Completely Content

Completely Content

2 Peter 1:2-4 (NKJV)

Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord, as His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue, by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises…

 

Today our flight is scheduled and bags packed. The overflowing room service tray sits in the hall marking our last breakfast in this beautiful place. The sun is shining through the balcony doors as the palms sway in the gentle breeze off the ocean just steps away. It is beautiful here. We have enjoyed a wonderful time of rest. No excursions or tours just relaxation together with my very best friend. It is storming at home. The kids are ready for mom and dad. The mound of laundry is quite huge. The journey home is always fun with customs and airport security but it is worth it as I am ready to be home. Many mourn returning to regular life. I love my life. The Lord has blessed me with a soul mate and many healthy children. I have a great job that promotes family first with great flexibility. We have a nice home. We live a blessed life. Yet to many it may seem ordinary if you look only at the exterior of it, the things you can see. It is a state of mind and heart that have given us this gift of contentment. Grace and peace are definitely multiplied when it is discovered, valued and persevered. It is the Knowledge of God’s Love, Faithfulness and Goodness that covers me in His Grace and affords me completeness in an imperfect world.

 

The Lord in His Divine Power handed us all the things that pertain to life when He gave us the Keys to His Kingdom. Faith unlocks the door to the things that make us content rather those that drive greed and dissatisfaction. When you discover the feeling of contentment and satisfaction, it prospers our soul that outside of Jesus there is nothing, absolutely nothing, we need to feel complete, whole and victorious.

 

Today I am completely content. The only thing that I desire in this life is a closer walk with the Lord securing my footing by faith in godliness. It is godliness that produces contentment in our life. To live each day in His Presence, seeking His Face, longing just to know Him a little more, go a little deeper and follow closer than ever before. It seems cliché and old-fashioned until you try it and then you are hooked.

 

I Timothy 6:6-8 (NKJV)

Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content.

 

Contentment allows thankfulness to grow in our life. We cannot and will not be thankful if we rely on the things of this world. If you go to the cellphone store and buy the latest model, I promise you that in six months there will be a new and better one on the market. If you buy a car, a new and sleeker model will be out in the coming year. This world does not thrive on contentment but survives on supply and demand. Discontentment is fed to us in the media constantly to push consumerism. I found the best way to stay true to a budget is to stop visiting the mall or going to the store to window shop. If I have nothing I need, I find something else to do with my time.

 

If you desire contentment, it is pursued in god-like-ness which tells us that we have all that we need in Jesus Christ. He supplies everything we need. He gives us His Very Best if we keep that place open in our life. Too often settling for substitutions and compromising contentment for immediate gratification, we never experience true satisfaction because we put something less in its place.

 

Philippians 4:11-13 (NKJV)

Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

 

Going back to the Garden of Eden, it is clear that discontentment has been a problem from the start. Given everything and more, mankind chose something other than paradise. Disobedience and sin will always cause dissatisfaction in our life because it is not the kind of life that we are created for. Our life is found in the Creator. He knows everything we need and does exceedingly and abundantly more than we can even think to ask for. Yet, a lack of trust and need for our own way has created generations with a sense of entitlement but laziness in the pursuit. God has promised us contentment. It is found in godliness. Not in more, better or different, but God alone. We access it through His Son Jesus Christ. He is the Way, Truth and Life. Our life is filled with many precious promises forsaken for the things of this world. Yet continually the Lord is offering us that which brings complete contentment and total satisfaction. No matter what the state of your life, God is attempting to make good on every detail. The enemy has come to steal, kill and destroy. Doubt, fear, and discontentment open the door to allow such plundering and pillage in our life. What will you do to close the windows and bar the door to your heart and mind today?

 

Hebrews 13:5-6 (NKJV)

Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we may boldly say: “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?”

 

So maybe you are saying today, you don’t understand! I don’t want anything. I want somebody. Somebody to love me, care for me, show me affection, meet my need, or partner in my life. People will never bring us contentment or full satisfaction. People are not perfect. They mess up. They make mistakes. They are not God unless we make them a god in our life. The One True and Living God is the only One who can ever satisfy our soul, complete us and make us want for nothing more. Marriages fail because Jesus is not the Center of it all. My husband is a great man and father to our children. I love him with my whole heart. He is human. My expectation must be firmly established by faith in Jesus Christ for my expectations of him to be realistic. People are not our provider of anything. Every good thing, every perfect thing, every worthwhile thing comes from the Lord. Have you forgotten today? We all do sometimes. Thank you Jesus for grace that allows us to haul it all to the altar once again.

 

I Timothy 4:8-10 (NKJV)

For bodily exercise profits a little, but godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come. This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance. For to this end we both labor and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of those who believe.

Our life will change for the better when we shift our efforts from making our life better to moving our life into His Presence. This is where we find satisfaction. It took a whole lot for me to realize this and I hope that you will be intrigued enough to try it. Godliness if profitable in all things. It is not to be perfect or pious but genuinely seek the Lord – mind, soul and body. Day after day and moment by moment. You will reap what you sow as the Spirit plants seeds that lead to spiritual productivity that will grow into contentment that will allow you to enjoy this life and not be impacted by it just the same. Godliness with contentment is great gain. I can leave this place called paradise and not feel sadness or loss but elation and joy as I move from glory to glory!

 

Galatians 5:22-23 (NKJV)

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

 

Philippians 4:19-20 (NKJV)

And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Now to our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

