Oh My Soul

Oh My Soul

Psalm 103:1 (NKJV) Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His Holy Name!

Home sick today. I woke up searching God’s Word to remind my body and soul for His Promises on healing and restoration for my ailing self. Nothing traumatic just a good old fashioned virus or cold that has interrupted my week completely. As I began to read through these verses, the word “soul” kept coming up. Lack of sleep makes attentiveness a struggle, so I follow the squirrel sprinting through my mind scurrying around my thoughts. What is my soul? Why is it truly important? God is after my heart right? If I give my heart to Jesus, my soul must follow suit…or does it? This will either be a product of divine revelation OR the heavy doses of cold medicine that I have consumed in the last twenty-four hours.

According to the good old fashioned dictionary, the word soul represents the principle of life, feeling, thought, and action in humans, regarded as a distinct entity separate from the body, and commonly held to be separable in existence from the body. It is the spiritual part of humans as distinct from the physical part. As a whole unit, humans are comprised of body, mind and spirit (or soul). These three conflicting counterparts must come together in each individual and the strongest will win. A person will depend on one of these three things for survival. Some will put all their energy and effort into physical fitness. Working out, eating healthy and doing everything they know how to do to keep their body at optimum performance level in an effort to avoid an untimely death. For some, it will work. They will live long healthy lives…until they die and their soul has no place in Heaven. Likewise, some will rely on philosophy and intellect to live a good life. Do all the right things, treat people well, giving to those in need and become a life conservationist and philanthropist gaining notoriety for the selflessness in life. Never a bad word will be spoken on this person who managed their way through life never offending any one and living in complete humility. Yet on that fateful day when they cross over into the everlasting, there will be no place for them there. Their mind will cease to exist along with will power and self-control. The only thing left when our body and mind fail is our soul. The silent partner in the midst of a crowded person. Longing for release, but often overlooked as people try to navigate life to the best of their own personal ability rather than relying on the Power of God.

Bless the Lord, o my soul, and all that is within me, bless His Holy Name! If we are waiting for our soul to create an uprising and take over our body engaging our mind for salvation sake, it will never happen. Our soul is that piece of eternity hidden in the human heart waiting for release. When we accept Jesus Christ as our Savior, it releases the possibility of forever and our soul gets new life. Answering the higher calling on our life and making Jesus our Lord begins to revive and strengthen our soul because it has new purpose and a new destiny. The rest is up to us. What will we do with our new heart, new life and new soul that is awakening in us? To bless the Lord the way that we are supposed to means to encapsulate our life into one with our soul in control rather than the way we feel or what we think. Physical and emotion feelings give way to spiritual confidence born in our soul as we learn to trust Him more. As faith becomes our foundation, our being is no longer driven by the five senses of our flesh, but rather the confidence now found in our relationship with God through Jesus Christ.

Psalm 103:2-5 (NKJV)

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: who forgives all your iniquities, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from destruction, who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies, who satisfies your mouth with good things, so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

We must remind our soul of the benefits found in Jesus. There are days when our flesh cause a problem and our minds reel out of control. We must still bless the Lord even on those days of discomfort, discombobulation, disappointment and discouragement. This is the very moment that the strength of our soul and its power become evident in our life. When we can smile through opposition and adversity or when we do not succumb to the temporary issue present but remember all the many benefits found in the Lord. We must remind our soul so that it begins to influence the other facets of our being and call them into full subjection to the Power of God and Resurrection Power of Jesus Christ.

Some of the many benefits include the Lord saves us from our sin and all the nasty consequences. He heals our diseases – physically and emotionally. The Lord redeems us giving worth to every situation, circumstance and outcome in our life if we will simply wait on Him. God is always good. Because of Jesus, we can access His Favor in every area of our life as He continually crowns us for righteousness sake with loving kindness and tender mercies day by day. He protects us in the course of every day. Who else promises to satisfy us with only good things? God will only give us His Best. It is compromise when we choose to accept anything less. It is in our relationship with God through His Son, Jesus that we are renewed each day. In our weakness, we gain His Total Strength and Sufficiency. When the world demands us to be strong, no tears, warriors of work yet weary in worry, the Lord says rest in me. Let me take over. These are just some of the many, many benefits found in the Resurrection Power of Jesus Christ invested in those who choose to commit their life to loving Him wholeheartedly with all our soul and strength.

Matthew 11:28-30 (NKJV)

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Come to me all you who labor and are heavy laden. The fight for our soul can leave us just that empty and needing more. Our bodies work hard in life. We labor physically. Our mind reels with all the choices in a single day. Our soul cries out for the Living God but we cannot hear it because the body and mind are demanding our full attention. Our heart trembles inside us on the verge of breaking at the loads of life borne by our humanness. The Lord invites to come and find rest. Yet when we arrive, it is not to surrender our needs, wants and desires but rather to make demands on behalf of our flesh. We pray for what we think will silence our screaming symptoms and quiet our clamoring thoughts. The Lord does not work like that. He responds to those who come ready to surrender all of these things and accept satisfaction for our soul.

We become “unequally yoked” (2 Corinthians 6:14) with the world completely unintentionally. Caught up in the rat race, emotionalism, drama and agenda – it is easy to forget that we are free. Whom the Son sets free is free indeed. (John 8:36) Free to live at ease, find rest, have peace no matter how big the storm, high the mountain or the depth of the valley – the Lord is in control so we bless His Name. It in such a state that our soul will prosper.

Luke 12:13-21 (NKJV)

Then He spoke a parable to them, saying: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded plentifully. And he thought within himself, saying, ‘What shall I do, since I have no room to store my crops?’ So he said, ‘I will do this: I will pull down my barns and build greater, and there I will store all my crops and my goods. And I will say to my soul, “Soul, you have many goods laid up for many years; take your ease; eat, drink, and be merry.”’ But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul will be required of you; then whose will those things be which you have provided?’ “So is he who lays up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.”

Our soul will never be satisfied by natural things, physical demands or mental prowess. The only thing that can satisfy our soul is Jesus Christ. The moment that accountability of our soul is required of us if we do not have a connection to Jesus Christ, it determines ultimate success in life. Just knowing Jesus makes our life better, it is in a thriving and committed relationship that we establish the familial connection allowing us to step from here to Eternity. The truth of the matter is that if we just do what God’s Word says our life outcomes immediately improve. The rich man was prospering naturally and assumed that it meant his soul was prospering, too. But what happened? “This night your soul will be required of you…” His fate sealed in the statement – “will be require of you.” Though there was fruit in his vineyard, his heart and soul were void and empty of spiritual productivity and fruit.

It doesn’t matter how well life may be going or how terrible the times may seem, unless our soul is prospering – the end is very near. We cannot depend on any in this life to carry over into forever except our soul. If we do not invest time, energy and whatever is required to learn to trust and depend on Jesus and love Him more – we are in imminent danger of death. We can read the Word of God daily but like any bag of seeds, it will not grow unless it finds fertile soil. The Spirit leads us but we still must agree in our mind and make our body follow His Guidance. We must focus on our soul. We must remind our soul who is in control. The Power and Authority of Jesus Christ belong to us not to make this life better but to make forever possible.

Hebrews 4:11-13 (NKJV)

Let us therefore be diligent to enter that rest, lest anyone fall according to the same example of disobedience. For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. And there is no creature hidden from His sight, but all things are naked and open to the eyes of Him to whom we must give account.

As my body fights off this cold or nasty virus that I picked up, my soul must also be fed with the Word of God. I know that the Lord is healing my body. Not because I am still not congested, coughing and overall fatigued but simply because His Word says that He heals all my diseases. I believe that so my soul demands my body to fall in line with the Word of God for my life. I know this from experience and wisdom gained from reading the word and then applying it to my life. So this morning when I woke up still sick, I went back to the word to remind my soul that I am a Child of God and sickness cannot live, grow or survive in my body. We must be diligent in our pursuit of rest in Christ evident in our dependency on the Lord.

A co-worker came to work sick and I received this gift from them. We carry certain things with us. We release it into the atmosphere around us. Just as we can pick up ailments from those who are around us, they can also impact our attitudes and actions. We must secure our soul in God’s Word and His Promises every single day so that we are not tempted to “pick up” thoughts, ideas and influences contrary to God’s Will, Way and Word. We make a conscious effort to keep our soul securely grounded by faith in the Word of God and our feet planted in His Path.

The Word of God leads us to His Benefits and His Goodness. (Deuteronomy 10:12-13) It is a chosen pathway never a forced position. His Word converts our soul from natural assumption to spiritual confidence. (Psalm 19:6-8) Psalm 19 also says that His Word causes our heart to rejoice and enlightens our eyes… it doesn’t say everything changes or gets better just that our soul is made well.

Proverbs 19:8 (NKJV)

He who gets wisdom loves his own soul; He who keeps understanding will find good.

Do you love your soul today? God does. He loves every part of you, but your soul is the part that finds its way back to Him. Today I must remind my soul that the Lord is healing me – body, mind and spirit. He is beginning with my soul as I remind myself through His Word all the many benefits that I am offered that have absolutely nothing to do with my natural condition or outward circumstances. I am at rest in Jesus as He prospers my soul today. Reminding me that today is temporary but my soul will live forever with Him. Once again, I make my way to the Cross and surrender all my worries, cares and burdens at His Feet. I am picking up His Peace. I know that His Goodness, Loving Kindness and Mercy are making their way into my life and filling every void that once was there. God is so good to me. Yes, I am not have the best day physically. But my heart is overjoyed at the attentiveness of God as He prospers my soul…once again.

3 John 1:2 (NKJV)

Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers. 

2 thoughts on “Oh My Soul

  1. Thanks so much for today’s devotion, sharing so sweetly even as you experience your physical discomfort. Today is my birthday and your words were a precious reminder to me of God’s overwhelming love for the totality of our beings. Your words and labor of love is much appreciated. Be blessed

    Like

Leave a Reply

