To Achieve Impossible

Hebrews 11:1-3 (NKJV)

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. For by it the elders obtained a good testimony. By faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that the things which are seen were not made of things which are visible.

Here I stand on the edge of faith again. Looking up at the mountain, wondering if I have the faith to move it. Thinking it may be better just to turn back. It is not a matter of life or death so should I truly invest all my time and energy pursing the Promise of God when it is not fatal. God has spoken to my heart so now I have to go to cease the endless what if possibilities held captive in my thoughts. I know the stirring of hope when I feel it. I can see the realm of hope inviting me to come in. I smell the impossible simmering somewhere in the distance causing a hunger to rise up in me and a desire for fulfillment. My flesh quakes inside me not again. Every time this happens my natural belief and body die just a little more as the Resurrection Power of Living God rise within me. God give me the strength to move this mountain. Lord order my steps before I move. Jesus give me your mind in the process. “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders and let me walk upon the water wherever You would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander and my faith will be made stronger in the Presence of My Savior.” (Oceans by Hillsong)

I stopped singing along with the song, Oceans, for a long time. Not interested in the pressure, pain and persistence required to move me from everlasting to everlasting. I was tired. Worn out. Empty. Who would have known that the very moment that I decided that it would immediately lead me straight out of my comfort zone to another test of faith? I should’ve know. God wants His Promises to manifest in my life. He is Good Father. Constantly pursuing us with unfailing love that produces goodness and mercy for each day not just occasionally, the Lord invites us to continue in the process of faith that gives confident hope. Faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of this not seen. Well, I certainly cannot see how this will all come together. Yet I still believe…

Faith begins when we believe in the Sovereign and Almighty Power of the Living God enough to base our entire life on the Word of God. We must begin to invest our life in what we see through spiritual eyes fixed on Jesus even when it is not naturally occurring. To surrender every bit of fear and doubt from our heart, soul and mind to pursue wholeheartedly as He also comes after us wholeheartedly.

Luke 1:37 (NKJV) Nothing is impossible with God.

Matthew 17:20-21 (NKJV)

Then the disciples came to Jesus privately and said, “Why could we not cast it out?” So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you. However, this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting.”

Faith begins by believing that nothing is impossible with God. Note that it does not say that nothing is impossible for God which is absolutely true but the secret to the impossible is to know, understand and live with God fully believing that nothing is impossible if you remain with the Lord God. The disciples walked with Jesus. They witness miracle after miracle. They heard His Teaching. Knew God’s Word. Yet, when it came time to use all of these things to the Glory of God, they could not cast out the demon due to unbelief. Our belief in the Lord, His Intentions for us, His Ability to do that which He promised and bring about exactly what He said that He would do is essential for mountains to move. We must believe to see souls saved, sick healed, captives freed, and revival come as Heaven touches earth once more before the coming of Christ.

Jesus overcame the world. (John 16:33) We can live, breathe, and sleep fully confident and full of good cheer knowing that no weapon formed against us will prosper….if we believe it is true. Though we may know the Word of God, without faith it will not become active in our life. We may be obedient adhering strictly to the guidelines of obedience and submission to God. Without faith, it will only lead to fruitless endeavors. Faith allows us to go past what we know and can see into the Presence of the Living God who promised to withhold no good thing from those who walk uprightly. Righteousness begins by believing in God’s Love and His Son. We accept right standing with God by believing in Him and trusting Him fully.

Mark 9:21-24 (NKJV)

So He asked his father, “How long has this been happening to him?” And he said, “From childhood. And often he has thrown him both into the fire and into the water to destroy him. But if You can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.” Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.” Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”

To achieve the impossible means letting go of reality to embrace the supernatural with both hands, both eyes and your whole heart. When the man asked Jesus to deliver his son, he said, “But if you can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.” Jesus’ plan was to deliver the child and heal him. Dad’s unbelief was evident when he asked the Lord, “But if you can…” How many times do we do the very same thing? God lays a dream in our heart. Places a vision before our eyes. Rather than taking hold of it, running with it, or waiting on it, we stay put in the reality of our natural circumstances focused on the problem begging for hand-me-downs from God feasting on the scraps under His Table rather than taking our seat at the table which Jesus has prepared just for us.

Jesus said, “If you can believe, all things are possible for Him who believes…” Can you believe today? I can. I have chosen to look beyond the natural and lay claim to the Promise the Lord has etched in my mind and placed inside my heart. He has confirmed it many times which reveals my inadequate to believe completely the first time around. With each test and trial of my faith, I find that I can reach a little farther into the realm of hope. I can edge one step closer to completely abandoning my way to His Way. It is worth it every time yet painful in the revelation that despite how far that I go that He will always call me deeper still. Today, I am asking the Lord to help my unbelief. Anything that would keep me from entering the depths of His Love more, any barriers or hindrances in my heart keeping me from fully surrendering, and to give me just a little more faith to achieve the impossible.

Hebrews 6:16-20 (NKJV)

For men indeed swear by the greater, and an oath for confirmation is for them an end of all dispute. Thus God, determining to show more abundantly to the heirs of promise the immutability of His counsel, confirmed it by an oath, that by two immutable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we might have strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold of the hope set before us. This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast, and which enters the Presence behind the veil, where the forerunner has entered for us, even Jesus, having become High Priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek.

God is bound by His Word because it is impossible for Him to lie or change His Mind. Grace will not allow the Lord to take back a single promise for it He could than it would not be sufficient for us. Instead, God places hope before us and encourages us to enter into it by faith. Throughout our natural life, He invites to enter into the supernatural where He takes the ordinary and does extraordinary things. We must believe God at His Word to enter into the realm of hope because it is the birthplace of impossible. Blessed are those you believe without seeing. His Presence permeates the earth. It is evident in natural creation, human reproduction, cycling of seasons and supernaturally it is experienced in communion with the Holy Spirit as we move farther past the veil of reality into the Presence of our King. I want to go there. I want to do the impossible. Only those who are anchored by hope that keeps our soul sure and steadfast believing God as Word no matter how things look or the way that we feel.

 

Hebrews 11:6 (NKJV)

But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. 

Knowing who I am without Christ makes it easier to accept the trials, testing and trouble in my life more so than the triumph that I am promised. I find myself accepting certain things that are less than God’s Best because I do not deserve all that He is doing in my life. I know me. I know how many times that I fail Him. I realize that I am nothing apart from Him. I do not always expect the supernatural outcomes that He promises simply because I know my own heart and mind in all its weakness and wanderings. But God…

Faith is not in myself but that Love and Grace of a Great God who wants to open the windows of Heaven and pour His Goodness into my life for His Glory. It is not about me. He wants to do this for me whether I decide to live by faith and confident hope or not. It is all about Jesus. He desires my heart more than anything else. Faithfulness is wholeheartedness. What do I believe? There you will find my heart. I must believe without a shadow of doubt that without faith I cannot please Him. I must believe that God rewards those who seek, surrender, and submit to His Beautiful Way and Perfect Will no matter how ugly and imperfect things seem right now.

I glanced through the Faith Hall of Fame or Hebrews 11 today. Asking the Lord to help my unbelief, He began to point out His Champions of faith and the example set by each one of them in claiming God’s Promise and obtaining the impossible. Here is what I found:

  • We must submit our life to Christ living in full obedience to His Word, Will and Way. (Hebrews 11:4)
  • We must be committed to pleasing the Lord before others and even ourselves. (Hebrews 11:5-6)
  • We must operate in the supernatural by obtaining God’s Perspective and on His Word alone. (Hebrews 11:7)
  • We must be willing to leave our comfort zone to enter the Promise of God. (Hebrews 11:8-10)
  • We must believe past our natural ability relying and trusting in God’s Total Capability to perform miracles in and through us today. (Hebrews 11:11-12)
  • Valid hope desires something better and believes it to be possible. It allows God to motivate change in us to impact our surroundings. (Hebrews 11:13-16)
  • True faith in God holds nothing sacred and is willing to surrender what we have to obtain His Perfect Will. (Hebrews 11:17-19)
  • Faith believes Romans 8:28 is true. God works all things together for the good of those who love Him. (Hebrews 11:23-29)
  • Faith believes there is no barrier too high or obstacle too great for our God. Faith knows that He does not need our help to accomplish that which is for His Glory. He will flatten every wall whether manmade or enemy produced in our life so that we can lay hold of our promise in Him. (Hebrews 11::30)
  • Faith lives and breathes by believing that God always good and that He always has something better for us than we could think or ask. We will be willing to wait for His Perfection when we choose to live by faith. (Psalm 138:8)

All these thoughts about faith come back to His Love for us. The greatness of it. The validity of it. The truth about it. The fact that it is unconditional and unchanging alone makes it worthy of our faith. He absolutely must live in full assurance of His Love to fully understand and totally trust the fact that He rewards those who seek Him diligently.

Hebrews 6:9-15 (NKJV)

But, beloved, we are confident of better things concerning you, yes, things that accompany salvation, though we speak in this manner. For God is not unjust to forget your work and labor of love which you have shown toward His name, in that you have ministered to the saints, and do minister. And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence to the full assurance of hope until the end, that you do not become sluggish, but imitate those who through faith and patience inherit the promises. For when God made a promise to Abraham, because He could swear by no one greater, He swore by Himself, saying, “Surely blessing I will bless you, and multiplying I will multiply you.” And so, after he had patiently endured, he obtained the promise.

God wants to do the impossible for you and me today. He invites to take a step closer to move just a bit deeper into His Presence so He can remind us of His Love and Faithfulness hoping that we will become secure in faith and confident hope. I believe. It is my unbelief that hinders me from moving. Fear, doubt and anxiety must give way to more faith and hope to have all He has promised being confident of Jesus’ Absolute, Complete and Unconditional Love for me. This is the motivation of His Heart for me and not based on my performance but solely on His Performance on the Cross for me. The miracle of His Resurrection unlocked the door to the Kingdom for which He handed me the keys. He tore the veil and invested His Spirit in me. I have full power and authority over every demon in the Name of Jesus. God’s Power is churning within me. Living water gurgles inside looking for an escape. I must believe to release God’s Power in my life. I must open my mouth to let the living water flow out of me. I must live by faith and not by sight to see the impossible become my reality. Lord, today I ask you to help my unbelief so my heart will come closer, my foot step forward as I am immersed in the deep from which you call!

Psalm 71:14-16 (NKJV)

But I will hope continually, and will praise You yet more and more. My mouth shall tell of Your Righteousness and Your Salvation all the day, for I do not know their limits. I will go in the strength of the Lord GOD; I will make mention of Your Righteousness, of Yours only.

Leave a Reply

