Therefore

Therefore

Psalm 16:9-11 (NKJV)

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; my flesh also will rest in hope. For You will not leave my soul in Sheol, nor will You allow Your Holy One to see corruption. You will show me the path of life; in Your Presence is fullness of joy; at Your Right Hand are pleasures forevermore.

Therefore. When I read “therefore” today, I had the distinct impression that this otherwise overlooked word had more meaning than I realized before. Therefore means in consequence of that, as a result, consequently. Consequently is a result, effect or outcome. What came before the word “therefore” must be important, so I scanned the verses preceding. This is what I found…

Psalm 16:1-2 (NKJV)

Preserve me, O God, for in You I put my trust. O my soul, you have said to the Lord, “You are my Lord, my goodness is nothing apart from You.”

In You, Jesus, I put my trust. Therefore is possible if I put my trust in the Lord. Trust is my confident expectation. It is total reliance on God’s Integrity, Strength and Ability which means I can depend on Him for every situation, circumstance, condition and consequence in my life. Do I? I think I do. That is until my mind shifts into overdrive and I cannot catch my breath in the anticipation and discomfort of change in the midst of impatience due to waiting. It is then that I realize I have more of me to give. How do I know? Because if all of my trust was invested in confident hope, I would live after therefore. Therefore, my heart is glad. Therefore, my glory rejoices. Therefore, my flesh will REST in hope. Therefore, I will know the pathway of life. Therefore I will live in Your Presence full of overflowing joy. Therefore, I will experience your pleasures forevermore. I want to step over having to “put my trust” in God to trusting Him completely. How about you? What’s on your mind today? What thoughts circle round about your head? Are you worried? Are you anxious? Do you doubt? Do your eyes wander from the path of righteousness to what’s-the-point pass?

Trusting the Lord is the process by which righteousness is secured. To simply say that one gives their heart to Jesus, doing nothing else is not a worthwhile endeavor. It is so pointless that one should consider living as before because either way futility follows. Trusting the Lord does not mean that there will not be consequences in our life. Challenges of the heart, testing of the mind, and trials impacting our soul. All these things will train and condition us to trust the Lord if that is our heart’s desire.

Psalm 37:3-5 (NKJV)

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land, and feed on His Faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass.

Trust is the transference of our life from natural consequences to supernatural conditions. Sin always leads to death. But the Gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ. Either way, you are still going to die. Faith in God impacts what happens after our natural life ends. To say that the Grace of God rights every wrong is incorrect. To live as though His Grace allows us to continue in sin and darkness is contrary to the Word of God though taught in many churches today. God is love. But God is God and He cannot change. For it were true that God could change His Mind or lie, why would we trust Him at all? His Power and Sovereignty become questionable if His Word, Will or Way ever change. I am thankful today that the Lord is relentless and will not change His Mind.

Trust in the Lord and do good. This is what I am after today. To trust the Lord and do good. As my mind reels, thoughts race and heart pounds in my chest at the new things that the Lord is doing, I find my next step challenged by limitations of faith. However, I am met by a Gracious God who sees me on the edge of His Glory and Grace inviting me closer to Him. Though my way is committed, my feet feel like lead. Trust me. These are His Words to me in the midst of panic. Trust me. I have heard Him speak them to me at various times and each time He has been faithful and true. Why is my heart so weak? My mind so forgetful? It is human nature to go through seasons of life when leaning on the Lord, we are pressed to move closer. Like a trust fall off a cliff, or so that is how it feels.

 

Psalm 18:1-3 (NKJV)

I will love You, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies.

David said, “I will love You, O God, my strength.” Notice the word “will” tucked in his admission. He didn’t say simply “I love you”. Why? I think David, just like us, had to remind himself sometimes to love God with total trust and confidence. As he reminds his heart and soul, I WILL love You. God is the Strength of those who trust Him. Faith shields us, salvation keeps us as we enter His Presence choosing to remain their trusting the Lord and His Faithfulness to us. Three times David uses the word “will” here. I WILL love You, Lord. I WILL trust. I WILL call upon the Lord. David wrote this psalm the day that he was delivered from the hand of Saul. It was after the battle or test that he decided “I will…”

Psalm 18:30-34 (NKJV)

As for God, His way is perfect; the Word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him. For who is God, except the Lord? And who is a rock, except our God? It is God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of deer, and sets me on my high places. He teaches my hands to make war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.

At the end of the same Psalm, David acknowledges the perfection of God’s Way. This is evidence of trust. To know the power of God in our life and live according to His Perfection. We would not dare to trust the Lord if we did not need Him. If everything was perfect, why would we move? My second son is quiet. He is comfortable alone and completely self-entertained. When he was about three, I became concerned because he wasn’t talking. I asked his pediatrician if he thought there was a problem. He smiled and said, “No, he just doesn’t need to speak.” Continuing his explanation, his older brother was a chatterbox. When he needed anything, his brother would speak for him. I also anticipated his needs and provided them without provocation. If I wanted him to use his words, I would have to make him ask for what he wanted or needed. It worked. Though he is still not very communicative, he will express himself when needed. It began by waiting for him to ask. Then responding to his need. Well… could it be that the Lord makes us uncomfortable or creates change so that we will come closer and communicate with Him. Absolutely. We must trust the Lord to have His Will and Way in our life. To give us His Best the Lord will always have to move us from our compromise. Past seasons do not yield future harvests.

Trust is the process of training used to empower us to live victory to victory and glory to glory. I want that life even though I do not always like how it comes about. To trust the Lord means that we do not live according to the conditions and consequences of our life but rather according to what Jesus did on the Cross. We are more likely to trust natural outcomes rather than trusting the Lord for the supernatural which takes every consequence and condition of sin and failure turning it into something good. Every single detail of our life holds potential when entrusted to Jesus. (Romans 8:28) But I must trust the Lord including the process until I, too, can say that I will love the Lord. I will trust the Lord. I will call upon the Lord. This is the transference of our life from the here and now to therefore.

Psalm 34:8-10 (NKJV)

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who trusts in Him! Oh, fear the Lord, you His saints! There is no want to those who fear Him. The young lions lack and suffer hunger; but those who seek the Lord shall not lack any good thing.

To taste and see is a commitment of trust. Think about it. What happened the last time someone held a spoon to your face and said, “Taste this…” First you held your head back to see what they were trying to get you to try, then you asked what it was. You may or may not have declined once or several times depending on their insistence. Your willingness to try it most likely depended on who they were and whether or not you trusted them. Taste and see that the Lord is good requires commitment. It requires trust. Blessed are those who trust the Lord. There is no want to those who fear Him. Those who dare to seek the Lord will not lack any good thing. Do you believe that today? I do. But even saying that, I know that I will still be challenged each day to trust the Lord a little more and a little more. Sometimes it will be a lot more. Do not beat yourself up if after following Jesus all these years – it is still an ongoing battle to trust Him. Everyone has those days so the Lord provides new mercy each day so that we are covered. In exchange for our trust, He promises to perfect that which concerns us. I have some concerns today. They seem petty and small compared to the challenges of many. The enemy taunts me in my ear with lies like “after all God has done for you…” and other condescending thoughts. But the Word of the Lord tells me clearly and directly that “the Lord WILL perfect that which concerns me.” I just have to believe His Word is true. He will do the rest. Why? Because His Mercy endures forever so even when I hesitate, procrastinate and become anxious on the edge of faithfulness – He waits for me to come into therefore which is the moment I choose to trust Him just a little more.

Psalm 138:8 (NKJV)

The Lord will perfect that which concerns me; Your Mercy, O Lord, endures forever;
Do not forsake the works of Your hands.

Leave a Reply

