all who are afar off, as many as the Lord our God will call.”

Salvation is offered to all mankind and many will accept. Lordship is also offered in the same package but not as readily taken. We want God’s Grace but give up God’s Best for the lie that there is something in this life that we may miss out on. ”But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name: who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.” (John 1:12-13) We are given this beautiful honor and blessing to become Children of God. What a wonderful opportunity freely given and fully accepted in salvation and true repentance! Now what? The hard part. It is time for change.

When the Name of Jesus is effectively applied to our whole life it promotes change on every level. Our comfort zone is immediately compromised. As sin surfaces, it must be dealt with. The deeper the room the greater the pain in removal but also the freedom found in the release makes it all worth the process. The Name of Jesus applied and used in our everyday life will precipitate controversy. (Acts 4:18-21) The disciples were beaten, abused, imprisoned, hated and persecuted just for using His Name. The world is becoming more and more like that again. People around the world are dying, including right here in the United States, for using the Name of Jesus, calling themselves Christians, and living what they believe. (Acts 16:17-19) The spirit realm is stirred up at the mention of His Name and our natural lives disturbed just by their movement. Oh you don’t believe in evil spirits or perhaps since you don’t believe in God or Jesus, you think that the devil doesn’t exist either. Please understand that there is a spirit realm at war all around us. If you do not want to be subject to it, it would be a really good idea to call on the Name of Jesus and cover your family, friends and self in His Blood. I didn’t believe either even after I was saved…until I started applying the Name of Jesus to my life and they quickly came calling.

Not only will it cause conflict around us, the Name of Jesus will cause controversy in our life when obeyed completely. Think about Joseph. I can tell you right now that if I had come to my husband before we were married and told him that God made me pregnant, he would not have stuck around. First, he would not have believed me and second, he would have been certain I was nuts. Well… The Lord came to Joseph and spoke to Him directly calling Jesus by Name. (Matthew 1:20-25) Joseph stayed with Mary because of it. But I am in no way persuaded to believe that it made their life among people any easier especially in the religious order of the day.

The Name of Jesus will cause change, conflict and controversy in our life. However, one thing that it will always do is bring this whole thing back together. The Name of Jesus will complete the church creating the Body of Christ that He is coming back for.

Mark 9:38-41 (NKJV)

Now John answered Him, saying, “Teacher, we saw someone who does not follow us casting out demons in Your name, and we forbade him because he does not follow us.” But Jesus said, “Do not forbid him, for no one who works a miracle in My name can soon afterward speak evil of Me. For he who is not against us is on our side. For whoever gives you a cup of water to drink in My name, because you belong to Christ, assuredly, I say to you, he will by no means lose his reward.

I believe that this is a message to the church today. I am convinced that the Lord is issuing a strong warning to the men and women who call themselves Christians attempting to live what they believe. We have got to get this thing together folks. Jesus is coming back. What will He find? A body that is broken into many pieces based on religion or one that is bonded together in love and unity with one mind and one heart. Sadly, I think we all know the answer. Men left their jobs, livelihood, families, friends and even religion to follow Jesus. (Matthew 9:9) The Name of Jesus has great influence and power in the natural and supernatural realm. There is power in the Name of Jesus when backed by faith and true belief. The Lord isn’t going to ask us what our religion was but God will know our relationship to His Son instantly. Do we know His Name? Do we honor it? Do we use it to His Glory every day? It is important that we stop tearing each other part in the Name of Jesus which is not at all His Will, Word or Way and begin to bond the Body of Christ together again by making certain we do all in the Name of Jesus every day in every possible way.

Acts 3:1-9 (NKJV)

Now Peter and John went up together to the temple at the hour of prayer, the ninth hour. And a certain man lame from his mother’s womb was carried, whom they laid daily at the gate of the temple which is called Beautiful, to ask alms from those who entered the temple; who, seeing Peter and John about to go into the temple, asked for alms. And fixing his eyes on him, with John, Peter said, “Look at us.” So he gave them his attention, expecting to receive something from them. Then Peter said, “Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.” And he took him by the right hand and lifted him up, and immediately his feet and ankle bones received strength. So he, leaping up, stood and walked and entered the temple with them—walking, leaping, and praising God. And all the people saw him walking and praising God.

Peter and John were just headed to church like so many of us do on any given Sunday. They passed by a man asking for handouts. He was crippled since birth so his lifestyle was maintained by begging of those headed to the Temple. Peter said, “Look at us.” Does my faith in God draw the attention of those in need? Does it appear that I have anything at all to offer? I have the same power in me that raised Jesus from the dead! It is said that my faith can move mountains in the tiniest form. I have something to offer… but am I giving it? “Silver and gold I do not have but what I do have I give you – In the Name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk.” Now two things happened right here – the Name of Jesus was offered in faith and received the same way.

Do I offer the hurting, sick and dying the Name of Jesus every day? Do I do all in my life to present the Gospel in living color? I certainly have not given my all unto death to accomplish my mission to share God’s Love with this world. If only today, I would begin with every attitude and action that I have. Others will see Him in me and desire it from me. Will I give it? Will I endure the messy lives of others to get the message of His Grace, Mercy and Love across to them? Will I call on the Name of Jesus to see them saved, healed and delivered from ALL things? Like so many other religious patrons, will I walk right past them to get to church? Or will I take the time to stop my busy life to say, “In the Name of Jesus, get up and walk! I have the same power in me than Peter and John did that day but it is easier to give money than time. I am just as guilty as the next guy or girl choosing service inside of the church rather than using it everywhere that I go. I have a mission today. To do all in the Name of Jesus and it is completely up to me in the freedom I am given if I will use it or just walk by! Do all! That is my goal in all things today! To do all in the Name of Jesus Christ! Lord, today in my meager existence be glorified!

Isaiah 61:1-3 (NKJV)

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon Me, because the Lord has anointed Me to preach good tidings to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn, to console those who mourn in Zion, to give them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they may be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.”

Leave a Reply

